reviews for: listing #53760 - Emerald Isle, North Carolina Cottage rental

Ski"s Nest
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Emerald Isle, NC
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $575 - $675 /wk

sort by:

Sisters Week Getaway

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This cottage is great for a week of relaxing family fun. It is a no frills place, but very comfortable. This is the second year that we've rented this trailer and we like pretty much everything about it. It's a close walk to the ocean...about a block..it is pretty much exactly as described. The owner is very easy to contact with questions and answers promptly. Had a good time. Thanks, Deb !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to know that our guests enjoy our home as much as we do ,I feel like we are all just one giant family sharing the home at different time frames ,I feel so blessed to have many of my guests returning back the following year ,some twice in the same year and then some that have been staying in our home since we started sharing it back a few years ago .I am so thrilled you had another great stay and we thank you for caring about our home as if it was your own ,you will always be welcome guests in our home to build wonderful memories as we have and will also continue to have ,Emerald Isle just keeps getting better and better with age ,thank you again ,Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st Trip to Emerald Isle

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

This Place was wonderful.. We actually rented in the summer of 2009.. But couldnt find the place until now til leave a review.. I went with my husband and daughter and sister n laws.. We had a wonderful time.. The owner is super nice and friendly.. We actually got to meet her that week when we stayed.. Plenty of room and everything you need to make you feel like home.. Definetly would rent again.. Thank You for All Your Hospitality Debbie.. Hope to do business again soon..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't get any better!

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

This will be my 4th time visiting this wonderful place. Has all the comforts of home, and the fabulous porch! Owner is absolutely wonderful and on top of things to make right of any problems found. Looking forward to my next visit soon and many more years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We have rented this vacation rental for the past couple of years.This is a afforable place to make great memories with your family.It is very close to the beach and has everythng you would need.The owner is great to work with.family and I love it so much we cant wait to return each year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Its always a pleasure to have repeat guests in our home,I especially love familys there together ,it makes me happy because I grew up there with my parents and then my children came along and we have built our most memorable memories right there at Emerald Isle with all the family under one roof and always something to do for all ages .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Place / Great Price

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This was our first visit to Emerald Isle and we were very apprehensive in renting a place on the internet. We emailed then spoke with the owner and found the place to be everything she told us it would be. The home was comfortable, in a quiet neighborhood and was just steps away from the ocean. The owner was friendly and very accommodating. During our first night there, the central air stopped blowing cold air. Within 1 hr or so of contacting the owner a repair man was there. The problem was minor and he had the unit operational in a short time. As an added bonus, I found the price to be very reasonable. We will be returning to Emerald Isle in the future and I have no reason to look elsewhere for a place to rent.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you and your family as guests in our home and look forward to your return in the near future .It was an added bonus for me to have the central air repair man there so fast at a very reasonable rate ,just another reason to love Emerald Isle so much ! Thank you again ,Deb

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

in response of the terrible conditons...listen i did alot of work to that home for my mother...your ignorance is amazing considering the pictures SHOW its a 3 bedroom trailer and sounds to me like someone wanted a free vacation...sorry about your luck and thank you all for the rave reviews...my mother tries so hard to make everyone happy this place was always a family getaway and was never rented..it has provided amazing times to me since i was born for that matter i would suggest this to anyone who wants a nice vacation without breaking their wallet

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Terrible conditions

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

The description sounds too good to be true for the price and the whole stay was horrifying for us. This cottage is actually a trailer which was in very bad shape and on the 2nd day of our stay we discovered black mold. We called the owner right away and she had promised that if we leave right away, she will send us a refund check for the whole amount. We had a couple of hours to quickly find a new rental to stay at and thankfully we did so we could continue with our vacation, but we certainly counted on the refund back since we had to pay for the new place and spent a few hours packing and then unpacking again, this cutting our vacation time even more.
In the end the renter kept 100 dollars for a one-night's stay and for us not changing the linens on the beds. She did not ask us to change the linens, but told us to leave right away in order for us to get the full refund. We actually washed all the dishes and cleaned as much as we could before we left, even though even that wasn't asked of us. All she told us was to leave right away and she never mentioned any additional charges. It was very unpleasant to be lied to and treated that way.
The place had great reviews, but it was in horrible shape, smelled like smoke and lots of things looked like they were about to break apart, plus the black mold that was all over the only bathroom that was working properly, as well as a bedroom and a living room wall. We had an infant and a 2 year old with us and this is definitely not a vacation place for a small child.
I hope this review will help some of you who might be considering this place. And the renter refused to have a contract in place, which should have been a first warning sign. The whole deal was definitely not based on trust and honesty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: It is clearly stated that guests are responsibly for cleaning .Guests contacted me in the afternoon of the second day to tell me my home was unsafe so I offered them a full refund to leave because they had a three month old baby and if it was true that there was black mold I did not want anyone to get sick .Hours later after my friend got out of work she drove over to inspect the home ,guests were still there and had no intentions on leaving she said .Many phone calls later they finally vacated my property (I live out of state). When they first inquired to rent my home they said they could only stay three days and I explained that the summer months were by the week only ,many e-mails later I allowed them the lowest possible rate because they said they were struggling to make ends meet and they were splitting the rent with another young couple .
Its not that I refuse to have a contract ,I am just a home owner not a realitor .
What happened with the mold issue is that we just had a brand new metal roof installed (july 2009 ) along with all new exterior vents and somehow the roofing company did not seal one of the bathroom vents and mold was on the exhaust vent ,non of the prior guests had noticed it up until now .Upon further inspection of the home there were loose screws in two bar stools which we will be replacing .We encourage all our guests to report any and all damages so we can better our home since we are not there all the time .
We are also pleased to announce that we have purchased new matching patio loveseat and chairs for the outside screened porch . Our summer months book quickly because most of our guests are repeat customers .
This is listed as a cottage because the advertising website has no mobile home block to list it as ,but yes ,the picture clearly shows its a mobile home ,14x70 with added screened porch and outside deck .

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

This cottage was wonderfull. It was like coming to your own vacation home with everything I needed already there except the food which I brought in, all cooked and ready to eat. The beach is just a few steps away, all kinds of shopping are within walking distance. Everything in the house was in working condition. The owner was more than nice. I loved it so much that I will definitely come back to this cottage with my family soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Fun in the sun with family and friends

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

We split our time at "Ski's Nest" between a few days with our grandsons and then time with friends. The home is clean, well stocked with anything that you would have in your personal home and very welcoming. We all, old and young alike especially enjoyed the screened in porch at the end of the day. It's a short walk to the beach, shopping and dining. I would recommend it highly to anyone who would like time at the beach without breaking the bank. In fact, we enjoyed it so much we are returning this year in June for a week. The owners is especially friendly and accomodating to your needs and really trys to make sure that your time in her "home away" from "home" is enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Great getaway!! Can't wait to go again.

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

This getaway place was GREAT!!! The property was clean, well kept and in a great neighborhood. A short walk to the beach and very close to Bogue pier. There were lots of great things to do nearby - A Dairy Queen, 3 beach shops and nice resturants all within walking distance. Grocery shopping, pharmacy and a movie theatre less than a mile away. The Golfin Dolphin is less than 10 minutes away. (Lots of neat things for kids to do) The owner was a pleasure to deal with as well and responded quickly to any questions or concerns that I had. A great overall experience. I would recommend this place to anyone. Whether you're looking for some time away or a great vacation with the family. This place is what you're looking for.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review