reviews for: listing #53796 - Durango, Colorado House rental

Romantic Riverfront Log Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Forest Grove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $375 /nt
    $2,250 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The pictures and descriptions of this home simply do not do it justice! The setting is beautiful with the Florida river flowing only a few steps from an expansive deck. The deck has comfortable lounge chairs, rockers and even a porch swing to relax. The kitchen has everything you could possible need from a viking stove to beautiful dishes and a pantry with spices and condiments. The floor to ceiling windows in the living area limit very little of the mountain and river views. I can only imagine the beauty in the winter months! The bedrooms also had beautiful views, comfortable beds and plenty of extra bedding. The master bathroom is spacious with a jetted but and large tiled shower. Everything is clean and perfectly maintained including a perfectly manicured lawn. There are personal touches throughout the cabin that make you feel at home. The drive to Durango is approximately 15 minutes and is well worth it. Along with our two daughter, (20 and 17), my family and I enjoyed the train to Silverton, river rafting, biking, a zipline tour, shopping and many great restaurants. The owner and property manager answered all of our questions and had everything ready for our arrival. We already look forward to returning to this cabin! Thank you Sigi, for sharing your oasis in the Colorado mountains.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow! This home is incredible!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family was thrilled when they arrived and saw how beautiful this home was. The river running by just outside the back door was so spectacular. The pictures did not capture the beauty of it! Everything inside the house is high quality and we were so comfortable there. We had everything we needed. Would love to return someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fantastic and lovely mountain home

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We have vacationed in Colorado many times, and this is by far the most outstanding accomodation that we've ever had. We stayed in this home, along with our son and his wife, for a week in September, and had a wonderful time. It is beautifully furnished with all high-end appliances, furniture, and accessories. We were able to fix gourmet meals in the outstanding kitchen, relax on the deck in Smith & Hawken outdoor furniture, sleep well in the very comfortable beds, and enjoy the enormous wood-burning fireplace at night. The guys thought the fishing was great and so accessible to be right on the river. Though there are other homes nearby, the setting is extremely private because of the lovely landscaping with shrubs, trees and beautiful flowers. Everything was so clean and well maintained it seemed as if we were in a luxury hotel. There were plenty of extra towels and linens and lots of staples and extras provided in the pantry. There were helpful folders about things to see and do in Durango, menus from restaurants, and instructions for operating the various items in the house. We felt we had our own private oasis with a river running through it! It couldn't have been better!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed here while i was home on leave from Iraq. We are from Durango and we didn't know exactly what to expect. What a beautiful house! The views are awesome and the house is so beautiful. Sigi is the biggest sweetheart in the world. She called the day of arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. She took great care to make sure my wife and I were taken care of worry free for my 2 weeks of R&R. Her house is so unbelievably beautiful and relaxing it is a must see. Our stay at this house made it one of the perfect vacations of our lives. Thank You Sigi for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Big House on the Little River

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Our family LOVED this house!!! It was perfect for our family vacation in October. We have two small children (4 1/2 and 3), and they had a grand time playing in the loft upstairs.

The house was very clean and well maintained, with more than enough linens, etc. The kitchen has just about everything you could want, except a pizza slicer, but we made do. There were two folders of information on the area from horseback riding to fishing outfitters and favorite area restaurants (our is/was Sweeney's Restaurant which has been around forever).

The extended deck which ran from one end of the house to the other was so beautiful. Had it been just a little warmer, we would have eaten meals outside and listened to the river and the wind blowing through the Aspens. The kids went down to the river and threw pebbles in to watch the ripples. I cannot tell you how relaxing it was to be there. Only downside is the large firescreen for the fireplace. It took the two of us to manhandle it for fire building. There are no bellows to help make a lasting fire, but those were extremely minor inconveniences.

The house is about 15 minutes up the mountain from Durango and has gorgeous views on the drive to and from the city. We even spotted a bear ambling through the forest one day on the way in to Durango for dinner. There are too many hiking trails in the area to list (even for those of us with small children).

We are already thinking about when/how we can get back to this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This place was simply AMAZING!!!!!!!

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

The pictures do not do this place justice because once you step inside you are in a different world altogether. We had so many plans on things to do while we were there and once we got there we decided that we didn't want to do anything but stay there and relax. The neighbors were so friendly when you actually saw anybody. I was looking for a great place to get married and I AM SO GLAD that I picked this place.

This place was soooo clean and well maintained and when the owner says "all you need to bring is your clothes" they could not have stated that any better.

It was a little hard to find at first because the road doesn't have the proper markings but once the county get the location marked properly it shouldn't be hard to find at all.

Worried about traffic??? Let me tell you that we were there for a few days and I believe that the only traffic that I saw were just the neighbors. And what was amazing was that you could sit on the back wrap around patio and never hear a car along the roadway.

I would certainly recommend this place to anybody that is either looking for a beautiful place to just get away for awhile or if you are like me looking for that special place to have the PERFECT WEDDING.

This will only allow me to give it a top rating of excellect/5 stars but if I had a chance I would give this amazing place 10 stars....

Thank you so much for opening up your wonderful home, we will certainly be contacting you again to book another stay....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review