reviews for: listing #53815 - Lake Nacimiento, California House rental

Lakefront 4 Bdrm 6 Bath Three Story 3200+sqft Oak Shores
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Oak Shores
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $335 - $580 /nt
    $2,200 - $3,500 /wk
    $8,800 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

Good overall

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

This vacation rental was a good overall experience. Patty was wonderful in working with me to get everything finalized shortly before our stay.

Pros: There were 8 in our party and there was plenty of room...it could easily accomodate many more. Lots of bathrooms which was wonderful. The balconies are great to sit and relax, bbq, get in a little sunbathing, or a nap in the hammock (just make sure to sweep off the spiders). The kitchen is a nice size with plenty of counter space, which is a huge plus since that area gets a lot of traffic...and I cannot say enough about the "man cave", if the kids were not at the lake or outside, you could find them on the bottom level playing games or watching movies.

Cons: We were really disappointed that the dock shown in the picture was not there, fortunately the neighbors were nice enough to share theirs with us. Without the dock it is a pretty gruesome hike to the lake, even if you drive it is a pretty steep little hill to haul ice chests, chairs, and all the misc items you have to take to spend the day enjoying the lake, and you cannot park anywhere since you are renters and not owners.
Also if there is a possibility anyone may want to hang out for the day, make sure to list them on the contract. My in laws live about an hour away and wanted to come by and hangout for the day, but they could not get in and since we didn't get prior approval, and couldn't reach the owners, we had to send them home.
Aside from the king size bed the beds are incredibly uncomfortable...especially for us older folks. :0)
Lastly, the refridgerator did not work very well, and though our food didn't spoil over the two days we were there, it really never got cold. (Patty was very sweet and did offer to bring in a replacement refridgerator though).
This may not be a good rental if you are a family with small children and planning to spend a lot of time at the lake. I think it is perfectly fine for adults or families with teenagers.

Again, Patty was absolutely wonderful and I would rent this again (without the little one) because she did make it such a pleasant experience.

Thanks again Patty!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House - Great Location, Views, Dock

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Thank you so much for a great vacation at the lake. The house was a perfect fit for our 3 families. We spent every evening cooking in the large kitchen and enjoying the large outdoor patio with a great view of the lake. We all enjoyed the game/media room on the bottom floor. Patty we appreciate all you did to help us get our trip all in order. You made it so easy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family summer lake trip

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We enjoyed a full week of family fun with plenty of room for our grown children and 4 toddler grandchildren to spread out between the three floors. We utilized the game/media room every night. The lake was up this year so the dock was just steps away from the stairs, perfect for enoying the cove. We spent some time every day over at the club pool with the little ones. One of our crew lap swims so she was excited to get in her lap swim each morning too. Patty and Dave are fabulous to work with and had everything we needed or wanted. Well stocked kitchen, plenty of seating at the dining table and the outdoor patio tables too. We will be back for our annual summer lake trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kirk and family for your kind words about our home! We ourselves love it there, and are happy to be able to allow others to enjoy it as well! Looking forward to seeing you and your family again next year! Patty

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful hosts!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Patti and Dave are wonderful hosts and their house far exceeded our expectations. We have a large, multi-generational family and found the house accomodated all our needs. Everything that we needed was provided and all the entertainment options were more than we expected. thanks for offering such a great place to vacation.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Dan and Chris

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

This guest writes: From the moment you drive up, you know you're on vacation! It's not a newer home, built sometime probably in the '80's, but very nicely kept up, and the rooms and bathrooms are minimally, yet tastefully decorated. All of the kitchen appliances were NEW, with the exception of the stove. All of the dishes, etc were NEW! You can't beat the location; it's in a slightly secluded cove, in the marina, right across from the clubhouse where you can walk to join the festivities. The lake was low, so we didn't have a private dock (note: private dock is right below home on 4-3-2010) but the guest docks were within walking distance, which made it very boat-user friendly. I love the views from the decks, and from the entire living/dining/kitchen area. There are plenty of windows, for plenty of view, which I love! There was seating off the bedrooms, so we had coffee on the decks right outside the bedrooms in the morning! We had three families and children with us, so it was VERY nice for each of the moms/dads to have their own private bathroom! The peacefulness was overwhelming... even though we were in the cove of the marina it was VERY PEACEFUL! We came to celebrate the end of the summer, and WE WILL BE BACK!!! WE LOVED IT! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 19 / 20

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review