reviews for: listing #5383vb - Kula, Hawaii rental

Heaven on Earth in Upcountry Maui
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 250 / night
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Great spot to get away from it all!

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

This is a sweet little cottage for a get away from the hustle and bustle of the world. It is located down a one lane road- so if possible arrive before dark. It was a small challenge to find in the dusk with the evening fog rolling in. The cottage is interesting in the fact that the one double bed is attached to the living space. If you ran not very agile it might be a challenge to climb in the bed but the clime is worth it- the bed is surrounded by windows- you almost feel like you are sleeping outside!!! There is a separate bedroom that you have to go outside to enter. There are bathrooms with showers in both rooms. The kitchen is stocked very nicely with most any tool, pot or pan you might need to cook. The caretakers are present but certainly not intrusive. The drive to Haleakala summit is about a one hour drive so you could plan to see the sunrise or do some hiking there- both great adventures.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not enough time...

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Three days was not enough time. To my dismay I found we were busier than planned and didn't have enough time to become a “lanai lizard” and bask in the sun on the wrap around lanai. The views from the back, side or front are all amazing. You can see forever, up Haleakala, across the slopes or down into the valley and to the West Maui Mountains. I could never get tired of the views from the lanai. The master bedroom is spacious with a very comfy bed and a new large bathroom. The master bedroom is attached to the living area but you go outside and a few steps to the door. I found this a big plus for my husband and myself. He had brought his telescope so he could do some late night viewing from the lanai. I could read in the master bedroom and my light didn't disturb him.
The living area of the cottage has a well equipped kitchen, comfy den, bathroom and a wonderful bed in a nook with big windows so you can lie in bed and look at the stars. The cottage is well placed for star gazing; the sky is very dark with no city lights for miles.
The cottage and grounds are very well kept. It’s located on a quiet one lane road that makes for wonderful walks. I look forward to returning and spending a longer time enjoying the tranquil peace.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular, Quiet and Starry!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. It is so quiet and beautiful. The views were amazing--Haleakala, Pu'u Kukui, Lana'i, Kaho'olawe, Molokini crater...all from one porch! My spouse rushed out a few times each night to look at the stars!

Our rooms were very clean, new locks and key, and everything was ready on time ( we arrived at 3:15pm). I would recommend the owner to mention in her description (sorry if I missed it somewhere, Janice!) that the bedroom does not have an internal pass through.. this is an unusual feature, and one normally expects a one bedroom to have an internal door. It was no big deal to us, but we probably would have used that room's bed if it had a pass through, and it might be important for families with young children.

If you are expecting hotel-like accommodations, you should stay in a hotel. This is a cottage (and we wanted just that), but people should know that they might have to put up with a few spiderwebs in the loft (our daughter loves spiders), the linens are a bit 'tired' though clean, and not all basic toiletries are supplied (we did miss having shampoo, but appreciated having soap). Thank you for a wonderful stay--I know we will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Beauty, Priceless View

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Nestled on the slopes of Haleakala ("House of the Sun") & nearly a stones throw from Grandma's Coffee House, sits this cozy oasis overlooking majestic, magical Maui. Time stands still in God's country as the surrounding Nature embraces you in a warmth despite the early morning and evening chill.

Sunsets dazzle & entertain, leaving you transfixed towards the melting sun into the liquid horizon. Night is when the playful stars prove your lookout second to none. Dizzying dimensions unfold. Inky black nights allow these celestial beauties full canvas to awe inspire even the crudest of heart. Sleeping in the main alcove provides an added sensation if awoken at midnight of swimming with the stars.

Sunrises cast their brilliant light and cast soft shadows onto rolling hills and shimmering ocean. While the morning's crispness keeps you slumbered, dreaming of twilight's passing.

This stand alone humble cottage is owned by an Alaskan couple, Steve & Janice Tower. On site hosts are Ray & Barbara Bane, whose previous adventures are chronicled in "Going To Extremes" by Joe McGinniss (pgs 223-225) and available for interesting and inspiring reading.

Accommodations are available via website and by contacting Janice through email. Rate includes a full kitchen stocked with utensils, cookware & all the plates, cups & glasses you'll ever need and then some. Added perks are the wood burning fireplace, firepit, hot tub and BBQ grill. Flat screen TV, free WiFi, stereo & iPod docking station satisfy the tech inclined. And not to be outdone by the cat mascots, Gin & Tonic; charming additions to the homey aura.

However the most spectacular part of this cottage is the breathtaking scenery, allowing pensive moments of serenity that heal & inspire in ways I cannot express and perhaps transcend deeper than I realize; energizing my soul's renewal. Priceless moments that need not be read about, but experienced. Moments like these are few & far between. Quiet beauty awaits.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Upcountry Paradise

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Star lookout is a treasure for those like me who prefer the casual life and upcountry experience to the resort life. I return there with a friend for the simple, clean fresh cottage that hangs off of the Haleakala slopes with grand vistas, nice areas to walk and cycle., and upcountry shops, restaurants and activities. It helped to get some food supplies beforehand. It also helped us to do some planning to figure out how to rent bikes, spend the day exploring upcountry or heading down to the beaches but we always returned to the cottage before sunset, which was spectacular when not cloudy. The cottage had everything we needed to enjoying a relaxed time on the surrounding porch overlooking the island, outdoor hottub, taking walks, reading, and exploring the upcounty world of botanical gardens, orchid greenhouses, massage and healing centers. We had everything needed to hang out there, make delicious meals, do yoga on the porch in the morning, watch the sunset. All electric accommodations, and were fine. Small fireplace was great when cool at night. Beaches and resort life were about 20 minutes away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Biking Maui from Star Lookout

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Four biking buddies enjoyed a wonderful week of pedaling around Maui based out of the Star Lookout. We reveled in the splendid sunset views from the spacious deck, stars from the hot tub and terrific meals prepared in the well-equipped kitchen. The beds were comfy and the area quiet, so we were able to rest well before the next day's ride. The property was charming, clean, and in good repair with friendly and helpful caretakers. We definitely plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

heaven on earth, october 2012

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

We arrived late at night, and the directions from the airport were excellent. When we woke up, we found ourselves in a beautiful, clean space that had everything we needed. Clean, equipped kitchen. Clean bathroom and showers. An absolutely killer view.

The caretakers who live right nearby were knowledgeable, friendly, and the perfect hosts. If we needed something, they were happy to help; if we wanted privacy, they were happy to leave us alone.

This is not a 10,000 square foot vacation home. Rather, it is a beautiful, and beautifully situated small
cottage that is well maintained and stunningly located. The listing was 100% accurate, the photos were good -- you can't capture the beauty of this place on film -- and the property was clearly clean and well-maintained. My wife and i look forward to returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning view, peaceful quiet

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

I'm already looking forward to my next visit. This cottage is so much more relaxing than a hotel. Give me stars at night, chickens quietly wandering on the lawn, and an unobstructed view of Hawaiian sunsets. Perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Place

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

The Star Lookout is one of the most magical places we've ever stayed. The views were tremendous and the cottage had every amenity including a full kitchen, comfortable beds, and internet -- everything I needed to work during our stay. The grounds were beautifully kept with a scenic walk in Maui's Upcountry just outside the door. Grandma's coffee shop down the road offered the delicious flavor of local fare and culture. Our hosts were a charming couple with amazing stories to share if you care to ask! We loved our stay at Star Lookout and plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Leonard Fancher

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Bad reviews? Really? Some people are impossible to please. The Star Lookout is absolutely fantastic! Ray and Barbara are the best. Cottage was clean,pretty and perfect. You couldn't ask for a better location. Highly recommended. I will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Island Paradise Realized

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

Haven’t slept this good in weeks! With storybook charm The Star Lookout was everything we hoped for. Upcountry Maui neighborhood is super-quiet; a few horses along the road, grazing cows in the fields nearby and an occasional deer were a welcome change from crowded beach-side resorts.
Porch surrounding cottage has great views and deck furniture was really comfortable for relaxing after a bike ride or hike. Queen bed in main cottage is raised to meet base of slider windows both behind and beside the bed. Luxury linens and down comforter were a great first impression but the real kicker is the star-filled sky view above island lights below and the cool breeze caressing you throughout the night. Heaven on earth!!!
Cottage was super-clean, well-stocked with amenities, has beautiful wood floors, granite countertops, modern bathrooms, flat screen TV and cozy furniture with fun decorative pillows and unique art on the walls. Felt more like a home than a rental. Will definitely be going back.

Owners response: We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beauty, peace, & solitude

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

My wife and I have been frequenters of the Star Lookout for the past 10 years. I've traveled all around the world to some 30+ countries and have never felt more relaxed and peaceful. While stand up paddling with a friend in San Diego a few days ago she asked, "what's the most amazing places you've ever been?" I didn't hesitate with my answer. "That's an easy one. The Star Lookout in Maui."

My time on Maui is spent fairly active: running, biking, surfing, and stand up paddling. But when I'm away from the island sporting life, I like to retreat to a quiet place away from the typical tourist haunts. The Lookout is nestled on Haleakala's slope, offering the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen in my life. I've taken countless pictures on the back porch, each sunset more amazing than the last. Astronomy buffs take note. Sleeping in the main room's star-bed is a real treat, the night sky dotted with a gazillion speckles of light.

Caretakers Ray and Barbara are 2 of the nicest people you'll ever have the pleasure of meeting. I love the simple nature of the cottage, a single great room, kitchen, star and loft bed, all lending to an incredibly cozy and connected experience. The master bedroom offers much more space, but the star-bed is where I sleep. And while the cottage is wired with wi-fi, cable, and a DVD player, why would anyone spend excessive amounts of time with electronics while in paradise.

If you're looking for peace and quiet in one of the most amazing backdrops you'll ever hope to experience, this is your place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Questionable and unacceptable

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

My advice here is to ask many detailed questions - ask for absolute now photos. The views are fabulous, but the same view is available at many other places.

We arrived at five minutes until 3:00 and found the housekeeper hauling bags of trash out the front door, she asked us to return in fifteen minutes. We came back forty five minutes later as she was finishing up the bedroom. The open doors had permitted many insects into the house.
We asked the housekeeper for a key as she left, we were told there was no key, = the caretaker did go get a key for us, he said that we were the first to ever ask for one. There is a lock on the bedroom door that is operational from within.

The separate master bedroom is accessed via going outside, as the refrigerator is blocking interior access. The sofa is blocking the doors to the deck - the only exit is the front door.
This is not a two bedroom home, but a one bedroom with an alcove bed in the living room. The alcove mattress is very high and caution should be used when exiting the main bathroom, due to the placement of the ladder to the loft.

The wood floors were sticky. The shower glass was dirty in the main bathroom.

**Accessibility: The term accessible holds different connotations for many, however the loose references can lead to problems for many. Anything is "accessible" - but for persons with disabilities the term leads one to believe that it is indeed 'accessible for a person with disabilities'.
This rental has been marked "Wheelchair accessible - yes". The ramp is a few inches above ground level, the ground from parking to ramp is very uneven, doorways need to be measured. I will leave those details to an individual to specifically inquire about. For any unit to be Wheelchair Accessible it needs to be accessible by a person confined to a wheelchair, this rental failed.

It is a simple, single level cottage, with standard doorways and a lot of furniture.


I expected rustic, We left and found other accommodations.

Owners response: As many times is the case, there is more to the story than would appear from this review. The guest arrived early at which time the cleaning staff was preparing the cottage. Keys were provided promptly. The master bedroom is indeed accessed by walking a few feet onto the lanai from the main compartment of the cottage. The cottage is situated in a rural location and the fresh air and outdoors are very much a part of the property’s charm.

My father-in-law, before his passing, enjoyed The Star Lookout from his wheelchair. We made several modifications including installing ramps and French doors, and we installed the wrap-around deck so that he could cruise around to enjoy the 360 degree view. Even so, we will no longer mention that the cottage is accessible for we would have to upgrade further to fully meet ADA standards. We thank the guest for the clarification.

The timing of the guest’s visit is perhaps unfortunate in relation to our renovations and the upgrade to our website. As the guest was one of the first to stay with us after we added a master bath, installed and refinished new wood floors throughout, completely renovated the main bathroom and kitchen area, and installed composite decking with cable rail to enhance the view, we had not had the opportunity between bookings to photograph the improvements that make The Star Lookout even more enchanting. A new website with updated images is forthcoming!

I believe “rustic” accurately reflects the nature of this cottage. The guest did not leave to find other accommodations as reported.

I would have appreciated the courtesy of being informed that the guest was uncomfortable. We would have moved heaven and earth to ensure that her concerns were addressed to make her stay as enjoyable as possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Spectacular view, relaxing atmosphere, quiet and peaceful

Review submitted: November 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2010

I have never done an "Upcountry" experience on Maui before and I have to say that it was amazing. I loved the peace and quiet this property had to offer. Ray & Barbara (caretakers) were very thoughtful and respected our privacy at all times. I loved waking up & seeing the cows in the field next door and the spectacular view of the island. Before deciding our day's activity, we would look out and see which side of the island had the best weather! Who needs a "weatherman" when you can just look outside and see it all yourself?! If you are looking for a place to get away from the fast-paced, tourist/resort atmosphere, this is your place! (and if you want a little of the fast-paced action, it's just a short drive away!!)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review