reviews for: listing #53909 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Captain's Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,700 - $3,300 /wk
    $4,500 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Amazing Ocean Views

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Rented Captain's Cottage for a week-long 'stay-cation' in May. The first two days/nights were stormy and it was amazing to watch the ocean during the storm. The property managers were fabulous in that they sent someone over after the storms passed to clean the decks and the pool area...without being asked to do so.

The house was clean and well-maintained given that it was built in the early '60s. There were lots of reading materials, a DVD player (and DVDs), as well as some jigsaw puzzles. The best part - great view of the ocean from anywhere in the house...second floor, first floor, master... even the shower and jacuzzi!

It was helpful to have a fully equipped kitchen in which to prepare meals.

The pool was chilly in early May, but once you got over the initial shock, it was fabulous to splash about your own pool in the afternoon sun. Bring lots of sunscreen; you'll need it for the beach and pool.

I had not planned to wake up so early each morning, but the sunrises were beautiful - and who can sleep with that much light? It wasn't until the next-to-last night that I discovered the switch in the master bedroom that lowers a blind over the top-floor east window. So if you want to sleep in a bit later, you probably could.

Overall it was a superb vacation in a unique house with spectacular views. Will definitely recommend the property to others.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Back again!

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

We visited Captain's Cottage a year and a half ago and could not wait to go back this November. My husband and I find it to be perfect for a two person retreat/ getaway. The shells this time were even better than the last time. We found tons of beautiful shells. The views from this house are amazing! We loved sitting on the deck and taking in the amazing view of the ocean. We were thrilled to see dolphins just off shore two days in a row. We brought a pair of binochulars with us and were able to watch them for a long time, playing and jumping out of the water. I love that you can walk on the beach for miles and only see a few people here and there. We found some great places to dine this time as well. I highly reccomend Aqua Grill for a great dinner close to the house. Also don't miss out on the Metro Diner just a short drive to Jacksonville Beach. Amazing breakfasts!! We love Thai food, and Tuptim Thai, also pretty close to the house, was very good! Being November the nights were chilly so the pool was too cold to use, but we still enjoyed some really great Sunny weather during the day.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

LOVE LOVE THIS HOUSE!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

This is the most amazing house ever for a romantic getaway. Perfect location right on the beach, convenient both to Ponte Vedra and St. Augustine. And the house is an architectural gem, full of all kinds of neat nooks and crannies and details, beautifully decorated, and bathed in sunlight all day. If this house were for sale and I could afford it, I would buy it in a heartbeat. It has a magical quality to it that is not entirely evident from the wonderful photos of its rooms. It captivated me and my two adult kids who stayed here. We plan to return again!

The only downside is that there is a bit of a privacy issue--no curtains/blinds on any windows and no walls between the second floor and third floor loft bedrooms. So while this is a very romantic place for a couple or even two cooperative adult couples, a young family might have to get creative about finding couple time and would have to be careful when getting out of the shower on the third floor (master bedroom) if there are kids in the beds on the second floor who can gaze up at the third floor shower from that location via the opening in the floor for the spiral staircase. You can also hear any noise or see any light on any floor of the house from any other place inside the house--so that really means that everyone has to agree to go to bed at about the same time every night.

The lack of curtains was not an issue for me in winter, because there was no one on the beach at night, but I wonder if you would feel "exposed" a bit in warmer weather when folks are out walking on the beach at night and could see into the lighted house. The house is elevated off the beach, so maybe the problem is not as significant in warmer weather as it appeared it might be.

With those caveats, which were minor issues with us, we felt that this house was special and wonderful in every way and we just loved it. It was clean, well-maintained, and had every amenity one would expect to find, including great wifi. I honestly did not want to leave.

I have rented many houses through the Internet for vacation, and this one will always stand out in my mind as the most extraordinary and special house I have ever rented. Even in its imperfections it was totally charming.

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed and appreciate the unique charm of Captain's Cottage. Being an oceanfront, A Frame, built in the 1960's, it is truly one of a kind. The wood floors, exposed vaulted ceilings, and massive windows are truly spectacular. As for the privacy issues, you raise a good point. Fortunately, the house is set back far enough from the beach, and being elevated on stilts, it is very difficult to see into the house from the beach. We look forward to having you back again next year!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A week in paradise.

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The views were spectacular, but early in the mornings the sun would blind you. The beds weren't as comfortable as everyone had said and there was a spider infestation..to which one of the girls were bitten. Aside from that, it was the most relaxing, gorgeous, peaceful, stress-releived, much needed vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm very glad our guests had an enjoyable time. The views at Captain's Cottage are spectacular. The entire Eastern side of the house is windows. I wish I had been notified of the spiders prior to this review. We would have had that taken care of immediately. We do have quarterly pest control and they will come out anytime any bugs are seen.

Sincerely,

Wren Beach Rentals

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous, Quirky, Stunning & Unique

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

If you are looking for the wow or 'X' factor, this is certainly the go to place for a one-off unique holiday experience. Stepping from the house onto the decking and the near-deserted golden clean beach is absolute luxury & the Atlantic was lovely and warm - enough for swimming and boogey-boarding. The sunrise over the ocean in the morning is spectacular, as is the moonlit sea on a clear night & yes, we did see dolphins gliding through the water on a morning. We have never stayed in a home like it, and as this was our honeymoon, it was as special as you can get.
The downside is that there is no shelter from the severe sun as there are no shades or blinds at the vast windows - so you are woken up by the sun at sunrise and the aircon is a must. The openplan arrangement of the bedrooms makes privacy a bit of a problem and if our children were younger we would have been concerned at the low-level balcony on the mezzanine floor. Also, the uneven floors in the corner of the property made eating at the breakfast table really feel like you were on a ship!
The house had all the amenities we needed and they were of good quality. All in all, a lovely property to spend precious and special time with loved ones.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We stayed at the cottage for a week in October. The weather was wonderful, the beach is beautiful, and the accommodations were perfect. The pool was an added feature that we used every day. The location of this property is perfect - far enough off the beaten path to be private, but close to St. Augustine for some fun sight-seeing and great food. We plan to return in 2011 -- with the rest of our family. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

From top to bottom this rental had everything you could want. Tasteful nautical decor, functional furniture, and many extras. We awoke to Dolphins playing in the morning, starfish and jelly fish at low tide, long walks on a beautiful beach and a lot of time in the pool! I would highly recommend this rental to any family, or couple (it is very romantic), there is really nothing that was missing and we are already talking about going back! The views are amazing (the best on the beach). We spent some time seeing the sights in St. Augustine, but spent the majority of the time enjoying the ocean breeze and the relaxation that this rental provided.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you had such a wonderful time. The owners of the house take pride in this unique beach house. The floor to ceiling windows do provide unmatched views. We look forward to having you return next year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

This house had it all! views, water access, beautiful home, pool, pet friendly, everything you need in the kitchen. Close to entertainment, but I really like Ponte Vista Sawgrass! Great places to eat! We even saw dolphins right out the living room windows!!!!!!!!!! Shelling and walking and just lounging, Oh, Yes! We will be back! Janice

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pure Enjoyment

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Captain's Cottage is a wonderful place to spend a week. My husband and I were relaxed and far removed from our work lives the minute we entered the front door. What a beautiful place and view. Being pet friendly was a plus for us because we like to travel with our pet. However don't expect the smell. Captain's Cottage is very clean and no pet smells at all. Sunrises are beautiful and having breakfast on the deck is better than any restaurant. We did all of our own cooking on vacation and were able to make do with appliances and dishware...may want to bring grill utensils with you and if you do shellfish...a stock pot. Great place to get away from it all, but close enough to entertainment if that's your thing. Pool and beach were entertainment enough for us. We even had the pleasure of a whale sighting and a few dolphins. Really a great time!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Golf in the Area

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday. Captain's Cottage was great--private, great views and close to everything we needed.
I ended up playing at Cimarone and St Johns...St Johns was a fantastic course and one I'd love to play again.

S.S. - Potomac, MD

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Golf in the Area

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday. Captain's Cottage was great--private, great views and close to everything we needed.
I ended up playing at Cimarone and St Johns...St Johns was a fantastic course and one I'd love to play again.

S.S. - Potomac, MD

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

My wife and I loved the Captain's Cottage. It had rrivacy, was right on the water and close to everything we needed, including terrific golf courses, St Augustine and small and big shopping. The house is very well maintained, well equipped and has amazing views.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Having a pool was fabulous for the kids.

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We loved the seaside cottage feel of this house and the privacy of the beach location (there is no public access so the beach is very quiet). Having a pool was fabulous for the kids. Also the house is pet friendly. Our dog loved the ocean walks every morning too! The house is very unusual and has magnificent ocean views because the entire ocean side is windows. The location provided easy access to historic St Augustine and other local attractions. We would definitely recommend a stay here for a couple or family.

-Nick

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We loved the seaside cottage feel of this house and the privacy of the beach location (there is no public access so the beach is very quiet). Having a pool was fabulous for the kids. Also the house is pet friendly. Our dog loved the ocean walks every morning too! The house is very unusual and has magnificent ocean views because the entire ocean side is windows. The location provided easy access to historic St Augustine and other local attractions. We would definitely recommend a stay here for a couple or family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Captain's Cottage Adventure

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

We had a great time at the Captain's cottage; sitting on the deck with our orange juice in the morning; swimming in the pool in the afternoon; star gazing on the deck in the evening. Also has a nice collection of books which we definitely took advantage of. Cottage is between Ponte Vedra and St. Augustine so lots of fun stuff to do either direction you drive. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great birthday weekend

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

We live in Jacksonville and decided to rent the house for a long weekend for my husband's birthday. This is the 4th time that we have rented a beach house in the area, but the first time that we had rented this house. We rented the house because of the location and the swimming pool. When we arrived, the owners/agents had left a nice note and a baggie of Lindt chocolates there for a welcome. I was surprised to see that there were spiral staircases to each floor which wasn't the best for carrying luggage. There was a bathroom on each of the three floors. The kitchen, living room, and dining room are on the main floor. On the second floor is a delightful (and fully stocked) book nook and a bunk bed with a double on the bottom and a twin on top. I believe that the top floor had a queen bed, whatever it was, it was still much smaller than the king that I expected. I would recommend this house for a family with older kids, but I would not recommend the house for a family with a younger child (5yo) like we had due to the arrangements of the bedrooms, etc. The deck is lovely and had a gas bbq grill. The kitchen is well laid out such that you could make dinner and chat with your companions with ease. Although there are two doors in the back of the house to lead to the deck, one did not open because of a shifting frame and another barely opened. This did decrease my enjoyment because every time I went out, I was concerned that I would never get the door closed. For the price though, the house is hard to beat. We did have a great time and the agent/owner was great to deal with. We promptly received the deposit back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review