reviews for: listing #53926 - Hot Springs, Arkansas House rental

Nice!! Log Cabin Close to Downtown, Pets OK!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $135 /nt
    $675 - $810 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing, peaceful 4 nights in this relatively remote, rustic cabin. The owner, David, was very responsive to a few minor maintenance issues - coming out promptly to fix them shortly after our arrival. Loved the location and the multitude of "woodsy" walking trails that were in the area. Enjoyed several good eating locations in Hot Springs - even had fun at the Casino. The only recommendation/concern (other than the odor of the cabin's well water) is: the whole interior needs a complete, thorough, professional "deep cleaning" - too many cobwebs, dusty surfaces, and "stuff under the beds" were observed during our stay. All-in-all: a good stay, a great location, and an enjoyable experience. Hope to be able to return some day !
Austin, Texas

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever :)

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

The absolute best part of my vacation was the cabin. I can't believe that I found this online and it exceeded even my vast imaginings. Every detail of the cabin was perfect--from the granite countertops, tile floors, stocked kitchen, upscale sink fixtures, and modern appliances to the stocked kitchen cabinets and beautiful furnishings. I wouldn't change a thing. The best part of all, though, was the surreal view from the front porch--it felt like I was secluded from the world and surrounded by trees flooded with sunlight, pure mountain air, and the delightful chirping of birds. My five-year-old couldn't wait to get back to our cabin every evening and he loved the old spooky mine and rock painting. We went to Wal-Mart the evening we arrived and bought groceries for the week--loved having home-cooked traditional breakfast every morning and drinking coffee on the porch. Day one was Magic Springs (only a couple of miles away!)--I don't know why anyone would want the stress and lines of Disney, when Magic Springs has it all with no waiting. Day two was guided horseback riding from the stables at Lake Catherine State Park. Again, awesome. Perfect weather, stunning scenery along the mountain forest trails. Day three was Alligator Farm (not impressed), Mid-America Science Museum (my little boy and my husband loved), I went to gift shops on Central Avenue (fantastic), while they went to Aquariums (thumbs down) and Wax Museum (ditto). Day four we went to beach area at Lake Catherine State Park. Even though water was up and beach was muddy, my son had a blast for about four hours and made several new friends. Day five was grand finale back to Magic Springs. More crowded this time as it was on a Friday instead of Monday. I would recommend going on Monday. All in all, not only do I want to go back again and again, I want to move there!!! I don't think anyone could find a better vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best vacation ever as judged by our kids!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This place was exactly what we were looking for! We came for a spring break getaway with our 3 children and we couldn't have asked for a better time! The cabin was wonderful..the dvd players in each bedroom saved a lot of arguments over what movie to watch each night! The appliances were great and it was very clean. Everything you need is there. The kids loved digging for "treasure" in the spooky mine everyday. ATV riding on the trails was great. The kids loved skipping rocks in the creek. (Hopefully next time we come, it will be warm and the kids can get in!) Rock painting was fun! Doesn't sound like much, but the kids had a great time doing it! Who would've thought? There's also a horseshoe pit and basketball area. Close enough to town if you want to go...but once you get here you won't want to leave! Washer and dryer was great...I hate doing piles of laundry upon returning home! Dave was super nice and made sure we had plenty of firewood. Fire pit is nice for hot dogs & s'mores! There is also a charcoal grill as well as a nice gas grill. Big porch for relaxing with coffee in the mornings and playing "giant checkers." We had fun just walking around the property and being outside! We won't be cooped up in a hotel room anymore when we come to Hot Springs! Booking was super easy! Can't wait for our next trip!! Thanks a lot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What A Great Place

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We loved the Cabin , it was very clean and comfortable. Our Kids had could run & play without worry , While we sat on the huge porch relaxing.
The Kids found Quarts,Fools Gold,and other wonderful Goodies in
"The Old Spooky Mine. We had a good time barbequing and the gas grill while playing checkers and sitting by the Campfire at the end of the day.
All us really enjoyed The Rock Painting --- That was a first for us.
We know we will be back , No more Motel Rooms for us. we would like to say thanks for a great trip.
We Thank Each of You , The Tate Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fall break getaway with the kids

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Loved the open layout of the cabin. Well stocked kitchen and outdoor area. Loved having washer dryer! Coffee pot carafe looked like it had been repaired a few times and actually broke on the pot first time we used it.

Kids loved exploring the area and Old Spooky Mine...genius idea! Very beautiful piece of property they have.

We could hear the nearby outdoor christian play during campfire time, which was kinda nice having some background music. But, if you're seeking solitude not sure it'll be appreciated -maybe not so loud in cabin???

Only downfall was the place was not cleaned. I'm talking about floors being swept, vacuum run, dusting and such- basic general things. To people with allergies, this can be a major issue. I do appreciate to equipment being there to use for cleaning, but that's not how I care to spend vacation.

Rode the Ducks (a bit chilly but fun for kids), Gangster Museum, Observation Tower and Magic Springs spookfest were all fun. Disappointed in McClards BBQ, I could tell they used poor quality of meat both beef and pork. Do remember to bring jugs to take advantage of the free natural spring water near visitor center downtown. Fat Bottom Girls was also a good stop for some amazing cupcakes-chocolate salted caramel yum!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What A Wonderful Place To Stay *****

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

What A great place, We loved the spacious Cabin, it was clean and comfortable. Our Kids could run and play while We sat on the huge porch relaxing, The Kids found Quartz,Fools Gold and other goodies in the
" OLD SPOOKY MINE " We had a good time barbequing and sitting by the campfire at the end of the day. All of us really enjoyed The Rock Painting --- That was A First For us .
This place has spoiled us, no more motel rooms for us.
Thanks The Tate Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely Cabin in the Wilderness

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for the 3rd time in this cozy little cabin in the wilderness. The cabin was very clean and decorated with a "native american" theme. Dave and his father provide an endless amount of paint for decorating rocks. My daughter looks forward to painting rocks each visit. The "Old Spooky Mine" is one of the highlights. Kids are bound to love mining here. You actually mine for jewels that are in the dirt. They even have a water trough and wire baskets for you to sift through the dirt to find your treasures. Lily brought home lots of "diamonds and rubies" as she called them. My husband loves to make fires and tend to them...no need to buy wood...Dave is on site and constantly asking if you need wood or anything to make your trip more pleasurable. There is a huge porch to relax on or BBQ... I love just sitting out there and day dreaming. It is such a relaxing place to escape to. The water has gotten better over time...no smell and drinkable. Hospotality is out of this world. These renters are awesome...go and find out for yourself. Area is 8 min from downtown Hot Springs. Also, there is a 4-wheel drive park right next door. We will continue to stay here as long as we live. We make sure to visit once a year at least...since we have found this lovely cabin. Can't wait to go back! Hopefully sooner than later.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Hot Springs Stay

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay in this wonderful cabin , so much better than staying in a hotel/condo . The cabin was fully funrnished with all that was needed. It was very laid back,pet friendly, easy to down town to all the Spa's and shopping and eating .Our kids had a wonderful time playing in the spooky mine
and getting wet in the creeks but most of all we had a blast with the rock painting.We had a over all Excellent Hot Springs Experience,and we will be back.
Thanks All
The Carnells

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Needs better house keeping

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Arrived to find leftover food in refrig in tupper ware containers also open can of beans, had to clean to have aplace to put our groc, This was our third year here, and we were very disapointed. It is a great cabin in a great location but furiture and house keeping have gone down hill since our last visit

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I take great pride in our vacation rental properties and immediately discussed this review with the property owner. We collectively agreed that this is an isolated incident and deeply apologize for this oversight. This will also be used as a lesson learned and as a eye opener to always look at the property as if we were the renters.
This is a great property to share with our "vacation friends" and the door is always open to share thoughts,ideas & constructive reviews because we want everyone to feel at home !
On behalf of our properety owners,
Thank You,
Cindy
Vacation Rental manager

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Harry is very Scary!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

We rented the cabin as a much needed time away to relax and rest and enjoy the quiet. It was wonderful and much better than expected. We were there the week before halloween and got a huge kick out of joking around about Harry who lives back in the woods being very scary. We never met Harry but did paint a couple of rocks in his honor and had a lot of fun being silly about him. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the area. Close to downtown Hot Springs, Magic Springs and all the area has to offer but also secluded and quiet. Thanks for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review as it is so rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cabin.The property affords so much in a relaxing atmosphere and the cabin is beautiful...
...as you experienced, Harry is there whether he is or not, you never know !

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What A Great Place

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

We loved the Cabin , it was very clean and comfortable. Our Kids had could run & play without worry , While we sat on the huge porch relaxing.
The Kids found Quarts,Fools Gold,and other wonderful Goodies in
"The Old Spooky Mine. We had a good time barbequing and the gas grill while playing checkers and sitting by the Campfire at the end of the day.
All us really enjoyed The Rock Painting --- That was a first for us.
We know we will be back , No more Motel Rooms for us. we would like to say thanks for a great trip.
We Thank Each of You , The Tate Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice, but....

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We selected this cabin because it was close to the ORV park. The caretakers at the front entrance were very helpful and offered us extra firewood. The cabin was nicely decorated with two queen beds in each bedroom. Each bedroom also had its own sink and television/DVD player. Linens, dishes and a propane barbecue grill were also provided.

The main problem I had with this cabin is the water, it has a very strong sulfur odor, so I recommend taking bottled water with you. Also, the mattresses on the beds were covered with plastic sheets, I can appreciate the desire to keep the mattresses protected, but the sheets on the bed were very flimsy, so the plastic made the beds a bit uncomfortable. The cabin could also use a deep cleaning as I noticed a lot of dust on the ceiling fans and the glassware bar in the living room, this was not a major issue, but could be for someone with allergies.

Overall, the cabin has ample room and was a nice place to stay. We will likely stay at this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Wonderful Cabin

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Wonderful Cabin! My family and i enjoyed it so much. Very nice and clean... Mr. Dave made sure we had plenty of firewood. My children loved hiking the trails, digging in the old spooky mine, and the natural spring swimming hole on the cabin grounds. There was horseback riding, 1,000 acres ATV riding, and Magic Springs just down the road. We also thought it was neat looking at all the stones everyone had painted and also painting our own...very cool idea! We are already planning another trip back this summer and wouldn't stay any other place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome place to stay

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Me, my husband, my sister and bother-in-law had a great time! We were so impressed with your amenities and grounds. We enjoyed our weekend and will definitely be back. Thank you!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly recommend!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

We had a blast! The cabin was awesome and plenty of entertainment right there. Don't even have to go anywhere. The groundskeeper Super Dave and his dog Scout keep everything perfect. The Superlift ORV park right down the road makes a perfect combo for this cabin. We took out jeep and ATV's and had a great time with another couple that met us there. It was the best ever! Cabin has a huge deck and the cabin is clean and supplied. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Thanksgiving in Hot Springs

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Wonderful cabin! We spent a week in the cabin and would have loved to stay longer!! Peaceful area,...you dont even realize you are 5 minutes from downtown. The cabin has everything you could possibly need...owners kept plenty of firewood handy for our nightly bon fire...gas in the grill for outside grilling! Very relaxing week...even our teenage daughter enjoyed it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review