reviews for: listing #53948 - Pagosa Springs, Colorado Cabin rental

Free Nights!! Continental Divide Views!! National Forest
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $190 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

A magical home in the mountains,

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

The house was better than it looked online, and it looks pretty nice. We loved this cabin, though I wouldn't call it a 'cabin'. 4 bedrooms, space for lots of people, we never even used the huge upstairs game room. We were 2 couples, so we could share the 2 king bedrooms each w/our own bath, which was nice. The porch was great, just be sure to bring some sugar to fill the hummingbird feeder. The hummingbirds kept coming around and flying right into our faces, asking for their feeder. Be sure to hike to Opal Lake, it was a beautiful hike. You can drive across the small river about a mile back towards the main highway and a couple of miles up into the forest, then you see forest service signs. The 10 mile gravel road into the home is fine, my brother drove his Honda minivan without any problems. It is very nicely graded, just be sure to watch out for deer. We saw lots of wildlife. We were all sorry to leave, would love to come back in the fall. The fireplace was also excellent, we had great fires every night, then went outside on the porch to watch the stars, a magical place.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Lots of room, fantastic kitchen. Unvelievable view. Nice and quite, secluded. Nice accomodations. We would definitely stay again.

Owners response: So happy that you enjoyed your stay in the peaceful and beautiful Blanco Basin and I look forward to your return. Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great value, privacy, views and management.

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

This property offers ultimate privacy, all the comforts of home and some amazing views! There is plenty of living space and the bedrooms are well equipped and clean. It's also a great value and the management has always been easy to work with. We've already stayed twice and can't wait to come back again!

Owners response: Can't wait to have you back again! Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just perfect

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The cabin is just perfect......................out in the woods and far from civilization.........the road to the cabin is fine and thats where you will see plenty of deer and turkey. The cabin is big and cozy and we had plenty of room. The game room upstairs is perfect and has airhockey, pool table and xbox. We enjoyed it very much. Pagosa Springs is not that far from the cabin and is a perfect spot for a soak in the hot springs......................This cabin rental is perfect for a small family or a big group, we highly recommend it..........thanks Lisa for a perfect vacation......................

Kevin and Amy Albuquerque, NM

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A beautiful home away from home...

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Our stay in this home was great! We had two families stay (4 adults, 5 children) and plenty of room to spread out. it is extremely well kept. The upstairs game room was an added bonus that the kids loved. We had all the comforts of home with a beautiful view and peaceful surroundings. The property manager, Lisa was an absolute pleasure to work with. She made herself available to answer any questions and provide information about local attractions. The road going to the house was not bad, just long. We spotted many beautiful deer and soaked up the views on the large deck. It is definely a place we would stay again while visiting beautiful Pagosa Springs. Thank you for sharing your home. The Patrick Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Place in Pagosa, Springs

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

We rented this cabin for a family reunion to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for a lovelier place. The cabin was clean and spacious. We loved sitting out on the deck and looking out into the meadow for the occasional deer or elk. Our family loves to hike and enjoy nature, so this place was perfect. Located near a hiking trail to Opal Lake and Wolf Creek Pass. Relatively easy access to town as well for antique shopping and miniature golfing. Something for everyone. Enjoyed our stay immensely!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Cabin with Beautiful Views

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

My family and i are from Santa Fe, NM and we have beautiful mountains but when we drove up to this cabin, it was breathtaking! We stepped out into the balcony and coulndt believe how gorgeous and green and amazing the views are from the cabin. We will definately come again and tell our friends! Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious, secluded cabin in stunning surroundings!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Our group was on a skiing trip over New Year - and we really enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We were very impressed with the overall size, number of beds, games room, cleanliness, all the kitchen equipment etc. I see there have been complaints about the road - but it is a VERY scenic road with beautiful views and we found it to be very smooth (but it had snowed and been ploughed). It takes a little longer to reach from Wolf Creek (about an hour) but this is the small price you pay to be in such pristine, beautiful surroundings. Due to the subzero temperatures (negative 21) which were quite exceptional - we had a few problems with cars breaking down and sliding, and pipes freezing, but our host Lisa was incredible and managed to sort out all of our problems very quickly and efficiently despite it being a holiday weekend. Who needs a hotel concierge when you have a host on call to help out if necessary? I would definitely recommend this cabin at any time of year, we look forward to returning sometime soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our cabin for your getaway and for the great review! Yes, I wish I could control the weather because it was definitely unseasonably cold why you were here. I'm glad that things worked out for you and that you had a great trip, regardless of the weather! Yes, it is about one hour to the ski resort from the cabin, as opposed to about 35 minutes from downtown Pagosa. I agree, the scenic drive and the beauty of the cabin setting makes it all worthwhile. Please let me know when you again wish to travel to Pagosa, as we offer great discounts to return travelers. Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great cabin

Review submitted: November 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

We realy did enjoy the cabin. We stayed a week in November and the weather was just too good for elk hunting. We have been coming to the area for 33 years and have tried other places and camped out for many years but this was the best! Everything at the cabin was just as Lisa and the websight had described it and will be back as long as they continue renting it.
GREAT PLACE !!

Thanks
Steve Gist

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! The elk that I have seen in the Blanco Basin area this month have been happily grazing on private ranches! It's amazing (and frustrating) how they seem to know where they are safe. I hope to see you again next year (and that you will leave with a successful hunt)! Happy Thanksgiving!
Regards, Lisa

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

WOW! wonderful vacationing home, We had a awsome time hiking & fishing. Futhermor we enjoyed sitting out on the deck having a great veiw of the mountains and the fresh air to breath. Thanks for making this home avalible for us. We would highly recomend this cabin to anyone, Thanks.

highest regards; Fitzgeralds

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Hi, and thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed the beauty and the feel of getting away from it all. If you return, I will offer more recommendations to you on "things to see and do" near the cabin. This truly is one of a kind . . . Thanks again! Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

GREAT VACATION

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

We enjoyed out stay at your property so much that we would like to do it again in the near future. The description was right on, we found everything clean,well maintained. The rooms were large and we really enjoyed the kitchen and living room layout. We hiked to the top of Echo lake fished the river and Opal Resevoir - all within 10 miles of our stay. Thanks again Bill

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello,
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Keep in mind that I offer discounts and/or "Free Nights" for repeat travelers. The aspen leaves will be changing colors soon - a very special time to enjoy the cabin and the surrounding beauty. Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not a good place to stay, picture very deceiving

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

The cabin looked ok, BUT, the dirt road in was 10 1/2 miles of rough bone jarring dirt, the cabin had 20 bags of trash in the basement from the last tenents, there were mice in the house, the water had a yellow color and stunk like sulfur, bathrooms need updating, the house was dirty, couldn't use the kitchen until I cleaned, oven was filthy, grill outside filthy, hole in the deck. We rented for a month, stayed 2 nights and got out of there. Lisa did give us a refund. Found a condo on one floor, allowed pets and was beautiful for $50 a night through a property mangement in Pagoso Springs.

Owners response: Hello, and I'm sorry that you feel that this home did not meet your expectations. I feel that I have done a good job of describing where the property is located and the road to it. I assume you had read the other numerous reviews from travelers before you booked this home who gave it 5 star ratings. Those travelers loved that it was not in a neighborhood with street lights and sidewalks. We pride ourselves on it's unique location, beauty, and allowing travelers to "get away from all the every day city life". The website states that it is "Rural" and "Mountains". Also, in the Rental Agreement that you signed, it states "we do not refund due to road conditions", and that "all roads leading to the cabin are maintained by Archuleta County and have year round access". The driving directions also told you that it is 10.6 miles on a gravel road. There is nothing false or misleading about the pictures or anything stated on the website or in the documents that you signed. The website contains exact pictures of how the cabin looks today. Because I am serious about the traveler's experience, I did refund you, in full, for the nights you were not there, (even though the Rental Agreement clearly states that "cancelation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposits"). As to the trash, the trash pickup (private) for the cabin had not occurred at the time the travelers checked in, but was scheduled soon afterward. It was located downstairs in the basement, far from the living quarters of the home. The small hole in one board of the deck (about 3 inches round) has been repaired (it had happened just a few days prior to your "check in"). Regarding the cleanliness of the home, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but the professional cleaning service that we use has been in business in Pagosa for over 20 years, and we have had the same cleaning woman within the company for over 3 years. I personally inspected the home prior to your "check in" (as I always do), and the home was immaculate (again, our other Reviews have stated the cleanliness of the home). Finally, yes, there are critters around the cabin and the surrounding National Forest: deer, elk, wild turkey, chipmunks, squirrels . . . and sometimes a field mouse. Occasionally, a field mouse gets in the cabin. That is all part of the "out in the country" charm of living in a rural area with the National Forest out your back door. Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wilderness Paradise

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

We loved all of the wildlife seen in the area, we got to see elk, deer, coyotes, a bear and came across a mountain lion on the trails. We felt completely safe at all times. The cabin was equipped with everything except enough fans could have used 3 more. We rode atv's and a UTV on the trails for 4 days and would recommend taking a saw just in case you come across a tree that has fallen on the trail. We had a great time and highly recommend this place. It is 10.5 miles off of the main road and takes about 20 -25 minutes to get to the main road. Town is only about 10 more minutes up the road. If you love nature and piece and quite you will also fall in LOVE WITH THIS PLACE.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It's great that you spent so much time exploring while you were vacationing, and I'm glad that you had the opportunity to see so much wildlife! Please come back again, soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing stay, fabulous views & animal life!

Review submitted: July 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We had a very relaxing stay with plenty of space, comfortable atmosphere and lots of beautiful scenery. The various mountain views were wonderful to see as the light changed their looks throughout the day. Every evening we were blessed to see herds of elk roaming the fields across the road from the cabin and just a little way down the raod.
The local trail walks were easy enough for various ages and health issues to enjoy nature. The sights were quite exciting, including the bear tracks (adult bear & cub prints) that we saw coming back from Opal lake.
The morning we left to go home, we even saw a bear in the middle of the road, only about a mile from where we stayed (VERY EXCITING!)

The activities and resturants available in town nearby gave a nice variety of things to see and do. This was a very nice place to stay and we would enjoy doing it again. The cabin is clean and well maintained. You can easily customize your visit to fit your families interests and everyone will have an enjoyable & relaxing time. The scenery once again was fantastic.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's great that your family enjoyed the cabin, the area, and the abundant wildlife. It truly is a very special place!! I look forward to hearing from you the next time you decide to travel to Pagosa Springs! Thank you for choosing this cabin for your vacation! Lisa

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pagosa Springs Cabin

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

Our family of 6 plus a baby stayed here for five nights in June 2010. It provided a comfortable hub from which we drove to Pagosa Springs, nearby hikes, and waterfalls. We enjoyed the spectacular view off the porch and the nightly sighting of many elk in the field nearby. The Opal Lake hike (very near the cabin) was beautiful. Lisa, our contact person, was helpful and communicative of details and questions we had. It was a property that worked well for our needs and budget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for choosing this cabin for your vacation, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! Although you had traveled far to get to Pagosa, I hope that you will consider a visit here again! Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for the family.

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our trip to Pagosa Springs and our stay at your cabin. We hope to make it at least an annual visit for our family. My wife and I enjoyed sitting on the deck every morning to have our coffee and enjoy the beautiful scenery. A great place to relax and unwind. We hiked at nearby Opal Lake, rode horses and did some rafting in Pagosa Springs. The kids really enjoyed it even though their cell phones had limited reception...great. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm sure it is helpful to future vacation travelers, and it is good feedback for me, too. Relaxation is one thing that you can definitely plan on doing at the cabin. . . it cannot be helped. Please keep me in mind for your annual trips to Pagosa - we would love to have you stay with us again! Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We LOVED Our Stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

We loved our stay (our second) at the cabin at 10600 Upper Blanco Road. The house is so comfortable and well-equipped. My husband did have a couple of suggestions for your consideration:

1. How about a basic Dish Network setup? He doesn't read for pleasure and missed not being able to watch the news. We did, however, enjoy watching your DVD's a couple of evenings.

2. How about a reduced price for a couple or 2 couples? We know the cabin sleeps so many more than we had. My thinking is that,you go the other way......a basic price for 2-4 and additional charges for more...right?

Anyhow, our stay was just wonderful and we hope to do it again.

We did the mineral baths one day. I might suggest that you tell the guests to use the towels provided at the spa, as we can't get the sulpher smell out of some of our colored clothes I washed with our swimsuits. If guests use YOUR towels, I am sure the next guests wonder what that awful smell is!

We enjoyed exploring the canyon, up the mountain, and even driving up to the end of Left-Hand Canyon. It is beautiful country and what we especially love about your location is the fact that there are few, if any tourists!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Judy,
Thank you for coming back to vacation at this wonderful cabin and to enjoy the area. Colorado is a beautiful state, and I have traveled all over Colorado, but nothing compares to the gorgeous Blanco Basin. It truly is paradise! Thank you, also, for your good suggestions about a television service, lower pricing for couples, and the hot springs. I do hope that you will choose this cabin for your next getaway.
Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for a family or group vacation!

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

We took a group of five adults and two children to stay at the cabin and snowboard at Wolf Creek. We had a great time at the cabin! It was very spacious and the game room/loft upstairs allowed the kids to have a blast without disturbing the rest of the group!

The property manager, Lisa, was very helpful and provided great suggestions on what to do and where to go in the area. We also got a deposit returned to us quickly and there were not any issues with the financial end of the transaction.

The cabin is about twenty minutes or so from town, so I would recommend that you plan ahead and take some of your own paper-towels, napkins, etc.! Also, pack some DVDs as the cabin does not have cable but does have a DVD player.

We would all recommend the cabin to friends & family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: I continually strive for a 5 star rating, and try to make your stay as perfect as possible. Because I live here, I can recommend restaurants, shopping, outdoor activities, theatre, and other "things to do". I'm normally available by phone most any time so that your questions are answered promptly. Thank you for choosing this cabin for your vacation, and I hope that you will return to the beautiful Pagosa Springs in the near future! Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Arkies and Okies go to Colorado!!!!

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

This cabin was GREAT!!!!.It was exactly what Lisa said it was.The view from the deck was unbelievable,with the fall colors and the snow covered mountains. The kids just simple loved the game room and watching all the different animals from the deck.Deer,Elk,Coyotes,
birds etc.On three or four mornings a herd of Elk was in the meadow below the cabin with 25-30 cows and 3 bulls bugling and chasing the cows around. While the drive in was long thats when we would see most of the animals,esp. the mule deer.Lisa Stine did an excellant job for us we will use her again. We would certainly recommend Lisa and this cabin to anyone looking for the perfect Rockie Moutain git-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

What a beautiful serene setting. We viewed every
manner of wild life during our stay from deer to black
bear. The home has wonderful amenities for chlldren
and plenty of room for a large family or multiple
families.

Owners response: I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A WEEK IN PARADISE

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

This was one of the most memorable and relaxing vacation spots to date. The cabin was everything Lisa told us. The fact that electronics could not be used by the kids made for a week of family bonding including a million laughs. The second morning we had a herd of elk across the road from the cabin, the bulls were bugling back and forth it was amazing. Everyday going to town was filled with different wildlife. The springs downtown were a favorite activity as well as the horseback riding in the mountains. Recommend to any who likes the outdoors and peace and quiet. Thanks again Lisa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm extremely thrilled that your vacation was very special, and that the cabin and its location helped make that happen! Because I live and work in Pagosa, I have been all over this county, and there is no other place in Pagosa that tugs at my heart the way the "Upper Blanco Basin" does (this is where the property is located). Thanks for booking with us! Lisa

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

blanco basin cabin

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

This cabin is excellent! For those who want to get away off the grid with access to the mountains this is it. Keep in mind, there is no tv/satellite reception, radio, or internet as of our stay. The weather updates were my only concern. If you have no concerns about updates it is wonderful and scenic. Nice pool/air hockey table to keep kids busy. The agent Lisa was a pleasure to work with. She even left a couple small toy airplane kits for my kids to have fun with. It is at the base of a hill/mountain with 12,000 foot scenic peaks on 3 sides and a river with soothing sounds just across the road. My wife saw a herd of wild elk. It is a wonderful SPACIOUS and clean facility. We felt comfortable and safe. I am just a news addict and wanted to access weather reports. We could have made access on the road at spring break with my wifes minivan but was glad we chose to take my 4wd. I highly recommend this place to anybody wanting to really get away or have nice lodging for wolf creek. Just make sure you aren't the news update junkie. We could not even get a signal with cell phones. There is a local phone in the cabin. I enjoyed our comfortable stay and highly recommend this to anybody looking. This was our first time for this type of outing and didn't know what to expect. It was smooth flawless and enjoyable. Highly recommend doing business with Lisa. This is a great property! It gets a good instead of excellent only because I didn't get my weather reports and Lisa told us before hand there was no satellite or network tv. There are however tvs with DVD and XBOX for your enjoyment. Thanks Lisa we had a blast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again! Sincerely, Lisa

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review