reviews for: listing #53978 - Lincoln City, Oregon House rental

Lincoln Beach Cottages
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $60 - $70 /nt
    $420 - $490 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Views

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

Well worth the money... We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage. The views from the living room and deck are breathtaking. Had everything you would need to make great meals for your family in the kitchen. Very nice bunk bed's with very comfy mattresses. central heat and air, always the perfect temperature and a gas fireplace sets the mood. Our 20 month old daughter had room to run, and not a lot of stuff for her to get into.. Very close to the beach, and its a pretty private beach too. Great cottage for a small family, and the 2 bedroom looked very nice and roomy too. Will consider renting both if we ever need more room or go with more family. Also if you have any questions, Valerie answers text messages very quickly and helps you solve any problem or questions you might have. Thanks Valerie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much! I try to provide a cozy place to stay at a discounted price. The one bedroom cottage has a great view of the ocean and its nice to sit with a cozy fire and watch the waves. The two bedroom cottage has just a peek of the ocean since there is a house in front of it, but hot tub is always enjoyable too. :)

Thanks again!

Valerie

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Decent for singles or adults

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We stayed in the 1 bedroom. For starters, this is a cute enough little place at a great price but you do get what you pay for in some regards. The cottage was cute and I would recommend it for maybe a couple of college students or singles but not for a family.

It is self-clean, so you're relying on people to put some effort into it in order to have a nice stay. When we got there, on the surface things looked good, but once I really looked around there were cobwebs from every ceiling and thick dust bunnies and cobwebbing beneath the beds/ behind all furniture. We found a few spiders hanging out too. It was not clean and once I looked at the cleaning supplies I could see why...there are two dust busters on a stick (one broken), an old mop, and a broom but no vacuum cleaners or dusters so there's not really the proper supplies to get a real cleaning done.

The lighting is really dinghy so don't expect to get any real reading done indoors. But again, these things are not deal breakers as the place is a steal of a price and a quick walk to a nice and uncrowded section of beach.

however, I would not recommend it to families with small children as the bunk beds are homemade and not particularly safe for kids. There isn't really a ladder so much as 2x4s to climb up and the safety rail is far too small (I bought one at Wal-Mart to use and left it there for others to use). My 8 year old slipped and fell while trying to climb down the steps and bruised himself up pretty good on the dresser that is placed about a foot away from the "ladder". I would not let my younger child up there at all.

Neither the fireplace or the oven worked during our stay (and perhaps the owner was not made aware by previous renters) and the hot water heater is set very high...both my daughter and I got scalded washing our hands as the water went from tepid to steaming hot in an instant. And lastly, since there is no garbage service make sure you plan accordingly as you will have to take your trash with you when you leave and with kids that can add up fast.

Overall, we personally won't be staying there again although we would still recommend it to our young single friends looking for a cheap stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Actually both the oven and fireplace worked as guests who arrived both before and now after have stated. Apparently this guest did not know how to operate the oven or fireplace. Had they even contacted me I would have gladly told them! Also the bunk beds have a wooden safety barrier for the top bunk and it was under the bed. Again she just had to look or ask me! I have never in 13 years of renting these have any adults or kids complain about the bunk beds. In fact, I have young couples who come and specifically want the one bedroom cottage because their kids like the wooden bunk beds.

These are self clean and yes there may be a few dust bunnies here and there but like my frequent guests have commented: We don't mind self clean for only $45 per night and you make it affordable for us single parents to take our kids on vacation we otherwise would not be able to afford! And no there is no garbage service as again you bring your own trash bag and take your garbage with you as again they are self clean.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful!! Will be back for sure!! Many Kudos!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Valerie,
We so enjoyed our stay. Finally a chance to get away from big city!! Everything was as stated and BETTER, and great deal.
And what beautiful weather! Could not have asked for better on the Oregon coast.

Owner is also super to work with and aims to please. You could not find a better deal, and privacy and ocean view as this cottage.
Thanks Valerie, we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you so much for your business! I provide simple pet friendly accommodations at discounted rates. I very much appreciate customers like you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage and had an excellent stay. Myself,my wife,and 2 children were there for 4 days and it was like our own little, cozy home away from home. It may not be a great pick for people who are high maintenance or if you have unrealistic expectations. For the price, you cant beat it. You get the personal feel of having your own little place to stay, and dont have to worry about all the inconveniences that come with hotel.(less homey feeling, having neighbors below, above, or both, parking issues, etc.) The place stayed nice and cozy with the fireplace. The view could've been better, as it looked nicer from the 1 bedroom, but that didnt bother us . The beach access was awesome but was a little bit of a workout going back up the trail. Again, it didnt bother us, as it was still very close to the cottage. It was cute and cozy, right off the beach, and in a convenient location between Lincoln City and Depoe Bay. We are extremely pleased overall with our stay. Thanks for the awesome stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Ron! I very much appreciate wonderful guests like you and so glad you enjoyed your stay! Merry Christmas! Best wishes for the New Year too!

Sincerely,

Valerie A. Bramley

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Cute little cottage

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Thank you so much Valerie for allowing us to stay in your cottage. It was a cute little cottage and so close to the beach. The view from the cottage was extremely amazing. The stay was wonderful. The cottage is in a great location between Lincoln City and Depoe Bay. Beach access is great. We will definitely stay again. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,

Valerie

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This was a very cute place and made us feel at home. 5 minute walk to put your toes in the water! The beach was pretty secluded and not full of tourists so it made for a private relaxing weekend. The home is close to Depot Bay and Lincoln City which both can make for fun day trips. I would recommend this rental, especially for the price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate wonderful guests like you!

Valerie

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

great price.. amazing beach!!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

this place sounded too good to be true so i was a little worried. but after arriving it was every thing i had expected. i couldnt fand any problems its a great little cottage for a great price. just make sure too bring extra blankets and sweaters cause it was really cold in the back bedrooms but no worries. it was the beach that made this place amazing. it was private and beautiful. i have stayed on the north beach of lincoln city and loved it but this beach far exceeds it. and the trail is right at the end of the street about three houses over. all in all it was a fantastic trip. and i look forward to more stays. thanks again valerie!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your nice comments. I very much appreciate you taking the time to write. I have run Lincoln Beach Cottages as self clean homes for the past 12 years. They are simple accommodations for an affordable price. I have had wonderful guests like you who come back year after year and I look forward to hearing from you again!

Valerie

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful and cozy

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We first stayed in the one bedroom cottage and it was just what we were looking for! Nice clean and comfy rustic style cabin. Great view of the ocean. We then stayed in the two bed cottage as we wanted the hot tub. We had a great time, used it both day and night and we will be back! These are simple adorable and very affordable cottages! Thanks Valerie!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. I greatly appreciate your patronage!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great cabin for the value!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

My husband and I were searching for an inexpensive cabin on the beach to rent with our two large dogs. We were lucky enough to find Valerie and her cottages. For less than we would have spent on JUST a hotel we were able to have a wonderful vacation full of good food and good wine! The 2 bedroom cottage does not have the best view, however the beach is less than a block away and was AMAZING! The beach was private, quiet and BEAUTIFUL. We spend several days lounging in the hot tub, watching the sun set and taking day trips to Newport and Lincoln City. As long as you come not expecting a 5-star hotel you will be amazed with the value and comfortable cozy cabins. Valerie's customer service was superb and she quickly responded to all of my questions. We will plan to make this an annual trip!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you so much! I very much appreciate it! I offer simple accommodations that are self clean and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for taking such good care of my cottage and I look forward to having you as a future guest!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great location if you don't mind staying in a dive

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

After talking with the owner and looking at photos, I decided that this would be a decent place to stay. I was not expecting a 4 star hotel, but I was expecting all of the amenities to be in working order and usable. We got there in the dark, and could hear the waves crashing on the beach--very cool. As soon as we opened the door, you could smell the mildew, which is not unexpected on the coast. We started reading the log book and started to worry. Most of the entries were negative. I can put up with a lot so I didn't start to worry until we read the entry that indicated that the hide a bed mattress was not sleepable. I pulled out the sofa sleeper and the previous guest was right. If you don't mind feeling anything but springs, then I guess you could sleep on it. The floor was more comfortable. There were 5 of us and not having that bed for sleeping was a deal breaker. I did bring an air mattress--just in case--good thing I had it. That being said, the mattresses on the bunk beds were very comfortable. The carpet was very dirty and worn--kind of gross looking. The couch cushions were so dirty/grimy that we had to put a blanket down before we could sit on it. The vacuum was a sweeper type--you can't get all of the sand and crumbs up. The cleaning supplies were not adequate (no comet type cleanser) and I had to purchase more--which I left for others. There wasn't a large pot for boiling pasta, crabs, etc., so I purchased one from the Salvation army and left it there. There was only one partial roll of paper towels and toilet paper--that was it! I restocked the supplies. When I got home, I emailed the owner indicating that there were some things needing attention in her cottage. She was very defensive and blew me off. If you don't mind sleeping on the dirty floor this is the place for you!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Very surprised by this as just had 3 great reviews about this same cottage from this site and others.
Since these other guests emailed me how much they liked it and the great price, I will ask them to post their reviews as well. There are some points I wish to make. These are self clean and this is mentioned in my guest agreement as is the smell of mildew when you first arrive since it is less than one block from the beach! That is why I indicate in the agreement that you should air it out upon arrival. This happens with all beach rentals and is well known by all owners in the are and guests who come to the beach on a regular basis.

As for the large pans, there are several but likely not big enough to hold a large crab! As for the log book, 90% of
the reviews are positive and some of those people have already returned to stay again! As for the queen sofa bed.
It isn't the most comfortable and I tell people that upfront and even had guest who used it and put a sleeping bag on it for extra comfort.

This is why I recommend using the new pillow top mattresses from the bunk beds
for use in the living room which most people do.
I also have a housecleaner come in on a regular basis to make sure they are kept reasonably clean.
You cannot please everyone and as indicated in my guest agreement
that all guests review before renting, this is not the Hilton. I've had wonderful guests who clean and leave their own cleaning products for others to use because they are so appreciative of these reduced rates!
I have 12 years of guests who come back year after year because of my rates for two simple
little cottages less than one block from the beach. These are not for everyone as again they are self clean and everyone's definition of cleanliness is different. But dirty they are not and unfortunately there are a few inaccuracies
In this guest's story and I will ask my other guests to respond.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Charming cozy cottage!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Valerie- Thank you so much for providing affordable housing on the coast! My fiancé and I love the Oregon Coast, since we are both college students we are always looking for affordable ways to make it over there. I have searched the internet for affordable rentals and this is by far the best deal I have found. We love walking and playing on the beach with our dogs, having the beach access right across the street made this easy to do. We also really liked the location; it was very convenient to go to Lincoln City or Newport. We will most definitely be back next time we need a little get away. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you for the very nice review! I try to keep my rates low so that others can enjoy the wonderful beaches of Oregon. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Thanks again!

Valerie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Montana Honeymooners

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon. Knowing this area from previously living in Portland before I wanted to bring her down here for our honeymoon. I didnt want to stay at some over priced hotel so I went online in search for the perfect little beach house. Well I found it. For the price you cant beat it with a stick!!! Deck with a hot tub and a peek of the ocean with trees mostly surounding you. Gas fireplace with a full kitchen and everything you need to make meals,(minus the food of course). Cable television. Bathtub with shower. It was like home away from home. Alot more private then some motel!! We will return again next year for sure!!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank yo so much! I really appreciate great guests like you. And for taking such good care of my vacation rental!

Valerie

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Wow

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

If value is what you are after - this may be the place for you. If you plan on spending any time at all just hanging out and relaxing - think again. The rental was the 4th house in a row (4 deep) and had no privacy whatsoever. There were houses close enough to touch to one side and directly in front. My family and I traveled roughly 10 hours [one way] and were very disappointed. The mildew smell was more than slight (I cannot get it out of our clothing, even after multiple washings) and one of my children (who has mild asthma) is now sick (she wasn't sick when we left for vacation). The beds were terrible - hard and squeaky. The girls could not sleep on the futon - but rather ended up on the floor. We left a day earlier than planned - we simply couldn't take it any more. We left for the comfort of a hotel.

Helpful votes: 25 / 27

 

Great Little Place

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

When we first arrived we had been given the wrong code to the key box but that was quickly resolved by the on call person. The place was clean, had everything that we needed. The beach view is lovely and the back porch was very protected from the wind. The place met our needs and we would stay there again except for one problem. The neighbors across the street, who seem to be year round residents, have a very aggressive, loud dog. He is not chained up and threatened nearly everyone who walked by with or without a dog. He barked all night and day. Even when the owners were home they did nothing to stop the dog from barking or showing aggression to passers by. The dog was very distracting at night and would make me nervous to have children around. Again, the property was nice and was as advertised. I think we will try to find another location in Lincoln City to stay in the future because of the neighbor dog, not because of the property.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for letting me know about the neighbors' dogs. This will be taken care of immediately. I appreciate your nice comments and would hope you consider my little cottages again in the future.

Sincerely,

Valerie A. Bramley
Owner

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Small cottage (w/out hot tub) was very cute and had a great view. Fireplace was very cozy for a chilly, rainy, evening. Plenty of space for our family of 4, but bathroom is TINY, so if you have teenage girls be warned. Sofa bed is not adequate for a big man, but you can pull a mattress off the bunk bed and and sleep compfortably in front of the fireplace. Cleaning was no problem, since we spent most of our time out-and-about and didn't make much mess anyway. Easy beach access. Whatever we gave up in conveniences/amenities was worth having enough money left to actually go do things. GREAT FOOD at Sea Hag restaurant!!!!! Don't be put off by the trailer park you pass on the way in, or the pot holes. We felt perfectly safe and comfortable, even with our vehicle parked across the road.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I appreciate your nice review. I try to keep my rates low year after year and it has worked now for over 11 years, with many repeat customers.

Helpful votes: 11 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review