reviews for: listing #54082 - Mount Shasta, California House rental

Amazing Log Cabin with Breathtaking Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $450 /nt

sort by:

Refreshing mountain stay

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We spent a week at Gilden Lodge and had a wonderful time. The lodge was comfortable, spacious, well equipped, and had a fantastic view of Mt. Shasta. We enjoyed wonderful fall hikes within a short drive and fun bike rides in the surrounding neighborhood and forest service roads nearby. The view of Mt. Shasta was spectacular from the deck and it had a good get-away feel, yet the lodge was only a few minutes from the stores in town. A great blend of outdoor, country enjoyment, and in-town convenience.
The owner was a gracious host and we felt welcomed. We plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing vacation in great location

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

This was one of our best vacations ever. My parents arrived from Israel and all of us (4 adults and 3 kids) drove for 5 hours from the Bay Area. Our first time in Shasta area. We heard so much about this place and were looking forward to explore it. But after getting into the lodge we never wanted to go out. Every detail in this house was carefully designed. Suzi and Nick invested 5 years in building this lodge and you can see their touch in every corner. The home theater was great for the kids and the Spa was great for the adults. This place is huge so every one get their privacy. The area is great too. Siskiyou lake is just 5 minutes away, the water are warm and you can enjoy many water activities. We can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quilters retreat - a wonderful weeks vacation!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We returned once again to Gilden Lodge for a wonderful weeks vacation. We are a group of quilters and quilt, cook, watch movies, take long walks through the neighborhood and generally have a fabulous week of camaraderie. The house has plenty of room for us and all of our sewing supplies. The views are unbelievable, the house stunning. We had a grand adventure several years ago when several feet of snow arrived shortly after we unpacked, we stayed warm and dry and did not miss a stitch. Once we found Gilden Lodge we have been returning year after year. Suzi is a wonderful hostess and we will be back again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely the best! An amazing experience! d^^b

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

We had a Spring family and friends gathering get-away vacation in Mt. Shasta. The lodge was comfortable, spacious, well equipped, and had a fantastic view of Mt. Shasta. There was snow to play in on the property during our stay. Every detail in this house was carefully designed. Suzi and Nick invested 5 years in building this lodge and you can see their touch in every corner. Each bathroom has nice plush towels warmed on towel warmer! The home theater was great for the kids and the Spa was great for the adults. This place is huge so every one get their privacy. The property location is great too. Siskiyou lake is just minutes away. The view of Mt. Shasta was spectacular from the deck and it had a breathtaking get-away feel, yet the lodge was only a few minutes from the stores in town. A great blend of outdoor, country enjoyment, and in-town convenience.
The owner Suzi was very accommodating, gracious host, she gave us lots of privacy and we felt welcomed. We highly recommend Gilden Lodge to everybody and can't wait to return and see this lovely place in the summertime! Can't imagine a better place to stay for vacation!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Great Stay - our 4 kids had a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous Views!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Gorgeous views, awesome house & amenities! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Mt.Shasta log-cabin mansion!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

What a fantastic stay in a beautiful, well equipped, and comfortable home at the base of Mt. Shasta. Fantastic views of Mt. Shasta, Mt. Eddy and Black Butte. Short drives to snow and town. Great for kids and for dogs. I couldn't imagine a better Mt. Shasta getaway.

We are already planning our next stay at Gilden Lodge! Can't imagine a better place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful place.

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

Beautiful place. Exactly what we expected. Suzi notified us we could check in a little earlier as the house was open, that was really nice and helpful. We look forward to going back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for families with kids!

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

The cabin easily and comfortably accommodated our three young families with children ages 7mos to 6 yrs. It had all the cookware and amenities we needed and the owner was nice enough to let us borrow things from her own home when we needed. Beds were so comfortable, nice plush towels warmed on towel warmer! Theater room and kids play areas downstairs were great with lots of games and tons of movies. Stunning views of the mountains. There was snow to play in on the property and a snow park right down the road. Cabin was easy to find and not far at all from downtown. There was even a huge Christmas tree in the great room! Perfect for our first family vacation, we are definitely planning to return! We highly recommend this memorable place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation House EVER

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

We had sayed in this house previously a few years ago and decided to stay again this winter. The house is BEAUTIFUL inside and out. The beds are very comfortable and the other ammentities are great. The house comes stocked with firewood and has a great kitchen to cook family meals in. The property manager is friendly and readily available if any problem should arise. It couldnt get any better!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely stunning property!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Breathtaking rustic lodge, the details throughout the house were such a joy to stumble upon. It was clean and well-stocked with lots of useful items. Suzi was very accomodating, and gave us lots of privacy. Perfect place of luxury to get the bride ready the morning of her wedding. Truly relaxing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely the best! Not a single complaint!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Perfectly located, close to great golf courses and Lake Siskiyou. Over-the-top amenities and immaculate. Suzi gets an A+ for responsiveness and hospitality. Would recommend this property without hesitation. We absolutely plan on returning -- looking forward to our stay again, hopefully next year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recommend this property for family gatherings!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Very well equipped lodge in beautiful private mountain setting---Perfect for large family gatherings in common areas, yet affords privacy in bedroom area design---Lots of activities including golf, water sports, hiking---Good variety of restaurants close by for the occasional meal out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything and more than promised !

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Beautiful property. Exceptional service .
Our choice for any future stays in the area.
Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Beautiful home with far more amenities than we could use in the one day and night that we were there. The lodge is very well equipped with SO much - all kinds of dishes, utensils, pots and pans, electrical appliances, wonderful bar-b-que, ample towels and wash cloths, games, books, recorded movies to watch on TV etc. etc. All very lovely.
The site on which the lodge is located is almost in the backyard of Mt. Shasta! Loved being able to see the mountain.
The property and lodge are very clean and well-maintained. The owner showed us around the lodge and then left us to enjoy it with reassuring words that she was readily available if we needed her.
The lodge and the owner were VERY accommodating. Definitely would recommend this property to everyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing place!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Fantastic living space with gorgeous views around the entire house. Mt. Shasta is right there to greet you in the morning when you wake up! Plenty of space in the kitchen and bbq grill on the back porch for all kinds of meals. Comfortable beds and amazing showers/baths available with plenty of hot water.

Hiking, biking, skiing, golfing, there is plenty to do around as well. Defiantly worth the stay and will plan to go back again!

Suzi Wilson is an excellent host was always happy to help for any problems we had, which were none. Thank you Suzi!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get anyway

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gilden Lodge and enjoyed it very much. Very clean, the home has everything you would need on a vacation and it has beautiful views. Very nice location. I would recommend this vacation home to all my friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gilden Lodge is absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Our party of four (including a toddler) stayed at Gilden Lodge for four nights. When we arrived we immediately fell in love with the place, it is even better than the photos. It was spotless and truly fully stocked. There are so many things I could have left at home had I known. This is really a home more than a vacation property. Having Suzi next door is great because she is always available to assist with anything or answer questions but she is very respectful of your personal space.
Suzi is quite knowledgeable about the area and was able to provide us with information about everything we wanted do while in the area.
Our first day in Mt. Shasta we went sledding near the ski park then stopped into Berryvale Grocery to stock the kitchen. Berryvale is a fantastic natural foods store with a small deli.
Day two we went snowmobiling. Incredible fun! Fun Factory Snowmobile Rentals is the only way to go! We paid the very reasonable extra fee to have a guide and were so lucky to get the owner, Michele. She is the best! On our way back from snowmobiling, we stopped in Weed for a late lunch at the Hi-Lo Cafe. Great burgers and a nice selection of beer including local brews.
Day three we finally headed up to the Mount Shasta Ski Park. We all loved it. Not crowded, beautifully groomed trails and a really friendly helpful staff. We got lessons for our little one and the instructor (Liz) was so patient. We stopped at Casa Ramos on our way back to the lodge and had some really good Mexican food. One more quick stop at The Fifth Season sporting good store for new gloves and goggles then back to Gilden.
Final full day, back up to the ski park and then an amazing dinner at the Trinity Cafe. Trinity Cafe is a real hidden gem. I believe this restaurant would be successful even in a place like Napa.
In between all of the fun, it was so amazing to be able to go back to Gilden, have a sauna and soak in the enormous tub and then enjoy the media room or read one of the many great books at the lodge (there is even a basket of children's books). A huge collection of board games helped fill the time.
Our of our favorites things at Gilden was the views. Sitting in the small seating area in front of the floor to ceiling windows and enjoying your morning coffee is magical.
We highly recommend Gilden Lodge to everybody and can't wait to return and see this lovely place in the summertime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An amazing, amazing experience

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

We can't say enough good things about our experience at Gilden Lodge. Suzi was incredibly welcoming and made the experience so easy, but also the house is just astonishing - we desperately wish we could've stayed longer, and will come back whenever we get the opportunity. An amazing, amazing experience, thank you Suzi!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

Wonderful time - love this place, will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely stunning

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

Absolutely stunning! We can't wait to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

The whole family enjoyed our stay. Suzi was a great host and helped with anything we needed.

The lodge is amazing! We had views of the mountain, and it's very peaceful. The kids enjoyed hiking and exploring Mt Shasta. I enjoyed going downtown and exploring the shops. Reminded me of where I grew up!

We will definitely be back! It's a lovely place! I'd recommend staying here to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic as Usual!!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at Gilden Lodge with our annual quilters retreat group and as usual it was a great week!! Well appointed kitchen (don't know what the reviewer below is talking about, the kitchen had everything we needed for 7 people and we cook!!), comfortable beds with wonderful linens, plenty of space for sewing and fabulous views of the mountain from the huge picture windows. And the grounds are perfect with natural vegetation. As always Suzi is the most gracious hostess, attending to any questions and needs we have. Thanks again Suzi, we are already looking forward to our next stay!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Great home in a great location in a wonderful community. We will not hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing experience

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

2013 High School State Finals - Go El Dorado! Beautiful home, great views, comfy beds. Thank you for the amazing experience - we will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We had a great time - wonderful place - great location!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Another wonderful time! Beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

Our family enjoys this property winter and summer. As we pull out of the driveway we are securing dates for our next stay. We refer this property all the time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful visit at this property. Clean and elegantly appointed yet easy and relaxed to stay in. Good amenities, linens, beds and enough comfortable space as well as privacy for all of us. Great location from both town and wilderness and the owner of the property was completely sweet and available for questions but also left us alone which we appreciated. We will definitely be staying at Gilden Lodge again! The only note I will make for my future visits is that guests who sleep lightly or enjoy sleeping in should be on the top floor. Our downstairs guests had a hard time sleeping when our kids were up and in the kitchen above them!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

weekend on the mountain

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Wonderfully spacious, super clean, with all the amenities. One of my friends wants to hold his family reunion there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Shasta Bound

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Our stay at Gilden Lodge was great. Each year my Mom treats us to a cabin stay in Shasta for Christmas. We have stayed in a lot of other places and this by far exceeds the others. The lodge is so cozy, although it is big and spacious. Everyone was comfortable and fun was had by all. I would recommend Gilden Lodge to others during winter or summer. We are skiers and skied while we were here. The lodge is close to the ski park, yet the non skiers were happy playing around the property and there was plenty of space and snow to do just that.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bari Brown

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2012

A beautiful property with wonderful mountain views. It was a perfect mountain get away with everything we needed provided - it felt very homely and welcoming. The property is maintained to a very high standard and I would recommend it without hesitation.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We brought a group up to celebrate my 30th birthday, and this house was perfect! It's a beautiful cabin in a beautiful setting, and there's a nice mix of rooms and space to balance privacy with group activities. And the home theater room was a great setting for college football watching on Saturday. Overall we had a great time and loved the cabin.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

The Gilden Lodge was even more beautiful than the photos led us to believe and Suzi has truly thought of every conceivable convenience and luxury! We met our family there to celebrate our mother's 75th birthday and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! It was a joy to cook in the well-appointed kitchen, gaze out at the beautiful mountains and awaken to the sheer charm of the house each morning. We found that due to the size, we could all spread out and have our privacy yet also enjoy time together in the enormous great room. We will definitely be back again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

California Road Trip

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Gilden Lodge. It is extremely spacious and well equipped and the views to the mountain are stunning. Our kids loved being able to watch DVDs in the cinema room and all the equipment worked well. Suzi could not have been more helpful both before and during our stay,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

I got married at Mt. Shasta Resort the weekend of July 28th. We stayed at the lodge with a few of our close friends during that weekend. The house is close to the resort and we all had an amazing time. The house has many beautiful features, and a gorgeous view of the mountain. All of the rooms were comfortable. The downstairs bedroom and bathroom was like being at a spa. We hosted a breakfast at the house the day after the wedding. We found everything we needed at the house. The owner was so accomodating and nice. We hope to come back and stay again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous rental cabin in Mt Shasta

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Gilden Lodge was more than we expected. The lodge was extremely spatious, clean, well stocked, and beautifully constructed. The views from the lodge of Mt. Shasta and Black Butte were spetacular. The owner, Suzi, was very welcoming and was very helpful when we needed assistance. This is the perfect getaway for friends or family. We rented the lodge for a local wedding at the Mt. Shasta resort and everyone that stayed with us was very pleased with the lodge and ammenities. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone who is visiting the Mt. Shasta area. The price is very reasonable and compared to other rentals in the area far superior. We will definitely rent this lodge again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise in the mountains!

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Great family reunion. You must stay here if your family appreciates nature and the outdoors. You will not believe the amazing views from every direction. Suzi is also wonderful to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dr Z

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This house was spectacular in a beautiful scenic location. We were very pleased with our stay and had a wonderful time. Suzi was great and always available. We enjoyed playing pool and watching movies in the movie room. This house was a great spot for day trips to Lassen Volcanic NP, Lava Beds NM, Whiskeytown-Trinity-Shasta NRA and of course Mt. Shasta is at your doorstep. I highly recommend this house. You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mt. Shasta Getaway

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this amazing beautiful cabin with two other couples and our dog. It was the perfect place for us. We had the best time! It was so relaxing and comfortable. A beautiful house with so much detail. We loved the stained glass windows. The views are incredible and we really enjoyed eating together at the great dining table and sitting in the front room by the huge windows looking out. It was our dream house for a vacation!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

For kids from 1 to 92... or 95 as the case may be :)

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Gilden Lodge. Mt. Shasta is a halfway point between myself and my family so we are always looking for places to stay there which can accommodate a large number of people comfortably and is child and elderly safe/friendly. In January we tried out Gilden Lodge.

We arrived in the middle of a snow storm, (I would reccommend chains), and received a warm welcome. Suzi was there making sure we made it in safely. The house was warm and inviting. The pictures on the website didn't do it justice. It is clean, well maintained, and large yet cozy. The beds are all comfortable. The views are expansive. It is a short drive to town, however, we found we didn't leave very often because we had everything we needed right there. Now there were 10 of us from ages 1 - 95 and you might think that would get a little claustrophobic... not at Gilden Lodge.

There was more than enough room for us all to hang out together, and plenty of places to find solitude as well. I actually finished a book, the children napped, (this does not always happen while traveling). My grandmother was able to comfortably remain on the main level the entire time. With the radiant heating in the wood floors, she never complained of being cold, (that right there is amazing). Everything we needed for the baby and toddler was there, pack & play, high chair, even teddy bears.

Suzi, the owner, was very easy to reach by phone, and was always available when we needed her. There were no problems with the house, I believe we called for movies and a kitchen appliance.

We all agreed this family vacation was the best so far, and we would love to meet there again. In our search of Shasta vacation homes, Gilden Logde is, by far, the best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The house is amazing, well designed and well kept with great attention to details.
Suzi was on top of everything we asked.
The views from every windows are amazing and sitting looking at Shasta is great,
Its a much higher standard from the average vacation rental.
The only downside is the early departure time and the light in the room at 6am.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time as usual!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

Thanks Suzi for another fantastic week on retreat! You are a great hostess, making sure we have everything we need and as usual the house was perfect for our group of quilters. This time the weather was perfect with spectacular views of Mount Shasta and the surrounding snow capped mountains. We look forward to coming back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing vacation, fantastic lodging and great outdoor fun!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

My family of 5 had a great vacation staying at Gliden Lodge. The lodge is beautiful, well maintained and fully of everything you need. We had fun hiking, skiing, biking and more. We would highly recommend Gliden Lodge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jellybean

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

Our Gilden Lodge experience was amazing and Suzi helped to make it the best vacation ever! She made sure that the roads were cleared by the snowplows so we could carry on with our ski plans and she provided everything that we needed, even when we forgot to bring a few things. She was so personable and friendly and very nice to deal with! The lodge itself was bigger than expected with lots of space for two families. We never felt crowded and the kids had their personal space in the movie room. The views were spectacular from the big windows in the front of the cabin and we all enjoyed reading and viewing the snowfall with Mt. Shasta and Mt. Shastina in front of us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gilden Gem

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Gilden Lodge is a gem! I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a vacation in Mt. Shasta. The house is lovely, so nicely kept, immaculate, in fact. Suzi, the owner, is very professional and always extremely prompt in replying to emails etc. We stayed with our two young children along with our friends and their two children. The home was great fun for them. With three levels and 5,000 sq. feet, needing some space was never an issue. We hope to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was perfect for us!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The house was perfect for our sibling reunion. We all loved the house. The views were amazing. One of our favorite places to sit in the morning was in the Great room, drinking coffee and gazing at Mt Shasta. The location was perfect--about 3 miles to town making it easy for us to go to Ray's Grocery store to pick up extra items we forgot. We cooked dinner every night in the well equipped kitchen. We also loved the movie room--each evening we enjoyed some wine and a good movie in that very cozy room. It was a perfect way to end the day. We plan to return next year and would recommend this house to anyone wanting to have a special place to stay in Mt Shasta.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Beautiful!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

Our family just got back from a weekend at Gilden Lodge. There were three families, each with two kids, all under the age of 5. Gilden Lodge is beautiful. The kitchen was well stocked, the beds were comfortable and the sauna was amazing! Suzi was extremely kind and informative. We had a small problem with the sauna and she popped over to look at it and fixed it in two minutes! Impressive. The lodge itself is stunning and so comfortable. If you are thinking of spending time at Gilden Lodge, do it. You won't regret it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family retreat.

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We have been renting vacation homes in the Mt. Shasta area for the last 5 years. The Gilden Lodge was the best so far. It was clean, well-equiped and very comfortable. It close to town and the views of Mount Shasta are amazing. Suzi was there when we arrived to orient us to the house. She was a gracious hostess.

The only drawback was the 10am checkout, which caught us off guard when we wanted to have a relaxing morning before we left.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Favorite Home Away from Home

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

This was our third stay at the Gilden Lodge. When we arrived this time, I said to my family, "let's pretend this is our cabin!" This home has a wonderful, magical feel. It is grand and tastefully/artfully appointed, yet still very comfortable and homey. We had 2 other families traveling with us this trip and it divides up nicely for groups with 3 levels for added privacy. The theater room with a bar is awesome for all ages and the big living room is perfect for hanging out, playing games, playing pool and even dancing. There are 2 master suites with amazing baths and 2 other great bedrooms plus a cool loft with 2 twins. 10 sleep comfortably. This home looks much better is person than in the photos and there are beautiful expansive views!! Only criticism.. bring your pillow.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at the Gilden Lodge. The home is so beautiful and cozy. We had two families (total of 10 people) stay at the house with plenty of room left over. The house is located very close to downtown McCloud and to the Mt. Shasta ski resort. We already booked for next year. Thanks Suzi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual adventure

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

My husband, his cousin and I with our 2 dogs stayed at Gilden Lodge in late October. Suzi met us there and gave us detailed instructions on how everything worked ie: t.v.'s and spa. We felt at home right away and relaxed easily. We loved the pool table and theatre room. The house is well taken care of and we felt like Suzi went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed. It usually takes me at least one night before I sleep well in a different bed than my own. Not the case here. We all slept great every night. The views were outstanding from the house. We all agree, it was a first class experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exquisite experience

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

The stay was perfection. This luxury lodge is elegant, clean, in excellent condition, has beautiful amenities. The experience was of being in great care. The owner is accommodating and needs are considered. A lovely place to stay or have a family reunion or experience a retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

I surprised three of my friends with a few days away at Gilden Lodge in Mt. Shasta, CA. What a beautiful and cozy place! Being a gourmet cook I really appreciated the well appointed kitchen... and the views from the lodge are magnificent! Suzi, the property owner, was thoughtful and attended to every detail. She recommended that we go view the waterfalls near McCloud and it was nature at it's best. Thank you Suzi for offering such a fabulous place to enjoy the bounties of friendship, food and the great outdoors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional Place to Stay!!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

We are 3 couples who travel every year together and I always book the accommodations. The others just want to come along for the ride and be surprised at each place we are staying. When we pulled up to Gilden Lodge, they all said it had a WOW factor. We couldn't have been more pleased with the lodge and its location. It is a beautifully built home with a view of Mt Shasta that cannot be matched. There was so much room in the house that I don't think we even used it all. We all had our own space and bathrooms just as the listing described. Everything was clean and the kitchen was well stocked. Suzi, the owner, was very helpful with information regarding the lodge as well as activities nearby. We enjoyed walking the town of Mt Shasta and found a wonderful bakery that also served a delicious lunch. The photos of the lodge on the web site are great, but you will definitely be even more impressed with the lodge and its surroundings when you visit in person. We all had a GREAT time and would highly recommend the lodge to anyone visiting the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family getaway!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

You'd think it wasn't possible but Gilden Lodge was even better than it looks on the web! Our family, ranging from 20s to 80s, spent a wonderful long weekend at the house. It's a quick drive to downtown Mt. Shasta but the views and starry night sky make you feel like you're miles from anywhere. The house was spotless, well equipped, and absolutely beautiful. The media room downstairs was a treat in the evenings and even with 10 people in the house, we never felt crowded in the large living area. The house is close to great hiking and rafting. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Gilden Lodge is truly an amazing place to stay. From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with the cabin.The views of Mt. Shasta and the surrounding area were spectacular. Each room in the cabin provided beautiful views. All the bedrooms were very spacious, comfortable and made you feel right at home. The bathrooms were well appointed, especially the spa master bath. What a treat! Plenty of space to relax... on the deck, playing pool,watching movies in the home theatre room or lounging on the hammock. The cabin is a perfect retreat for a couple (like us) or a family gathering (which is already in the planning stages).The best part is, we were able to bring our dog who was in heaven! This was our first visit to the area and our host had great suggestions for hiking to some of the most beautiful alpine lakes we have ever seen. We, along with our Golden cannot wait to visit again. We had a wonderful time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Mountain Vacation Retreat!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

We were planning a family reunion for Summer, 2011 and were seeking just the right spot in a beautiful location with ample space for all of us. We could not have done better than the Gilden Lodge! It is an absolutely gorgeous luxury log cabin with incredible views of Mt. Shasta and plenty of room for everyone. It is beautifully outfitted and equipped and Suzie, the owner, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. All in all, it was perfect! We hope to be able to return and make this a family tradition! Outstanding!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I recently spent 4 nights at the Gilden Lodge with my wife and child, my parents, and my wife's parents. Everything was perfect--the lodge was gorgeous and spotlessly clean, the beds were fantastic, and the view from the back deck was awesome. We had no problems whatsoever. All the needed items were stocked prior to arrival (towels, toilet paper, coffee filters, etc). I didn't want to leave and can't wait to book another stay--a longer one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much fun

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My wife and I, our two children (6 and 14), and two other couples (8 people total) stayed in Suzi's cabin for 1 week in July. As advertised, there was plenty of both personal and common space for everyone in this fascinating and gorgeous lodge. We were particularly drawn to the 'great' room and the views of Mt Shasta, Black Butte, and Mt Eddy as well as morning visits by quail (a male and female with 9 chicks). Trails and roads from the cabin to Old McCloud Rd were nearly traffic free and made for great running paths (easy to go 10 miles or more) and nature walks - we felt like just being at the cabin was an adventure.

Of course, as much as we enjoyed the cabin, we also spent time hiking on Mt Shasta, walking/swimming along the McCloud River, kayaking on Lake Siskiyou, and exploring the town. We had never been to this area before, and one huge bonus about the cabin and Mt Shasta in general was being so close to so many different possible outings. I think our longest drive was to Lake Shastina that was maybe 25 minutes away - everything we wanted to do was remarkably close and fees for access were either minimal ($1 per person at Lake Siskiyou) or non-existent. Another bonus was the lack of big crowds. People were definitely out and about, but nothing like the national parks (or typical Southern California get-aways) in the summer.

For groceries, we shopped most at Berryvale Grocery for their organic selections - we expected high prices and that was certainly true. They also have a decent amount of gluten-free and dairy-free alternatives. For carnivores though, Mt Shasta Super Market is the place to get superb locally sourced beef. They butcher it themselves and the manager of the counter was great to talk to about how they operate. Our best meal of the trip was based around some rib steaks we bought from him. The Wayside Grill (recommended by Suzi) was tasty and a fun place to visit, and I can also recommend Andaman Healthy Thai Cuisine for some spice. I should also mention Mt Shasta Pastry - they had the most delicious home-made pastries: get there early.

For us, this vacation was definitely splurging. But, it was absolutely worth it! Suzi is great - very helpful and accommodating to the point where the cabin really felt like ours for a week. It's a beautiful place with an incredible amount of fascinating natural history and outdoor adventure opportunities - both for the leisurely inclined and the thrill-seeking extreme types.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Place to Stay!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Gilden Lodge. The lodge had everything we needed, yet felt brand new, as is was SO clean. Each room was well appointed and comfortable. Everyone had a fantastic stay and didn't want to leave when our check-out day arrived. We look forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long Weekend in Mt. Shasta

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Beautiful property, we had a family wedding in Mt. Shasta and ten of us stayed at the Lodge. It was very spacious and everything we could possibly need was available in the house. The master bedroom and bath are pure heaven. All of the bedrooms are spacious and everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were. We all agreed that we wanted to come back and just relax at the house for an extended amount of time. The location is perfect, it is a few minutes from town. We highly recommend a stay at Gilden Lodge.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

After our day trips of water falls, kayaking, fishing and sight seeing Gilden Lodge was a lovely family retreat to come home to. Relaxed and played pool, sauna or just hung out and enjoyed the views. All the comforts of home and Suzi is a lovely host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great times had at the lodge!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the lodge. The area has a lot to do, however you should research on your own before you get there to save on time figuring out what to do while you're there. If you fish, Mcloud Resevoir is a favorite of the locals, and is beautiful to fish and watch the osprey and eagles as well. If you want to visit Redwood Forest, the drive is long but is easiest to drive north to Medford, OR then drop south into the forest, then cut back to Redding. (about 440 miles of driving but incredible). Alot of hiking and waterfalls to see and do. However, the family had the most fun hanging out and relaxing at the lodge. Thanks again Suzie, it was an incredible stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

This is truly the most gorgeous cabin we have ever stayed in! It is even more beautiful in person and Suzi is a wonderful host giving you a complete tour to answer any questions you may have. We only wish our stay could have been longer. It was the perfect size for our family reunion and everyone had a great time. The scenery from all vantage points is breathtaking. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A destination home worthy of visiting again and again

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

The stuningly beautiful and well designed home was the ideal gathering place for our three families with young children to get together. Plenty of space for everyone to feel comfortable and receive the privacy they desire along with large common spaces for the children to play.

The living spaces, kitchen, bed rooms, media room... absolutely everything is ready for you. Kitchen has all the gadgets you'll need. Bedrooms are welcoming. Outdoors had wonderful snow during our visit. We've already scheduled our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gilden lodge

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

Comfortable, beautiful, ample home close to lots of recreation! Would definitely stay there again. Great for families too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Magical Place!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

What a fantastic place to retreat! Everything about Gilden Lodge is magical from the excellent first class accomodations to the location and scenery and most of all from the care and attention Suzi gave us! We were 7 women on a quilting retreat and we could not have asked for a better experience. We can't thank you enough for such a wonderful time. If you are looking for a great place to stay, you could not do better than Gilden Lodge! Definitely coming back next year! Thanks Suzi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VERY NICE

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We have been twice now and both times we were very happy with the house, which is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Suzi is a great host. We'd prefer a later check-out instead of 10 AM but it's a large house to clean between guests, so we understand! Awesome house and beautiful views. We are recommending it to our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Retreat

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

Our expectations were exceeded when we arrived to an immaculately clean cabin. Our vacation had been delayed due to family illness and Suzi had left a beautiful basket of healthy organic fruit for us to enjoy. The Lodge was comfortable, and did I say clean with many amenities for all ages. Our group included small children so the added benefit of a high chair, children's books and a fold up crib made our stay comfortable for all. The proximity to the town of Mt. Shasta. Shasta SkiPark and the roads that lead to the alpine areas on Mt. Shasta made it a very convenient location. Suzi was helpful and available to any need we might have, since she lives in a separate residence on the property, but we only saw her a couple of times during our entire stay. We loved our stay so much we have already scheduled another visit for early summer. Gilden Lodge is a great place with great amenities to enjoy a family retreat, a reunion of friends or a romantic getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

An absolutely amazing place to stay! It has more than enough room to spend time with the family or to spend some alone time. The movie room is great for kids as well as adults. The main room is a beautiful place to congregate. All in all everything was brilliant!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1/24-1/25

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Everything was wonderful. Beautiful spa floor and I was very sad to go home and use a regular shower.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

hated to leave, everything was perfect, home is meticulously maintained and well furnished and equipped.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gilden Lodge stay January 5th

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

The cabin was beautiful! The views were amazing. We enjoyed our week stay there and didn't want to leave. We had our wedding ceremony there and the guests all agreed that we couldn't have found a more perfect place and setting. We will be staying at the Gilden Lodge again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST shasta rental ever

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

While we stayed in may many vrbo rentals but this is my 1st review and I highly recommend this rental - The log cabin is everything and more then you see in the photos. We (2 families with 1 kid each) all LOVED it. The open space family/living area was our favorite. The downstairs spa room is amazing. Once you come back from skiing there is so much to do in the house itself - there is the sauna room, the movie room, pool, tons of games. The kids had fun watching movies in the home theater room in the night and the grown ups played pool. Suzi is wonderful - she thought of everything to make a perfect vacation home. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house in an amazing location!

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house is unbelievable......well apointed, yet incredibly comfortable. One of our guests likened it to the Ahwahnee Lodge in Yosemite.

The owner is very friendly and helpful and obviously knows how to set up a home so that the guests have everything they need. We only stayed one night, but hope to have an occaision to stay longer in the future.

This house is perfect for family gatherings, ski weekends, or many other getaways. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Many thanks and we find an excuse to come again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

"My extended family was fortunate to enjoy the lovely comforts of the Gilden Lodge on our recent trip to Mt. Shasta for our Christmas Tree hunting adventure. Gilden Lodge provided us perfect accomomodations for a multifamily gathering. The picture-perfect, large, log-cabin-style of the home offered many modern and luxury treats, including two enormous master bedroom arrangements, custom spa room, home movie theatre, heated floors and stylish decor. It's proximity to town was also a nice plus, particularly considering the nearby ice skating rink and restaurants. Can't wait to come back and enjoy the lodge during the summer season! A must see/do restful retreat or basecamp for adventure."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Stay at the Gilden Lodge

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

We stayed at the Gilden Lodge for a week in November 2010. The place was amazing: clean, spacious, new, beautiful! The owner Suzi was very helpful answering all our questions and was there to greet us and familiarize us with the property when we arrived. We brought our two dogs with us, and even our friends joined us for a couple of days with their 2-year old son. The place had baby gates, stuffed animals, high chair, playpen, childen's DVDs, etc. which all made our friends' visit much easier. Our dogs loved to run around in the yard and we even drove up to Mt. Shasta to play in the snow! The kitchen was very well equipped, which made me happy since I love to cook. Make sure you visit Berryvale Natural Foods Grocery Store for some great food, it's in town only minutes from the Lodge. We also loved the huge propane BBQ grill on the deck and the pool table in the great room. You will not get bored in this charming place! The Gilden Lodge really has everything you can wish for. I would recommend this lovely place to everyone and we hope to return someday soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house with Great Mount Shasta View from back yard

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We already miss Gilden Lodge....
When we decided to visit Mount Shasta for our wedding anniversary, Gilden Lodge's calender was almost full. Therefore we came up there 2 weeks earlier than the actual date, and it was all worth it.
The house is completely built out of pine and ceder wood, in and out. The rooms are very spacious and clean, and there are lots of charms and entertainments everywhere. The location is convenient for sightseeing or grocery shopping in town, while being far enough from the center to offer a quiet, private setting. We did some nice hiking and trekking with our dog (most of places are ok to bring a dog on leash), then relaxed at night in our Gilden Lodge....what a nice anniversary!
Now we know where to come back and stay for our next trip to Mount Shasta. Thank you Suzi for your hard work to keep up this beautiful house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Alternative to Tahoe

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

Pictures on the web sometimes make a property seem nicer than it actually turns out to be. In this case, the property was even more charming and well appointed than expected. The lodge was very convenient to town and all surrounding amenities. Our host, Suzi Fabrio, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Our trip to Mt Shasta was a change from our normal Tahoe summer vacation. We are very glad we tried it out since it had all Tahoe had to offer plus many more things to do (all without the crowds). We all had a fantastic time and look forward to a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Northwest Calif. Getaway

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

Didn't know what to expect...just my wife and I in a 5000Sq. Ft. log cabin....we thoroughly enjoyed it...the cabin is spacious...yet warm and cozy..very quiet surrondings..spectacular views of Black Butte and Mt. Shasta...lots of privacy inside and out for the up to 10 max...outdoor verandas were great for early morning sun in the east and afternoon sun in the west.....remote location...yet just a mile down the hill all you needs are met with resturants, grocery store, Rite Aid, gas stations ,etc.
Outdoor activities begin right out the cabin driveway for mountain biking or road cycling or within a 10 to 15 mile radius you can hike or Mtn bike around beautiful Lake Siskayou...or drive to trailheads for hiking all or part of Mt. Shasta and/or Mt. Eddy....or drive to trailheads for spectacular waterfall viewing outside of the close towns of McCloud and Dunsmuir...Inside the cabin the pool table, sauna and home theater all added to our enjoyment...I've got to mention cocktail hour..after a hard day of hiking and biking....sitting in the round section of the great room with a glass of wine and seeing a doe and two fawns casually walking thru the property nibbling on berries along with the ever present coveys of quail prancing around....WOW! does it get any better than this! We had a great time and didn't want to leave..The owner is very helpful..the place was spotless...all listing details are accurate.The log construction is impressive...enormous logs....all from Oregon..the great room fireplace is equally impressive....this is one of the few rental places we've stayed that had an assortment of quality wine glass's available...good attention to details!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Small Intimate Wedding/Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Gilden Lodge and used it as a main hub for our reunion/wedding week in early August. The home was beautiful, the views were spectacular, and Suzi was a very accommodating host. My husband and I married in front of the bay windows and decoration was minimal since the house was so beautiful. I highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the Shasta area. We're already planning future trips to the lodge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for a family get together.

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

The Gilden House exceeded our expectations. The house is very well equipped and large enough for family gatherings. Very clean and had all that we needed to have a wonderful time. Thanks Suzi, we hope to be back in 2 years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Mountain Get Away

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

Our stay at your lovely luxury cabin far exceeded our expectations. All your attention to the little things that make a vacation a real experience existed from the moment we entered you driveway. The floor plan with two master suites, the decor, the grass in the back for the kids to frolic on, the well equipped kitchen...the view....your willingness to escort us to a trail head which was hard to find taking your precious time, full moon hike....the list is long of all the things that made this so special for us! I feel we made a friend in you Suzi...we loved having you be a part of our clan for my special 50th birthday celebration. Thank you!!! xo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation at Gilden Lodge!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

Gilden Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The attention to detail and care that went into the home really stands out. Our family had a great time at the lodge and loved the movie room and the spa room. The lodge is spacious and well appointed. The location is excellent - close to town, but very private and quiet. Suzi was a great host!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gilden Lodge

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Gilden Lodge was an excellent pick for our family reunion. The lodge accommodated our large family with plenty of room for a very comfortable gathering. It is beautiful, spacious, and well designed providing all the comforts and amenities of home and more including a well equipped kitchen, a theater room, and wireless internet access. The lodge is located not too far from town and outdoor activities, but in a very quiet large acreage of land offering a vista of snowcapped Mt. Shasta, Black Butte, and verdant evergreen trees. It's wonderful to see Mt. Shasta from our windows and back deck and enjoy the beautiful sunsets and evening stars. We chanced to see three rainbows arched behind the lodge after an afternoon rain.

The lodge is well maintained for the most part, the kitchen appliances are vintage and can use some very minor repair (the Italian fridge door does not close properly and one gas burner works only on one side), but certainly not enough to prevent us from making large meals to feed our brood. The wrap-around deck is a great feature but can use a coat of sealant to prevent splinters for small tender feet.

We immensely enjoyed our stay and took advantage of climbing Black Butte, driving up to Mt. Shasta to play in the snow, and canoeing and kayaking at Lake Siskiyou. We even stopped by the local farmer's market a couple of times and bought fresh fruits, vegetables, honey, and salsa.

We highly recommend this place for anyone. For those who seek adventure or peace, quiet and relaxation, Gilden lodge offers all of the above. We rank it high on our list of favorite places.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peace and Beauty

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

The atmosphere is tranquil, the views other-worldly, and the house is wonderfully-appointed. There are so many outdoor activities to engage in that leaving the house is a must... but it is not easy. The house is comfortable, roomy, clean, and beautiful.
Our stay was quite enjoyable!
Thanks, Suzi!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Amazing home!!! VERY clean, comfortable and unique, amazing quaint little details and no lack of space. Views are dreamy ~ an experience you’ll talk about for a long time. I have only been back a week and have referred a half a dozen families. I also plan to send out an email to the network. LOVED IT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway Home

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

Excellent for families, impeccably clean, beautifully furnished; owner Suzi is friendly, helpful and hospitable; we will be back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect place to unwind with friends and family!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

A perfect place to unwind with friends and family and remember the important things in life, I could not recommend this amazing spot with more satisfaction. Perfect as a base camp for our Mountain adventures, or just lazy days of doing nothing. Suzi is a fantastic host. And I doubt there is a better view of the mountain to be had from bed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mt. Shasta Getaway

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

A perfect place to unwind with friends and family and remember the important things in life, I could not recommend this amazing spot with more satisfaction. Perfect as a base camp for our Mountain adventures, or just lazy days of doing nothing. Suzi is a fantastic host. And I doubt there is a better view of the mountain to be had from bed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous lodge in a beautiful setting!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

We loved the house, it was even better than the website described. The house is immaculate and everything you need is in the kitchen. Suzi was wonderfully helpful. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fantastic holiday at Gilden Lodge.

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Mark
The cabin was very spacious and child friendly with stair gates provided for our 2 year old. The children loved the pool table and Suzi kindly provided sleds for the children to play in the snow. Nic was great snow plowing the drive! It was very picturesque with breathtaking views of Mount Shasta, and the wonderful countryside. The description of the property was very accurate and communication with Suzi was excellent beforehand. She answered any questions we had. The property was very clean and well maintained although the cooker could be more up to date- but this was a minor point. The cabin was very comfortable with plenty of towels/linens etc. We loved the Home Theatre Room. Wi-fi was extremely useful. Mount Shasta is a very quiet town but there are larger towns not too far away. Oregon and Redding are good for shopping and the countryside is wonderful to explore. It was a great place to chill out and relax. I would thoroughly recommend this property. Everyone enjoyed their stay from the ages of 2 to 71! There is an abundance of adventurous activities around.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fantastic holiday at Gilden Lodge

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

The cabin was very spacious and child friendly with stair gates provided for our 2 year old. The children loved the pool table and Suzi kindly provided sleds for the children to play in the snow. Nic was great snow plowing the drive! It was very picturesque with breathtaking views of Mount Shasta, and the wonderful countryside. The description of the property was very accurate and communication with Suzi was excellent beforehand. She answered any questions we had. The property was very clean and well maintained although the cooker could be more up to date- but this was a minor point. The cabin was very comfortable with plenty of towels/linens etc. We loved the Home Theatre Room. Wi-fi was extremely useful. Mount Shasta is a very quiet town but there are larger towns not too far away. Oregon and Redding are good for shopping and the countryside is wonderful to explore. It was a great place to chill out and relax. I would thoroughly recommend this property. Everyone enjoyed their stay from the ages of 2 to 71! There is an abundance of adventurous activities around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

April 2010

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at Gilden Lodge. The cabin was very spacious and child friendly with stair gates provided for our 2 year old. The children loved the pool table and Suzi kindly provided sledges for the children to play in the snow. Nic was great snow plowing the drive! It was very picturesque with breathtaking views of Mount Shasta. and the wonderful countryside
The description of the property was very accurate and communication with Suzi was excellent beforehand. She answered any questions we had. the property was very clean and well maintained although the cooker could be more up to date- but that is a minor point. The cabin was very comfortable with plenty of towels/linen etc. We loved the Home Theatre Room. Wi-fi was extremely useful.
Mount Shasta is a very quiet town but there are larger towns not too far away. Oregon and Redding are good for shopping and the countryside is wonderful to explore.
It was a great place to chill out and relax. I would thoroughly recommend this property. Everyone enjoyed their stay from the ages of 2 to 71! There is an abundance of adventurous activities around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Beautiful place with a beutiful view! All the amenities at a reasonable rate and a truly enjoyable experience. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Beautiful place with a beutiful view! All the amenities at a reasonable rate and a truly enjoyable experience. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Beautiful place with a beutiful view! All the amenities at a reasonable rate and a truly enjoyable experience. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

We had a wonderful time. The lovely handcrafted cabin was just gorgeous inside and out with fantastic views all around. We spent a long weekend there with 3 families. They all enjoyed their stay and are ready to return for a longer visit very soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

We had a wonderful time. The lovely handcrafted cabin was just gorgeous inside and out with fantastic views all around. We spent a long weekend there with 3 families. They all enjoyed their stay and are ready to return for a longer visit very soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review