reviews for: listing #54198 - San Antonio, Texas House rental

A Basic Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Old Alamo Heights
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $119 - $145 /nt
    $695 - $799 /wk

sort by:

Enjoyed the space

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We enjoyed the space and so did our children. They had their own rooms with tvs so there was no fighting. It has a big kitchen/dinning area that all eight of were able to sit down and enjoy meals together. We look forward to hopefully renting the property again for our 2nd trip to San Antonio. The price was not bad and we had no problem with the air, water or and no bugs were found ( which is always a nice thing).

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 13 / 19

 

Do not RENT!!!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This property was worst property I have ever rented!!! The 1st day that we arrived it took almost 8 hours for the house to cool down to 70 degrees because was set up at 80!! in the summer, the "playroom" back wall was not attached to the house and the door of the same room had a whole at the bottom which I had to put a blanket because I was afraid of bugs or burglars coming thru that door. The master bedroom had a whole in the window, the whole was 1/4 of the window in which the maintance guy came to fixed it by placing a black plastic bag and tape!!!. The kitchen had the most dirties sponge to clean dishes, that I had to buy one because it was so discussting!. The beds were unconfortable, there was no internet, the TVs did not have a good signal as everything was blurry whenever the kids watched any programs. The ceiling in the dining/kitchen area shows to be cracked and may fall at any moment. The house smells bad. The neighborhood is a very bad, some of the houses around there were in worst conditions. We felt very insecure in that property, this is more of a $50K home. The only thing that was good in this house was that the hot water never run out. I will not rent this house, and this house is not in rentable conditions. Also the price is too high for the conditions of the property.

Owners response: I tell all my renters this is a middle class home in a middle class San Antonio neighborhood! I tell people the homes in the neighborhood are valued in the $80K-$150K range. If you are use to $200K homes and up this rental is not for you!!! It's not crime ridden at all!!! I call it a "BASIC HOME" because that is what it is!!!

My maintenance guy checked the home before the renters checked in and the window was not broke when he was there earlier in the day. That leaves me to believe the renter that wrote this review had something to do with the window damage? My maintenance guy patched the window to keep the cool air in. He could not get a window right on the spot. The window has been fixed! The renter that wrote this review never called me once to express any problems!

The AC works fine it was just serviced the prior week!

The beds are brand new!

I do not advertise internet access!

The TV’s are not HD TV’s and the TV is through the local cable company. I have no control over the cable companies clarity.

I have several return renters each year that stay in my rental because of the location and price!!! I have a lady that rents the home by herself from December to April every year and has never expressed any problems what so ever!!!

Helpful votes: 54 / 54

 

Don't Rent

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We felt like we were mislead. She said it was not in a crime ridden area-however as we approached the house-there were bars on all the windows around us and gang signs on the fence. One night we were there we woke up to either a)gunshots or b)fireworks. It was 4 am so we have no idea what it was. There were roach traps in every room. Holes in the wall. When I sat on the couch it sunk. The beds were very hard.

It was a cute house in need of alot of TLC and some new furniture. It did have plenty of room for all 13 of us. With that many people we never had a problem running out of hot water while showering. It was clean. It is conveniently located but I would have rather been further out and stayed in a hotel.

Owners response: I tell everyone this home is in a very middle class neighborhood. I also tell them if they are use to $200,000 homes and up this is not a house for them! I do not mislead people! I also can not control the surrounding neighborhood. This is not a luxury home (hint-hint "A BASIC HOME" is the name of rental) its a home near downtown and the riverwalk. I'm constantly having to upgrade my sleeper sofa's (the couch you sat on) due to kids jumping on them. I had to take the play room area and set it up as a 4th bedroom with (2) additional beds. The couches can no longer be used as sleeper sofas.

Helpful votes: 60 / 62

 

not my cup of tea

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

The location was good (we had a rental car) and easy access to the freeway. Property was close to public transportation. I received hundreds of bites on my body. I called the owner and she said, "I've never had a problem with that before, did you call the maintainence man?" I said no, so, she said she would.
my right eye was nearly swollen shut by Thursday and I was itching all over.
I went to the pharmacist and he said was deffinately the pattern of BED BUGS!
Praise God my husband or our roommates didn't get any. I was embaresed,sp, too say the least. My kids said "Wow, what happened to you".
I wrote an E-mail to the owner, explaining the situation and the expence I occured and have not heard from her, NOT GOOD. Needless to say $70 plus, the inconvience, uncomfort, and everything, I thought for sure I would receive a response from the owner before, I would have the opertunity of this review
I guess you know I won't be staying here again.

Owners response: I'm sorry but I did not receive an email from you? I have very limited access to email and I've always stated that in any previous communications from me! I did send my house keeper over right away to address the issue and bed bug spray was applied!! The house was also bombed!! I have been told by investigating this problem that people actually carry the bug with them? I'm not saying you brought the bed bugs but maybe a previous guest? I'm very sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused you! I do want you to know and anyone else that ever rents from me - I take care of my properties and resolve any problems immediately!!

Helpful votes: 54 / 54

 

Giving 1 star is challenging me ethically.

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

Cute neighborhood. Could be a cute house. Horrible experience. I have photos of holes in the wall patched with cereal boxes, broken electrical outlets (as in exposed metal plates), fallen down fence, etc. Unfortunately this website won't let me post a link to the photos. Perhaps if you can email me from this review, then i'll be happy to show you evidence why you should not rent this property.

Helpful votes: 92 / 92

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review