reviews for: listing #54227 - Galveston, Texas Studio rental

Sand Box Too
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Islander East
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $79 - $150 /nt
    $499 - $699 /wk

sort by:

The View is great!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My family stayed for two weeks! It was as the owener stated on the phone to me. It was nice to have W/D in room. Great for the price we payed. The condo Views were great harbor and gulf view, very quiet nice to go back to after spending a day on seawall. I would stay again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Sandbox Too...AWESOME

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Sandbox Too was the first stop on our honeymoon. It was absolutely amazing! The staff in the lobby was very accommodating as we had shown up quite early for our stay. They allowed us to change clothes in the restrooms so we could head out to the beach first thing. Oh, the beach...perfect! The powder sand and warm Gulf water were simply amazing!!! Our accommodations were just as you described and everything that we wanted and needed! The balcony was perfect for watching ships on the horizon, entering and leaving port. The early morning coffee on the balcony was a highlight! It was as if the view was ours alone! We look forward to making another trip soon!

Duane and Susan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Small condo, great location!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

This on-the-beach condo definitely met my needs and expectations. Great location.....close to key attractions but still in a quiet area of the island. Linda, the owner, was very helpful and precise with instructions and directions. The condo was clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Sand Box Too

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My experience was great. The owner was very specific on all the potential expectations of the unit. The confirmation email gave us a wonderful insight to what we would need to bring, directives, size of the unit etc. It was perfect for the two of us that stayed. Everything was clean, organized and the facility was great from the view down to the luxury of the private beach. It was a wonderful get-a-way. I highly recommend it and will hopefully have the opportunity to stay again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wishing & Hoping

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

I'm disappointed to read the review posted April 2010! My husband and I stayed nearly a week in Sand Box Too. I loved the location and the view, but we also thought the studio needed updating...and that was a year ago! I was really hoping that Linda had redecorated her unit, as I would have liked to have stayed there again. She was great to work with, but this studio definitely needs a face-lift!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Not as advertised

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We recently stayed in Sandbox Too in Galveston.

It was not as advertised AT ALL. It did indeed have a nice view, although the view during our stay was obstructed by scaffolding and painting. I do realize that the painting is out of your control.

The condo was small, which was not a problem. The problem was in the many old, outdated and broken items in the place. The front door had a gap in it allowing the wind to howl thru the door. After trying to prop suitcases against the door, stuffing a towel in the door, paper in the door, etc, we did finally succeed in minimizing the whistling by putting several spatulas in the opening.

The curtains were ripped and partially falling down, the plastic shower curtain ($6 at Walmart) was covered in mildew/mold, the light switches above the bed were broken, the toilet paper holder was broken. The bedspread did not fit the bed and there was no dust ruffle. Of course, the only clock we could find in the place was on the mircowave.

Had we not paid a premium price, maybe we would not have been so disappointed. I WOULD NOT stay here again and WOULD NOT recommend this place. For the price being charged, the condo needs to be better furnished.

Owners response: My condo is as advertised per the pictures!!!

I can not help that the condo property was doing improvements! Improvements are being made to beautify the property. I was not aware of the maintenance work.

I specify that the condo is small on the listing.

I have notified the condo property about the door which is their responsibility.

My cleaning lady and the next guest (that stayed in this condo) stated that the curtains were not ripped and not partially falling down.

You are the first one to advise me of broken light switches - I've already talked to maintenance to correct this issue.

I've also talked to maintenance about fixing the toilet paper holder!

Thank you so very much for your feedback and constructive criticism!!

Linda
Condo Owner

Helpful votes: 40 / 42

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review