reviews for: listing #54260 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Paradise Pali Kai, Air Conditioned with waterfall pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $385 - $510 /nt
    $2,450 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Home

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

The home was absolutely beautiful and on a beautiful cliff/coast. There was plenty of utensils and things we needed in the kitchen which was really nice and we weren't so lucky at the first half of our stay in a different rental property in Kona. One thing that we did run into is having a 3 year old at the home and it being near the cliffs made us nervous but we didn't run into any problems with it as we supervise our children closely anyways. The house was at a good location situated between Hilo and the entrance to Volcano and Volcanoes National Park. From the house we went to Akaka Falls, the Black Sand Beach, Mauna Kea Observatory and Volcanoes Park on the days we were there. It is also nice and close to the free zoo in Hilo which our children really enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this beautiful home for future guests!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Indeed!

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

We have rented 9 homes in Hawaii over the last 4 years, this was without doubt the best. The cleanliness of the home, the top quality of the furnishings and amenities and the decorating made us feel very special. The pool is absolutely wonderful! The location of the house so close to whales and turtles had us gazing off the lanai constantly, and the warm trade winds made it very hard to leave. Every aspect of this house was first class!
The agent, Terry, was very forthcoming and a delight to deal with when setting up our vacation, he in fact was the reason we decided to rent this property.
The photos on the website can not do justice to this lovely home, we were indeed in Paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exactly as advertised!

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

You’re right on the water, it is gorgeous! A little off the beaten track, not a place to stay if you are into nightlife or beaches, but for fabulous evenings on the deck with crashing waves and relaxing days lounging by the pool, it is great! Staying here definitely makes sense for visiting the volcano!
Clean, well stocked, private, large!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream House that made our dream vacation a reality!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

The photos just begin to show you how wonderful this home is for both situation and luxury. We spent 8 incredible nights here in December '13 with our adult son who also loved every minute. It was seeing the pictures on the website that gave us the desire to splurge for this beautiful, spotless home on the lava cliffs. What a difference it makes in enjoyment and relaxation level to stay someplace that looks like it came right out of a magazine or travel show! We could not stop watching the waves! They kept changing with the sunlight or tides and never ceased to captivate us. I made good use of the Hilo Farmer's Market and loved cooking many of our meals in that gorgeous kitchen... if only I could have that at home! (Easy to get to the KTA grocery store not far away.) Appreciated the reverse osmosis water filter in the kitchen sink as well. The pool was perfect. Bedrooms and bathrooms all top of the line, comfortable, and spacious. (Didn't use the third bedroom.) Driving to activities was no problem, very close to Volcanoes Park, Mauna Kea Visitor Center and Observatories via Saddle Road and Hilo really was only a 20 minute drive. We received a timely return on our security deposit, so no worries there. If I had to make a suggestion it would be adding I-Pod docking stations to the CD/Stereo options, but I believe that is already being addressed. Book here with confidence, you'll be so happy that you did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wailele Kai is Hawaiian Paradise

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We fell in love with the Big Island at Wailele Kai. The ocean waves crash against the bluffs; it is green, private and quiet - what more could 3 mature adults want? The master is on one side upstairs, an equal master is on the other side downstairs. We enjoyed all three lanais but the upper makai (ocean) lanai will always be in our memories. The home is exceptionally clean (we are very picky). We didn't need for a thing; they even supplied Fuji water, coffee, and sweetener for our first morning following our late night arrival in paradise. The house guide, the neighbors, Terry S (manager), the locals - all contributed to making us feel welcomed. We want to live in Wailele Kai forever when/if it becomes available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

If you're looking for a sand beach or want to stay in a high tourist area this house is probably not for you. But if you'd enjoy ocean waves pounding on black cliffs and the relaxation that comes from a remote location you'll love this property. My three adult children and I stayed here a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The layout, finishes, and details were all very well done. Lots of roomy outside living areas (not even counting the man-made waterfall-filled swimming pool) in a beautifully landscaped lawn. Beds were comfortable (though the pull-out beds in the lower TV room were a little bumpy). Kitchen, computer area, everything was well equiped. Only complaint was anoyingly noisy A/C in the living room; fortunately we could get along without it much of the time. The gate and closed circuit TV gave an excellent sense of security. Not much I can add to the praise of the other reviews.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Glenn

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

First, I highly recommend this location and a 5 star for sure. The house is very well maintained and was very well laid out and ocean views virtually from every room. It sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed eating our meals out on the lanai as there is full dining table outside. BBQ was clean and was an easy to use. Wake up with the sunrise coming up over the ocean was fantastic. The only thing to be aware of is that after the sun sets, it gets noisy with the frogs. It was so loud we had to close the bedroom windows so we could sleep. It is great however; that each room is individually air conditioned making this minor issue, a non-issue. About the only other thing to note is the pool was too cold, but again the view from the Lanai made up for this 10 fold. I would be cautious about having small children at this location as the yard is open to the cliffs. Terry at Sunset properties was very helpful and was greatly appreciated.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pictures do not tell the whole story

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

Although we were expecting beautiful based on the pictures when we booked the property, we were not expecting gorgeous! The views from the home are simply stunning and the Management/Owners have really paid attention to all the details to ensure that you feel inmersed in the beauty of the property and the view. Although it rained on us quite a bit, it did not stop us from enjoying the peace and tranquility of the home, the overall spaciousness and the proximity to all kinds of fun activities like snorkeling, hiking, wine tasting, etc. It was a fun week that went by too quick. We had a couple of issues come up during our stay, but Terry was incredibly prompt and took care of them right away.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perefect Oceanfront Getaway Home

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Everything about this house you will love! When you pull into the driveway, you will get your first view of the bright blue water right in front of the home. It only gets better. As you enter the property you pass by the wonderfully decorated pool. Such a relaxing place to be. Then you move on to see the fantastic ocean views from almost every room in the house. It is amazing! It is relaxing to sit on the lanai and listen to the waves and enjoy the ocean breezes. We sat on the lanai and were able to see dolphins playing in the ocean right in front of the house. Facinating to watch. There was a full moon during our stay and the moon lit up the ocean to gave a very romantic feel. There is nothing negative to say about the house. It is our 6th visit to Hawaii and 4th time to stay at a home on the Big Island. This surpasses all the other homes in every way. We will be back. Don't hestiate to stay at this home. It will be the Hawaiian home that you dreamed of staying in during your tropical vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fantastic place

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

This place was excellent! You will enjoy high-end materials used in house. The pool is pristine, 180 views of ocean and oh ya, the master bedroom is awesome, with great views of the ocean. It's whale watching season, and the whales did not disappoint.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful Ocean Front Property

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We looked at this location and were very eager to contact the agent to make the necessary booking
for a relaxing one week vacation in August 2010. We were able to get the reservation and were totally
enthralled by this location. The site as depicted was accurate and met all of our expectations. We had
a delightful stay at this beautiful ocean front location. The sound of the waves at night helped us have a relaxing sleep away from the mainland and the busy big city. We were totally at ease. Everything that we wanted was available at our finger tips. The pool only added to our great stay. It was obvious that great care had been put into planning and furnishing this home, which made it so enjoyable. From there, you could visit all the attractive land sites that the Big Island has to offer, then come home to relax. This home was spotlessly clean at all times and you were only a short drive away to the city and all other amenities, including restaurants and shopping. I would not hesitate to recommend this 'home away' to a friend, or even return there for a another relaxing stay ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful Ocean Front Property

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We looked at this location and were very eager to contact the agent to make the necessary booking
for a relaxing one week vacation in August 2010. We were able to get the reservation and were totally
enthralled by this location. The site as depicted was accurate and met all of our expectations. We had
a delightful stay at this beautiful ocean front location. The sound of the waves at night helped us have a relaxing sleep away from the mainland and the busy big city. We were totally at ease. Everything that we wanted was available at our finger tips. The pool only added to our great stay. It was obvious that great care had been put into planning and furnishing this home, which made it so enjoyable. From there, you could visit all the attractive land sites that the Big Island has to offer, then come home to relax. This home was spotlessly clean at all times and you were only a short drive away to the city and all other amenities, including restaurants and shopping. I would not hesitate to recommend this 'home away' to a friend, or even return there for a another relaxing stay ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Relaxing Fun Stay at Wailele

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

After reviewing this location, we made our reservations for a vaction stay there for one week in August of 2010. This advertised web site accurately depicts exactly what this beautiful property shows.
This rental more than met our expectations. Every detail of anything that you might need was already in place where you might look for it. The decor and furnishings were exquisitly planned and the selective air conditioning of each area ensured your maximum comfort at all times.A search of other
properties revealed that some other rental properties do not even offer any A/C. After our long flight from the mainland, we were able to completely relax in the luxury of this home away with its breathtaking vistas of the the Pacific Ocean right in your own back yard. All with total privacy!
The salt water pool was also so appreciated. I would not hesitate to go back to this lovely home away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We wish we could live like this all of the time!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

This home is truly a wonderful oceanfront property. The covered lanai off the dining room was a wonderful place to eat our meals. And preparing them was fun too - the view from the kitchen was fantastic. As a matter of fact, there wasn't a room in the entire house that didn't have a terrific ocean view (including one from the master bath tub!) The home had lots of added niceties including binoculars and lanterns. We used the lanterns to light our way back from the nearby lava viewing after dark and they were much better than a simple flashlight. The pool was a wonderful place to relax but was also large enough to play in. The waterfalls made it all the more special. Overall this home is a very wonderful place to stay and we would recommend it to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely beautiful!!

Review submitted: December 22, 2009   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

This home and property was absolutely beautiful!! We woke to the sound of waves and to a beautiful sunrise!!! If you're looking to get away and to be surrounded by a tranquil atmosphere, this is the place for you. Everything was clean and new in this home. The description of this home was definitely accurate and the owner provided great customer service. We drove about 30 minutes away to a black sand beach and there were large sea turtles everywhere.
We didn't get to see whales at the rental house but it might not have been the right season.

My husband and I had so much fun together. We have 8 adopted children and 2 biological children and we hadn't gotten away for a break for a long time. We felt so refreshed when our time was up and were ready to see our "tribe" of children when we got back home! We sure missed them!

Anyone who rents this home will be thrilled! The air conditioning and internet access were nice perks as well!! Not all the rentals in Hawaii have air conditioning and it can get humid!

Honestly, I can't think of one negative thing to share about this home. It definitely exceeded our expectations!

Aloha!!

Renee' and Derek

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review