reviews for: listing #54276 - Livingston Manor, New York House rental

Creekside Mountain Vacation House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

This is our "happy place"

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

I kind of want to give the house a bad review so other people won't go and it will be available for us always…but I can't. The house is clean and bright. We have gone two summers in a row. At first we thought the lack of WiFi or cable would be hard. But it is awesome to be disconnected.There is swimming at Mongaup pond (home to two Bald Eagles) 8 miles away but we were content cooling off in the creek. It is great for entertaining as well- fully equipped kitchen and grill and then some. We happen to have local friends so it was nice to have a group over. Plenty of "new" toys for my kids to be entertained but also a perfectly safe place for them to go out and explore on their own (age 5 and 7). This is a very special place to us and we can't say enough how wonderful and helpful the owners are. A lot of love went into the house to make it as nice as it is and you can feel that warmth around you. When you do leave the house there is an amazing playground at the local school and a track to run on. There are working farms to visit and there is a new German pastry shop opening up an a new French Bistro. The beds are comfortable (the master bed is kind of soft for my taste but my husband is fine w it). We are city people but we feel safe in this house because it has the feeling of being secluded but there are people close enough by. I would not change a thing about this house. Enjoy it. We cannot wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home with interesting touches

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the house in Livingston Manor. It was private and quiet but very convenient. The area provided a variety of exploration destinations.

House was well cared for, clean with a kitchen that was a dream to cook in. Can't really think of anything you would need to bring.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful and well-located vacation home

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

What a wonderful house for a family visit to the Catskill region. It is spacious, light, characteristic and most importantly: clean. We spend a long weekend here with four adults and a toddler and time flew. The large open space that forms the living room, dining room and kitchen is wonderful. Our little one had plenty of space to run and play around when it was still too cold to go outside and we could enjoy the great kitchen. The house is stacked with everything you may need to cook, play games, relax, watch videos and have a good time. The backyard and porch are simply amazing. The spacious outside dining and seating areas, the large grass lawn and of course the creek make it impossible not to spend time outdoors when weather permits. In the end, we spend most of our time in and around the house, but there are plenty of great hikes and other outdoor activities nearby in the Catskills. Finally, the communication with the owners was very easy and helpful. We can highly recommend a stay in this vacation home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful peaceful getaway upstate

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I rented this place for New Years Eve arriving on the 29th. We loved the place. Beautiful house on the outskirts of a very small town deep into a pretty isolated wooded country road. Lots of nature, few neighbors in sight. Location wise this was perfect for what I was looking for. It felt very remote and tranquil. Large gorgeous windows with a view of the snowy forest. We felt like we had our own private forest. We saw a few deer close to the house. The house was immaculately clean. Cupboards stocked with pretty much every kind of dish you could need. Waffle maker, juicer, baking pans, cuisinart. Lots of spices for cooking too. The owner Karina couldnt have been more helpful. The day of our arrival we were forced to abandon the roads due to a bad storm and she helped me figure out what to do next. We were not able to make it until the next day but she had the neighbors warm up the house for us so when we arrived it was not freezing. Karina gave us detailed info the surrounding area including best food markets and sights. Thank you so much Karina. We would definitely come back and stay again this lovely house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best house ever!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This was by far the BEST weekend ever! We found this house online after researching about a hundred places and I must say we chose a winner. Not only was the place perfect, but the owner Karina was SO helpful in suggesting places to see. Wow was she right! When we first walked in the house it was nothing short of spotless and absolutely beautiful. The back yard was breathtaking and the creek was incredible. The description of the house online was 100% accurate. The town in the area was amazing and eveyone there was SO nice! We loved the food and there was a hiking trail not too far away. I highly recommend this place for friends getting away from it all, couples or a family getaway. TWO THUMBS UP!!!

Thank you Karina!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nature at is best

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We loved the house. It was clean and ready for us.
The owner is sweet and helpful.
Def- will come back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We are sure to return

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

This was a perfect place for two couples who were visiting children at a nearby summer camp for the weekend. We only wish we had more time to spend at the house just relaxing, as it would have been even more idyllic to sit near the creek or use the outdoor fireplace or eat dinner on the deck. The house was immaculate and very well equipped. Having used b&b's in the area and a few house rentals, this would definitely be our #1 choice in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect upstate getaway!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This cabin upstate is an absolute dream. We loved staying there, and we travel a lot! We were in heaven reading and writing right up on the stream's edge all day long, lounging in the oversized chairs outside, grilling local produce on the deck in the evenings, and then cozy fires in the wood burning stove before bedtime. Early morning jogs up the hill, passing all the farms and their horses. Brunch outside on the deck again. The house is a perfect mix of modern and comfort, with upstate rustic touches. We just loved it. We had everything we needed, and it was super clean. I can't think of anything we felt was missing, we only wished we'd had more time. We'd love to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Stars - Will Return!!!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We stayed here during the weekend and it was absolutely amazing. Due to previous bad experiences in other winter/summer rentals I was skeptical in renting yet again, but my urge to get away from NYC got the best of me and I figured I would give it one more shot! It was well worth the risk. The home is exactly as displayed in the pictures only better since the pictures really don’t do it any justice. The bedrooms were immaculate, the bathroom was very clean, the kitchen was accommodating as every possible utensil needed for cooking was there, the living room was light drenched and cozy. We visited in the middle of winter and it was a lot of fun to warm the house with a wooden stove (I’m a city girl so I’m not sure if this is the correct term but it was almost like a fireplace) it made the stay all the more cozier and relaxing. We had no cell phone service – could be good or bad - in our case it was terrific since it really made us getaway and disconnect and actually gave way to “thinking” without resorting to the usual “googling” we are all so accustomed to; the house does come equipped with a landline for you worriers.

During the winter there aren’t many activities besides hiking, but if your group is anything like ours it’s fun even if you just stay indoors. We had breakfast in town one day and all the locals were very friendly and kept telling us to return in the summer since there is water rafting, fly fishing, zip lining, local antique/thrift shops to explore, lakes….so much more.

The owners were super friendly and took the time to collect information regarding hiking trails and things to do in the area. They even provided us with one of the neighbors telephone number in case we needed anything, which was so thoughtful. Since we visited in the winter we weren’t able to enjoy other amenities the home offered such as the deck, bbq grill or the creek behind the home, but I’m sure it must be lovely during the summer and gives us a reason to return.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Looking at the photos we expected a decent shack but this home is amazing! It surpassed our expectations. It has all the conveniences and the area is very nice.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great space for a small group

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

We were a group of four that decided to get away from the city for Thanksgiving. This cabin was a perfect retreat. Everything was as shown in the pictures; it was clean, spacious and well-maintained. The bedrooms were well separated, providing adequate privacy when needed. The main living area had abundant light, and we took advantage of the space during the day to relax and get a great view of the surroundings. Waking up in the mornings and hearing the creek from the deck from one of the bedrooms was truly refreshing.

The town itself was quite quaint. Among the market, pharmacy and restaurants, there were also a coffee shop, a bakery and a great bookshop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The creek is awesome behind the backyard

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at rental in Livingston Manor. The house was clean and had nice floors, kitchen appliances and furniture. We really liked the decks & back yard. But having small creek behind the backyard was great! The creek was awesome and my kids loved to play in the water. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A relaxing haven

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 9, 2010

We've had the pleasure of staying in this cozy haven twice, once for a romantic getaway and once with our adult sons. Both times have been winter visits and we intend to return sometime in the spring. The house has a fabulous kitchen for cooking and airy, sun-filled space perfect for spending time with folks you love. Every room is comfortable and beautifully decorated. We love the bookstore in town, the Flour Power bakery and the Rolling River Cafe in Parksville. The owners are friendly and accommodating. You feel like a welcome guest. We'll definitely return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

wonderfully relaxing country escape

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We spent a wonderful weekend in this cottage. It is beautifully simply decorated with just the right modern/artistic touch to it. The living room has huge windows opening to the surrounding woods, letting in a lot of light. The house gives makes for a very clean, comfortable and relaxing environment.

The smoker on the porch was awesome and we used it every day. The property backs up to a a little creek which is very beautiful and provides for soothing background noise.

I'd highly recommend a stay here; its great for people who like to fly fish as the Willemoc Creek is right nearby.

The owner is extremely helpful, friendly and responsive.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Lovely weekend getaway

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Booked this place rather last minute for a weekend getaway with friends. The owner was very accommodating and more concerned that our needs be met rather than focussed on the money aspect...a pleasure to deal with!
Given the place was very reasonably priced, we didn't really have any high expectations, however we were pleasantly surprised. The house was spotless, bright, and very comfortable. I highly recommend considering this house to anyone wishing to visit the area looking for a quiet getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review