reviews for: listing #54367 - Carolina Beach, North Carolina Condo rental

Beautiful Recently Renovated Ocean View Condo w/WiFi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Breakers
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $750 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,700 /mth

sort by:

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Decided to take my 2 year old son and mom to the beach for Labor Day weekend and this rental was awesome. It was roomy and had everything plus some that you could ask for. The owner was very nice and quick to answer any questions that I had. Place was clean and we absolutely loved the balconies and the proximity to the beach and pool. We definitely will be staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place at Carolina Beach

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

GOD belled us with just what we needed. He lead us to Frank's place the pictures he show is what you get. Great place all you need for a great stay! The description was accurate, the property clean and maintained. Frank provide good customer service, quick to respond to all questions. My family would recommend this property to all friend, family, and all others. Was able to go to a great church First Baptist Church of Carolina Beach with Pastor Brown. Jim Bo's BEST BREAKFAST in Willington, NC. We were able to cook at condo to save money, had all we needed to do it with, Thanks to Frank. We had a Short walk to beach, and Frank has chairs, buggy board, grills, and great pool at condo. Bring Bikes and you have a garage to put them in, great place has all you need. The front porch great size plenty of chairs, with the best views, and the back deck has great view also. This place is will fit any life style you have! Thanks Frank from the Brinkley's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun for all

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We were looking for some R&R and some family time. This condo was exactly what we needed! The condo was in a wonderful location,very clean, well stocked, and the kitchen had all the things we needed to provide everyone with good, healthy meals during our stay! It was a short walk to the uncrowded,lifeguarded beach and the pier. The children and the adults also enjoyed the pool and we watched beautiful sunsets from the back deck! The area was safe and the people friendly. The owner went above and beyond what was expected and was a delight to work with....emails were answered quickly and everything was wonderful! We definitely will be returning! Thanks for a great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect Quiet Vacation Spot

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

My family, from the adults, to the teenagers, to the 2 year old would all describe our vacation as PERFECT, largely due to this amazing condo and the pleasant owners. The location is simply amazing. Others were paying $20 a day to drive onto the beach that was right out front. It was a short walk to the beautiful, clean and life-guarded beach as well as the pool and fishing pier, which is exactly what we were looking for. The condo was loaded over and beyond what would be expected with cooking utensils, bedding and little extras that were a pleasant surprise. It was also very clean and we felt very safe. The people all around were very hospitable but I can't say enough about the generosity of Frank. We were delighted to find that this condo was exactly what was described. I would highly recommend this property to a friend and will be staying again for sure. Thank you, Frank, for a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

your review is pending
Please read and confirm your review for Property #54367 below.



Review #6418937 Excellent stay..
My sister and I were looking for a quick beach getaway with her three kids and our nephew. The owner, Frank was very willing to work with us, even let my sister and I write two checks for our half of the cost. The do in fact have a flat screen in the living room, and a smaller one in the bedroom. The sliding balcony doors do not lock, but the door to your personal balcony (before you enter into the condo) has two locks (one being a deadbolt). The condo was immaculate when we arrived, and I even worried the owners would be scared with four kids we would damage the place...but, the owners wife was very friendly and said don't worry about it. The condo is very roomy, and has a large king size bed, pullout couch and a recliner. We all slept comfortably. The kitchen and linen closet were both stocked with amenities such as coffee maker, toaster, microwave and utensils--even cooking spices, etc., and there were plenty of extra linens. The only con: if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this condo faces the private beach access, so there are trucks going by, and to some they may not like the noise. It did not bother us, as most of the time at the beach you are going to hear cars going up and down the road. I would recommend this condo as the location is great, it's very spacious, very clean and has all the amenities you will need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent stay..

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

My sister and I were looking for a quick beach getaway with her three kids and our nephew.
The owner, Frank was very willing to work with us, even let my sister and I write two checks for our half of the cost.

The do in fact have a flat screen in the living room, and a smaller one in the bedroom.
The sliding balcony doors do not lock, but the door to your personal balcony (before you enter into the condo) has two locks (one being a deadbolt).

The condo was immaculate when we arrived, and I even worried the owners would be scared with four kids we would damage the place...but, the owners wife was very friendly and said don't worry about it.

The condo is very roomy, and has a large king size bed, pullout couch and a recliner. We all slept comfortably.
The kitchen and linen closet were both stocked with amenities such as coffee maker, toaster, microwave and utensils--even cooking spices, etc., and there were plenty of extra linens.

The only con: if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this condo faces the private beach access, so there are trucks going by, and to some they may not like the noise. It did not bother us, as most of the time at the beach you are going to hear cars going up and down the road.

I would recommend this condo as the location is great, it's very spacious, very clean and has all the amenities you will need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would not recommend this property...

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

This place wasn't what we expected and ended up not being what we really prefer in a rental.

PROS:
- Decent kitchen which had pretty much whatever one would need. Some items were a little outdated.

- Good amount of space for a 1 bedroom.

- Having a garage was nice, however the A/C or something appeared to be leaking or condensating in the back.

CONS:
- Very unclean. There were hairs in the bathroom, fridge, and beds. There were crumbs, and used sheets in the pullout bed. The floors were very dirty, after walking on them for about 15 minutes the bottom of our feet turned black. During out stay we found and killed 3 cochroaches and some other kind of bug. Several of the dishes were still dirty and there was grease splatter still on the stove. I spent over an hour after our arrival cleaning the place to make it more suitable.

- Inflatable bed did not work even with batteries.

- The WiFi was not working when we arrived. The modem was unplugged so we had to plug that back in.

- There is a reason why there are no pictures of the new "flat screen TV" it is very small (maybe a 20" TV). There is only this one TV and it is in the living room. There is a cable box in the bedroom, but if you want to watch TV in there you will have to disconnect it and move it there.

- The water has a weird smell to it -- maybe old pipes?

- There was no plug for the drain in the bath tub, so we had to stuff the kitchen sponge into the drain so that our toddlers could take a bath.

- We set the AC to 70 degrees and the AC never went below 76 and stayed running most of the time we were there.

- Neither balcony sliding doors have locks on them. There is an entrance door that opens to the front balcony that locks. Anyone could easily hop either balcony and enter the condo at any time.

- Located next to the drive-on beach access. Traffic on the weekends. Loud 4x4 vehicles day and night.

- The "cleaning lady" arrived an hour early on the day of our departure and parked outside in front of the condo and waited/watched until we left at 11:00am.

Most of these issues were brought up to Frank - the owner. He forwarded our complaint to the "cleaning lady" whose response seemed to downplay our complaints. Frank stated that they will "need to try a little harder". Nothing was done to improve our stay while we were there. I guess we were expected to sweep, mop, sanitize, re-wash dishes, and buy our own drain plug while we were there.

Owners response: Wow! I'm not going to point by point on this one. In 5 years of renting this condo I've never gotten a review like this one! It doesn't sound like the same condo I stayed in 2 weeks ago after my cleaning lady cleaned it. Never the less I've hired a new company to clean it. The inflatable mattress does work. You didn't close the valve. There is a drain plug under the sink in a cup. Sorry you had to plug in the modem for the FREE Wi-Fi. If the A/C isn't working this is the first I've heard of it. It's probably the first time it's been used this season. I'm having it checked out by Carolina Comfort Heating and Air on Monday. That's the source of the leak in the garage. Thanks for pointing that out to me.
I'm allowed 6 pictures on the web site. I don't consider a picture of the television to be important. However I did recently have cable installed in the B/R and I haven't had a chance to bring down the 40" LG TV I recently purchased and move the smaller one to the bedroom. This will happen on Tuesday after the current tenants move out. I would do it this W/E but I'm out of town.

Other than that, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come back real soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

This condo is exactly what we wanted!! It is clean, great location on the beach. We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it to our friends. The owner were wonderful to work with and very helpful. A great home away from home!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This condo is exactly what we wanted!! It is clean, great location on the beach. We will definitely be staying here again and recommend it to our friends. The owner were wonderful to work with and very helpful. A great home away from home!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Carolina Beach. The condo provided the right stay for the price to enjoy so many memories with the family. From the beach across the street, to the pier fishing (try crabbing!), to the pool. It was wonderful. watching the people drive to the beach was interesting too (traffic wasn’t too bad though). There's so much to do in the area. The restaurants were great. Brits was amazing (READ THE REVIEWS)! The boardwalk at night was awesome for the family as well. The battleship and aquarium were also must visits. Riding the ferry across to find the light house was really a lot of fun too. I would recommend this condo to the people that want to go and enjoy the area! We brought our bikes, but having young kids, weren’t comfortable riding. Wouldn’t recommend hauling bikes if you aren’t at a comfort level with the streets. Frank was very accommodating, thanks for the stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Almost everything was perfect in this condo! There were both ocean and marsh views, as well a view of the pool. Sleeping for six was great too! The kitchen was nicer than mine back home. I would like to mention that people should make sure to bring batteries if they plan on using the air mattress, the reason being that we made a quick run to the gas station at 10 pm for D batteries, haha. It was truely a nice place to sit back and relax, and both Frank and Claudia were great renters!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Almost everything was perfect in this condo! There were both ocean and marsh views, as well a view of the pool. Sleeping for six was great too! The kitchen was nicer than mine back home. I would like to mention that people should make sure to bring batteries if they plan on using the air mattress, the reason being that we made a quick run to the gas station at 10 pm for D batteries, haha. It was truely a nice place to sit back and relax, and both Frank and Claudia were great renters!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

weekend condo

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

We found this condo to be very cozy, clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the beach with very good facilities. We especially liked the kitchen as many condos we have stayed at have very old or minimal selections of pots and pans. This condo has most everything you could want in the kitchen.

There is no bar-b-que so bring your own if you plan to grill. Two nice patios, with an extra large patio in front. The pool is nice we only missed having extras like a basketball court. The walk to the main part of Carolina Beach is a little far so plan to ride bikes or drive.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Joe. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

I just want to point out however that there is a new gas grill in the garage. I should have probably posted this info for you so you could find it.

Again. I'm glad that you stayed at our condo and hope you return soon!

Frank

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review