reviews for: listing #54370 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Beautiful Victorian Home Close to Beach/Downtown-Sleeps 23
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $600 - $600 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This was such a fantastic place for our family reunion. We brought our four married adult children and two grandchildren. We loved the wrap around porch, the fire pit, the coziness of the home and roominess with bedrooms and eating areas. Susan was extremely helpful to us and it was nice to call her with questions. So much was there to make us feel at home! Our grandsons were thrilled to find toys there to play with. We couldn't bring bigger toys as our travel vehicles were limited on space. All had such a good time. It was easy to drive or walk to the beach. What a great week we had!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Best of the Best"

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our sixth visit to South Haven with our adult children, their spouses, and our grandchildren, and this house was just perfect for our needs. The many cooks loved the kitchen which was stocked with any and everything one would need to prepare a scrumptious meal. Our 12 grandchildren had lots of fun in the third floor attic. While we ate most of our meals on the lovely deck, the dining room table was not only used at breakfast time but also for playing cards and art projects. We enjoyed many ping pong and basketball tournaments,
went bike riding, had fun on scooters, and looked forward to our nightly fires in the fire pit. The wrap-a-round front porch was a great place to just sit and relax or read a good book. We are already looking forward to returning to
Sunset Victorian Resort next year. Thanks, Sue, for attending to our needs and for checking on us the morning after the bad storm which included the power outage. It was great having a gas stove that morning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for sharing our wonderful Sunset Victorian Retreat, just a little south of heaven. We are so glad you found your new home-a-way from home to enjoy our little piece of paradise! We look forward to your return visit next year in addition to many more years! Thanks for your kind spirits in sharing the towns electrical experience during our storm we were so glad to not have damage from! You now have memories from you 2013 visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Victorian Treasure

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

We recently spent a week at this beautiful, newly renovated victorian home. We were desperate for a get-away after a long winter, but wanted all the comforts of home as well. WE GOT SO MUCH MORE. The home is so quiet and peaceful and yet just a few short blocks from lake Michigan. I LOVED cooking with the gas stove and particularly loved the farmer's sink. Plenty of room for gathering the family around where everyone seems to end up anyway - the kitchen! The wrap-around porch was so wonderful for morning coffee and reflection. I wanted to take it home with me!! Shopping in quaint local shops, sitting at the beach, long drives up and down the Blue Star Highway, finding just the right memento at an antique mall... It was just what we needed and then some. I even beat my husband in ping-pong 3 games to one!!

The owner made sure we had everything we needed and was so welcoming yet never intrusive. We want to bring our extended family back for a long weekend soon. If you enjoy historic homes with all the contemporary amenities, this is the
one for you!! It will definitely not disappoint.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your wonderful visit and beautiful review. It is so interesting that you realize and call it a Victorian Treasure. We always welcome guests like you back that take care of the home and return it to us in such great condition.

Thanks again for your visit and for sharing a kind review. We look forward to your return and remind us you are "return guests" that like to share our treasure just a little south of heaven!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Visit

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

I am a recent college graduate and so my Mom rented this place for four days as a celebration of my accomplishment. My two sisters, parents, two uncles, and two young cousins all stayed comfortably for the long weekend. The home is well taken care of and the outside porch is HUGE! It wraps around the entire property. Even though we visited South Haven during the winter, it was still a nice, relaxing trip. I would recommend staying here anytime of the year because South Haven is a great city! Most of the shops in downtown were still open and we were able to walk along the pier. The beach and pier are such different sights in the wintertime. If you have not done so yourself, check this place out!

The place felt open to our needs as a family and we were able to enjoy time together. Everything went smoothly for my family and I on our visit. The only improvement that I may suggest was there was not much lounge area actually inside the house. The bedrooms are private and well kept so that guests can sleep and rest well. However, when we wanted to all sit around together there wasn't enough seating for us to do so. I imagine in the summertime this is no problem because most of the time is spent outside or at the beach. However, our stay during the winter was just as nice as it could be. I would love to stay again summer or winter! This is a pleasant house and I enjoyed my stay to commemorate my accomplishment as a college graduate!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

I highly recommend renting this place for a vacation in South Haven! The house is wonderful and the owner, Gabe, is so nice. I actually rented the place for my wedding weekend. My fiance and I stayed in the house with members of the wedding party. After getting married on the beach, we had a wedding cookout for 20 people at the house. The house has everything you would have in your own home--everything from pots and wine glasses in the kitchen cabinets to a travel grill to take down to the beach to toys in the living room to entertain the kids. The amenities in the house make it so easy to settle in and have a wonderful time. Plus, the house and yard are just beautiful: We even took many of the wedding pictures on the lovely wrap-around porch and in the well-landscaped yard. I really can't say enough about this place, and I hope to come back next summer to celebrate our one-year anniversary.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The crown jewel of an amazing parents' weekend

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

The photos don't do it justice but the reviews certainly do. This amazing Victorian home became the crown jewel of a very special getaway weekend for my parents. Six of us - family and significant others - stayed for two nights and all left wishing we could have stay another week. The house itself is both accommodating and entertaining. Each bedroom was as charming and spacious as the next. We enjoyed countless games of ping pong in the garage and “bags” on the front lawn. My mom read books on the rocking chair of the giant wrap-around porch. At night, we all curled up on the living room sectional and watched movies. The city itself is amazing. Don't leave without watching the sunset on the pier or finding a local farmers market (we cooked a several meals in the house's fully stocked kitchen). And Gabe, the owner, couldn't have been more gracious or accommodating throughout. We'll never stay anywhere else in South Haven. This house has everything you need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend Stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We had four couples stay at this home last weekend and had a great time! Gabe, the owner, thought of EVERYTHING we would need for a relaxing stay. The weather was beautiful so we had an opportunity to sit outside on the porch and loved the private outside dining on the patio. Sitting around the fire was great! Everyone loved the place and we are already talking about a return trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a relaxing place to be in!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

This is a great vacation home!! It is very spacious, enough room for our big family! Our kids loved it and cannot wait for them to come back.
Gabe, the owner is a great person and was so helpful with the process and very hospitable!! We are looking forward to coming back next year. We reserved our spot already!!! Thank you so much and I fully recomend this vacation home!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous, historic home

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

This historic house is beautiful - a lot of charm and character. South Haven is a terrific community and the owner could not have been better to work with. I've already recommended it to friends and would re-book it without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Friend/Family Getaway Home

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

We had a great time. The house was beautiful. The owner was very helpful. We played ping pong, had sing a longs at the piano, the kids loved the swing set, great kitchen to cook in, grilled out and enjoyed a fire, and very clean. A short drive to the lighthouse and downtown. On a dead end street, very quiet. Highly recommend you book. about 25 mins. to Saugatuck/Douglas.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

We must return!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Excellent property, centrally located. Very well maintained. Looking forward to revisiting in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review