reviews for: listing #54459vb - Playa Grande, Costa Rica rental

Casa Del Mar - Beach Front Home - **Built Right in the Sand**
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  11
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

8 river brats arrive at casa del mar

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

There was only 8 of us on this trip, me the one who believes if it sounds to good to be true, well it is, but i sent a check, and then another, and I had Gabriela reserve me 2 cars at 'U Save Liberia' car agency. Address to house, Casa Del mar, longitude by latitude. Well some body picked us up at the airport, good thing because 20 other guys offered, took us to rental agency, got an old beater van that held 8, awesome, and away we traveled, with some other directions from Greg and Gabriella that were absolutely perfect, thank you, my kind of directions, for a man without a smart phone. We found the home at night, no problem, Nicho and Merriam were waiting for us. The home is absolutely perfect, even though your never in the home but to sleep, the outdoor patio and the beach is where we hang. From my master bed I only have to lift my head up to see 8 lounge chairs set up under " THE 4 COCOA PALMS AND 2 ALMOND TREES" heaven, everyday. I'm really hard to please, the first day I was not so sure if this is good enough, as the week went on it became the most amazing adventure, everything about this house, the host Greg and Gabriela, the care takers, Nicho and Merriam, location very perfect not touristy, this is July and we are ready to go back for Christmas. As other reviews wrote, you really can spend your whole vacation right at the house on the beach, it is playa grande 'big beach' and big, beautiful, and all yours besides a few tourist and a few locals. A short drive to Tamarindo can't hurt, fun drive very busy , bicycles, horses, cows,and alot of walkers, very rurual, And if you do a sunset cruise choose the pirate ship, Antares, so non commercial, thank you Daniella, it felt like our own personal sail boat, that will be a great memory. So we thank all of you at Casa Del Mar for a very unforgettable trip, and we hope we were'nt to much problem, and hope u will except us back. PS the next day U SAVE LIBERIA brought us a brand new van, How did they know where we live? Longitude- latitude We are the River Brats
life is good

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Home on the Sand

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

We just got back from Casa Del Mar where we stayed with another couple and their teen daughter. The house was excellent! Greg met us at the gate and gave us a tour of the home, he was very accommodating. The house was set up nicely for our use, well appointed kitchen that we cooked several meals out of, the grill worked fantastic! Bedrooms are great for sleeping with the air conditioners and separate baths. The front patio was my favorite spot to hang out, great breeze off the ocean and a beautiful view. The staff did a wonderful job with our needs, kept the house spotless and did laundry for us a couple of times (no chores when we got back home!). We walked down to Rip Jacks a couple of times to eat and drink. We also walked out to the black sand beach and did some snorkeling a couple of times. I really enjoyed that! Just a really nice place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

We had eight people in our party so we used the three bedroom house and the one bedroom apartment. The house and the apartment were very clean and extremely well maintained and all of the furnishing were very nice. The staff that provided security and housekeeping services were very friendly, did a great job, and were enjoyable to be around.

Greg, the owner, was very accommodating and pleasant. He booked a river tour for us that we really enjoyed and whenever we needed anything he was right there to help and give advice. Every person in our group commented about how much they liked the Greg and his staff.

Having the house next to such a wonderful beach was the best part. We could swim, boogy board, and comb the beach right in front of the house. We also enjoyed laying around on the lounges that the staff placed on the beach under the palm trees every day.

This is our third year of spending a week in the Playa Grande area but this was our first year to stay at the Casa Del Mar Beach Front Home. This year was by far our favorite year mostly because of the superb condition of the home and its spectacular location. I can't wait to come back again next year and will definitely stay at Cosa Del Mar.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just returned from Playa Grande Paradise

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Were the listing photos accurate in representing this listing? No, it was a hundred times nicer! We just returned from our one week stay at Casa Del Mar (not nearly long enough)
Six people in my group including my husband who was celebrating his 65th birthday fell in love with this property, Playa Grande, Costa Rica.
Everything that the owners describe about the listing is accurate and more. Never have I experienced such helpful hosts and staff.
Of course I would recommend this property to anyone, but please do not take my week.
We will definitely return.
The Great Waltinis at Hotel Bula Bula is a must, Rip Jacks for drinks was so much fun.
I will be dreaming about this place until my next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful Paradise!

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Our family spent Thanksgiving week at Case Del Mar and felt so welcome from the moment we arrived...actually, from the moment we booked the home. The owners, Greg and Gabriela, really have thought of everything that could make their guests feel well taken care of. The property caretakers, Miriam and Nicho, are somehow there when you need them and yet invisible...I don't know how they do it. The location of the home is absolutely amazing...I can't imagine a more beautiful beach in Costa Rica and the home is very clean and comfortable and, as an added bonus, not one big Costa Rican bug anywhere.

The beach was completely ours...there were days when there wasn't another person within sight. We all loved boogie boarding and searching for the sand critters...crabs, sea slugs, sand dollars are everywhere. We spent a day at the recommended Zip Line Canopy Tour (zip line, rock climb (new), river tubing and horseback riding) which was an amazing day and deal, Crocodile Tour (best food of our trip), and ATV riding (the kids' favorite). Gabriela set all the excursions for us, which was very helpful. If I had to change anything about our trip, I would spend more time on the beach and less time driving around. Next time we go back, we will do just that! Thanks for such an amazing stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Found in Playa Grande

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My husband and I had the joy of returning to our favorite beach in Costa Rica for two weeks this spring. This house was exactly what we were looking for and our stay was filled with great sun, beach walks, dining alfresco on the covered patio, glorious sunsets and the best staff we have come to know in our travels.
Casa Del Mar could comfortably house six, but it felt cozy and welcoming for the two of us. Centrally located on the gorgeous Playa Grande beach it affords the visitor sweeping views up both sides of the nearly deserted beach while the surf is just a few feet beyond the charming front sitting area and private yard. Just beyond the gate are several palm trees and a couple of shade trees where we could stretch out during the mornings or especially later in the day when some absolutely spectacular sunsets made for our favorite time of day. Most days we could count on a group of small parrots or lorries flying in to perch in the palm trees and they arrived at the perfect time, as if they came to watch the sunsets with us! Brightly colored crabs, birds and flowers are daily perks to being a visitor to this lovely home.
The owners of this home provide detailed information and tips about the surrounding area. The on site staff Miriam and Niccho were unbelievably kind and accomodating. They provide security and hands on help with whatever you need to manage your stay. Miriam and the young housekeeper together kept the house spotless and did our laundry daily so we never were at a loss for clean clothes, towels or linens. We enjoyed cooking most meals at home and were able to get fabulous fresh shrimp and fish delivered to the house through Miriam's connections with a local vendor. The house has a barbeque grill which Niccho kept spotless, and there was also access to boogie boards etc. if you wanted to tackle the surf. We loved speaking with the staff and learning more about the area and life in Costa Rica. Somehow we found a way despite our language differences to make a connection and share many laughs over our stay.
The area is a nice blend of tranquil natural beauty, surfing cool and tropical adventure. The town of Tamarindo is not far away for those times when we felt like we wanted a more touristy feel for dining or shopping. Locally there are a couple of good restaurants and bars to sample - The RipJack restaurant and Bula Bula were favorites for drinks and lunch/brunch too.
For us this house and staff were paradise found!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Impossibly Beautiful Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

This was our second trip to Playa Grande and Casa del Mar. It is an incredible, unspoiled Pacific beach paradise. If you are seeking sun, sea and serenity,Casa del Mar will make your dreams come true. Our family group of six adults and a baby were very comfortable and the staff was always ready to help make our stay perfect. Palaya Grande and the neighboring beach to the north, beyond the rock, are frequently deserted early in the day, like having a private millionaire's hideaway all to oneself except you do not have to be a millionaire! Descriptions are very accurate but for us the experience far exceeded the photos and listing.The owner is very helpful and responsive, answering endless questions via email and telephone and could not have been nicer. Most of the time we ate at home because we like to cook and some of us are good at it, too. But when we felt inclined for restaurant food, we enjoyed walking to the Rip Jack's for happy hour and a family friendly atmosphere. The estuary tour was all we needed for excursions and the Bula Bula is a great place to book the tour and have lunch. The weather in January is perfect, sunny and dry every day with the most beautiful sunsets on earth. Tidal pools for exploration and endless shells to collect. Body surfing was adventurous enough for us, with always a good wave coming and a long ride. No rocks on Playa Grande! Our stay coincided with the full moon, a time chosen because of the opportunity to better observe the enormous and endangered Leatherback turtle nesting in the moonlight on the turtle tour. The massage on the beach in front of the house under the Almendra trees and the refreshments offered by the coco frio vendor were welcome interruptions to tranquil afternoons lounging outside on the covered patio. Our family loved Playa Grande and Casa del Mar!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Del Mar- a very happy place to be.

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Finding Casa Del Mar was a blessing. We have never traveled to Costa Rica before and wanted to find a special place to stay. We were not interested in an All-Inclusive Resort, and wanted to be right on the beach.
Casa Del Mar was indeed that, right on the beach and provided all the amenities we were accustom to at home. The staff was very helpful and the location of the property in regards to area restaurants and shopping was ideal. We had privacy and at times we had the entire beach to ourselves.
Greg and Gabriella were extremely helpful. They actually called several times to make sure we had all the information we needed and assisted us in making car reservations. They also were very helpful in providing information on the area tours available.
I have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean, and I have never been able to speak live to the property owners and get any and all reservations addressed prior to visiting an unknown territory.
It is obvious that Greg and Gabriela love to share their beautiful properties with tourist and go above and beyond to make certain your vacation was one you will never forget.
We had a magnificent time and if you are planning on visiting Costa Rica and I would highly recommend Casa Del Mar!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we chose Playa Granda, and Casa Del Mar as our destination after reading the reviews, home description and seeing the pictures of this home. We were not disappointed! This home is exactly as described--beautiful, well kept, and one of a very few right on a very unpopulated, clean beach. We enjoyed a breath taking sunset every evening at 6:00, fresh fruit and coconut drinks in our beach chairs, boogie boarding and a massage on the beach. Marian, Nicho and team were always available and took great care of all of our needs and they were great sports in dealing with our inability to speak much Spanish. (communication was sometimes an entertaining game of charades). Greg, the owner, and family made the overall experience fantastic. Prior to arriving all my questions and concerns were quickly answered by e-mail or a phone call. An extremely helpful, detailed information package is sent ahead of time that lists great places to eat and “must dos” and they assisted in setting up our tours—zip-lining and water tubing. We enjoyed eating at Bula Bula, the Pizzeria (much more than pizza!) and Taco star. This was a wonderful adventure, and I hope to return to Casa Del Mar again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Relaxing Week on the Beach

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We arrived late on Saturday evening and were greeted by Miriam and Nicho who helped us with our arrival. We were given a tour of our home-for-a-week and all of the details were explained. We stayed for a week in early June, two teenagers, ages 16 and 18, and two adults.

The next morning we awoke to a beautiful view of the ocean and we were able to enjoy our first cup of coffee while walking directly on the beach. It was fantastic. No crowds and plenty of beach to stroll and enjoy.

Accommodations were just as described in the listing. Photos are accurate. We didn't use the upstairs bedroom, as both of our kids shared the downstairs bedroom. Air conditioners in bedrooms were great and appreciated in the evening for a good nights sleep. Bathrooms were generous in size and showers worked well. Everything was clean and in good repair.

Miriam and her daughter cleaned the home every day and they were always available for questions. We rented boogie boards for the week and also enjoyed a grilled dinner one night on the porch with a very nice gas grill that was provided.

Playa Grande was a great location for our trip. We had a rental car, and we travelled around each day to see new sights. We went to Tamarindo one day, went to Flamingo one day, and we travelled down to Playa Avellanas to eat at Lola's on the beach. We also ate at Taco Star, right on the Playa Grande Beach, El Huerto's, and "Upstairs at RipJacks". All of our meals were great and the people of Costa Rica are very friendly and helpful.

We will be returning sometime in the future, and hope to take more of our family members! Thanks Greg and Gabriela for having a beautiful home and sharing it with others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Our family of 5 spent two fabulous weeks at Casa Del Mar. The beach was beautiful and quiet. There are only 9 houses on Playa Grande so you have the beach to yourself a lot of the time. The waves were great for boogie boarding.

The house had a great layout for our family and our friends who visited part of the time. Each couple had a big bedroom and full bath. The kids all enjoyed the big upstairs loft and they had a full bath all to themselves.

The service was great. Miriam and Nicho were there to take care of any needs. The owners and their daughter helped us set up great adventures--zip lining, white water rafting, and horseback riding.

This was truly an amazing vacation and we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing family vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed in the two person apartment in November for my birthday and while I was standing on the most pristine beach I have ever seen I exclaimed "We need to bring the kids here!" So we packed up the four kids (3 teenage girls and a very tolerant 9 year old boy) and Grandma and headed for Playa Grande once again. This time we stayed in Casa Del Mar. This was a perfect experience for us. We loved the house. Nicho and Mariam were amazing. I encourage anyone visiting Costa Rica to stay at one of Greg and Gabriella's accommodations. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stop Looking--This is your place.

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

My family and I stayed here for ten days this past Spring. We have four children (ages 8-13) and we loved every minute of our time. This house is safe and secure, has great surfing out front (my son and I surfed every day), fresh coconut water on the beach, and within walking distance to a great surf shop and restaurant.

The sunsets are amazing, my kids roamed the beaches (again, it felt very secure) and the outdoor shower was ideal. Oh, and it was less than an hour to some awesome zip-lines.

Just stop looking and try and get this place. You will be glad you did.

The Sebastian Family May 2013

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Beach Vacation!

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We just returned home from a wonderfully relaxing 10 days at Casa del Mar, and we wish we were still there! There were four adults and two children, and plenty of room for all of us. Everything is exactly as advertised, although the view is actually even better than the photos can relay. We had two children, ages 5 and 9, and they had hours of fun playing in the surf and sand. There were never any worries about losing kids amongst crowds, because there simply were none! Some mornings and evenings it seemed we had the whole stretch of beach to ourselves. We had a blast boogie boarding every day, and I even tried some surfing.

The staff is friendly, and wonderful as well! They are all lovely people, and we always felt safe and secure knowing they were watching out for us 24 hours a day. As one reviewer noted, you will never have a better view doing dishes, but frankly, we hardly ever had to do dishes because Miriam and Flores came in every day to do them for us! They did our laundry whenever we needed, and came in every day to clean and tidy up. Although the staff doesn't speak much English, a little bit of my phrasebook Spanish was enough for us to be able to communicate everything needed, and if there were ever any questions, Greg, Gabriella, and Daniela, the owners, were just an email away and always responded to my queries. They also helped us arrange snorkel/sail tours, the zipline, river tubing adventure in Rincon de la Vieja, and a half day of fishing.

Playa Grande is certainly one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, and it was amazingly quiet and laid back. Nights were calm and serene, with incredible starry skies and phosphorescent surf rolling in to lull you to sleep. Plus, you can get a great massage right on the beach in front of the house! Although Playa Grande is close to Tamarindo, it feels like an alternative universe compared to the crowded, loud, tourist-packed streets of Tamarindo. In fact, there really is not much "town" to Playa Grande. Just a few surf shops, some restaurant/hotels (all the places we ate had very good food), and the Bualas National Park office. We frequently made meals at the house, though, because we really didn't ever want to leave!

If you are looking for a totally relaxing beach getaway, you will absolutely not regret a visit to this lovely home. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely House and Beautiful Location! Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Our family recently returned from a fantastic week spent at Greg and Gabriela’s lovely Casa del Mar property on beautiful Playa Grande. This place fulfils any fantasy one might have of the perfect beach vacation. We spent our days swimming, surfing, and boogie boarding in the surf in front of the house, alternating with lazing on the front covered patio and in the beach chairs put out under the palm trees in front of the house for us every day by the kind and thoughtful staff. On the beach, you can buy coconuts to sip and get a relaxing massage under the palm trees while listening to the gentle pounding of the surf. The surf at Playa Grande is ideal for beginning surfers – not overly daunting but enough action to make it fun and a little challenging. Playa Grande is an incredibly beautiful flat white sand beach -- still pristine and was not crowded while we were there. It was fun to explore Playa Grande and nearby beaches that you could walk to. And several of the sunsets we experienced were simply amazing. Greg and Gabriela and the staff were incredibly helpful during our stay – helping us to arrange adventure and river tours in the area, and keeping our house clean and safe (I highly recommend the zipline/horseback/water tubing Adventure Tour in the Rincon de la Vieja National Park). The property is very secure and protected by an effective alarm system (which woke us up a couple of times during our stay due to accidentally being set off - but the staff took care of things and we got right back to sleep!). The house is beautifully built, well-kept, and clean, with tile floors throughout, comfortable beds and linens, and good water pressure both upstairs and down. It is optimal to have a rental car while staying at this property, as it is located a ways from town. But you can’t beat the beautiful location and top-notch quality of this house for a beachside vacation in Costa Rica. My only disappointment was not seeing a leatherback turtle - guess I'll just have to return and try again! Thank you Greg, Gabriele, and staff, for making our stay so special and memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

No pictures or words could really do justice in explaining or showing how fabulous this place was. Casa Del Mar and its location on Playa Granda was so perfect our family had a really difficult time convincing ourselves to leave and explore other nearby places or attractions. Gabriela and Greg and their staff were such wonderful hosts. My only regret is not staying longer (our visit was 8 days). The description of the house and property was very accurate and as other visitors have claimed, it was really like staying at a 5 star private resort. My wife and two boys (9 & 11) and myself are very much beach lovers and this was a dream vacation to be right on the beach with the waves just out the back door. We boogie boarded and/or surfed daily, enjoyed coconuts milk from the trees out front, and BBQ'd at the house while watching the sunset almost every night. We did dine at Bula Bula one evening and it was excellent and only a 3 minute drive (15 minute walk) from the house. We even saw monkeys in the trees on our way to the restaurant. We also had an awesome meal included as part of the Palo Verde Boat Tour. It is definitely a must do activity. The trip was really perfect and one that we hope to repeat again soon. Greg/Gabriela - thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We really enjoyed getting to know you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Wow!! That is what we said upon arrival. The location is truly right on the beach. Each morning we would have our coffee and watch the sunrise. Absolutely stunning. Greg and gabriella are extremely helpful as were the staff. My husband and our two boys ages 11 and 7 and my Dad stayed at the house. We were very comfortable. The two downstair bedrooms both have air conditioning. However the loft upstairs does not. Most nights there was a breeze but it can get warm up there if you are use to the A/C. I would highly recommend the fishing trip Greg recommended. I caught a 40lb snapper that we were able to eat for 3-4 days. I even left the remainder for the staff. The jungle tour is also a must!! My boys were very excited to see monkeys up close and personal on our boat.
We are all still talking about how much fun our stay here was. We are looking forward to returning here very soon. You will not go wrong by staying here in fact I guarantee it. ;)!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Amazing Vacation!!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

My husband and our 8 year old daughter just returned from a week at Casa Del Mar. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The home is very clean and cleaned every day and our laundry was done for us. The beach is right in your back yard, just as the pictures show. The waves weren't too crazy, so our daughter was able to rent a boogie board and have some fun in the waves. Greg and Gabriela are wonderful people as are Nicho and Mariame (staff that take care of you every need).
We did a tour to Nicaragua to see the Volcano Masaya, it was a very long day but a wonderful experience. They pick you up at 4:15 am and you return at around 10 pm. Granada was a beautiful city to see.
I would without hesitation recommend this property to anyone that is looking for a private get away with 5 start class. We will be back for certain. Thanks to all the wonderful staff and owners that made this trip just fabulous.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Thank you so much to everyone at Casa del Mar. We had an incredible family vacation at Playa Grande.(Six adults and a one year old baby.) It is a beautiful place and we have more than 600 pictures to prove it! Everything was perfect. We not only saw the nesting Leatherback turtle (Baula), but were fortunate to encounter an Olive Ridley (Lora) nesting during the day and some sweet, tiny hatchlings of the same species make their way to the sea. Our best dinner was homemade from the kilo of shrimp that Nicho thoughtfully supplied for us. Dishes were washed, floors mopped, beds made and laundry folded! Santiago was vigilant and we always felt safe. If I have forgotten anyone, forgive me, and extend our thanks. It was a lucky day when we discovered Casa del Mar!

In the early morning I had the incredibly beautiful beach to myself. The landscape is like a work of art, especially walking north, toward the rock and the adjacent beach of Playa Ventanas. In the most magical light, my eyes feasted on waterbirds, fabulous shells and turtle "crawl" tracks as if I were in my own personal paradise.

The body surfing was endless, always a good wave coming, never a a bad ride! Next time, a longer stay would be the only room for improvement.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Houston family

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

Wow! What a great house ON an incredible beach! Our family, including two little ones (ages 1-4), had a wonderful time there. The house is right on the beach, which is wide open, clean, and peaceful. You can surf, swim, play and or relax at/on Playa Grande, which is just seconds away from your bedroom. Also, you will never have a better view doing the dishes anywhere else! Finally, the staff that works there (24 hrs. a day) are extremely kind and helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place! Highly recommend!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

We just got back from our honeymoon at Casa Del Mar! We cannot say enough good things about the place, the owners and the people who take care of you while you are there! Greg and Gabriela were extremely helpful before and during our stay. Having Internet at the house makes it very easy to ask them any questions you might have. Nicho and Miriam are the two people who take care of you while you are there. They are amazing! Nicho got us fresh coconuts and Miriam loaned us her sim card while we were there for a few days when we drove to Arenal Volcano (highly recommend). The pictures are very accurate, the beach is right out your front door, the property is extremely clean and Miriam will even wash your cloths! Everyone was very helpful (just FYI, if you don't speak Spanish, bring a dictionary so you can talk with Miriam and Nicho...it is worth the effort!). We hope to go back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation at Casa del Mar!

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

We had a terrific family vacation at Casa del Mar. The house was just as Greg and Gabriela described it. Greg gave me lots of tips before we left and Gabriela set up a zip line, horseback ride, and river tubing day in Rincon de la Vieja. Miriam, Nicho and Santiago were there to help us any way they could-- setting up the beach chairs every morning, providing a barbecue, boogie boards, beach towels, they even did laundry for us. The house was perfect for 7 of us. And the location on Playa Grande is the best. We liked Rip Jack's, Mar Bar, and the restaurant at the Hotel Bula Bula. A trip up the estuary to see crocs and monkeys was fun--don't paddle a canoe, take a motor boat and guide. Thanks Greg and Gabriela! We'll be back someday. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Property - WOW!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I don't even know where to begin... Casa Del Mar exceeded our expectations! It was a beautiful and effortless vacation starting with the owners Greg and Gabriela. From our initial phone call, to a phone call during our 2 week stay, thru a follow up email when we got home, they were nothing but genuinely caring and hospitable. I could tell it truly mattered to them they we have a wonderful time. The house is exactly as represented in the photos and spotlessly clean. We loved the fact that there was overnight outside security, a safe in the house and an alarm system. Santiago the security guard not only patrolled our home over night but had our beach lounge chairs set up by sunrise every day. Our host and hostess, Niccho and Miriam, made our stay so that we wanted for nothing! Niccho helped us arrange an ATV excursion, Canopy tour and ziplining, horseback riding, and a golf outing! Miriam ensured that the house was cleaned and our laundry was taken care of daily. They even made sure the fridge was stocked with beer. : ) Miriam went above and beyond when she surprised us one night by delivering her homemade tamales for dinner! I cannot say enough about Miriam and Niccho; they truly made our visit perfect. Without hesitation I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pristine Location

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

My two teenagers and I stayed at Casa del Mar the last two weeks of June while taking Spanish classes at the WAYRA Spanish language school in Tamarindo. Playa Grande is gorgeous, uncrowded and extremely clean. The beach in front of Casa del Mar is great for swimming, especially for teenagers and adults who are strong swimmers – there can be strong currents. It’s nice sand without rocks. It’s a super place to surf and/or learn to surf! We rented surfboards and bikes from nearby Frijoles Locos, and they are very generous with discounts if you rent a lot of equipment from them. We went to Tamarindo each weekday morning for our Spanish classes, which made a nice diversion. Tamarindo is very touristy, crowded and a little sleazy (especially at night), and full of young surfers from all over the world. It was fun to visit each morning when we took our Spanish classes. However, it was always nice to come back to this beautiful and tranquil house on the beach. Mostly, we walked or biked along the beach and took the water taxis across the estuary ($1 per person) to get to Tamarindo, but be careful – if you go back late the water taxis will be gone and you’ll have to spend $40 on a car taxi! We also managed to get a ride to Tamarindo a few times from a local resident, with the help of Nicho, one of the caretakers. All the caretakers, Miriam, Nicho and Santiago were super helpful and welcoming. For eating, I strongly recommend Kike’s. All the other restaurants seemed much more expensive and empty, and Kike’s was always busy with a mix of Ticos and tourists. Greg, the owner, was extremely helpful and honest about Casa del Mar before our stay. If you have any doubts before renting, give him a call.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

When can I come back?

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Just returned from a week at Casa Del Mar (July 2-7, 2011). Can't say enough about what a great experience we had. The house is just as advertised. Very comfortable and functional. The patio space is awesome. We had all of our meals outside, enjoying the comfortable beach breeze and sounds of the ocean waves. Nicho and Miriam were very attentive to our needs, but completely unobtrusive. We felt very safe the whole time. The beach is awesome. Totally shaded by trees so you can stay out all day and get only as much sun as you choose. The break is great for surfing and boogie boarding as well as swimming. Very little beach traffic. Playa Grande has several very nice, upscale dining options. At most of our dinners, we had the places to ourselves. Hotel Catarana was our favorite. The Great Waltini's at Bula Bula was also superb. For less expensive but still incredible fare, MarBar is the place to go. We will definately be back. The owner, Greg, made me feel comfortable from the beginning, always answering questions promptly by e-mail or phone. Greg helped set us up with a canopy tour and snorkeling expedition, both of which were great. Look no further for your Costa Rica oasis. Thanks Greg, Gabriela, Nicho, Miriam and Santiago! Hope to see you soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unbelievably Affordable Paradise

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2007

Another couple and we were staying at the Tropicana in Tamarindo right before we moved on to Playa Grande and Casa del Mar. What an improvement! The location was perfect and the house was very nice and comfortable and extremely affordable for four adults. I'd only stayed in hotel rooms on vacations before, so this was a real eye-opener. The following year, we stayed at Casa del Mar again. You cannot find a better location. There is no trickery in these photos. The beach is literally right there. I'm glad to read in another review that Miriam is still working there. She's the best! She hooked us up with a fisherman who stopped by with just-cleaned Tilapia and Shrimp. The day before we left, we went out shopping, and when we returned, she'd stopped in and washed all our clothes! I can't tell you how nice it was to go home without a mountain of dirty laundry for once.
I didn't notice it represented in the pictures, but apart from the two bedrooms on the first floor, there is a loft overlooking the kitchen where three more could sleep. Also, although Playa Grande is very residential and quiet, there is a Pali supermarket about 10 minutes drive away, and the Ripjack restaurant is about 10 minutes walk south from the house. I highly recommend staying at this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

We just spent a magical Christmas week at Casa del Mar. This house is fantastic: it's comfortable, well equipped and literally on the beach. And what a beach! Playa Grande is the perfect vacation spot with gentle waves, very few people and miles of white sand to walk on. Plus, the house comes staffed with the most accommodating people who take care of your every need -- from dishes, beds & laundry, to anything else you can think of. I recommend Casa del Mar without hesitation, and look forward to the time when I can return with my family for another vacation in paradise...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Once again, excellent!!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

This is the 2nd time I've stayed in Casa del Mar and again I can not complaint of the service, quality and location of the house... They are all great. I've rented homes in latin America, The US, and Europe through Vrbo, yet Greg and his wonderful staff made our stay a true vacation. From Miriam (hsk) to the security guard you feel safe and taken care of. The house sits literally on the beach, our lounge chairs were set on the white sand before we awoke, and the house was maintained everyday of our stay. If you are visiting Tamarindo or any of the beaches near by, I would recommend Casa del mar in Playa Grande... Tamarindo is only a 15 min drive, and to be frank the beach in Tamarindo does not come close to Playa Grande... This is the perfect location to get both sides of Costa Rica, the party in Tamarindo and the relax quiet nature of CR. The price is extremely competetive and you will get twice as much from any hotel room. I've stayed in plenty of hotels in Tamarindo and Flamingo as well prior to finding Casa del Mar. Enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Beach

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Playa Grande is beautiful and this location is spectacular. There are only a few homes along this beach and although some tourists drive here, it is still feels very secluded and private. The homes are very close to the beach, the pictures clearly show the view from the terrace. It was not really a luxurious accommodation but the home itself was comfortable, particularly the bedrooms. I wish we had known there was no air conditioning in the kitchen/family room area, it was only in the bedrooms, which limited how much time we spent there (along with the couches which were not very comfortable). We spent most of our time outside enjoying the beach and the shade provided by the trees which is definitely the highlight of this area. There were several restaurants just down the street (El Huerto & Kike's Place) which were good and easy to get to. The staff was very nice and provided laundry service and cleaned up the house twice a day. They also set out beach chairs for our use every morning all ready to use for the morning coffee. Wish there had been some hammocks on the property or beneath the trees - that would have been bliss! Playa Grande is definitely a recommended stop for beach lovers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

As close to the waves as you can legally live

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

This was our 3rd year staying at Casa Del Mar and each has been as nice as the last. Playa Grande is the northern most beach with surf that has housing for rent (Witch's Rock & Ollies Point are by boat). From here if you want to venture to other breaks south of Playa Grande, there are 6 within 25 miles. But, usually there is plenty of surf right out your front door.

The owners go out of their way to make your stay relaxing, but the staff is by far the reason we returned year after year. Mirium & Mitchell take such good care of you, you won't want to leave. We usually BBQ on the front porch w/ waves breaking as you cook. Two nice sized patio sets on the veranda for all your meals. Please be respectful of keeping lights low at night for the nesting Leatherback turtles.

If this is your first time to Costa Rica, I can assure you that once you stay at Casa Del Mar, you'll be returning again. Other activities besides the beach are not too far away. Rincon Volcano & waterfall are 1-1/2 hrs and definitely recommended. They also have a very nice canopy tour/zipline. Walk 1-1/2 miles south on the beach toward Tamarindo & you can either take a water taxi across to Tamarindo or hire them for a nice boat tour into the mangroves.

If you want rest & relaxation right at the waters edge, this property can't be beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best place to stay in Playa Grande

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

I spent a week at this house with my family and another couple and it was the best place I've stayed in years, if not ever. It appears that only 5 or 6 houses are directly on the beach like this one for a hundred miles in either direction. It exceeded our expectations. The staff was very nice and accommodating. As my son would sing, "Miriam's the best!" The surf right in front of the house was unreal. I would wake up at 5:30am and be standing tall on a wave at 5:35am. There are tidal pools to the right about 200 yards away that we would spend hours at looking at the marine life. You can rent bikes at the local surf shop, Frijoles Locos, for $7 a day. By the way, this surf shop is great. The owners are super nice. We rode the bikes about 20 minutes south to Bula Bula and hopped a water taxi for $6 over to Tamarindo. There are plenty of places in Tamarindo for food and drinks, including a grocery store and banks. You won't find much in Playa Grande, which to us, was refreshing.
DO NOT EAT AT LAS TORTUGAS!! This was the closest restaurant to the house just at the end of the road. It is awful and overpriced. Rip Jack Inn had the best food, but a bit expensive. Kike's is decent all around. Your best bet is picking up groceries and grilling out at the house. Howler monkeys visited us on the last day right outside the house. I couldn't believe it. The coconut palms off the back porch provided fresh milk for my run drinks daily :-)

Go to Casa Del Mar is you want to truly get away and live ON the beach. I wish I was there now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Casa Del Mar Review

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

If you want beach front, this is THE place. When they say "built in the sand", that is exactly correct. This is not "beach view" or "near beach" or any other such nonsense. The house itself features comfortable sleeping for six, a nice kitchen, a safe for your belongings, courteous staff, owners right next door, security for your car, and security for your person. Costa Rica has some theft crime, but not here. The house next door to the one we stayed in, owned by the same people, is absolutely gorgeous, and it can house up to more than 10 people in luxurious surroundings. We have been to many Carribean islands over 25 years, and this place is as nice a villa as I have ever been in, and for a lot less money. The description is correct and accurate, the pictures accurately reflect the appearance, the property is immaculate, the owners are extremely nice and I have already recommended it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review