reviews for: listing #54514 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

Juniper Cottage/Somesville
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Somesville
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $850 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

"...you have a treasure here."

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

"Sitting on the screened porch reading... This cottage is wonderful ~ beautiful. We love all the art, the surprises like the old shutters on the porch and the "coat rack" by the door... these things add so much pleasure."

A.H. and M.M.
Massachusetts

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming. Everything you need. Best location ever!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This place has everything you need for a stay on Mt Desert Island. It is situated in the best possible location for those who don't want to JUST see Bar Harbor. Quiet and out-of-the-way feel, but RIGHT off the main road. The cottage is well equipped and the Owner is friendly and full of great advice for first timers! We managed to do absolutely everything we wanted to do while visiting Maine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WE're always delighted when first-time visitors to Mount Desert Island share our love of Somesville and its great central location for exploring Acadia. So glad you've enjoyed a taste!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great place to stay!"

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

"Juniper Cottage was a great place to stay! It made this a truly restful vacation. Great for an early a.m. jog - no traffic ... a wonderful place"

Sharon and Al
CT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Sit on the sweet porch..."

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

"Somesville is beautiful. Sit on the sweet porch of the cottage while you drink your coffee to plan the next day's events. Take time to walk through the peaceful cemetery and down to the shores of Somes Sound...a nice way to start your day."

Donna
Orlando, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we expected and more!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We loved this cottage! It was everything we expected and more, after looking at the website-clean,open,cozy-and very private!There were fresh flowers,cut from the gardens outside, in the living room and bedroom, and the decor was charming.We stayed for two weeks and had everything available to us, including beach chairs and a small grill. There is easy access to all areas of the island and the owners of the cottages provide maps and info for the main attractions and some off the beaten path as well. We loved the beaches, hiking trails and restaurants. Everything was great! We booked again for next year for another two weeks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Juniper Cottage was adorable, very quaint with everything we needed. It was in the perfect location from Bar Harbor. It was only about 10 minutes away. Right up the block is the Somesville Bridge and pond. It is a lovely place. The location of the cottage is also very private.

The owner was very helpful and pleasant. We were very happy with our stay there.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"It was wonderful!"

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

"Thank you once again for the use of your cottage. It was wonderful!! It is so charmingly decorated, I may steal some of your ideas!"

D.A.
Charlottsville, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"It has all anyone could ask for..."

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

"...quaint, private setting in Somesville. It has all anyone could ask for: welcoming lovely accommodations, close proximity to Acadia National Park, and a family-like atmosphere. Both Juniper and Franklin cottages have been our home away from home for many years...We keep coming back for that delicious month of rest and relaxation."

JW
N.Eastham, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"This cottage feels like a sanctuary..."

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

"Wonderfully comfortable, it offers all the amenities as well as many whimsical and artistic touches crafted by its artist owners. Beautiful light, a stained glass window, a skylight, a cast iron fireplace, and lots of original art all contribute to Juniper's unique aesthetic. Outside, there is easy access to the wonders of the Park, a 5 minute walk to the jewel-like harbor of Somesville, and natrue everywhere in evidence. Owners are very helpful and welcoming..."

H.M.
Northfield, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review