reviews for: listing #54516 - Studio City, California House rental

Garden Guest House, 2bd/2bath, close to Universal Studios
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $165 - $180 /nt
    $1,075 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,400 /mth

sort by:

The Valley Village Garden Guest House

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

My family and I, (4 adults and 2 Children) stayed at The Valley Village Garden Guest House from the 29th Nov 2009 for 5 nights.
The Guest House was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and had every conceivable appliance and fitting required. Just a home away from home.
Helen was very friendly and efficient to deal with and went out of her way to help where she could.
The Guest House is ideally situated in a lovely tree lined suburban street in a quiet neighbourhood, but still handy to lots of attractions.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful accommodation to any travellers.

Grant

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Excellent rental - nicer than the description!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

The guest house was perfectly neat and clean when we arrived and there was a welcome basket of assorted fruit, cookies and popcorn. As we unpacked and settled in, we found the amenities to be excellent. We have rented many properties through HomeAway, but this was the best-stocked rental we have seen. There were plenty of towels, every kitchen utensil and appliance you could want, an excellent washer and dryer and cable tv with all the basic channels plus movie channels. The owner thought of everything for this guest house.
The house is situated on a quiet street in a nice neighborhood, but close to the major freeways in the valley. The private back yard is a very pleasant place to relax, as is the front veranda with Bougainvillea growing on the front trellis. The furniture is comfortable, the closet space is ample and there's even a gas fireplace. The owner is very nice, communicates well and is very accommodating.
If you're planning a visit to LA, you should definitely consider this property!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We were a group 16 people gathering in LA for a family wedding. We couldn’t have picked more perfect places to stay. We rented the main house and guest house plus Helen has another unit within walking distance of the Hartsook houses located Westbrook. I highly recommend any of these places; there was ample room so we weren’t all on top of each other. We liked to cook our own meals in the well-stocked kitchens; everything you could possibly need was there. Lots of fluffy bath towels, to the wonderful candles throughout made our stay like being at home. There are plenty of books to read, handy brochures to get you around town plus you are in a great location close to restaurants and grocery stores. These units are very homey with nice backyards for BBQ, I can’t say enough, this is the only way to go instead of a campy hotel, and they are clean and well managed. The only bad thing is we didn’t get to meet Helen in person. Oh and the personal touch of a welcome basket was awesome. Thanks so much Helen!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Really Beautiful Rental

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

I would return to this property in a heartbeat. I do a ton of rentals for travel and this was the most well appointed rental I have ever stayed in. Beautiful furniture, robes, and well decorated. Kitchen had snacks, spices, fruit, oil and was beautifully appointed. The cleaning people did an excellent job as well. We were well cared for. You will not regret staying here. We loved all of her recommendations as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Stay in LA

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

What can I say about this property apart from Amazing!!!
When we arrived this house was very clean (and I mean clean!) I felt as though I should take my shoes off before entering. This property is very well furnished and unbelievably stock. the area that this property is located in is fantastic, only 10mins away from Hollywood and Universal. This house made a great difference to our stay in LA (a previous stay in a different property was not so good). The only issue that I had with this house is that fact that its so welcoming you don't want to go out exploring LA, as we were only In California for one week and had a lot on our itinerary we didn't get much time to enjoy the house (BBQ, garden or hammock).
My wife loved all the small touches like spare cosmetics in the bathroom, condiments & teabags in the kitchen along with the space in both bedrooms.

Ive already saved the information of this property and will be recommending it to all family and friend that are thinking of taking a trip to LA, This will also be the first place I look for if I do get a chance to re-visit.
Thank you for having a fantastic rental property!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautifully decorated and maintained

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

Not only is this residence beautifully decorated and maintained, but also all the kitchen and bathroom cabinets are fully stocked. What a convenience! There are thoughtful touches throughout - lots of non-skid hangars, a laundry basket, books, kitchen gadgets galore and a very comfortable bed and bedding. It's also close to several freeways and subway stations. Be aware that this is not a separate guest house but more a wing of a larger rental house. The small bedroom shares a wall with the larger residence. It also has a sizable skylight - a lovely addition, but not so great for anyone other than early risers!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review.
We have been planning to install a covering for the skylite so thank you for the reminder.
Hope you will stay with us again in the future. It was so nice to meet you both.
Sincerely, Helen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We stayed in the Valley Village Guest House for two weeks in April and it was absolutely fantastic! We have stayed in many vacation rentals in both Europe and the US over the years, and this was by far the best. The house is clean, beautiful and contains everything you could possibly need, and everything (kitchen utensils, towels, etc) is mathced and of great quality (which is not the case with many rental units). Both the house and garden were perfect for our needs (a family with small child), the owner is very helpful, and we really reccomend this place and would love to rent it next time we come to LA.

Owners response: Thank you Roxanna,
It was lovely to meet your family and we would be pleased to welcome you back anytime in the future.
Sincerely,
Helen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Home Away From Home

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

My family was visiting from the east coast and Europe for my wedding in Los Angeles and they needed somewhere to stay. It was so lucky that we met Helen and found this property. We rented the entire property - the guest house and the main house and it accommodated the 6 adults and one child we had, but could have easily accommodated more. We have not one negative thing to say about this property or the time we had. Everything was impeccable - the linens were especially wonderful!

Additionally, it was a great value for the money spent - so much better than staying in a hotel. We were able to cook, and eat all meals outside in the lovely gardens. The houses were well stocked with almost everything we needed and an such a great location in the valley - you could practically walk to the nearest grocery for anything else you would need.

Can't say enough good things about this place!

Thank you Helen - we'll be staying again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Such a wonderful experience!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

I stayed at the guest house for 10 days and really wish I could have stayed longer! The property was the perfect size and well stocked with towels, kitchen utensils, everything we could have asked for. Helen was wonderful and very responsive when the internet went out a few times. We grilled a few nights and even laid in the hammock (so beautiful!). I couldn't have asked for a better experience and encourage anyone looking for a peaceful, clean and beautiful retreat to stay here. Thank you Helen!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Argentine family of 3

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

We are an argentine couple with a nine year old daughter and we really enjoy our stay in this guest house. I can’t say anything else that it was perfect: as a home away from home. We had everything we needed in the house for a great holiday. The neighborhood is quiet and friendly; it is close to most of the places we wanted to visit in LA.
Helen, the owner, was very helpful and kind.
It is the best home rental we´ve stayed in. I would strongly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a property!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

There is not much I can add over the other reviews, only to say that this property is spot on! The location is perfect to visit all of the normal tourist locations (Disney, Universal, six flags, Beverley Hills etc). The house is lovely inside in terms of decor and furniture. The small things that you don't think about are even good, such as comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and good pressure, duvets and pillows, wifi . ... The list could go on and on!

Thank you Helen for your attention to detail, see you again soon (hopefully!). Our Christmas break was made better due to your guest house!

Kind regards
Shaun & Claire. (UK)

Owners response: Dear Claire and Shaun,
It was lovely to meet you and am so glad you enjoyed your time in LA. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I appreciate you noticing the details and hope you will return in the not too distant future.
Happy New Year,
Helen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location for seeing all LA has to offer!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

The house is in a great location for easy access to all LA has to offer. The house is furnished to a high standard and is exceptionally clean and welcoming. Our luggage was delayed a day so the extras provided, such as shampoo, shower gel etc as well as a welcome basket proved invaluable. Many thanks to Helen.
McGarry family UK

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Second Time Just As Good as the First!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Our second visit to this charming rental was just as wonderful as the first. We have come to view this California treasure as our home away from home. The location is great. The amenities are perfect. The environment is lovely. We especially enjoyed spending time on the the newly furnished front patio. Bravo to Helen for continually finding ways to improve on perfection.

SR
Palm Beach County, Florida

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BEYOND THE COMFORTS OF HOME

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

We – five of us – stayed in the guest house on Hartsook St for 6 days to attend the events of our son's graduation from Occidental. It was convenient to the college, had a direct train line from North Hollywood (5 minutes away) to Union Station, and offered many good restaurants and grocery stores nearby.

The house itself was stocked with staples, plush towels, duvees, down pillows, sumptuous bathrobes, a tub to collapse luxuriously into, and a backyard to forget about the world outside in. Not to mention wireless. Helen was available and helpful for any requests or problems. I give the whole arrangement my highest recommendation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay - Great location

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

The house we rented for our Disney vacation was just wonderful. The home had everything we needed. Kitchen, baths, bedroom all completely stocked. The home is warm and inviting. We all felt very comfortable there. It even had toys for my two year old grandson to play with. I think each person with a child must leave one toy as there are many in the cabinet. So we also left a toy to add to the collection. The location is great as it is close to the major highways. And everything you could need is around a corner. It only took us about 30 minutes to get to Disneyland and only about 10 to Universal. If you need anything at all don't hesitate to call Helen. She is happy to help.
I will rent this house again on my next visit (If it is available).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

I lived in LA for years and was looking for a place to stay which would be perfect when traveling with a family (Grandma and two young girls, 5 and 8). I'd considered a hotel, but when I found this property I knew I didn't have to look any further. I adore this family neighborhood, and the location in general is perfect -- close to freeways, Ventura, and central to getting to the Westside. The guest house itself is quiet and peaceful. Truthfully it's more like a hotel bungalow but bettter -- complete with a well stocked kitchen and all the amenities one could think of -- Helen pays close attention to detail and knows what she is doing. I will stay here again without hesitation. In fact, I'm already thinking about the next trip back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Experience all around.

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We stayed in this guest house in January this year.It is even more lovely in real life than on the pictures. The rooms were fantastic and so well equipped. Beautifuly decorated.
Nothing was to much trouble for the owner everything we asked for was there when we arrived including an extra pull out bed and portable crib with fantastic linen and blankets.
All the extras were provided that you dont usually get in holiday homes, like a fruit basket and biscuits also garbabe bags & detergents etc and other supplies that normally you have to bring yourself, but they were all there and basic food items also. Would recommend this place to anyone wanting a home while visiting LA. Loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Hartsook Guest House

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay here. Helen thought of everything to make things comfortable and functional. The kitchen had everything necessary to cook a meal. The information provided about the local area was great. Our dog loved it, too. He could play in the yard off leash. All I can say is WOW! It is so much nicer than a hotel stay. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Carol and Tim

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved our stay in LA

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a week in September. The property is centrally located to everything (downtown LA, Malibu, Orange County, the beaches). The guest house is very secluded. The backyard is so serene with the patio, the fountain, the hammock and the trees. We enjoyed being able to cook and not have to eat out for every meal. Laurel Canyon- Fryman Park is right down the road and is great for hiking. Universal Studios is minutes away. Helen is so accomodating. She provides everything you would need (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, hair dryers, laundry detergent, every kitchen utensil imaginable, towels, beach chairs, toiletries, a cooler, maps of LA, there is even a selection of books and dvds. The house is beautifully decorated. The washer and dryer were a plus. I would highly recommend this house to anyone. We will stay here on any future trips to LA. I cant say enough good things about this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent Valley home

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

A real home away from home with everything you need for a comfortable stay provided by the owner. Finishing touches like fresh fruit, cookies and flowers were most welcome and made us feel right at home. The property was spotless with ample fresh fluffy towels, fresh linens, well stocked kitchen cupboards and top notch appliances. A peaceful neighbourhood with humming birds in the garden made for a relaxing retreat. We would also strongly recommend this property for its fantastic location near to North LA, Hollywood and numerous other attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect “Home Away From Home”!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We already miss our LA area “home away from home”! The spacious and perfectly appointed Valley Village Garden Guest House is situated in a serene San Fernando Valley residential neighborhood at the center of it all! Traveling for work and play we were just minutes away by car to everywhere that we needed to be – NoHo, Studio City, Toluca Lake, West Hollywood, and the super convenient Bob Hope Airport in Burbank. As New Yorkers we love to walk and we enjoy the benefits of mass transit so we were absolutely thrilled that we could take a pleasant 15-minute stroll to the NoHo Metro Rail station, which is just a 30-minute subway ride to Downtown LA and many other great sights. One of the nicest parts of each busy day was returning home to our beautiful and quiet guesthouse that had every comfort and convenience imaginable. We truly appreciate Helen Walker’s gracious hospitality and look forward to future visits!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

The Garden Guest House far exceeded our expections. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The property is maintained meticulously and has every possbily amenity. It is truly a home away from home in every sense of the word!

Kudos to Helen for her attention to every detail, including fresh flowers on the dining table & a welcome basket of fresh fruit in the kitchen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Would definitely stay again!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

My 18 year old daughter and I spent a week here and loved it. The house is equiped with everything you might dream of needing and was immaculate! Great location, only minutes to hop on the freeway and you're on your way to everywhere!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We were in LA for my daughters wedding. The best part of the whole trip besides the wedding was staying at this property. It was the neatest, most charming, comfortable house we have ever stayed in. It had the amenities of a fine hotel and the convience of my own home. I cannot wait to visit La and stay their again. It was also a very convient location to all the great things to do in LA and the surrounding areas.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

the house was absolutley amazing!!!!! from the beautiful linens and perfectly outfitted kitchen,to the sirene backyard and exceptionally appointed interior, we wanted for nothing. would absolutly stay here again. loved it!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exquisite furnishings and decor

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

Interior was as described and the furnishings were beautifully coordinated. The description was accurate, although we still rung the front door bell when we arrived - not realising that the guest house was joined to the house and only accessible (to us) from the back garden! Would have been lovely to have had a pool, although seeing the hummingbirds in the back garden was an unexpected bonus. We did manage without a car but public transport is very time consuming and a little bit dicey at times. Supermarket within walking distance. Excellent Mexican restaurant - Loteria Grill at 6627 Hollywood Boulevard!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: May 12, 2009

This absolutely beautiful apartment/guest house was one of the highlights of our trip. My wife, my 2 year old daughter, and my sister-in-law stayed for a week and found the home to be an absolutely perfect fit for us. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with new linens floors, and all the creature comforts of home (including robes). The bathrooms were more luxurious than several five star hotels where we have stayed before including the W hotels in Atlanta, and the Grand Hyatt in Chicago. The beautiful kitchen helped make our week long L.A. vacation much more affordable. Although we were with a local the entire time, I found the location of the house to be easily accessible/navigable to major attractions and highways.

Helen was so wonderful and easy to work with. She went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and easy including setting up a Pack and Play for our daughter ready for us upon arrival from the airport late in the evening.

Overall, we had a great experience and this home will ALWAYS be our first choice on future visits out west.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

I have stayed in many guest rentals in recent years and I can say without doubt this was the nicest ever. The level of comfort and attention to details for all of the ameneties was second to none. This is a perfect unit in every sense. The owner even provided a welcome basket of goodies and comfotable bath robes. The garden setting was as nice as any private residence. The best value anywhere.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review