reviews for: listing #54518 - Studio City, California House rental

Downstairs apartment with enchanted garden
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $950 - $950 /wk
    $3,450 - $3,450 /mth

sort by:

Better than any hotel !

Review submitted: July 3, 2008   Date of arrival: June 29, 2008

Amazing, wow, this is great, were just some of the comments my kids and I had when we showed up at Helen's apartment.I am a single mom with two teen age children and the thought of the 3 of us jammed into one hotel room was not a welcoming thought. I was very skeptic about booking a place online, unseen, that no one had ever heard of. But there were plenty of reviews(all good) so I took a chance and I am sooo glad I did! The apartment is tucked away on a quiet street(yet very accessible to all the hot spots) and absolutely adorable. She spoils you with treats on the table for your arrival, there is cable tv, wi fi,(made kids happy) and very comfortable accomadations with an awesome outside area to sit and relax with your morning coffee. I definitely will stay here again when back in the LA area. Book it, you wont regret it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Looking forward to staying here again

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

I chose Studio City area because it's near my friends. When I saw the pictures and the rental rate, I was not sure it would be real but rent it anyway. I'd have to say it's perfect as the pictures told. The place is clean, spacious and just perfect, even the fruit basket was there. The owner is kind and very nice since we communicate via email many times before. She provided a lot of information of the area that helped us a lot. Whenever I come to LA again, I'd definitely stay here again. I'd even changed my plan if the place is unavailable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love love love this place

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Our family of 4, two adults and two kids, stayed here for 3 nites while visiting la. The location is perfect, very close to Interstates and within a cute neighborhood area with cute shops and restaurants. We found this apt to be a very peaceful escape from all the crazy la traffic and crowded tourist spots. The garden was so perfect, so relaxing. In addition, the apt had everything we needed right down to the incredible smelling lotions... We were also greeted with a delicious fruit and snack basket. We loved the fountains and humming birds.... We would absolutely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the la area..

Helen was so responsive and easy to work with ...the place was was perfectly clean and very well represented by the pictures.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the fantastic apartment for a week.

Helen and her team were great. The whole process was smooth from end to end.

The apartment is amazing. It is clean, comfortable, quiet and safe. It had everything we needed for our stay, plus much more.

It really is a home away from home and we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ideal place for for a relaxing break

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this fantastic apartment for a week. Helen and her team were great. The whole process was smooth from end to end.

The apartment was neat, clean and contained everything we needed and more. it is quiet, safe and very comfortable. It was definitely a home away home.

We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

I stayed there with my three daughters! I loved the decor! The unit was adorable and being from Massachusetts, reminded me of a cape cottage. Everything that you could possibly need was there and we were greeted by a nice fruit basket with cookies and water. Even our little dog loved running around the fenced in yard. Breakfast was so nice on the patio and the cooler provided was great to take sandwiches and drinks on the go. If I was single, I would live there! I have no complaints and Helen could not be nicer. I would definitely stay again

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful holidays!!!!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Ciao,
la scorsa estate abbiamo trascorso circa 15 gg. in questa casa, davvero molto ben tenuta, pulita e completa di tutto. Ci siamo trovati molto bene,e anche Helen è sempre stata molto gentile e disponibile.
Quando è stata l'ora di partire mi è dispiaciuto molto, perchè era come essere a casa. Bellissimo...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY WHILE EXPERIENCING LOS ANGELES!

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Our family of five enjoyed a week at this lovely property. We had the best time exploring the Los Angeles area and then retreating each evening back to this wonderful "apartment." It was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The gardens were gorgeous. The neighborhood was quiet and nice, and we felt quite safe. The owner Helen is a very nice woman who thoughtfully supplies many amenities above and beyond the expected. We were 5 mins from Universal Studios, 20 mins to Magic Mtn. and about 30 mins to the beach, not to mention all the other places we didn't have time for! It was a great location! We would highly recommend staying here. Thank you, Helen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

This place has every thing you could possibly need. I spent 10 days total, and it was outstanding. What a great little home. The best way to describe lt is WOW. Thanks Helen

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Together with my wife and three little girls (8,5,2) we stayed in this house for just over a week during Nov 2009.

Everything was PERFECT!

The house is even nicer than in the photos. There was ample room for us, it was spotless and there's everything you need to be self-contained from cutlery to laundry detergent to shampoo - everything!

The owner, Helen, was so accommodating from the very first inquiry I sent her all the way until the end of our stay. Very professional.

The location was also perfect for us. Very quiet neighborhood with everything you can imagine just minutes away.

There's a really nice private and fenced-off yard where the kids could play.

I already know where we're staying next time we're in LA :-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice stay in LA !

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We had a very nice stay during 5 nights in this apartment ; clean, functional, we (party of 5) were very confortable. The kitchen is very well equiped ; by car, it takes only 20 minutes to get to Hollywood or Universal Studios. We will surely come back.
We did not see Helen in person but stayed in touch with her by internet, it was not a problem.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT FOR FAMILY OF 5

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

One word descibes all aspects of this apartement-PERFECT! As a family of 5 with a toddler we chose to stay here as hotel costs were too expensive and unable to fit us all in. With its fully fenced, secure backyard and supremely comfortable amenities, this was the perfect home away from home for us. We had a rental car and being so close to major freeways we were able to easily access everyuthing LA had to offer and come home to this oasis. Close to major markets, the best chinese take out, and plenty of restaurants, food was easy to come by. If only I had someone to cook and clean for me, I'd have felt I was ina five star hotel! The property is everything that is promised and more, personal touches and little extras (ball, sand toys, diapers for our baby, luxurious toiletries, fresh fruit and cookies, magazines, the list goes on and on!) The back courtyard is large and green, the perfect place for the kids to burn off excess energy and watch the squirells jump from tree to tree and along the fenceline. Helen, the owner, provided amazing customer service, her personal tips and information provided before arrival regarding shopping and local attractions made it so easy to find our way around the friendly local area when we finally arrived. The neighbourhood is frienly and safe, just like a family orientatedsuburb in Australia, with families walking dogs and kids playing in their yards. We felt so safe and comfortable in the beautiful, tree lined streets of Valley Village and cant wait to get back there again. Unbelievably clean, fresh and well maintained, I would reccomend this property to anybody wanting a relaxed, comfortable, beautifully decorated place to call home while exploring LA! This property hands down beats any hotel I have ever stayed in. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you would like anymore info regarding holidaying in this apartment. Bravo Helen on such a beautiful place to stay Katrina and Family Brisbane, Australia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Lovely Los Angeles retreat

Review submitted: May 25, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying in the first floor part of this delightful accomodtion for 3 nights. It catered for and exceeded all our needs, a lovely retreat to return to after busy day sightseeing.

I loved sharing the patio with the hummingbirds and the squirrels, so peaceful and beautifully furnished.

I would highly recommend this accomadation, the owner is so friendly and very helpful, it really is lovely.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Schnuckeliges Appartment zu Wohlf├╝hlen

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2008

Wir haben den u.a. den heiligen Abend hier verbracht und hatten einen netten kleinen Weihnachtsbaum zum schmücken. Es war alles da, was wir brauchten, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe, gute Lage zu allen Attraktionen, Stadtplan im Apartment, Internet für weitere Infos, es fehlte an nichts. Es waren erholsame Tage in LA. Leider konnten wir den Garten auf Grund der Temperaturen nicht nutzen, aber allein der Anblick war schon schön. Alles sehr liebevoll und gepflegt. Es ist über große Straßen gut zu finden und trotzdem sehr ruhig gelegen.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great duplex, even better renter!

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 2, 2008

My sister, brother and I were coming to California to visit. Helen was amazing, the entire process went smoothly. We definitely felt at home and the kind neighbors made it even more comfortable. I definitely recommend this property, the location was great! Thanks to my experience, I will be moving to the L.A. area this coming fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 20, 2008

We had family coming into town, and wanted to do something other than the typical hotel room. This fantastic apartment was less than just about any decent hotel in the area, and was twice as nice...spacious, spotless, and stocked with everything you could need. Not only was the space big, but the yard was really nice for meals and spending time. Plus, Helen was incredibly helpful and welcoming. We can't recommend it highly enough--no guests will ever stay in a hotel again when this is available!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Undoubtedly Home Away from Home! Don't miss it!

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2007

This place is amazing. Wonderful tree lined streets and quiet Village homes surround this amazing place. The furnishings are delightful and I didn't want to get out of the pillow top mattress, it was so comfortable! The furnishings are very stylish and create a sense of warmth for you and your guests. I loved the private and gated back yard as well as the wonderful porch outside. It's like being in a tree house. All the wonderful little personal touches made this stay so complete. I wanted to move in and never leave! I loved being in the city but feeling like I was in the country. Thank you Helen for making my stay so wonderful and enjoyable. We'll be seeing you again very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exactly as advertized

Review submitted: April 17, 2008   Date of arrival: January 19, 2008

My wife and I along with our med size dog enjoyed this residence for approx. 2 plus months (Mid Jan to End Mar 2008). Everything about this property was exactly as advertised on the HomeAway web site.

There were two areas which particularly appealed to my wife...how the property was equipped and the beauty of the yard / garden. Everything one could possibly need in a residence was provided ...nothing was missed in terms of furnishings, supplies or comfort items.

We would enthusiastically recommend this property to anyone and if the occasion ever arose, would certainly rent this property again.

Our compliments to the owner for a very enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

I spent 4 weeks in the upstairs unit of this duplex.
It is spacious, clean, and secure, and is like being in
a large tree house, surrounded by trees on all sides.
The unit is quiet, no traffic or other noise, and is in
a charming neighborhood with vintage houses
where people walk with their dogs. THe unit is
conveniently located, and contains all the comforts
of home thanks to Helen's hands on management of
her property. Both the units have separate fenced
yards beautifully landscaped and private. I felt safe
and secure here and will stay here again if I visit
this area in the future and the unit is available.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exceptional Stay

Review submitted: January 26, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

My son and I have spent a month in this unit with our two dogs and it has been one of the nicest stays I've ever had. With all of the comforts of home and more. The location is quite convenient for anything you would want to do in the LA area. Furnishings are quite lovely leaving nothing to be desired. It is a wonderful place to stay in any situation. I don't know why anyone would want to stay in a hotel when you can have a 'home away from home' making any stay comfortable and affordable. It was nice to have off street parking in a safe and friendly neighborhood and yet so close to all the action you care to have. Thank You Helen for all the special touches!

Donna, Josh, CJ and Mickey.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Charing indeed

Review submitted: December 23, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Really enjoyed the stay at this property. Very charming, very well maintained, very nice and quiet location, close to supermarkets, and a short drive to downtown L.A and all its attractions.
Very nice owners and extremely helpful.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

What a great place to stay. It was very comfortable and in a very quite neighborhood. Within walking distance to stores and shops. It was great that it had a washer and dryer in the unit...so I could get the travel wrinkles out of my clothes. I would highly recommend this duplex for your next stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We stayed in the downstairs unit for 4 nites in Aug. We were extremely pleased with every aspect. There was nothing that wasn't provided and everything was wonderful quality. There was even a bowl of fresh fruit on the counter when we walked in.The backyard was also lovely to sit in and to barbecue. Helen was so pleasant and very generous with her time to explain places of interest and directions. This was the best experience we have had with this website and will stay with her again in a heart beat if and when we return to her area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing, Even better than described!!

Review submitted: July 19, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This was extremely comfortable and roomy even for a family of 5. Even the extra bed that was set up for our little one and the sofa bed for our other kids were very comfortable. There was plenty of extra towels, pillows (amazingly soft) and blankets.

The owner thought of every little extra that would make a traveler comfortable. Helen had fresh fruit waiting for us! The kitchen was stocked with everything that your own kitchen would have at home, and a few extras as well.

The kids enjoyed the Directv while we ate breakfast at "home". The two bathrooms were wonderful at the end of a day at the beach we could give the youngest a bath while everyone else showered. The washer/dryer were great for those super sand filled bathing suits as well.

It was the best sleep I've ever had on vacation and I'm not sure I can ever stay at hotel again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We have stayed in the downstairs apartment several times over the past months, most recently for New Year's.
We enjoyed having a lovely spot for a New Year's toast with friends after dinner on New Year's, and then an easy ride to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl Parade. The apartment is comfortable, very clean, quiet, conveniently located (grandchildren and son and daughter-in-law live close by) and feels like a home away from home. Linens, bed, furniture all luxurious and comfortable. Enjoy having full kitchen for breakfasts and snacks, outside patio and table for relaxing over breakfast, two bathrooms are very nice to have, and washer/ dryer was great for our longer stays. Thank you, Helen for making your lovely apartment available. We love it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 2, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We spent the week between Christmas and New Years 2006 in Helen's lower unit, and couldn't be more pleased. We did not want to go home! The kitchen was very well supplied, and we made good use of the gas grill. The bed was very comfortable, as was the hide-a-bed used by our adult son. Not a detail is missed in this charming home. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 24, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We have stayed in Helen's home on two occasions
and both times we had an excellent stay. The
reason: Helen has a beautiful, luxurious, centrally
located, quiet home to offer! We stop over on our
way to San Diego, and find we don't want to leave.
We have stayed in both apartments and found them
to be lush with amenities we couldn't have
expected: beautifully decorated and appointed with
fancy towels and linens, kitchen, television,
wireless access, television, and silence. It is
wonderful and rare to have so much luxury at such
a reasonable price. On top of it all she is pet
friendly!! Thank you Helen!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

My family and I stayed in the downstairs unit the week of July 4, 2006. We have found our home away from home in L.A.! We had everything we needed and more. Very nicely decorated, nice linens, kitchen was equiped with anything you would ever need, nice quiet street, yet convenient to freeway. Helen was such a pleasure to work with. She went out of her way to be sure we had everything we needed. We will definately stay here again the next time we are in L.A.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review