reviews for: listing #54579 - Sevierville, Tennessee Cabin rental

The Hummingbird cabin is 5,300 sq.ft. Escape to the Smokies!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Oaks
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $495 /nt
    $1,775 - $2,975 /wk
    $7,800 - $10,200 /mth

sort by:

Camp Agape

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We stayed at The Hummingbird Cabin for a youth cabin directors retreat/meeting. The house was perfect for our needs. We really enjoyed our stay and the house was in excellent condition. Hopefully, we can stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Please come again! I am sure the fireplace was put to good use this January! Glad you had a good time....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyable Christmas Get-away

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

Great location with all the necessary amenities. The Christmas decorations were a bonus. The owners were gracious and a pleasure to work with. Our family enjoyed our Christmas vacation in the Smokies.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your response! Hope your New Year 2014 is blessed with health, prosperity and happiness. Thank you for making The Hummingbird cabin part of your 2013 memories. Come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our family weekend

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

The Hummingbird is fantastic! The rental process was flawless, the communications were promt, accurate, and very helpful.
The cabin and it's amenities we're clean , up to date, and accurately described. The location was terrific, it was close enough to attractions, yet secluded enough to give solitude and great view of the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Jim-- Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We enjoy staying at the cabin ourselves, and it is always nice to hear others felt the same way. Please come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lake Providence Old Geezers group

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

WOW!

talk about room with a view...this was a group coordinated trip with one person working with Susan...More than met the described expectations....10 Old folks were never in each others way...lots of sitting, reading, gaming and if needed 11 private TV's and WIFI...I used a walking trail near the cabin down to the river nearby...We visited Dolly's Stampede, and just relaxed and enjoyed Pigeon Ford and Sevierville...thank you....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi...I am so glad the official "Coffee Club" (I refuse to call you Old Geezers...especially with as much fun as you guys have!) stayed at The Hummingbird. Hopefully you each got what you needed from the vacation and made memories to boot. Would be glad to have you stay anytime!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic !...beautiful house ....looks brand new

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

The house was fantastic everything couldn't have been better ...we were a group of 14 on motorcycles it was great . enough room that everybody had their own space .our stay was for a week . Location was great the riding FANTASTIC !....the owners Larry & Susan were great to communicate with seemed like great people !.... There rental cabin sure was !...

Owners response: Hello! Thank you so much for your good review. We have had several motorcycle groups that have used the cabin as "home base" for their Smokey mountain rides. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yours and we welcome you back anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful cabin with beautiful views

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

The Hummingbird Cabin was perfect!! It was very clean and had everything you would need. Our group had children ranging in age from 9 months to 14 yrs and a blast was had by all. The older kids all enjoyed rolling their sleeping bags out on the many fold-out couches - there was tons of room. And all the rocking chairs on the balconies were perfect for enjoying the beautiful views. There is so much to do and see all just a short drive from the cabin. Larry and Susan were wonderful hosts and responded almost immediately to any questions leading up to our stay. We would definitely recommend The Hummingbird Cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Amy,

We appreciate your review and how super clean you left the cabin! You were ideal guests and are welcome back any time...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE HUMMINGBIRD

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

Review #6403242 ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS, SPACIOUS, EQUIPPED, AND COMPLETELY DESIRABLE!!!!

The Hummingbird is absolutely gorgeous, spacious, and most importantly has a bathroom and television in every room. The beds are desirably comfortable. The design and decor are idea. The jacuzzi tub is magnificent and the hot tub is all so relaxing. The pool table and game system are marvelous entertainment and the mini bar is a wonderful addition. The location is perfect; as the Hummingbird is centralized to all the major attractions, businesses, and churches of the area. My family loved it! We ran into a few minor snags; however, the owners – Larry & Susan Briggs were magnificent with facilitating. My family has had an annual trip to Gatlinburg/Sevierville area for many years and this is by far the best cabin we have stayed in thus far. We definitely plan to make it our first choice and look forward to an annual stay at the Hummingbird. Larry & Susan are devote Christians who love and care about people and make it a priority to make them happy. Stay at the Hummingbird and you will not want to stay anywhere else in the Sevierville/Gatlinburg area. My family is looking forward to 2014 stay at the Hummingbird.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

60th Wedding Anniversary Celebration & Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We reserved the Hummingbird cabin and another cabin within walking distance of the Hummingbird for our family of 36 (4 generations) to get together to celebrate my Mom and Dad's 60th Wedding Anniversary. I can't even begin to say what a wonderful time we had and how beautiful the Hummingbird cabin is! My Mom and Dad can't stop talking about it, and we hope to return every year to celebrate their anniversary! The cabin was exactly as it is pictured on the listing, actually it is even more spectacular! Everything you need is provided and the cabin was spotless. We had family members who haven't seen each other for 3 years and this was the perfect place to get together and enjoy our family. The owners (Larry and Susan) were awesome to deal with and such a blessing as we prepared for our trip! If you don't ever get a chance to stay in this cabin you will be missing out on a wonderful time! We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello Pamela,

Your group was a pleasure to work with! I am so happy that we could be a part of your remarkable milestone. We would love to see you back again on their 61st Anniversary or any other time. God bless and thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

I was looking for a cabin for a family reunion with brothers and sisters and didn't think I could find anything that could match all the requests I was getting. Needless to say I was wrong! The Hummingbird had everything we needed, separate bedrooms with our very own bath, plenty of space to chill out in, Wii games and even a pool table! It was everything the pictures show and then some. Mornings with coffee on the third floor porch was breathtaking and so quiet. Only thing stirring was the wild life (opossum, turkey, fox and lots of birds). The directions to the cabin were accurate but we did rely on our GPS gal (Victoria) to help at first. The cabin was very clean and well stocked with all the necessities. No need to drive far for shopping, eating or several area attractions. Be sure and eat at the Applewood Grill Restaurant, yummy! Booking a home away from home is a scary experience but Susan and Larry were wonderful to work with and quick to respond to any questions. Thank you Susan and Larry for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. I will certainly recommend it to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much Mary! What a thoughtful review...thanks for the restaurant tip! Your group was a joy to work with as well...please come again! Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Trip

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Cabin was wonderful, just as pictured. Location was also great. Would recommend this property to anyone and would stay there again anytime I needed a large cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

UT Grad

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in the Hummingbird which made our son's graduation from UT even more special.. The house was very clean and looked exactly like the listing. Everyone had their privacy yet enjoyed sharing memories and new experiences with each other in a comfortable setting. Thank you for decorating it for Christmas. The beautiful doors and windows with the nature scenes were beautiful. Due to a storm the night before we arrived, the internet, TV were not working. Everything was fixed promptly. The maintenance people were very helpful, kind and courteous. The owners seemed very personable and easy to work with. We would recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the nice review! Every so often there is a "glitch" that has to be ironed out...we try to get on it immediately. Please come back and enjoy any time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hummingbird. It was so nice to have it decorate for the holidays! Everything you need is there!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Family Reunion

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

FANTASTIC! That's the best word to describe our stay in the Hummingbird! First time our family could all get together at the same time, all 15 of us. The cabin was warm and inviting, comfortable beds, couches and plenty of room for everyone. We enjoyed the scenery from every window, the hot tub, the fireplace, the roomy kitchen and the 3rd floor was the most popular in the evening. Lots of laughs, plenty of food and drink, thank you Larry & Susan for letting us share your beautiful getaway home. A Happy Thanksgiving was had b all!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Barbara,

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. Family time is precious and not to be taken for granted. Please come again. Thank you, Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 Thanksgiving stay

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This cabin is great for a family outing. Plenty of room and the cabin was very clean. The location is perfect due to the fact that you can get to just about everything via backroads avoiding the traffic. The only thing that could be improved is the cookware. Some of it is showing some age and needs to be replaced. Other than that, fantastic stay and working with the owners to secure the rental was as easy as it could possibly get. We will certainly rent this property again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Todd,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay. We would welcome you back anytime. We will be sure to check our cookware inventory on our next trip to the cabin. We just added a 10 piece stainless steel pan set 6 months ago, and we will check for other needed updates. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Let’s see, where should we start. The Hummingbird was exactly like the YouTube video showed – very clean and extremely spacious. The kitchen was also well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc. which was convenient since we ate all of our meals at the Hummingbird. The dishwasher was also an immense blessing so we didn’t have to spend our vacation time hand-washing dishes. We also appreciated the washer and dryer as it allowed us to wash clothes that got dirty while hiking, white-water rafting, etc. It was also very kind of them to have a small amount of laundry soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap to use to prevent running to the store soon after arrival.

A few other things we appreciated include: the guidebook at the cabin that listed various things to do, places to eat, etc., rocking chairs on each of the three floors (most of the surrounding cabins only had chairs on the first, and sometimes second level), the gorgeous views while remaining close to touristy activities, the hot tube and Jacuzzi, the pool table and Wii, and finally the keyless entry was extremely convenient as it allowed anyone staying to come and go as they pleased without having to worry about losing a key. Also, while there were no young children in our group, we did notice some children’s toys, mini high chair, etc. in one of the closets in the event of children coming as well.

In short, the whole party enjoyed the stay and hope that it works out to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cabin & Excellent Service

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Daryl Coweta, OK
Review Submitted June 11, 2012 Date of Stay May 18, 2012
Larry and Susan are the owners of this magnificently appointed cabin nestled in the hills near Pigeon Forge. The cabin was exceptionally clean and all the necessities were there to thoroughly enjoy our stay in the Smokies. Being a business owner myself I have come to appreciate the thing that separates superior management from poorly run businesses is how owners deal with difficult or unexpected situations. Since our stay was early in the season a problem with the air conditioning was not evident until we arrived. I contacted Larry and he immediately sent a service company out ..on a Sunday no less.. to remedy the problem so as to ensure our stay was perfect. I am very impressed by Larrys quick action and have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with maintenance problems at other vacation property only to get a lack luster response from the management. Again, the issue was a quick fix and took nothing away from our week long stay. You cannot go wrong with this cabin and Larry & Susan. I have stayed in approx 8 different cabins over the last 10 years while in the area and the Hummingbird rates at the top of the list. Book with confidence!!!!

Owner Response: Hi Daryl, Thanks for your wonderful review. Unfortunately sometimes things go wrong, but we will always do our best to remedy the situation quickly. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay...come back! . Larry and Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Hummingbird Cabin Was PERFECT For Our Family R

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Lisa Carrollton Georgia
Review Submitted April 16, 2012 Date of Stay April 4, 2012
My Husband and I rent a cabin every year for us to have time to reconnect with our family.We have Children ranging in age from 35 to 6 and we have 5 grandchildren.The Hummingbird was our choice for this year and it was perfect.Very roomy and very clean.It had everything for our large group to be comfortable.I hope next year we will have the Pleasure of getting to stay at this Cabin.It is out of the way and not in all the high traffic areas that we normally stay in.Larry and Susan were very easy to work with and went the distance to make sure we had arrived and that everything was perfect.

Owner Response: Hi Lisa...We love to hear that families are able to connect together at our cabin. There is nothing more valuable than those times and memories! We would love to see you and your group again next year. Susan & Larry Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great family getaway

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Vickie Seymour, Indiana
Review Submitted April 5, 2012 Date of Stay March 17, 2012
We took our family of 5, both sets of in laws, an 86 year old grandmother as well as my brother and his wife. We had an amazing time and there was plenty of space for everyone to have some privacy. The cabin was a perfect temporary home for us to enjoy after our days of hiking and horseback riding. Thanks so much, we will be back!

Owner Response: Thank you so much for your review! I have heard great things about the horseback riding..it is in our personal plans for the summer! Glad you enjoyed the cabin and we welcome your return...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

awesome, perfect cabin

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Robby West Union, SC
Review Submitted March 16, 2012 Date of Stay March 8, 2012
we had 8 guys on a spring golf trip and this cabin was perfect. we will definitely stay here again. thanks for everything.

Owner Response: Hi Robby, Thank you so much for your response. My husband would have loved to join you on the green! You are welcome back at the cabin anytime. Thank you, Larry and Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Christmas to remember!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

April Orlando,Florida
Review Submitted January 2, 2012 Date of Stay December 23, 2011
This was our first Christmas away from home and one we will always remember. The cabin was beautiful, very clean and well stocked with the comforts of home. We are making plans to return in the near future.

Owner Response: We were so glad to be a part of a memorable Christmas for you! We extend an open invitation for your family to return again. Thank you for sending in a review! Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Splendid Cabin!

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Our family had a wonderful reunion at the Hummingbird! It was a perfect location .. easy to get to even with the holiday traffic! The cabin had everything we needed! We loved having three floors so the kids could be on the third floor playing pool, games, music, etc. The kitchen was well stocked. Easy to unload your car because there are no steps to the front door. The cabin was beautiful and Christmas decorations made our family time very special. Thank you for sharing your cabin with our family! Hope we can return for another visit!

Owner Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our cabin and giving us feedback through email. We try to respond quickly to any suggestions to benefit those coming after you and of course to benefit your party on your next visit! Larry and I wish you a very merry Christmas...thank you for letting our cabin help make your holidays memorable.....we appreciate you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memorable Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

As my three year old grand daughter put it, " That was a real Hummingbird". We had 11 adults and 7 children under eight. The spacious floors came in handy as the kids love to run. We ate in a lot and the well stocked kitchen made it really easy to make the variety of meals we had. The petting zoo near-by was a hit as the kids got to feed a variety of animals. Thanks for making our stay memorable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: So glad we could be a small part of the memories you made this summer! Hope you put the grill to good use! Thanks again for the review and please come again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reunion at the Hummingbird Cabin

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

This was a perfect venue for our 3-generation family reunion. With 6 bedrooms and baths, everyone had great personal space. The common areas were conducive to family dinners, games, and visiting. We loved the rocking chairs on the decks overlooking the peaceful scenery...especially after a day of sight-seeing. Thanks to our hosts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hummingbird

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family reunion turned out wonderful due in part by the great accomodations at the Hummingbird. The home was spotless and well equiped and the location at the end of the road worked out great for all the small grandchildren. We had a great time and will consider a return visit. Working with Larry and Susan could not have been better.....always answering questions in a timely manner and the deposit return check sent very expediately. Thanks, Susan and Larry for sharing your home!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Ruth and family...so glad to hear your reunion was a success! Due in part to your suggestion, we added the pack and play and the mini high chair. I am sure others will be able to take advantage of them as well! Come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at the Hummingbird

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

When we first walked into the Hummingbird I remember thinking WOW this place is spotless, and after further exploring we found that every room and every nook and cranny was just as clean. Tennessee is our favorite motorcylcling area and this was our second consecutive year at the Hummingbird. It will not be our last. Communication with Larry and Susan is excellent, any and all questions were quickly answered. The immediate area around the Hummingbird is very quiet giving one a feeling of seclusion but yet it is located close to many attractions. We had several motorcycles and vehicles which were well accommodated by the ample parking area. We are all pleased to have found this beautiful place to stay in the Smokies.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: George,

Thank you so much for your review! Kudos to our housecleaner for this favorable review. We have enjoyed your group immensely and look forward to you booking with us again! Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect mountain get away

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

My family and I spent a week at the Hummingbird while we vacationed in the area and we loved it! This is a beautiful home-well maintained, clean and exactly how it is presented...no surprises! There was plenty of space for all of us to spread out...but still be together. It's not far from the MANY different attractions in the Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, and Gatlinburg areas and was really an easy drive in all directions. Larry & Susan, you were great to work with and we thank you for sharing your home...we had a great experience! We will definitely keep the Hummingbird in mind for our next visit to your beautiful state.Take care!
P.S. We never did use the 40-cup coffee maker, but the other 2 had a work-out every morning! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Tina,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your family came quite a distance, we are glad it was worth your while! Please come back to TN and visit us again...we'll keep you caffeinated! Sincerely, Larry & Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Cabin & Excellent Service

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Larry and Susan are the owners of this magnificently appointed cabin nestled in the hills near Pigeon Forge. The cabin was exceptionally clean and all the necessities were there to thoroughly enjoy our stay in the Smokies. Being a business owner myself I have come to appreciate the thing that seperates superior management from poorly run businesses is how owners deal with difficult or unexpected situations. Since our stay was early in the season a problem with the air conditioning was not evident until we arrived. I contacted Larry and he immediately sent a service company out (on a Sunday no less) to remedy the problem so as to ensure our stay was perfect. I'm very impressed by Larry's quick action and have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with maintenance problems at other vacation property only to get a lack luster response from the management. Again, the issue was a quick fix and took nothing away from our week long stay. You cannot go wrong with this cabin and Larry & Susan. I have stayed in approx 8 different cabins over the last 10 years while in the area and the Hummingbird rates at the top of the list. Book with confidence!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Daryl,
Thanks for your wonderful review. Unfortunately sometimes things go wrong, but we will always do our best to remedy the situation quickly. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay...come back! :0). Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hummingbird Cabin Was PERFECT For Our Family Reunion

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

My Husband and I rent a cabin every year for us to have time to reconnect with our family.We have Children ranging in age from 35 to 6 and we have 5 grandchildren.The Hummingbird was our choice for this year and it was perfect.Very roomy and very clean.It had everything for our large group to be comfortable.I hope next year we will have the Pleasure of getting to stay at this Cabin.It is out of the way and not in all the high traffic areas that we normally stay in.Larry and Susan were very easy to work with and went the distance to make sure we had arrived and that everything was perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Lisa...We love to hear that families are able to connect together at our cabin. There is nothing more valuable than those times and memories! We would love to see you and your group again next year.

Susan & Larry Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We took our family of 5, both sets of in-laws, an 86 year old grandmother as well as my brother and his wife. We had an amazing time and there was plenty of space for everyone to have some privacy. The cabin was a perfect temporary home for us to enjoy after our days of hiking and horseback riding. Thanks so much, we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! I've heard great things about the horseback riding..it is in our personal plans for the summer! Glad you enjoyed the cabin and we welcome your return...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

awesome, perfect cabin.

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

we had 8 guys on a spring golf trip and this cabin was perfect. we will definitely stay here again.
thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Robby, Thank you so much for your response. My husband would have loved to join you on the green! You are welcome back at the cabin anytime. Thank you, Larry and Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An outstanding place to make memories!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

A fantastic cabin, no doubt this is first class. Peaceful area but close to entertainment and things to do if you need it. Comfortable in every aspect will certainly be back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! We will gladly welcome you back! Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Christmas to remember!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

This was our first Christmas away from home and one we will always remember. The cabin was beautiful, very clean and well stocked with the comforts of home. We are making plans to return in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We were so glad to be a part of a memorable Christmas for you! We extend an open invitation for your family to return again. Thank you for sending in a review! Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extremely Pleased

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Our family had a wonderful reunion at the Hummingbird! It was a perfect location - easy to get to even with the holiday traffic! The cabin had everything we needed! We loved having three floors so the kids could be on the third floor playing pool, games, music, etc. The kitchen was well stocked. Easy to unload your car because there are no steps to the front door. The cabin was beautiful and Christmas decorations made our family time very special. Thank you for sharing your cabin with our family! Hope we can return for another visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our cabin and giving us feedback through email. We try to respond quickly to any suggestions to benefit those coming after you and of course to benefit your party on your next visit! :0) Larry and I wish you a very merry Christmas...thank you for letting our cabin help make your holidays memorable.....we appreciate you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow! Fabulous and extraordinary cabin!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Larry, thanks for sharing your cabin with us over Labor Day weekend. My family loved it. Everyone was very comfortable having their own bedroom with private bath. The comment I heard repeatedly from my group was "this place is unbelievable". Thanks also for the tips on avoiding the traffic on the main parkway. Throughout the entire stay, we were only on the parkway once. The back roads to Dollywood, Splash, Dixie Stampede, etc were uncrowded. Having family members come and go during the weekend, I also appreciated the fact that there are no winding, mountain roads to get to the cabin. It was very convenient and easy to get to for everyone. We definitely look forward to renting from you again soon. Thanks again, Ed and Katrina, Mt. Juliet, Tennessee

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Ed and Katrina,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the cabin! It is especially nice to be able to avoid holiday traffic. I think our cabin is pretty nicely located for that purpose! It was also nice to have a family from our neck of the woods visit...we would love to host you again in the future...Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful cabin

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We rented this cabin and it was our first time staying in Tennessee. Well guess what we will be back. The Hummingbird is beautiful and very spacious. We were to have 18 in our group but 5 could not attend. each family had their own floor pretty much. And the comfy beds I cant express how soft the beds were. I could write all day about the hummingbird and the owners were great in meeting our needs. All I can say if you have a large group this is the cabin for you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We would love to see you in Tennessee again! As much as possible on the owner end, we strive to make our cabin a bonus part of your vacation...glad your family enjoyed it...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FABULOUS!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011; our family gathered here from three different states. This house is wonderful!! It's in great condition with plenty of room for everyone. We enjoyed being out of town in this quite neighborhood, but within driving distance of Smoky Mountain attractions. The hot tub was a real plus. And the Briggs family was great to deal with! We all highly recommend this house for a great vacation!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Sue,

Thank you so much for submitting a review. I'm glad your family was able to gather together...those memories are priceless. Better yet, I am glad you chose our cabin for your stay. Come back any time! :0) Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasant Stay

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

Recently my daughter had a volleyball tournament in Seviereville. We stayed at the cabin with several teenagers. There was just enough to do at the cabin to keep them busy, while still allowing a peaceful environment for the more mature. There was more than enough room for everyone to carry on their activities without disturbing the others. The cabin was in good condition and had all the necessary items to have a worry-free stay. Everything was in good working order and very clean. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. I would highly recommend this cabin to others.

Owner response: HI Dale--

I'm glad we are able to satisfy a range of ages and needs. Hope your daughter's volleyball match was a success! Thank you for submitting this review!

Sincerely, Larry & Susan Briggs

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

My wife and I and our church 'small group' have stayed here twice now; the place is just beautiful and very spacious! The owners are very friendly, helpful and understanding of some special needs we requested - they are 'top-notch' in my book! The place is wonderful and very clean. Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful stay and to say "Thank You" very much for offering such a wonderful place to stay! If you are looking to stay in the area and need 6 bedrooms, I say rent this place! You won't be sorry!

Owner response: Dear 'Chuckster'--

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us..(especially a good one :0)) ...we appreciate it! Hope to hear from you again next year!

Sincerely, Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recent Stay at the Hummingbird

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Excellent accomodations. We enjoyed everything. The beds were great. Cabin was clean. Towels were excellent. We will stay agin next year on our trip. The only thing I would suggest for large groups would be an extra coffee pot.

Owner response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you were comfortable and thanks for the recommendation....I know I love my coffee!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Great cabin
Guest: Dave and Cathy1 (Woodhaven, MI)
Date of Stay: April 22, 2011 Review Submitted: April 29, 2011

My husband, daughters, son-in-law and 4 Grandchildren just returned from your cabin. We had such a fantastic time...the cabin is wonderful and met all of our needs! It is in a great location and the scenery is absolutely beautiful!!! Thanks so much for sharing it with us....we hope to return again next April.

Owner response: Thank you so much! We would love to have you back! We always like to hear that our guests have had a good time and we appreciate you taking such good care of the cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

Where do I start?! My two siblings and I celebrated our birthdays here, over 4 nights, with our spouses, three cousins and their spouses. There was so much space here that we never lacked for privacy or felt "on top of each other". There was so much to do in town that we basically ran in to the lodge to eat then out again. The owner is so accommodating. I couldn't figure out how to get on the internet and owner was readily accessible by phone to help. Beds felt mushy to sit on but once you lay down - they're heavenly. Towels are the best I've seen in any hotel and I've stayed at some pretty swanky places - big, soft and not linty. Location on the hill is THE BEST. Go to the petting zoo just up the hill and do go to the Dixie Stampede - what a cool experience. Applewood Farmhouse Restaurant is a must for at least two meals as is the Pancake Pantry in Gatln'g. There are a few minor complaints but they will likely be remedied soon as the owner just bought this place and is already considering upgrades. Pans in kitchen need replacing, need more hangers in closets, need a small table in each bedroom, and needs a good sound system (a Bose would be nice, hint, hint.) A place to hang coats downstairs would be nice too (maybe I missed a closet??) Sure hope I get to go back soon. PS. Thanks Sis.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cabin

Review submitted: April 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My husband, daughters, son-in-law and 4 Grandchildren just returned from your cabin. We had such a fantastic time...the cabin is wonderful and met all of our needs! It is in a great location and the scenery is absolutely beautiful!!! Thanks so much for sharing it with us....we hope to return again next April.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We would love to have you back! We always like to hear that our guests have had a good time and we appreciate you taking such good care of the cabin!

Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recent Stay at the Hummingbird

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Excellent accomodations. We enjoyed everything. The beds were great. Cabin was clean. Towels were excellent. We will stay agin next year on our trip. The only thing I would suggest for large groups would be an extra coffee pot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you were comfortable and thanks for the recommendation....I know I love my coffee!

Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

My wife and I and our church 'small group' have stayed here twice now; the place is just beautiful and very spacious! The owners are very friendly, helpful and understanding of some special needs we requested - they are 'top-notch' in my book! The place is wonderful and very clean. Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful stay and to say "Thank You" very much for offering such a wonderful place to stay! If you are looking to stay in the area and need 6 bedrooms, I say rent this place! You won't be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear 'Chuckster'--

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us..(especially a good one :0)) ...we appreciate it! Hope to hear from you again next year!

Sincerely, Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pleasant Stay

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Recently my daughter had a volleyball tournament in Seviereville. We stayed at the cabin with several teenagers. There was just enough to do at the cabin to keep them busy, while still allowing a peaceful environment for the more mature. There was more than enough room for everyone to carry on their activities without disturbing the others. The cabin was in good condition and had all the necessary items to have a worry-free stay. Everything was in good working order and very clean. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. I would highly recommend this cabin to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: HI Dale--

I'm glad we are able to satisfy a range of ages and needs. Hope your daughter's volleyball match was a success! Thank you for submitting this review!

Sincerely, Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

This is the third time my family has spent the week of Thanksgiving in the Pigeon Forge area. This stay in the Hummingbird cabin was by far the best experience. The cabin, which was very well maintained, was beyond our expectation: the bedrooms, bathrooms, and sofa beds accommodated our large group of adults and children, the dining area was large enough for family meals, and enough extras such as towels, iron, kitchen supplies, etc. were provided. The cabin itself is just minutes away from all of the tourist spots in the area. Throughout the whole experience, the owners were wonderful to work with. I would definitely recommend this cabin for a group that is looking for large common areas as well as for private space.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Babs!

I am so glad you and your party enjoyed your Thanksgiving stay at our cabin. We are always looking for feeback on how we can improve our guests' experience and we place a high value on cleanliness and convenience...hopefully with a good dash of fun! Thanks for your cabin review!

Sincerely, Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

We took a group of 16 business associates to this lovely place for 4 days 3 nights. It was a time of fun and mastermind strategizing. It was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable, with all the amenities that you would have at home. We were very pleased with everything. Comfortable beds were a plus! We had a good experience with the owners..nice to work with. I would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Birthday to Me

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

Where do I start?! My two siblings and I celebrated our birthdays here, over 4 nights, with our spouses, three cousins and their spouses. There was so much space here that we never lacked for privacy or felt "on top of each other". There was so much to do in town that we basically ran in to the lodge to eat then out again. The owner is so accommodating. I couldn't figure out how to get on the internet and owner was readily accessible by phone to help. Beds felt mushy to sit on but once you lay down - they're heavenly. Towels are the best I've seen in any hotel and I've stayed at some pretty swanky places - big, soft and not linty. Location on the hill is THE BEST. Go to the petting zoo just up the hill and do go to the Dixie Stampede - what a cool experience. Applewood Farmhouse Restaurant is a must for at least two meals as is the Pancake Pantry in Gatln'g. There are a few minor complaints but they will likely be remedied soon as the owner just bought this place and is already considering upgrades. Pans in kitchen need replacing, need more hangers in closets, need a small table in each bedroom, and needs a good sound system (a Bose would be nice, hint, hint.) A place to hang coats downstairs would be nice too (maybe I missed a closet??) Sure hope I get to go back soon. PS. Thanks Sis.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Football Weekend!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Our party of six couples came for the Ala/Tenn game for our annual ALA/SEC away game. Wow! We were all delighted with The Hummingbird cabin. It was the perfect place for us with each bedroom having a king size bed and its own individual bathroom. All areas of the cabin were so spacious and everything was clean and in perfect working order. It was very convenient to the local attractions as well as our game day trip to Knoxville. Our only complaint was that we didn't have more time to spend at the cabin and enjoy all of its ammenities. Definitely a WONDERFUL place to stay and VERY reasonably priced! Perfect game day weekend!!! ROLL TIDE!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Football fans!

Thanks for the review! So glad you were able to spread out and enjoy game time! Lots of TVS are a plus, and we are working on upgrading as we go! Hope to hear from you again next year! :0)

Sincerely, Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Just wanted to leave a quick note to anyone interested in this cabin. BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL!!!! My family had never been to TN, and I planned a wedding all online. I had many fears because I had family coming from the East coast, West coast, Indiana and Florida. The pictures do NOT do this cabin any justice. It is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. All of my guest were boasting about the cabin and what a good job I did :) To be honest I was in complete shock. If the beautiful cabin wasnt enough, the owners Susan and Larry....Wow. For complete strangers to be so caring and concerned about our comfort and our happiness. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! Kimberly

Owner response: Thank you so much! We are so pleased to have met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again and make it an even better experience. We are adding features to the cabin all the time! Thanks for taking the time to write this!- Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

Just wanted to leave a quick note to anyone interested in this cabin. BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL!!!! My family had never been to TN, and I planned a wedding all online. I had many fears because I had family coming from the East coast, West coast, Indiana and Florida. The pictures do NOT do this cabin any justice. It is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. All of my guest were boasting about the cabin and what a good job I did :) To be honest I was in complete shock. If the beautiful cabin wasnt enough, the owners Susan and Larry....Wow. For complete strangers to be so caring and concerned about our comfort and our happiness. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! K.Papp

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much! We are so pleased to have met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again and make it an even better experience. We are adding features to the cabin all the time! Thanks for taking the time to write this!- Larry & Susan Briggs

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Cabin Was/Is Beautiful!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We had a great time. The cabin was/is beautiful. I hope to be able to bring them back sometime in the early summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

We had a great time. The cabin was/is beautiful. I hope to be able to bring them back sometime in the early summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Hummingbird. We will certainly keep you in mind the next time we go. Please go ahead and refund the money to our MasterCard.

Thanks!
Machel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Hummingbird. We will certainly keep you in mind the next time we go.
Thanks!
Machel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Get-A-Way!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Everyone in our group just loved the cabin and of course we all want to return. The perfect get-a-way. Thank again!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Everyone in our group just loved the cabin and of course we all want to return. The perfect get-a-way. Thank again!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Exerience was Great!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Our experience was great. The only exception was one of the smoke alarms beeped, but the maintenance crew fixed it the next day. The Hummingbird was very nice and the beds very comfortable. We did enjoy the location and the cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Our experience was great. The only exception was one of the smoke alarms beeped, but the maintenance crew fixed it the next day. The Hummingbird was very nice and the beds very comfortable. We did enjoy the location and the cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great , Great, Great!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Great Cabin, Great Location and Great Memories...Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Accommodations were wonderful!

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2009

The accommodations were wonderful. I don't know when we have had a better time in the mountains. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. The beds were so comfortable and the sitting areas were so nice. It was a special treat to be able to have many of our meals in the cabin. We almost decided not to take a vacation this year, but with the discount you gave us we were able to enjoy a wonderful week with our family. I know that God will bless you for your generosity. With much gratitude and appreciation, Faye

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

The accommodations were wonderful. I don't know when we have had a better time in the mountains. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. The beds were so comfortable and the sitting areas were so nice. It was a special treat to be able to have many of our meals in the cabin. We almost decided not to take a vacation this year, but with the discount you gave us we were able to enjoy a wonderful week with our family. I know that God will bless you for your generosity. With much gratitude and appreciation, Faye

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Great Cabin, Great Location and Great Memories...Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review