reviews for: listing #54583 - St George Island, Florida House rental

The Wahoo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,050 /wk
    $1,400 - $1,700 /mth

sort by:

Beach Get A Way

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

I have rented this home before and once again I was very happy with it. The house is a short walk to the beach (maybe 5 minutes). The fact that there is an outside shower is very helpful when getting back from the beach. The kitchen is well equiped with cooking items. I cooked all meals here for the entire week and didn't need anything beside my crock pot and rice steamer. I look forward to another trip back and it will be right here at The Wahoo!

Owners response: Thank you Tanya, this made my day! Please come back and remember the 10% discount for repeat visits. (I my just take you up on your 'offer'.) Have a great summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorial Holiday at Wahoo

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Our first time visiting the panhandle area and very impressed with the beaches and local area towns. Very quiet and peaceful beaches; lots of dolphins and birds. We loved Apalachicola and Port St. Joe - even stopped in Tallahassee on the drive home. Amenities were great and as advertised; plenty of room, lovely wood floors and lots of windows. Tim was easily available and everything clearly explained. Loved that people could bring their dogs to the beach - made lots of four-legged friends! Next time we'll rent out kayaks and scooters to explore further. Loved the lighthouse. Great for age 55+ if stairs are not an issue, i.e. luggage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Susanne for your kind words and descriptions of the island. Also thank you for taking such good care of my home. Please consider a return visit as I offer a 10% discount for my repeat guests.

Have a great summer,
Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL ISLAND

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

MY HUSBAND, MYSELF & 2 DOGS STAYED HERE FOR 2 MONTHS. HOME IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND ADEQUATE. IT WAS NICE BEING SO CLOSE TO THE BEACH. OUR FIRST WEEK, I DIDN'T THINK I WAS GOING TO LIKE IT THERE BECAUSE THERE IS NOTHING TO DO! THAT TIME OF THE YEAR MANY THINGS ARE CLOSED, BUT AS THE WEEKS PASSED I LEARNED WHY THE PEOPLE OF ST. GEORGE LOVE THEIR ISLAND! TIM IS GREAT TO WORK WITH AND VERY GOOD ABOUT GETTING BK TO YOU. LOVED THE PIZZA SHOP, REALLY GOOD! THX FOR SHARING YOUR HOME WITH US TIM!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

What a great place to stay! The house is exactly as listed. My family and I (and dog) were here for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. I cooked every meal, including a large Thanksgiving dinner in the rental. Needless to say, the kitchen is very well stocked with pans and dishes. The beach is about 5 minute walk away and very nice. The fact that you can take your dog on the beach is a big plus! We will definitely be staying here again!
They only part of my rental that was scary was paying with a check. I have always used a credit card, but I understand having that convenience is a hassle and an extra charge for all. I can now say to others, DO NOT BE AFRAID! Tim was wonderful to work with. His communication with me through email for phone calls was outstanding!
Thank you Tim for the opportunity to rent from you! We will be back and I have already given your listing to 3 other friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Tanya for the early Christmas 'present' of your review. Please come back and have a wonderful Christmas,
Tim

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation getaway!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

When we arrived everything was as advertised, even better! House was clean, well furnished and tastefully decorated. Plenty of room for everyone, a very private and pleasant atmosphere. The beaches are beautiful, local cuisine and atmosphere is great! Close to everything, everyday there was a joy!
Tim is a very accommodating and pleasant person, he just made an already wonderful experience that much better. We will be back, can't wait until next year, Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jackie!! Please come back and remember I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests.

Have a great Summer,
Tim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Me, my husband and 2 kids came and stayed in your house. We went fishing off the old bridge and had a really wonderful time. The beach is gorgeous and the water was crystal clear. The kids swam all day. Your description of the island was very accurate.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We plan to return again next year.
Jessica Daniels & Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Jessica! Pleas ecome back!

Regards,
Tim

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

2013

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We came for spring break and are looking forward to coming back this November for the seafood festival. So glad you were able to accomodate us. Love the house and that we are able to bring our 2 dogs with us. I also love the short walk to the bay for sunsets and that it's such a short walk to get to the beach. We will definitely be renting the house for next years spring break.
Thanks again Tim,
The Smith Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy you had an enjoyable time.
Please come back as I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests.

Have a great summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Renter Beware

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

The owner was great to work with on email. However, upon arrival, if we could have closed the front door and gotten a full refund, we would have asked for one. The house smelled of pet urine, and every room in the house had many (too many to count) carpet stains. There was a foul smelling odor coming from the sofa and love seat in the living room. The furniture was so dirty that we put sheets over them to sit on. We have not, until this trip, encountered anything this nasty for a rental property. And, we cannot consciously recommend it to anyone. If the carpet and furniture were replaced and shower heads added to the showers, it would be fantastic because the layout is great, and the walk to the beach is not far. But, we won't stay there again!!!

Owners response: Jan Mitchell,

I am terribly sorry your experience was not what you had expected. You did email me about your concerns after your stay last November of 2012 and I heeded them by changing the living area carpet with hardwood. I am a 'pet friendly' rental as indicated and I realize olfactory perceptions differ. I strive to have the carpets cleaned after guest with pets, dogs only. As for the shower heads, they are water saver type as water conservation is highly encouraged on the island.
My reviews over the years are mostly 5-4 star. As a professional builder I take pride and do my best to keep my second home in tip top order.
I thank you for your kinder comments and candor.

Respectfully,
Tim Riordan

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Heather from Arkansas

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We stayed for a week at Tim's House. We had four adults and two small children under the age of 6. It was a great time. The back porch is wonderful. It is wooded and you feel like it is your own personal Island. The beach is just a short walk away and the house was well stocked and comfortable. There was plenty of room from privacy and plenty of room for family time. We would stay here again!!!! Tim was also very easy to work with and answered any questions I had quickly before I left for the trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Heather! SO happy you had a great visit. Please keep in mind I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests.

Have a great summer!

Tim

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice vacation spot!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 dogs. It was more like home than a temporary lodging. The furnishings were comfortable and the dogs loved the porch overlooking the wooded lot. It was a short walk to a beautiful beach. There was a storm so it could have been better but we still enjoyed it greatly. We enjoyed several restaurants on the island. The only drawback for me were the steep stairs because I had to carry my 15 year old dog up and down! Ha

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your beach home with us Tim. Although there were a few problems with the house, due to the people that stayed there before us, we were completely satisfied with our stay. Thank you for coming over and fixing the issues so promptly. We are already talking about taking another trip next year to St.George Island and we will definitely be contacting you about renting your home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Lisa and thank you for taking such good care of my home! As I mentioned I offer a 10% rental discount for repeat guests.

Have a great Summer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wahoo says it all!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We just returned from our stay at the Wahoo! Tim was more than accomadating! It is very secluded and quite lovely. The description he writes is spot on! We loved the area, so beautiful the beaches are the best we have seen! We saw so many dolphins it was unbelievable!!! To anyone considering this house, do it, you wont be sorry!! Thanks Tim for a very memorable vacation!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We've been staying on the island for the last ten years and recently found Tim's place. We've stayed in Tim's house on our last two trips and it's by far the best house we've found--convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable...easily our home away from home. The perfect place to park your car for a week and hop on a bike. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Alicia! As I may have mentioned the 10% discount applies for future visits.

Have a wonderful summer!
Tim

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent rental and great service

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We rented from Tim for the Memorial day weekend and the house well exceeded our expectations. Everything was clean and well equipped, the location is perfectly located between the beach and the bay, so we were able to walk to both. Tim has been very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely rent from him again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Deal

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Tim's house is a great deal for the money. The house is furnished nicely, private,and just a few minutes walk to the beach. It was better than expected and the dogs loved the back porch. Thanks for sharing your house Tim, look forward to renting from you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

April Vacation

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Came down with another couple for 4 nights. Enjoyed stay. Plenty of room. Nicely decorated.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Had a wonderful Spring Break!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Tim, Thanks so much for the use of Wahoo. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. I was a bit hesitant about the walk to the beach with the kids, but that was silly. It was a nice little walk. We will definately consider your house again. We loved the beach, but the highlight was Captain Justin at Journey's who took us to St Vincent Island and Sanddollar Island. It was beautiful. Thanks again!! The Stoios Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peace & Quiet

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We had a wonderful & relaxing stay on St George Island, and The Wahoo helped make that possible. The home is light, bright, clean & well equipped with everything needed. The back deck is delightful...we could even sit out there during thunderstorms. We wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

St. Geroge Island Rental

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We rented this place as we were giving my Mom a surprise 80th birthday party in Apalchicola~due to the proximity~and the overflow from my Moms' house in Lanark Village which is about half an hour away.
Tim was great to deal with as far as the rental and any questions.
The house is on a quiet street but only less than half a mile from the beach.
We throughly enjoyed this rental! The weather was perfect when we were there.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks guys! And thank you for your suggestions. I just got back from two days of maintenance, lawn care and cleaning.

Have a great summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wahoo wonderful!

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Took my family down to Wahoo at St George not knowing what to expect as we normally vacation on the Emerald Coast, but due to the possibility of oil this year we headed East. Glad we did! It was so great in fact that we spent an extra night! The island and bay area are wonderful! No crowds, no loud parties, loads of animals, great beaches, state park right down the bike path, and the house is very relaxing. Could barely see our neighbors at all! We even had our own colony of tree frogs keep us company on the deck each night. Highly recommend this house and island getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Spent a week at the house and loved it. Short walk to the beach and also a short walk to the bay. The house is kept up beautifully and is nice and secluded. The island itself is beautiful and a great place for a true beach vacation. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Week at the Beach!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Great place! Excellent location - close enough to walk/ride your bike to the beach and restaurants but so nice to have a little seclusion after a day at the beach. We had a great time on the island! Will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We spent a wonderful week at Wahoo. My husband and our three children and our dog thoroughly enjoyed the beach, the house, and the island. We found many doggy friendly activities, and did lots of walking and enjoyed all of the natural world. The house was great - just as we expected. It had everything we needed. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 22, 2009   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

We recently stayed at Tim's property and it was great! It's near everything but quiet and has everything you need. Would definitely recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We had a wonderful time for the second year in a row! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful beach home, it was the best deal on the island! Our boys had a great time fishing and it was a relaxing trip for all. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 8, 2009

Tim,
Thank you for the excellent home for our winter week in February of 2009. We found the house in excellent condition, clean, orderly, and in good repair. The neighborhood is quiet and the street has practically no traffic. The area streets have plenty of open space and were excellent for dog walking. You were able and willing to provide surprising service when we needed to stay an extra day. We were very pleased with how comfortable our sleep was on the queen bed. Mary says "It was really a good stay." Thank you again.
Gary and Mary Pierce
Noel - Labrador
Carly - Standard Poodle

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Tim, we stayed in your house in October and December. What an amazing time. The dog loved it and so did the kids. It was so quiet and peaceful - just what we needed. The house was so comfortable and well decorated. Thank you a wonderful experience. We will definitely consider your house next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The house was a truly lovely place to stay. It was
extremely clean, with contemporary fixtures and a
great deal of charm. It was also very convenient to
shops and restaurants, yet it was secluded enough
not to be bothered by passing traffic. The house
comfortably accommodated us with it's three
bedrooms and two baths. We would definitely stay
there again. Thanks Tim for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Not quite as nice as advertised

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

The house is a nice walk from the beach. But the furnishings need to be improved. The sheets had cat hair on them, even after I rewashed them, and my children's feet were dirty from walking on the carpet. The pillows were old and flat. The beds were creaky and need new mattresses and bedding. The house was not cleaned properly (the cleaning lady showed up 45 minutes before check in time) and the house was an overall disappointment. We will look elsewhere on the island for next year.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We had a really great time at the house. The dog loved it there and sure enjoyed the walks on the beach where he could chase crabs and just stare at the waves breaking on the beach.
Walking around on the island sidewalks is convenient and the locations is really good. The cost was the best!!
Thanks for sharing your home with us!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 1, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Tim,
Your place is absolutely wonderful! It is very spacious and well furnished! The beach on St. George Island is fantastic! Our grandsons really loved it! Thanks for all your help in making our vacation one to remember! Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Tim,we had a great time,loved the feeling of seclusion and the huge completely safe porch and house. The house was much bigger then it looks on line and hope to bring at least one set of kids next year. We didn't even use the third bedroom. We went fishing everynight off the bridge and even put our canoe in at the Cove in the state park. I brought back five boxes of shells off the beach. If you want any pictures that show the beautiful beach and sunsets just email me.Oh, can't say much about entertainment as we ate in every meal (saved a ton of money for gas).We did take in Indian Pass and St.Joe Park and they were also great!.Advice to travelers, don't come down Hwy 98 till P.C., it slowed us down going back out and the view was not anything like it use to be. A great place to stay and visit is St.George Island. The library across the bridge has free highspeed internet and great books for sale.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

This is very nice house in a quiet
neighborhood. We found it to be very
comfortable. It is a 1 minute walk to
the bayside with lovely views, and a 4
minute walk to the beach. Our friends
stayed in the Plantation, and we
visited each other's houses, and agreed
this was the better deal.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 27, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Tim,
Just wanted to let you know we had a terrific time the last part of May in your home. Everything we needed was there. The houses location was perfect for fishing or swimming from the bay or ocean. The fishing was incredible while we were there, with a variety being caught. Spent one day at the lovely state park where everyone should go while they are here. BJ's pizza, the "Flamingo" and "The Blue Parrot" are recommended for excellent food (and atmosphere-i.e. the Parrot). Thanks you for a beautiful place to stay, and for the great weather we had also. Sincerely, Dan and Bridgette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Tim,
We had a wonderful time and your condo is top notch! Our husbands rented jet skis and had dolphins swimming along side of them along with lots and lots of cannonball jellyfish. It was fun at dusk every evening to walk the beach looking at all of the crabs scurrying about. Loved to sit at the Blue Parrot Cafe on the beach sipping pina coladas and eating oysters, too. BJ's Pizza & Subs is a great restaurant--you have to try the buffalo chips!And the beach at the state park was an incredible sight. I couldn't get over all of the shells washing up on the beach! We were the only ones there at the time and could really take in all the of the beauty!(Don't want to swim at the state park--the rip tides looked fierce. It's great for walking along the shore; very picturesque!)
Your condo is really beautiful and made for a wonderful vacation. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

WE had a great time in your home and we could recomend the house to anyone you would like! It was very nice and clean and we hope we can use this home next year for our vacation!
Joanna from Alpharetta,Ga

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 25, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Our family just came back from a reunion at St. George Island for the week 06-16-04 to 06-23-04. We had a wonderful time. The weather was picture perfect, the beach had beautiful white sand, and we even enjoyed two meals of fresh jumbo shrimp. How scrumptious!!

The Wahoo was awesome: designer furnishings, large open floor plan, well stocked kitchen. All the comforts of home - plenty of room. What a special relaxed vacation we had. My son-in-law and husband fished every morning and several evenings.

Thank you so much for your friendly and prompt e-mails. We would rent from you again in a heartbeat. What a superb vacation get away. Very pleased!!

Thanks again,
Bill & Barb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Tim,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your lovely home . . .beautiful, quiet, comfortable, serene, a quick walk to the beach! We recommend your home and St. George Island to any travellers to the area . . .especially those travelling with doggies! We hope to visit again. Thanks again!
Wendy, Rick and the four legged kiddies!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 9, 2004   Date of arrival: April 9, 2004

Hi Tim,

I wanted to thank you
We had some very good time on St George island, and we all hope to be able to be back another time, and spend more time doing some serious fishing
I have been unable to catch a pompano, and this will be my goal next time
What is the best season for that ?
Do you also have some good tarpon fishing there, and what would you recommend to do for this ?


Your house was perfect for us

I hope that everything had been ok on your side


best regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review