reviews for: listing #5460 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Cayman Sands- Oceanfront 4BR + optional 1BR Cottage
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Northside
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,250 - $10,955 /wk

sort by:

4 generation

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

4 generation family of 10 people (10-84 yrs.) stayed here for a week. We came from Alaska & WI. We loved this home, it's layout was perfect. The common area was large enough for us to have meals & fun, but yet the bedrooms afforded families to escape for privacy (& own bathrooms). The View...couldn't ask for better! Only one house next door, but we felt we had the whole beach to ourselves. The atrium pool area was nice for keeping bugs out. We paid for pool heat, but still very cold. My 84 yr. old mother-in-law was looking forward to swimming there, but to cold. It barely got used. My husband & I rented the cottage, very cute. Don't use the shower at night, we are assuming that is what kept setting off the smoke alarm to beep every 20 seconds. Take your shower in the cottage during the day. The main house kitchen has everything, large table for meals & cards. We had groceries delivered from Kirk Market (great service). Unfortunately we experienced some bad weather late in the week. Rain was coming in the seaside doors from the weather seal, we were moping a lot. The owner himself called and apologized & was getting it fixed after we left. Things unexpectedly can happen even in paradise. The good things outweigh the few incidents. We loved our stay with the whole family and we would return or recommend Cayman Sands.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing week

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Cayman Sands was the most relaxing and fantastically appointed property we've ever rented. The location is wonderful. We have been to 7 mile beach many times and were unsure of how we would like the remoteness of this side of the island, but we may never go back to 7 mile! We really enjoyed how we were able to get away from it all, but yet still go to Rum Point or Kaibo or some of the other great restaurants/sights on the Northside.

The photos of this property don't do it justice. We were so impressed with every detail that made us feel at home. The plush towels, comfortable bedding and plenty of great beach towels. The cooking utensils and kitchen amenities were great for cooking fabulous family meals or just whipping up a pitcher of margaritas!

Cayman Sands was clean, beautiful and everything we wanted in a vacation property. I highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very private beach house with lots of room, great pool

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We stayed at Cayman Sands for one month. The house is located on a more secluded area of the island and offers a lot of privacy and seclusion. The property is kept very neat and clean. The beach is very private, however a little rocky. The house has ocean kayaks that are great to use and we highly recommend a sunset kayak. You can shore dive from the house which is a huge plus. The reef is a little of a swim out, however the reef is worth it. The house has a book with very detailed information on diving from the beach. The pool is great and being inside a screened enclosure we did not need to worry about bugs or getting too much sun. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and linens were nice. The kitchen is also great and has all you need to be able to cook great meals.

We had a few issues come up while we were there for a month (normal with any property) and the managers addressed immediately without any inconvenience to us.

I would highly recommend renting and staying at Cayman Sands.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Want to go back.

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

My sister and I rented this place for a week in Nov. 2010 and took our families. We had a terrific time. The house is in a great location with great restaurants and beaches nearby and things are not crowded as it is at Seven Mile beach. The house was great and accommodated the eight of us very comfortably. Everything in the house was in good working order except the pool which was too cold to use. We had two dinners catered in the house by local cooks which was a lot of fun. We would be going back for sure this year but schedules did not work out. I recommend Cayman Sands.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving fun

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We stayed at Cayman Sands during the week of Thanksgiving -2010. There were 7 of us who stayed all week in the villa and we all have only positive things to say about it. The photos do not do justice to the property. The property is extremely clean and well maintained and the information that we were given answered every question about what we could expect for the week. I would recommend this property without hesitation for anyone who wants to be away from 7-mile beach and crowds. It is private but secure. We also loved Kaibo's at Rum Point. Cayman Sands isn't far in distance from amenities such as grocery stores, but with the slower speed limits on the island, it does take longer than we expected to drive back to Georgetown and/or 7-mile beach area, so make a stop by the grocery store first and spend the remainder of your time just being laid back on Island time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Time had by all

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

My brother and I (along with our kids and spouses) took our parents here for a week to celebrate their 50th Wedding Anniversary last summer. The place was enjoyed by ages 5-70! The beach was beautiful. I loved the little covered area for shade for us while the kids played for hours in the sand. Relaxing in the hammock and enjoying the view was wonderful. We worked on one of your puzzles together throughout the week. The rooms were just right for us. The cousins all slept together in the kids bunk room. And there were still 3 lovely bedrooms for us three couples. The pool was a perfect place to cool off and also burn some extra kiddo energy with plenty of "Marco Polo." The pool was screened in to keep us shady again and the outdoor furniture was a lovely place for us grown-ups to relax and talk with the splashing and "Marco Polo" in the background. The kitchen was great and the table was big enough to seat all of us together for dinner. We can't actually pull that off in any of our homes. For once we had a celebration without a separate kids table! We had a photographer come and do a session for us while we were there and the beach out back and trees out front were lovely backgrounds for our cherished photo memories. The vacation was perfect. If I had it to do again, I would not change a thing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cayman Sands was awesome!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

Our family of 12...8 adults and 4 kids rented Cayman Sands in January 2010, It was the perfect size for our family! I would rent this property again. We also loved the location...quieter side of the island and loved "Rum Point"!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

My husband and I travelled with our daughter, son-in-law and nephew(prior year our son also came with us) and a dear friend and her hubby and had an absolutely wonderful time at this property. Well maintained, kitchen well-supplied, beautiful outdoor areas and the Cayman weather made for an almost perfect winter getaway. Guest cottage was used and suited our friend and hubby perfectly.
The setting is on the quiet side of the island which was exactly what we were looking for. Kayaks were a nice touch. Pool is a bit small, heated, and suited our needs with the great big ocean just out front. Hammocks were a favorite spot for early morning solitude. With the outdoor area screened and the huge sliding doors open to it, we spent endless hours in the evening with the outdoors inside. Bedrooms are separated just enough for privacy and the two ocean front bedrooms each have wonderful, roomy showers.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best House Going!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

A group of 8 adults stayed there in June, 2010. We had been to the Cayman's many times before and always stay at different properties - all of which have been great. This beat them all!! We loved the house itself, the two large master suites, bunk room, awesome kitchen, screened room/pool and really got a ton of mileage out of the gazebo. Great place for a cocktail and enjoying the ocean. The pictures really gave us an accurate idea of what we were getting into and all the amenities were as advertised - if not better.

This year we went to St. Thomas and The BVI where we again had houses, but all anyone would talk about is our week at Cayman Sands due to the quality of the entire package. The property is not one that you will ever forget.

We definitely plan on going back for a repeat at Cayman Sands. Close to Rum Point, restaurants and really is nice being on the quiet side of the island away from 7-mile, for those wanting a more relaxing time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cayman Sands July 2011

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We spent two weeks in Cayman Sands in July 2011. The house is well designed and decorated. We liked the open floor plan and the view to the beach. The pool's close proximity and visibility to the house was a plus. The gazebo next to the beach was nice; we spent a lot of time in the hammocks. Entering the water from the beach directly behind the house is a bit uninviting (rocky, many urchins), but that is the case in many areas around the island. Cayman Sands does not have good snorkeling right behind the house, either. This and the beach entry were negatives for my children, but they had plenty of fun playing in the pool and sand. The scuba divers in our family were more than happy with the location; we rented tanks from Ocean Frontiers and did several shore dives from Cayman Sands' own beach. This is the main reason we rented Cayman Sands and were not disappointed. The home's central location in Old Man Bay was also very convenient if you're going to be traveling frequently to the east end to dive and buy groceries. I would definitely rent Cayman Sands again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

One of our favorites!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We have stayed at this home perhaps 4 times over the last 8 years--last time Aug 2010. We take three families and lots of small children. Location is fantastic. We scuba right out back of the house. Pool can be secured from the kids. Beach area is private. Easy dealing with owner. This is one of our consistent favorites--nice home, quiet end of the island, lots to do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house for kids!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We stayed at Cayman Sands in March of 2010 with our two children, ages 4 and 6, and our babysitter. The house is gorgeous and pristinely clean - cool, wide, breezy VERY large central living space with four enormous bedrooms, two on each wing. It's a good house for families, or for multiple couples - the entire living/kitchen space and two of the bedrooms look out onto the pool area (it's a U-shape surrounding the pool in the middle), so you can keep an eye on your kids at all times, even if running in to make lunch. The gazebo by the ocean is a great staging area: big enough for a midday picnic lunch and rest in the shaded hammocks. We used the kayak often and did a lot of snorkeling (one parent/kid in kayak; one parent/kid in water). A much larger family, or two families, could use this home - it's so private and spacious with four bunks in one of the rooms (it's all on one floor so no stairs to worry about w. young kids). Sand was soft and deep between the house and ocean, but down the beach are some fabulous tidal pools and limestone sections where our kids explored and watched crabs and other tidal creatures for hours! The best part for us was the screened-in pool with very nice outdoor couches. The screening is very tasteful and keeps out any flying (or crawly) insects and crabs. Plus you can swim at night while kids are in bed, since two bedrooms face right out on the pool. This house is in a remote and private section of the island, far (both geographically and metaphorically) from the high-rises of Seven Mile beach. You can still drive into Georgetown or Boddentown if you want, but why would you want? There's a small grocery in Old Man Bay, and we ate multiple meals at the little open-air seafood place about a mile away- owned by a French chef - amazing food! And don't miss the botanical gardens and blue iguanas about 3 miles away. You could spend a whole day there, or a whole life...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Trip, Great House

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We had 2 families with a total of 4 adults and 4 kids (ages:9, 7, 7, 2) on our trip. We did not use the 1 bdrm cottage. The house was great! The pictures are very accurate. The house was clean and the amenities were as advertised. The gazebo was another great addition to the house. The house was perfect for kids with the pool and the beach. This is not a barefoot beach so bring your water shoes. If we were at the house the kids were in the pool! We kayaked and snorkeled right behind the house and it was great. The house is perfectly located for a quite get away from the big town of Georgetown. Rum point is the best and 10 minutes by car down the road. We loved Rum Point! There is a small liquor store 5 minutes from the house and a very small grocery store about the same distance - 20 minute drive for a full grocery. There are several great restaurants 5 - 20 minutes away with out having to go to Georgetown if you choose not to use the grill. We had good meals at Over the Edge (5 min) and Tukka (20 min East End) and one of the best meals I have every had at the Restaurant at Rum Point - The Seafood Hot Pot! Over all a great vacation and a great house. Jim prepares you to visit Grand Cayman with all of the info you need. I felt like we had been there several times before even though this was our first visit because of the info Jim provides. We had zero questions about the house, the area, or the island. The house caretaker, Thelda, was also very available. We did not need her much but when we did we got what we needed. Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a wonderful villa & location!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We had 3 families together for our vacation and rented both the villa and cottage. This was the second trip to Cayman Sands for my husband and me, and it was just as wonderful as our first trip in 2002. The villa is well appointed and very spacious, giving each of the families ample space. The planning information provided was very helpful and accurate (note that Portofino Restaurant is now Tukka - equally as fabulous, and we couldn't find Roland's Garden, but that may have been more our issue than the directions). The kids loved the pool, and the beach hosted numerous touch football games, which will remain in our kids' memories for quite some time. Having access to the washer/dryer and having the standalone ice machine were amenities that you don't often think about, but they were frequently used and very appreciated. We dove with Ocean Frontiers on the East End, went to Stingray City with Red Sail Sports from Rum Point, and spent a day at Rum Point beach as well as Smith's Cove. These are all very enjoyable and I would recommend to others visiting Grand Cayman. All around, this was a fantastic vacation and wonderful villa to enjoy Grand Cayman from.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review