reviews for: listing #54634 - Bryson City, North Carolina Cabin rental

Buck's Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tobacco Branch
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $100 /nt
    $550 - $600 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful but close to everything

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a nice week at Bucks Retreat. It was everything that the rental listing said it was. We rode the dragon and Cherohala Skyway, went to Fontana Dam and The Great Smokey Mountain Railroad, Smokey Mountain National Park. Gatlinburg is about an hour away. You must go to Jimmy Mac's in Bryson City(voted best burgers in the south). We would definitely stay here again. Thank You Buck Family!! Nick M, New Jersey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved It!!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

I stayed at Buck's Retreat with 3 friends for a senior trip. We loved our 5 night stay! The house was private, yet not clear out in the boondocks. There was a wide variety of attractions nearby. We went ziplining, white water rafting, hiking, and tubing. We also drove Dragon's Tail and the Cherohala Skyway. Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge were only about a 1.25 hour drive away. I would highly recommend this house to anyone and everyone!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Clean, Comfortable, Quiet, Vacation Retreat

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Buck's Retreat is accurately described and represented by the owners and the photos. The dock and lake pictured is about a ten minute walk from the house.
The home is very clean and the kitchen is adequately equipped. I cooked dinner most nights after returning from our outings. There is a beautiful bush outside the kitchen window that has two hummingbirds. This pair made cooking very entertaining. The beds were comfortable, and we slept well.
Bryson City is 20 minutes away in one direction and the Nantahala Gorge, where the rafting and ziplining is available, 15 minutes in another direction. Fontana Lake Resort is worth a visit about 25 minutes west; we had a fantastic lunch there. We spent alot of time visiting the cities in western NC, Asheville (1 hour east) and Weaverville 10 minutes north of Asheville are favorites. Other small Main Street cities in the area are Waynesville, Dillsboro, and Sylva. Weaverville and Sylva have bakeries that are worth the trip. Check out the Well Bred in Weaverville, and Annie's in Sylva. Then, take one of those hikes everyone talks about.
One of my concerns was grocery shopping. Ingles is the local supermarket. It is located in Bryson City and is about 20 minutes from the house. Take the 2nd Bryson City exit and a left at the second light. It about a 1/4 mile down the road on the left. The reviews I read, said avoid Super Saver.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So relaxing

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

We were surprised on arrival, as the pictures do not do the cabin justice. We had such a relaxing time at Buck's Retreat. So enjoyed the mornings with our coffee on the upper deck amongst the trees and the cool mountain air. Walks to the nearby lake were enjoyable in the evenings. The cabin is equiped with every appliance you would want including a waffle iron - which we enjoyed using. You must see Fontana Dam. The views around there were breattaking with beautiful Fontana Lake surrounding the mountains. We enjoyed a picnic lunch there near the waterfront. Thank you Howard and Rebecca for letting us stay at your beautiful cabin for our anniversary retreat. The valley around Tobacco Branch is well kept.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

This was the best 4 day weekend we've ever had! We had the perfect accommodations for our group of friends. 3 couples each had their own bathroom and plenty of room to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the western North Carolina mountains. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Time at Buck's Retreat

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

Buck's retreat is a cozy two bedroom home located on the side of a mountain at Tobacco Branch. The house is nestled amongst the trees offering a lot of privacy and giving you the feeling of being deep in the woods but actually you are within a short walking distance of the lake and other amenities offered at Tobacco Branch. When we arrived the house was super clean and offered all the amenities that you would possibly need. The porch overlooking the trees and the nearby mountains is a great place to relax and take in the sights and the sounds. We were extremely happy with everything that the Buck's Retreat house as well as the area had to offer. We would highly recommend this house as a great vacation destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review