reviews for: listing #54678 - Badin Lake, North Carolina House rental

Private Waterfront With Unforgettable Lake and Mtn Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Dixie Shores
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $195 /nt
    $995 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing stay at the lake house

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

What a great, relaxing trip! It went so fast but we're still talking about it. The house is in a remote area (we had to drive 40 minutes to a supermarket, so plan to bring food with you - especially in the off-seasons), and the view from the screened-in porch is serene and lovely.

I have seasonal/dust allergies but didn't need any benadryl b/c the place was very clean. This is a rarity for most rentals - Kay wasn't kidding when she said that they do a thorough cleaning job.

We left our 3 year old with his grandparents and stayed for a few days. We are already thinking about our next stay. We canoed and hiked several times and really enjoyed it.

My only wish is that they get Wifi, but we were fine using our phones.

Overall, highly recommend for a relaxing stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love when guests enjoy the lake as much as we do! Next trip we will make sure you have directions to a closer grocery store. Richfield is a little over 20 minutes and has a Food Lion and a mini Walmart. Albemarle is 40 minutes away if you want more shopping options. There is also a general store 10 minutes away if you need anything basic. A gas station 10 minutes away and in the summer a great local produce stand. Badin Lake restaurant is 10 minutes away if you prefer to eat out. We are still waiting on wifi service but the signal is great for our phones and iPads through our verizon cell service so we still feel connected. Hope this helps. We want everyone to have a relaxing vacation and remember Badin Lake as a special place they can always come back to.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Bit of Heaven

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

This place was amazing! Exactly what the doctor ordered for some R&R. The house is clean, nicely decorated and has everything you need to make you feel at home. I have to comment again on the cleaniness, we go on vacation at least once a year and we have never been to a place so clean. My husband has bad allergies and we can never use the ceiling fans in rentals b/c they are so filthy. This is the FIRST place I've been to that the ceiling fans were spotless! Kudos to the house cleaner!! Besides the house being perfect...the view is amazing, the lake is amazing and you never run out of stuff to do! Things you have to do while your there:
-Canoe to the islands near by and explore
-Cannon ball off the end of the pier
-Swim in the rain (Thunder and lightening permitting)
-Play in the water on every floatable device available in the basement (It's a LOT!)
-Lay in the hammock and read (or in the cool hammock chair things hanging under the porch)
-Feed the ducks
-Watch all the birds that come to the bird feeder (and the blue and white herrings that hangout on the shoreline feeding)
-Grill out
-Smell all the flowers in the garden and planters
-Watch the sunset...it was amazing everytime!
-Play the board games at night that are stored in the entertainment stand
-Snuggle on the couch and watch movies (An endless collection stored in the entertainment center)

The list is endless! There was so much to keep us entertained that we never left the place (not even to get groceries...we made one trip for everything the first night!) We also asked to stay an extra day! It was PERFECT! Can't thank you enough...it was the PERFECT get away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful place, wonderful people!

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

This place is beautiful! We used it for a relaxing weekend away and it could not have been more peaceful! The pictures online do not do this house justice, the views are amazing and the decorating is perfect! Kay and Russ were so easy and pleasant to deal with and made the rental process effortless. We will definitely be back, and we highly recommend this place to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Badin Lake vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We walked in and a sense of peace settled over us. The view is amazing, the way the house is decorated and the ease in which we were able to rent the house was beyond compare. We have recommended this house to all of our friends. We plan to come back in September and possibly October. The dock had a shaded area and a sunny area which was awesome. Having a canoe for our own personal use, anytime we wanted was a boon! I cannot say enough about this home or our visit. It was truly memorable. Many thanks for allowing us to use your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Beautiful

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

What a great getaway! The view is of undeveloped parts of Uwharrie national forest. There are empty lots on both sides so from the house, you cannot see any other homes. When sitting in the large, beautifully furnished, comfortable screened porch, you feel like you are in a tree house with trees and birds on two sides while looking at a lake with no houses in view. The entire house is extremely well done in all ways - beautiful, comfortable, homey with great extra touches. There are numerous places to sit, hammocks, a nice grill, very comfortable beds, luxurious bathrooms, very well equipped kitchen, extremely clean and well maintained. The yerd and dock are equally pretty and inviting. To top all of this off, Kay was great, professional, efficient, friendly, and welcoming. You can tell she wants this to be a good experience for you. We definetly plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sam stay over for Thanksgiving weekend

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

I really enjoyed staying in your lake house over the weekend. The house is immaculate and beautiful. I have been fishing Badin lake for over 20 years and
I believe your house has the best views on the whole lake. It is very modern and equipped with all the features that give comfort to the guests, it has a beautiful dock And deck. I will definitely rent from you again this spring and summer and will recommend it to people I know in Bank of America and Transamerica Reinsurance. Not to mention also that the beds and pillows are really comfortable. Thanks again Sam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful, private and beautiful!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

This was our second trip to this wonderful lake getaway, and we will be planning many more. Our family loves to fish, swim, hike and relax together and this rental house is the perfect location to do all of those things. The owners made sure to provide everything we needed to enjoy the house during our stay. The house is decorated beautifully both inside and out. Whether on the dock, the patio, or the enclosed porch, the view is beautiful and we felt right at home. It is located close to Uwharrie trails, Morrow Mountain State Park, antique shopping, and even a drive-in theater. We highly recommend this home for anyone looking to enjoy a peaceful lake vacation. Thanks a million!!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You won't be disapointed!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

The home is beautiful. I will be going back again and again. It is a great place to go to relax and enjoy the view of the lake and to swim. The owners are great too. You won't be disappointed....I promise.

Robin

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Gem"

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

Thanks so much for the use of your "Lake house". It was a wonderful weekend, weather was perfect. You truly have a "Gem" here on "Badin Lake". We are already planning a return trip when summer comes. Can't wait!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

38th Anniversary on the Lake

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Your lake home is beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing it with us for our 38th anniversary. We had such a wonderful, restful weekend here. It makes it hard to go back to "the real world"... Lynn caught a big cat fish and we cooked him!

Everything is set up for your guests' comfort and convenience. We had great weather and super hospitality.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

My husband and I came here for our first time away, just the two of us, since the birth of our son 1.5 years ago! We needed the getaway and this was the perfect spot! We weren't looking to do anything "touristy", just relax! A beautiful and meticulously clean home with gorgeous views was what we got! My husband loved the fishing off the dock, we even did some fishing at night. We enjoyed the canoe and just relaxing/reading on the dock; hammock or screen porch. We enjoyed a couple dinners out at some local places, my husband especially liked the catfish dinner at Badin Lake Restaurant! The grill at the house made it easy to stay put and make dinner, too! Kay and Russ were easy to work with and warmly welcomed us. The house had everything we needed to make our stay easy and enjoyable. Everything was just as stated on the website/contract, even better! We look forward to coming back soon!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

My husband and I came here for our first time away, just the two of us, since the birth of our son 1.5 years ago! We needed the getaway and this was the perfect spot! We weren't looking to do anything "touristy", just relax! A beautiful and meticulously clean home with gorgeous views was what we got! My husband loved the fishing off the dock, we even did some fishing at night. We enjoyed the canoe and just relaxing/reading on the dock; hammock or screen porch. We enjoyed a couple dinners out at some local places, my husband especially liked the catfish dinner at Badin Lake Restaurant! The grill at the house made it easy to stay put and make dinner, too! Kay and Russ were easy to work with and warmly welcomed us. The house had everything we needed to make our stay easy and enjoyable. Everything was just as stated on the website/contract, even better! We look forward to coming back soon!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Time

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

What a Great place!! We can't wait to go back again. We stayed at the lakehouse after I came back from Afghanistan for a much needed getaway. The views at this place are the best on the lake. Its central location on the lake lets you get anywhere by boat within minutes. The house is clean and meticulously decorated. We spent hours on the dock swimming and fishing. We have two teens and my wife and I could relax on the dock while they swam, canoed, fished or whatever. We all had a great time. Kay and Russ were great to work with and they made us feel welcome like family upon our arrival. Thanks again for a great time and we look forward to doing it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: December 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

This was our first experience renting a home - and it was FABULOUS! The house was even more adorable than the pictures. The views are by far the best on Badin Lake, open and expansive. The house was clean, wonderfully decorated and most importantly...warm and inviting. We truly felt at home.

We came with 3 children under 10, and they had a blast. The swam in the lake all day, every day. They loved it.

Working with Kay was a pleasure. She even had special treats for my kids upon our arrival! We are already trying to plan our getaway for the 2010 summer. We can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review