reviews for: listing #54799 - Brooklyn, New York Apartment rental

Metro Suite - Beautiful 2BR Suite with Great Roof Deck
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Park Slope
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $275 /nt
    $1,575 - $1,925 /wk
    $3,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Apartment Was OK

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed there for a wedding. The owner was very responsive prior to our arrival. The apartment was located on the 2nd floor which was literally about 20 steps per flight with no elevator. The stairwell was super narrow and very steep. All in all the apartment was ok for as much time as we were actually there. The bathroom was modern and updated, even though the shower head was broken (which the owner advised upon arrival), and the rooftop deck was nice. The outside railing to the building was very unstable as well. The floor in the kitchen was a little uneven which caused made noises when you walked. The area concerned us a little as we sitting in the kitchen and noticed a few guys climbing past our window on the fire escape to the rooftop deck. The area was not too bad but I guess we are accustomed to the suburbs.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

My friend and I trawled through hundreds of properties looking for a base for our 2 weeks in New York. Look no further because this place was perfect for our trip. Convenient to grocery shops, laundry service, and minutes from the subway. Took us about 25mins on the train to get to midtown Manhattan. It's a breeze getting to and from Manhattan from this apartment where we spent all our time sightseeing, shopping and enjoying the nightlife. Chris and Marcia were very helpful and their special touches like tea, coffee, drinks etc were lovely. Nice, modern bathroom with plenty of towels for our stay. The rooftop was also great for relaxing in the sun - great view too! Thanks again :)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Park Slope apartment

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

I have stayed in the Urban, Metro and the Duplex on separate occasions (all units owned by the same couple). All the apartments are very nicely appointed. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen has everything you need and the bathroom is updated with plush towels. You’ll find the apartments comfortable and convenient to the subway and shops in Park Slope. I could even find on street parking for my rental car.
The only downside is the units are not accessible, if stairs are an issue. I will certainly stay in any of the units again (have done so over two years). The owners are thoughtful, leaving drinks in the refrigerator to enjoy on your arrival and gathered material to help find restaurants and navigate your way around NY and Brooklyn. Thank you Chris and Marcia you’ve done a terrific job and all three units are a great find!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

does exactly what it says on the box and more.

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

Myself, my partner and my friend stayed at the metro apartment for 5 nights in June, I would certainly recomend this apartment, it has everything you need, we didnt arrive untill almost midnight and Marcia stayed up to let us in and give us the run down on the place, she supplied a map and told us how to get about in new york, which was so helpfull. would go back and stay here again. Marcia also provided milk and tea and coffee which was so welcome after a long journey. although we were only there for 5 days we found it much easier to buy a wk travel card as it was much cheaper than buying everyday cost $27 as apposed to $7 per day. we loved new york and definatly recomend this place to stay only 15 mins from times sq on subway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fabulous Stay

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

This unit was everything we hoped for and more. The beds comfy...a roomy unit that was a true oasis for us to come back to after our daily adventures into NY City. The snacks awaiting us upon check-in were a wonderful surprise. The owner was gracious and helpful. The roof top deck was a perfect family hang out area. We will return and highly recommend this unit...as well as their "urban suite" rental. I cannot think of anything else we could have needed...thank you for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic holiday

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

I recently stayed at the Metro suite with my teenage son and daughter.
We had a fantastic holiday made all the better by the warm welcome extended by Chris and Marcia.
The apartment was spacious, bright, clean and tidy.
It had obviously been stocked and maintained with pride and the welcome essentials were much appreciated after a long journey.
The location is midway between two subway stations, both of which could be reached in 10 minutes.
Most of lower and mid town Manhatten can be reached within the hour.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better Than Expected

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We had an outstanding time in this home! The landlords Marcia, and Chris were very friendly, personable, and quick to respond to any issue or concern that came up. The unit was better than we could have ever of hoped for. The bathroom was amazing, more than enough space for my party of four. Unit was fully stocked with everything we could think of. Beds are very comfortable, and more than enough storage space. Location close to the subway was also ideal. Overall we loved the home and would most definitly stay there again should we come back to New York.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Vacation Rental

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

Whilst trawling through numerous vacation rentals on line, we stumbled upon one rented by the owners of this apartment. The apartment we initially inquired about was not available so the owners recommended their other apartment, The Metro Suite, instead. I am so glad they did! We were a party of 3 adults and one child and I can honestly say what a fantastic time was had by all! The 2-bedroomed apartment was spacious, spotless, splendid!! The bathroom was divine with the feeling of being in a spa persisting until you had to leave the room! The roof deck hosted fantastic views and were it not for the weather. we would have used it more. Marcia, the owner, was very helpful prior to our visit and also when we arrived; she had so very thoughtfully stocked our fridge and provided snacks for us as we had flown in on an evening flight. The location was well placed for the subway which we used daily. Staying at the Metro Suite was a great way to experience our first time in New York and we would definitely love to rent the apartment again when we next visit the Big Apple! We will also be recommending it to others. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fall Weekend in Metro Suite

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We were very happy recently (Oct 8-11) with the Metro Suite in Brooklyn, Park Slope. The location was great (proximity to Dunkin Donuts!) and amenities beyond expectation (orange juice in the fridge, microwave, wine, two house keys, information about restaurants, subway, taxi). The rooftop deck was an unexpected bonus. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. We felt completely at ease walking at night in the neighborhood to and from our daughter's wedding. This midwestern couple will have pleasant memories of our brief stay in Brooklyn and would without hesitation highly recommend this rental to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent Base Camp

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

This Apartment was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. Clean, bright, modern with perosnal touches-a wonderful bathroom. Multi channel TV! Kitchen essentials included. This apartment was a wonderful base for our week in the city. The Subway metro card was a great way of exploring and the local stop was only a 5-10min walk form the apartment and then between 20 and 40 mins into Manhattan depending on where you want to go! Thank you for making our holiday so special!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall weekend in Metro Suite

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

We were very happy recently (Oct 8-11) with the Metro Suite in Brooklyn, Park Slope. The location was great (proximity to Dunkin Donuts!) and amenities beyond expectation (orange juice in the fridge, microwave, wine, two house keys, information about restaurants, subway, taxi). The rooftop deck was an unexpected bonus. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. We felt completely at ease walking at night in the neighborhood to and from our daughter's wedding. This midwestern couple will have pleasant memories of our brief stay in Brooklyn and would without hesitation highly recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WONDERFUL PROPERTY

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

I stayed at this apartment with my husband and 17 year old daughter as mainly a base for exploring Manhattan.
Access to the Subway was good and we bought a 7 day pass so it was v cheap.We were welcomed by Chris who made us feel at home immediately and explained everything to us.The rooms were clean and bright and everything we needed was there. The bathroom was huge and every attention to detail had been fullfilled.They had even left us breakfast goods and also beer in the fridge!! (Although the washing machine was broken,Chris offered to arrange and pay for washing at the local laundry until it could be fixed!)The roof space was amazing with views of Manahattan and my husband spent an hour or so each morning up there having breakfast and reading while my daughter caught up with TV programmes on the multi channel system! Definately recommended and would stay there again if visiting New York.
(Just be aware this property is not suitable for anyone with disabilities as it is up 2 flights of stairs)
Thanks for letting us stay-it was a joy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review