reviews for: listing #5480 - Oceanside, California Condo rental

UNIQUE Casual & Elegant Beach Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  North Coast Village
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $257 /nt
    $850 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful view

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful week at your lovely condo. You have thought of everything a visitor might need. The location is perfect – so close to everything and so much to see and do. The view from the balcony is always scenic and changes hourly. The North Coast Village property is beautifully maintained. Thank you for your attention to detail and also for the goodie basket. That was a very nice welcome for us. Also, we appreciated the fact that it was spotlessly clean. If we are ever in the area again, we would certainly love to return.
-- Karen (Bluffton, SC)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oceanside Condo

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at this Oceanside condo. It was clean, close to the beach and had amenities like beach chairs with umbrellas that I was able to take to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience & beautiful condo

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time this past week! We loved sitting out on the balcony in the morning watching the surfers. Your cottage could not have been better equipped & was lovely. We’ll definitely recommend it to family & friends. Thank you!
--Geoff & Val (Andover, MN)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

30th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This week went by WAY too fast. You have a beautiful cottage. The grounds landscaping is beautiful. Everything was wonderful and a great way to spend our 30th wedding anniversary. I’m hoping we don’t have to wait 10 more years to come again. Thank you again, Lolly. P.S. So glad we came across you on the internet.
-- David & Denise (Aloha, OR)

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oceanside Rental

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We did not book a rental until about the middle of December, 2012 and found this one on the internet. We placed our reservation and met Lolly at the rental on the first day. It was as described, and Lolly was very informative about the rental and local area attractions. We enjoyed dining at the restaurants nearby village, and our evening sunset walks along the beach. I would not hesitate to return for another week of relaxation.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Beach Getaway

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

My husband and I wanted a cozy yet cool place near the beach and we found it in this cozy condo in Oceanside, CA. We wanted for nothing in terms of all the creature comforts in the condo. The kitchen was filled with everything you could have possibly needed for cooking. Lolly left us a gift basket of goodies which we enjoyed too. The condo was just a short walt to the lovely beach and we slept great in the cozy bed too. We would recommend this beach condo to anyone looking for a beach getaway with all the ammenities!

Mike and Cat :)

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

This condo was very clean and exactly as promised. The gated community was beautiful, the parking was easy, the deck was great,the kitchen was well stocked, and the sand toys, lawn chairs, etc were a nice bonus. We were able to walk over to the harbor and enjoy the restaurants. What a wonderful treat to have waiting for us after a long drive. We felt so welcome and really enjoyed the condo. It was so much more relaxing to stay here than at a hotel (and less expensive). Lolly met us with the key and was super-easy to deal with and professional. All-in-all a great place to stay and a great value. We will stay here again if we are ever back in Oceanside. Thanks for the wonderful vacation memories!
-- C & C -- Fruita, CO

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a Great Time in a Great Location

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We stayed in this cottage over the Christmas/New Year's holidays. We researched our choices carefully beforehand, and I can honestly say we made a wise decision. This cottage was lovely, clean, and had a great view of the ocean. It was just the right size for the two of us, although there would have been plenty of room for another 1-2 family members. The owner, who was helpful and friendly throughout the rental process, took care to answer all of our questions, some even before we asked them! I have never stayed in a vacation rental that was so thoughtfully supplied. Aside from groceries (we were there over a week) we hardly had to buy anything else. Oceanside is a wonderful place to vacation, and this cottage was an excellent value. If we ever return to Oceanside (and I hope we do) we'll definitely be checking availability for this cottage.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely place to spend a week

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 22, 2014

I traveled to the area to spend the week with my Marine sons for a birthday and pre-deployment visit. My trip was last minute and thankfully the owner had a cancellation. Since I could not arrive on Saturday as is typical, she was very accommodating and allowed my son to pick up the key.
It was very late when I arrived and I was so thankful for the basket of goodies waiting.
Condo was nice, but the patio was my favorite place to be when I was actually there.

I had a wonderful and very relaxing time. Thanks again. I will definitely let you know the next time I need a place to stay!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

condo in oceanside

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

This condo was a delight to rent . Convenient to town , beach , bars and restaurants. The complex has a wonderful pool area and the view from the condo is very nice . The owner was very attentive to all of our questions and needs . Truly a home away from home .

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Veronica and Joe Phoenix AZ

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Lolly is a wonderful person to deal with, she was kind enough to let us check in early W/O any fees or problems. The view from the condo is awesome, you get the bay, the beach and beautiful sunsets. The condo is big and equipped with everything you need to go to the beach. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and you also feel safe with all the security. We tried to go back and stay for a 2nd visit but she was booked. We plan on going back this October and hopefully we can get Lolly's condo. It is a wonderful place to visit and she is a great host. The condo was also clean and tidy when we arrived with a fire going in the fireplace, very classy and elegant for the price.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice Beach Cottage!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Dear Lolly
It was very nice to meet you! I really like how you take such good care of your cottage. It's very neat and clean. Instructions are very clear and you've provided us with all the necessary things. Including boogie boards, beach toys for kids, beach chairs and more! And the view from the balcony is just great! We also loved the closeness to the beach and to the Oceanside Harbor. We really enjoyed our stay here. And thank you for being so flexible :)
-- Nathalie & Dakota (Switzerland)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing week at the beach!

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We had a fabulous time at North Coast Village and the owner was very pleasant and easy to work with. The condo was beautiful and equipped with everything one would need. We have a young family, so it was nice to make all are meals and not have to deal with going out. The location was great and easy to get to the beach/pool area, marina, and pier. The pool was amazing and we spent countless hours and days in the water. Overall, we had a very relaxing time here and look forward to returning in the near future!


Crystal & Patrick ( Salem, OR)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing stay for 4th of July weekend.

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful cottage. The landlord Lolly was very nice and accommodating to anything we needed and ensured we had a pleasant stay. Her house was comfortable with no issues and include a private parking spot. Her cottage offers amazing views to the ocean and lighthouse for a romantic sunset view. I have definitely saved this booking information for future visits when I feel like getting away for a bit with my fiancé. I highly recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to get away and get a great deal on a great cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo by the Ocean Vacation

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 18, 2014

We were welcomed with a gift basket of goodies and drinks. Nice treat after a long drive. Were visiting our son, a Marine. The condo is beautiful and comfortable. There are plenty of towels and washcloths for showers. The kitchen has everything you need if you want to stay in and cook. We BBQ'd by the pool and ate dinner with our son, niece and her fiance in the condo. A great family night in. One evening we took the train into San Diego for a Padres game. Best way to get to the game with little stress! It was fun. Spent one day on the beach. Which is a couple minutes walk from the condo and is private. No abundance of people, as is by the pier! The condo has beach towels, chairs, coolers, and toys to use at the beach. We used our own towels took some games to play and used a cooler for snacks and drinks. It was fun, tried boogie boarding. The condo even has some books and magazines for you to peruse, in case you forgot to bring your own reading materials. Enjoyed morning and sunsets on the deck. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. There is a pool, Jacuzzi, putting green and a place with pool table and Foosball to play. Have to get the putters, pool sticks from the main office to play, which is easy to do. The condo was much better than staying in a hotel. The owner is easy to work with. She meets you upon check in and makes sure you have everything. We recommend this condo. It's worth having a home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NOT Upscale and Elegant

Review submitted: August 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Oceanside and North Coast Village, I was excited to stay in one of the cottages. The owner was responsive and accommodating with payment arrangements and arrival time. The welcome basket was a nice touch and much appreciative after a long morning of flying. However, upon arrival to the cottage, I was immediately disappointed. The description in the listing described the cottage as "upscale and elegant". NO. It was clean and functional, NOT upscale and elegant. Here is a rundown of each room: LR: Dated decor/furniture...the couch is far from comfortable and the TV is much too small for the space. NO DVD player and NO movie channels (local motels/hotels offer HBO as a standard) BR: Dated decor; linens NOT top quality and the bed is uncomfortable. The screen on my laptop is bigger than the TV in the bedroom. The ceiling fan DOES NOT efficiently cool off the room. Bath: The tub/shower is dated and the shower head needs to be replaced. The towels are far from luxury. Kitchen: The dinnerware/silverware are old and dated. Extras: The beach chairs are ready to fall apart (I purchased my own) and I was hesitant to sit on the lounge chair on the deck in fear that it would not support me. The view from the lounge chair is equivalent to sitting in a wooden crate and peering through the slats. The listing states that air conditioning is provided by the Mighty Pacific Ocean. This is misleading. I am not from the area and the "MPO" could be the name of the local power authority; it is not. The ceiling fan does not efficiently cool off the bedroom. When I voiced my disappointments it was suggested that I keep the front door open to allow for a cross breeze to aid in cooling down the cottage. I am from New York. I do not leave the front door open overnight...for ANY reason. I slept at the cottage ONE NIGHT. The temperature was quite unbearable, even with the standing floor fan blowing directly on me. I was fortunate to have a friend who lives in Oceanside that I was able to stay with in the evenings. The owner and I exchanged several emails in reference to my disappointments and she could not understand the disappointments and critiques I stated and offered only an "apology for the unusual heat & humidity" and to "keep the front door open." I suggested a refund of 1/3 of the amount I paid with no response. This cottage may have been upscale and elegant back in 1970. Not 2014. Owner should visit her neighbors and research upscale and elegant.

Owners response: Any time one of my guests is unhappy, I listen and try to make things better. I am a conscientious and responsible owner but sadly, I could not please this guest. What surprises me about her review is that I checked her in myself at which time she remarked favorably about the interior and location (right at the beach with gorgeous estuary, harbor and ocean views). Before she booked with me, I took every effort to help her with a payment schedule, familiarize her with my cottage, answer her questions. I arranged for an early check-in. Nearly halfway into her week-long stay, she emailed a list of complaints that made no sense to me. I tried to be of help and told her I was sorry she was unhappy. I offered her A FREE WEEK at another time but she turned it down. That is when she threatened to write a bad review on the internet if I did not give her a large money refund. At the same time she complained and demanded money, she never checked out until the week was over.

My cottage is renovated and attractively furnished with custom-designed kitchen, dining and dressing areas. It is acknowledged to be one of the nicest units here at the beach with amenities that guests describe as "beautiful", "wonderful", "very classy and elegant", "safe with all the security", "thoughtfully furnished and supplied", "beyond our expectations", etc. I have been a landlord a long time and never had a guest behave like this. If you are considering my lovely cottage and would like to know more, I invite you to contact me personally to find out for yourself. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great vacation beach rental!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The beach towels, chairs & toys were very nice to have. Thank you for the lovely welcome basket. The complex is very beautiful and the beach and harbor access is perfect. We had a fantastic week and would love to return some day. -- R & M (Phoenix, AZ)

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great vacation beach rental!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The beach towels, chairs & toys were very nice to have. Thank you for the lovely welcome basket. The complex is very beautiful and the beach and harbor access is perfect. We had a fantastic week and would love to return some day.
-- R&M (Phoenix, AZ)

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Oceanside retreat

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

We had a beautiful stay and your condo and personal help were beyond our expectations! Thank so much for opening your place to us. If we get back your way we will want to stay again!
-- Jessica & Robert (Manchester, NH)

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is my first response to guest reviews on this site. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my beach cottage. I try very hard to treat my guests with respect and consideration and have been rewarded with thoughtful and wonderful guests. I would like to recognize these folks who took the time to submit a review on their stay --- Jessica & Robert, Steve & Judy, Jim & Mary, Brian and his beautiful family, Bob & Cindy and new Canadian friends Alan & Sherry and Patti & Moe. TO FUTURE GUESTS: I welcome your inquiry into my Upper Oceanview Cottage here at the beach and will do all I can to assure you have a memorable stay. Sincerely, Lolly

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Excellent Cottage

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

Your cottage is beautiful, the location perfect - walking distance to the pier, harbor, farmers' market, the beach. Utensils are provided for cooking, thank you! You personally met us when we arrived and what a nice surprise to see the Welcome Basket. Very personal touches. You went all-out to make our stay enjoyable.
-- Steve & Judy (Bellingham, WA)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

It was a pleasure meeting you. Thanks for all the tips and suggestions.

Your place is everything you said and more. The next time we are in the area, we will check with you first. We will not hesitate to recommend staying here to anyone heading your direction.

-- Jim & Mary (Seattle, WA)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This place delivers - Location, Value, & Features

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This home really delivered; it was a perfect location and equipped with everything one would need. The view from the private balcony was wonderful; you could see the marina, city and the ocean - Who could ask for anything more. The owner was easy to work with and gave very detailed information about the unit and staying there. This helped to make coming and going less stressful and without surprise. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area. Thanks so much!
--Brian, Hope & Tyler from Beaverton, OR

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place delivers - Location, Value, & Features

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This home really delivered; it was a perfect location and equipped with everything one would need. The view from the private balcony was wonderful, you could see the marina, city and the ocean. Who could ask for anything more. The owner was easy to work with and gave very detailed information about the unit and staying there. This helped to make coming and going less stressful and without surprise. I wouldn?t hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area.
--Brian, Hope & Tyler from Beaverton, OR

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

At home in Oceanside

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We loved staying at this cottage on the ocean and in the evening when the sun was setting there was no better view in the world. The attention to detail in the condo was fantasic. The fact that Lolly met us in person provided us with a sense of a new found friendship with a complete stranger. We walked for miles around Oceanside and found many neat little venues to dine at. We did lots of day trips but were always glad to arrive back at the condo to watch the setting sun. The pools were amazing and not to busy so it made for a very relaxing holiday. We were also surprised when we opened the fridge door and Lolly had left us a nice basket of goodies....that was a very nice touch. We will return again to experience this beautiful countryside.
--Alan & Sherry (Rimbey, AB CANADA)

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lolly's Cottage North Coast Village

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

We loved our stay at North Coast Village in your lovely cottage. We so appreciated you meeting us there, the welcome basket (a very thoughtful gesture) and for giving us all the information we needed to make our stay enjoyable and worry free. The condo was immaculate and well outfitted for our use. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the living area, with wonderful views of the harbour and ocean. Thank you again for the welcome basket and your attention to detail, right down to the Dove soap in the bathroom and dish soap in the kitchen. The complex itself is wonderful, very safe and beautifully landscaped.We look forward to returning next year.
--Patti and Moe (Edmonton, AB CANADA)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lolly's Cottage - North Coast Village

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

We loved our stay at North Coast Village in your lovely cottage. We so appreciated you meeting us there, the welcome basket (a very thoughtful gesture) and for giving us all the information we needed to make our stay enjoyable and worry free. The condo was immaculate and well outfitted for our use. The bed was extremely comfortable as was the living area, with wonderful views of the harbour and ocean. Thank you again for the welcome basket and your attention to detail, right down to the Dove soap in the bathroom and dish soap in the kitchen. The complex itself is wonderful, very safe and beautifully landscaped.We look forward to returning next year.
--Patti and Moe (Edmonton, AB CANADA)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great Week at the Beach

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

What a total pleasure. This is, by far, the most awesome vacation we have ever had. What a joy! Everything was great....we really enjoyed not being in a hotel/motel environment. The view is breathtaking! Thanks for the goody basket and for the wonderful welcome. We feel your cottage is now "our second home".
--Bob & Cindy (Rialto, CA)

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review