reviews for: listing #54848 - High Springs, Florida House rental

Tom & Holly's Santa Fe River House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ira Bea Oasis
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt

sort by:

Get Wet and Cave Dive!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Once again, tom and holly come through again with this wonderful property and incredible location for the best Cave Diving in North America! the location near all the best dive sights is great.
The lower end of the property is set up for diving equipment, from hanging, organizing, drying, cleaning etc. Well lit and great storage to spread out.
The property is very secure with great neighbors and built in security dogs every watchful and fun to play with.
the design of the patios, walkways and docks (including rope swing) is totally fun and relaxing. Would suggest bringing jet skis. Canoes and kayaks are available and great fun.
One of the most relaxing places to read a book on the river.
Wifi provided, great BBQ, fun firepit, relaxing porch river views and you feel you are in a wildlife refuge between the squirrels and birds.
Cell phone coverage is sometimes iffy, but a stroll out by the river usually works fine for me.
Everything necessary is provided as well as multiple knick knacks and cave diving articles to make you feel at home.
Great job, our second but definitely not our last time for sure. Brought people from around the world for diving.
Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great retreat

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We had a great stay! In fact, we're returning in a few months. Our kids (11,7,6) enjoyed it more than the theme parks. It's an ideal escape for fun and relaxation. The house is in great shape and the outdoor areas (dock, eating areas, patio, fire pit, porch swings) far exceeded our expectations. They have the greatest rope swing we've ever seen. The river is perfect for swimming, tubing and canoeing. The owners are accessible if anything needs attention.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our Best Family Vacation Yet

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This Vacation exceeded our expectations above & beyond. I just searched cabins in Florida on the internet and was lucky enough to stumble upon this one. We had great communication with the owners right from the start. When we arrived Holly met us and gave us the tour of the property.Let me just say that you can't really see how awesome this place is just from pictures. Take my word its so beautiful in person. Tom & Holly had everything set up perfectly. We bought so many things that we didnt even end up needing to use. Our kids had so much fun swimming in the river, jumping from the rope, roasting marshmellows and playing board games at night. We cant wait to come again and we are hoping to make it our family tradition!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate hearing that our guests had a good time. We truly enjoy sharing our Santa Fe River House with families looking for a fun and relaxing vacation. We really mean it when we say "all you need to bring is your food!"

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

What Hospitality A ++++++++++++

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Tom did everything imaginable to make sure we had a great stay. Everything you could possibly need is at this home. Everything from lighter fluid to life vests to canoes to rafts..... The list goes on and on. If you need it, its there.
The home was very clean both inside and out. They even left extra beach towels and blankets for us.
We went out the first night to light a fire in the fire ring, and it was already set up for us w logs and sticks. All we had to do was light the moss on top. To me that is putting in the extra effort that is very seldom seen these days.
To top it off, we called just the night before our arrival. It was a last minute vacation decision for Easter weekend. They said no problem and had the place ready for us early the next day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Extraordinary Vacation Home

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We had the good fortune and incredible opportunity to stay at Tom & Holly's Santa Fe River House in July of 2011. What a beautiful home and accomodating hosts. The house is right on the water with one of the most impressive decks that we have seen on the Santa Fe. The home is conveniently located to all of the premier dive sites in the area and especially equipped to meet the needs of a diving/snorkeling family. The open porch under the home has plenty of room for cleaning/hanging & drying all of your wet gear. Ginnie Springs is a short 15 minutes away and should not be missed. Tom & Holly provided access to their entire inventory of canoes, kayaks, rafts and all manner and size of PFD's and floats. The entire family explored the Santa Fe every day. We were amused and entertained by a couple of otters that reside just down the bend. We have four very active children (boys & girls) ages 16, 15, 7 & 6 and we struggled to get them to get off of the rope swing and out of the water to come in for dinner every evening. They did not want to leave. Literally! Yesterday, my seven-year old son (four months after our vacation) asked when can we go back to the Santa Fe house because he wants us to live there forever. You cannot put a price on providing memories like that for your children. We caught, boiled and ate delicious crawfish right out of the river behind the house. The children caught fish everyday. We rafted/snorkeled down the Itcheetucknee River. We grilled our meals outdoors. We made a fire in the fire pit in the back yard and enjoyed smores and scary stories. The home is perfect for the outdoors, active family that enjoys nature and adventure. The accomdations were perfect. Two open bedrooms on the top loft and a small bedroom downstairs. A full bathroom upstairs and half bath downstairs met our needs adequately and the kids took advantage of an open downstairs shower by the stairs when we were able to pull them out of the water. The kitchen is situated in the center of this lovely home and provided for all of our cooking and entertainment needs. Our entire family would rank this as one of our best vacations ever and Tom & Holly's home was an integral reason why. Don't miss an opportunity to enjoy this home with your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review