reviews for: listing #5488 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

La Mouette - Luxury Oceanfront Villa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7,500 - $10,000 /wk

sort by:

Heavenly

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

As someone who is used to city life, this was heavenly without a doubt. The house was wonderful, truly a home away from home. Other than fresh groceries, it had everything. The views from every room in the house were stunning. My husband's only complaints was getting in and out of the driveway since the street was curved and the cars tend to speed up. We went to the One and only resort and by far this villa was a better deal with better views especially that activities can be delivered at you door step, well beach side of course. Its was quite and relaxing and if you wanted the hustle and bustle of the town, its a few miles drive.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We stayed at La Mouette for almost 2 weeks and it was the most amazing experience. The house is in wonderful condition, very well kept up. It has everything you could possibly need. We had 6 people and a baby and it was the perfect rental. The pool was warm and incredibly beautiful. We loved sitting on the deck or in the pool watching the sun set, one of the most peaceful places. The beach isn't private but you wouldn't know that because there are so few people that use it. The description and pictures are very accurate.

They have a pack n play and a high chair, which was wonderful for a 5 month old. Between the pool, beach, and everything they have this is the perfect place for a family with kids.

The windows over looking the ocean made you feel like you were outside when you were enjoying the air conditioning. It is on a busy road, but it's the main road in and out of town so it's where you want to be. It's close to good restaurants, grocery store and other amenities but you feel secluded.

Karen manages the property and she's right there if you have any questions or have any issues (which I can't imagine you would). She's very friendly, incredibly helpful before and during our stay and it was great to work with her. Per her recommendation we had Chef Werner come in and prepare lunches and some dinners, which was fabulous. If you are looking for someone to cook I would highly recommend him even if only for a couple dinners. It is expensive but well worth every penny.

This is our second time to the island to SCUBA dive and we used the house as a home base to dive with Stuart Cove's. If you are a diver it is in a great location right between downtown Nassau and the dive shop. The previous time we stayed right downtown and it was really far for diving.

Overall I highly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay here! Wonderful home, beach and hospitality.

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This home has everything I was looking for in a bahamas beach property.
Pros:
-Fabulous home with upgraded finishes throughout.
-Huge bathrooms-3 of them. Great tub and rainhead shower in master bath. We were in heaven
-Fully stocked kitchen with everything you could need. And we cooked and baked a lot.
-The pool was wonderful. Wish it had a litle shallower area (most 8' deep) but my 2 year old had a great time playing on the stairs.
-The beach was great. There were waves some days and the sand was nice and soft.
-Huge TV with something like 500 channels. It rained for 2 days and we had plenty to watch inside. DVD player too!
-buckets and shovels provided. My son had fun with those.
-Karen, the local property manager, was very nice and helpful.

Cons:
-Busy road. Hard to get in and out of property but not a big deal.
-A little far from paradise island and town (about 25 minutes to town traffic dependant and 30 to paradise island.)

We loved out stay. My whole family would go back in a second.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING !!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

If you are trying to figure out if this is the property to rent, think NO FURTHER. The minute you step into the front door you see nothing but a breathtaking view of the ocean. If you prefer privacy, no crowds, then this is the place for you. We did take our grandsons to the Atlantis for a day but was able to return home AWAY from the CROWDS. I promise you there is not a room at the Atlantis with the view this property has to offer much less the ocean being steps away from your back door. Very comfortable, clean and totally a GREAT place for a "FAMILY". Leave the kids toys at home, the homeowner has toys and games to play with. Our grandsons love to play baseball. There was even baseball gloves and a ball. We played catch on the beach. GREAT PROPERTY !!!! 5 STAR all the way !!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The most amazing Christmas in the Bahamas!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Words cannot describe this amazing villa and private beach!!! This home is afforded with all the luxuries a family could want. Our favorite part of our stay was our mornings/evenings when we opened the 21 foot door in the living room to enjoy the sounds and magic of the turquoise ocean. My boys enjoyed boogie boarding every day and playing in the sand. My husband and I loved our walk on the sugar sand beach and loved the fact we saw only our footprints imprinted. Karen and Mark were wonderful and extremely helpful in our planning of our entire vacation. We felt so comfortable in this home. My husband and I have been married 20 years and this has been our best vacation ever. We visited Atlantis and the kids had a wonderful time- we swam the dolphins- we rode jet ski to explore the island -we slept so sound hearing the ocean outside .... I recommend this villa to all ages and especially families. We are already planning our next vacation for 2012 at La Mouette!! Thank you for sharing your home and allowing beautiful memories for us!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be coming back

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Our stay with our four 20-something children couldn't have gone better. Karen and Mark (next door) were very friendly and helpful with their local knowledge and advise. It would not have gone so smoothly without them. Their dogs are also a lot of fun.
The home is maintained, decorated and outfitted to the highest standards.
We had excellent diving experiences with Stuart Cove's.
As far as dining out, we enjoyed The Poop Deck,Carmine's Italian (at the Atlantis) and Compass Point best.
The sand on the beach is perfect. The scenery changes by the minute. We all agreed that we could sit and watch the sky and ocean beauty for days.
Clay and Carrie Stumpe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!!! It really is as good as it looks.

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Just got back to cold St. Louis last night from our stay at La Mouette. All pictures and information in this listing are accurate. Since I am suspect of many of the reviews on VRBO (because I believe owners can delete negative reviews) I can assure you that the owner has had no influence on my review. This place is absolutely perfect. The house, which is beautifully appointed, is on a very private and reasonably-secluded beach which is not even a few steps from the back patio. Just jump off the back wall (4' high) and you are in the ocean during high tide. The caretakers were a hoot and very, very accommodating.

My wife and I loved the bed. So soft and comfortable. Never slept better, particularly since we opened the bedroom door, overlooking the beach, and heard the waves slapping the beach through the night.

Every morning I would drive to Starbucks. For lunch we would head to the daiquiri shack and for dinner we would either cook in the perfectly-equipped kitchen or eat out at the numerous great restaurants. All just a short drive away (2 miles or less).

The restaurant and food prices were a little high compared to St. Louis but they weren't NY high. But, considering we were on an island, they could have been worse.

You should rent a car. Getting around was pretty easy, even though you drive on the left side of the road. That took a little adjustment but I got used to it quickly. Traffic, particularly during rush hour, was a little slow, but you're on island time, mon, chill out.

Speaking of chill, it was a little cool when we first arrived but it warmed up every day and by the end of our stay the temperature was in the low 70s and SPECTACULAR. I assume the Bahamas are a little cooler than many islands in January but do research.

Since Nassau is a popular cruise ship stop, there were many tourist shops downtown, which is around 10 miles away. Besides just hanging around the house, drinking and eating we didn't do a whole lot of other things, although we did go deep sea fishing one afternoon. But, when you are staying at La Mouette, you really don't need to do or plan anything else . . . if vegging out on a beautiful beach and in a beautiful home is your kind of thing.

I would strongly recommend this home to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Memories are made of this....

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Our first time to the Bahamas and to La Mouette. Ashamed to say we were feeling anxious at having paid our money up front and wondering if the villa could really be as amazing as the pictures. I needn't have worried! La Mouette is beautiful. I almost didn't want to leave a review as I want to keep ity a secret! We went to Atlantis for a few days (great but manic) and then moved on to the villa for a week to "chill out". The party consisted of my parents (in their 70's) and my 3 children. We loved every moment. Memories were made. The children loved the freedom and the seclusion of the beach (it felt like a private beach as we never saw anyone else on it other than invited friends of Karen - now friends of mine!).

The villa has everything you could want in terms of TV, music, iPod dock, squishy sofa's, divine beds, beautiful bathrooms, hot water, linen, all kitchen amenities, great selection of crockery, utensils, washer, dryer, etc., etc. The best thing for me (aside from location which was A-MAZ-ING) was that whilst the villa was very luxurious it still felt like a home, we all felt comfortable and at ease as soon as we arrived. Just a very wonderful place to relax and enjoy the view, sand, sea, swimming and cocktails! For those that like to explore without using numerous taxi's you can get the bus right outside the door ($1.25 one way to anywhere along the coast line in the north), you can easily reach the supermarket if you want to do DIY food or you can order Dominoes Pizza and they will deliver to the house. Compass Point to the west is a great place with colourful "beach hut" on the beach which makes the place feel very Caribbean and serve good food, The Beach Club to the east which is elegant and charming. You can grab a bus or taxi to the Fish Fry or right into "Downtown" for the Straw Market and shops.
Karen and Marc live next door and are BRILLIANT - so welcoming and inclusive - couldn't have managed without them - every query, question and need catered for! Thanks Karen and Marc - you made our stay! To Pat and Laura - thank you for sharing your home, it is beautiful and I really appreciated the phone contact to allay all fears and to help with all queries.
I think you get the general feel for what I thought about my stay...
...Just loved the people, loved the Bahamas and REALLY loved La Mouette.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

A perfect home for those seeking peace and solitude. The home is elegant with breathtaking views of the water from all the rooms. Our children are begging us to take them back so they can swim in the "the coolest pool and play on the private beach". Thank you for creating such a gem!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Way to End the Summer

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

What a wonderful way to end the summer! We had such a great time. Everything about La Mouette is beautiful. We hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This House Is Magical

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

We are so glad to choose your villa to spend this wonderful holiday. This house is magical and so relaxing we treated it like our own house.
The sunset and the blue colors of the ocean is like a painting.
My son spent every morning looking for seashells in the true white sand. This view is the most amazing thing ever. Thank you for building this beautiful retreat for families to enjoy the beauty of Nassau, the ocean, and the magnificent sunsets. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Extraordinary House!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

With two families, one from Ohio and ours from the Netherlands and our mum, we had a magnificient time here. The house is extraordinary, decorated with great taste and makes a comfortable stay. We had thrilling moments catching a starfish and conch and this morning watching around 10 stingrays roaming the waters in front of the house.
The kids had their dream time. Thanks for this wonderful propery and great spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most Amazing Villa Ever

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

This has to be the most amazing villa ever!! Both of us and the girls had the best time we have experienced.
Thanks to Pat for sharing this wonderful home and to Karen and Mark for their friendly welcome. We hope to come back one day to relive this time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A vacation we dreamt of!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Dear Pat and family,
Our vacation from start to finish was one we only dreamt of! It became a reality for us and we enjoyed every second of it. We feel honored to have stayed at La Mouette. We have made many family memories here during the month. Thank you for sharing your property with us. We treated it like it was our own. All our best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank God are staying at La Mouette!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

What a wonderful time we had in the Bahamas at your truly lovely home. We spent a fun afternoon at the Atlantis touring, but definitely thought, "Thank God we are staying at La Mouette"!! Many happy memories built for our family. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house, busy location

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This is a beautiful new villa, with a really nice pool, but right now there is a house being built next door making a mess of the sand with tractors parked there. The house is situated 50 feet from the highway (the busiest highway there)and there are constantly people on the beach (so it is not a quiet beach)so if you are NOT looking for quiet or privacy this is a great house for you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Unfortunately when this guest arrived we had someone show up two doors down who began work on a vacant lot without a permit. The work was stopped within 1 hour, and has never continued.This guest had already given his credit card for another home, and moved even after being reassured the construction had ceased. Additionally, this was a holiday weekend. 99% of the time our beach is empty, private and quiet. Please refer to our many other glowing references praising the privacy and beauty of our beach and home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House, busy location

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This is a beautiful new villa, with a really nice pool, but right now there is a house being built next door making a mess of the sand with tractors parked there. The house is situated 50 feet from the highway (the busiest highway there)and there are constantly people on the beach (so it is not a quiet beach)so if you are not looking for quiet or privacy this is a great house for you

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean front, new home with all the amenities

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We feel like this is our home away from home. We love it. Ocean front and beautifully decorated. It has everything we needed. People here are wonderful. It is our yearly getaway spot. We highly recommend this home for the family who wants to get away and make memorys.
Patrick,Elaine and Mojo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review