reviews for: listing #54890 - Boone, North Carolina Cabin rental

"Graysland" Cabin at the Falls
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $125 /nt
    $875 - $875 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

A WONDERFUL PLACE !!!!!

Review submitted: November 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2008

We stayed at the cabin the first weekend in October. Yes the driveway is steep, but we managed just fine. My family loves this place! First, I really enjoyed talking with Patti, who is very nice. The cabin was clean and well taken care of. Our dogs sure did love adventuring around the property and going down the trail and to the water. It is a beautiful area that the cabin is in, peaceful, but yet not far from Boone and other areas. We only stayed two nights and wish we would have stayed at least a week. We plan on going back to the cabin. I have recommended this place to my friends. I can't wait to go back!!!!! Patti, thanks for sharing your wonderful place!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful cabin - excellent location

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

This is a lovely cabin in the woods - great deck and close to lots of great hiking and beautiful parks-also you feel like you are in the wilderness but Boone and Blowing Rock are both very close if you need something. We were a group of 8 - four adults and four kids - it was cozy but there was enough space to spread out and have a little privacy. The description is accurate and the cabin was clean and well maintained. The heat, hot water, and appliances all in good working condition. Our kids loved the outdoor campfire ring! The owner is very helpful and friendly, sent us perfect instructions for finding the cabin by e-mail and talked to us several times when we had questions. There is a useful binder in the kitchen with suggestions and maps - lots of wonderful places to visit close by including Grandfather Mountain and Linville Gorge. The driveway is steep but was totally drive-able for us with a 2 wheel drive car. Phone reception is not great and no wi-fi -perfect for really getting away from it all! One potential problem for a large group - the queen couch bed is a fine couch but not a great bed... The price seemed very reasonable for such a beautiful location! We would love to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful & Secluded, Yet Close Enough to Everything

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This place is very secluded, yet close enough to civilization and all the outdoor activities.

Note that if you are AT&T, there is no signal in this place. The one person in our party who had a signal had Sprint as his provider.

The falls right across the street from the cabin already provided hours of hiking and activities. This place is also pet friendly. Activities that we enjoyed: ziplining, Grandfather Mountain, rock climbing & rapelling, & hiking.

The price is very reasonable. There were six adults and one teenager in our party, and two dogs, and we were comfortable in the cabin. I had no problems communicating with the owner, both via email and phone.

We only had some minor inconveniences: the cabin doesn't have sufficient lighting in the kitchen and no garbage bin was provided. The only lighting in the kitchen was the overhead stove light. Because there were six of us, we filled the trash bag everyday, and had to haul the trash to a dumpster ourselves. It wasn't really bad, since we would do it in the morning, when we'd leave the cabin for some activity.

Other than these two inconveniences, we enjoyed our stay very much. The place has no air conditioning, but, with the cool weather, there was no need for any. The driveway is steep, but very manageable. I brought my Chevy Cobalt (a four cylinder car) to the cabin and it had no problems going up the driveway.

I would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately the local waste management stopped pick up at our address years ago. They decided it was an inconvenience to pick up as we were the only house on the street paying for sevice. I would love to be able to have trash pick up again. We use a dumpster sit on 321 not too far away. And yes, easy enough to do in the morning on your way out. We put it in the trunk and TRY not to forget it's there!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Retreat

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the cabin and it was amazing! The description was accurate, the location was quiet and secluded yet close to Boone & Blowing Rock and the amenities were exactly as described. The driveway is steep but if you follow the instructions and use low gear, there is no problem. The cabin was clean and cozy. Having linens provided was a huge plus! The owner was easy to get in touch with and willing to accommodate early check in.
We went to Blowing Rock and enjoyed Halloween festivities in the park and watched fudge being made at Kilwin's. We also went to Linville Caverns (about a 30 min drive) and Gem Mining in Boone(lots of fun with kids!). The best time we had though was on the last day when we went walking on the trail across from the cabin. It's about a 10 min walk to a stream and then we followed it up to the amazing Hebron Falls - huge rocks that we climbed almost to the top of the falls. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Getaway

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Desiring some time away, my wife and I invited another couple to come along with us for a weekend in the mountains. After searching high and low, we finally came across this beautiful cabin. Let me just say that it surpassed all expectations. It was quite beautifully decorated, very cozy, and provided seclusion from society. I live a very "technologically connected" life and was so excited to have a place to get away from it all.

As we searched for other areas, we just couldn't find anything affordable for families with pets. Patricia makes it very easy and affordable to be able to spend a weekend away with your pets. The dogs absolutely loved spending the weekend in the mountains, walking the trails, hiking to the falls, and relaxing on the balcony. There are few things more relaxing than sitting outside on a rocker on the balcony, reading a book with your dog at your feet.

I couldn't speak higher of this cabin and it's location. We already are checking our calendars to see when we can spend another weekend away at the Graysland cabin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Suprised my Wife with a Girls Weekend

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I live in Boone and was out of town for my wife's birthday so I rented Graysland and invited 4 of her friends from out of town to surprise her for the weekend. I didn't get to see the cabin before I rented it and didn't have a chance to meet up with the ladies until the weekend was over. When I finally got to see them they were falling all over me with appreciation. They loved it. The kitchen was set up with everything they needed to make their own meals and the place is close enough to Boone and Blowing Rock to go out without making it an ordeal. What a bargain. What a beautiful spot. I live here year round and know that Hebron Rock Colony is one of the most beautiful spots in town. It is so close to Graysland - I was shocked. The trailhead is literally at the bottom of the driveway. And yes the driveway is steep but all four of her city friends climbed it without a problem - one of them in a front wheel drive Corolla. If you are planing a weekend in the Highcountry or a week. I would highly recommend it. If you are planing to come when it is snowing I would say that 4 wheel / all-wheel drive would be mandatory. It snowed a little while the girls were here. They all did fine, but got a little scared going down the driveway in it with the two wheel. All in all everyone was more than happy with the place. Even my dog loved it.

Thank you Ms. Gray for making my wife's surprise so enjoyable for her friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

We as a family (my kids and their kids) have stayed at this cabin 3 years in a row and plan to continue coming back. Everyone has a great time here and the kids all love the ability to hike around and have camp fires. The cabin is well maintained with all the amenities you need. The location gives us easy access to Boone and Blowing Rock, NC plus other nearby areas. If you like hiking and exploring, this location is great.
The owner is easy to work with and wants everyone to enjoy themselves and have a great time. We have never had any problems with the cabin or the driveway (referring to one comment regarding the driveway). We stayed at the cabin a few weeks ago and parked 3 vehicles (one was front-wheel drive) there with no problems getting up, down, or parking.
The cabin is fairly secluded and private and really forces you to relax and enjoy nature. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone who wants to kick back and have a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best Vacation EVER!!!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2009

Oh my Gosh..... This was the best vacation we have ever had! It was just us three girls, my 22 year old niece, 18 year old daughter and myself. Here we are(true florida natives) in the middle of winter, on top of a snowy, icy mountain. The owner told us exactly what to expect. I thought we would have trouble with the driveway but we had no problem. I was intimidated at first but after the first time driving up the driveway we were laughing at ourselves for taking it so seriously. The owner had the driveway snow plowed and the stairs and porch salted before we arrived.
The cabin was beautiful, we went in started the fireplace and got comfy and cozy right away. The next day we were able to get out and explore. We found out the cabin was in a great location. We had the town in one direction and skiing in the other. The girls wanted to check out the local university and the local restaurants. "Daniel Boone" was the favorite restaurant for home cooking. Every evening we would return back to the cabin, start the fireplace and enjoy looking out the full glass front windows at the moonlight glistening on the snow covered mountain.
We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked this winter at another one of the owners cabins. We would love to return to this cabin but it is ALREADY booked. The owner also leaves you a list of their favorite places and restaurants, we thought that was very helpful.
Our suggestion is....GO, RELAX and ENJOY!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You girls are such troopers. I was worried about you with all the snow and ice this year. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

The Marshburns Jacksonville, NC
Review Submitted: November 22, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2008
We stayed at the cabin the first weekend in October. Yes the driveway is steep, but we managed just fine. My family loves this place! First, I really enjoyed talking with Patti, who is very nice. The cabin was clean and well taken care of. Our dogs sure did love adventuring around the property and going down the trail and to the water. It is a beautiful area that the cabin is in, peaceful, but yet not far from Boone and other areas. We only stayed two nights and wish we would have stayed at least a week. We plan on going back to the cabin. I have recommended this place to my friends. I can't wait to go back!!!!! Patti, thanks for sharing your wonderful place!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Take me back immediately!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Honey's family Charlotte, NC area
Review Submitted: September 4, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
We just got home 3 hours ago from this wonderful cabin and I'm ready to go back!! It would be hard for us to ever find another location that suited us more. We were celebrating our anniversary and didn't want to leave our 14 year old doggie behind. This is a great place for dogs!

What was planned as a 2 night stay stretched into a wonderful 6 night trip to remember. The owner was just a call away and so very helpful and friendly . She had a binder with suggestions on where to eat and things to do in the area. We specifically came to the mountains for the cooler temperatures at the end of what has been a hot NC summer....and we got just that! The hiking was wonderful and the cool, crisp mornings were spent on the wrap-around deck, sipping hot coffee and soaking in all the beauty. The 2 drizzley, overcast days were just as enjoyable to us as the sunny ones. We turned the TV to the Satellite Radio station and cranked up the music. Very Private...Very Secluded feeling.. yet still close to Boone and Blowing Rock.

The trail at the end of the driveway took us to the Hebron Falls area where you can connect to the Boone Fork trail. My husband is the hiker in our family and found a variety of other easy to strenuous trails as well. As for the driveway, it IS very steep, but I just shifted my mini-van into low gear, punched it and made the climb just fine(walking it was a little harder, but I did it!)

We found the descriptions to be very accurate. We hadn't planned on staying so long, so we hit the grocery in Boone just 14 minutes away. Extra paper products and zip loc bags made it easy for us to eat in every day. I did have to buy detergent since we had packed so lightly and needed to use the stacked washer/dryer and dishwasher. The kitchen was fully stocked with utencils, dishes, pots and pans, bakeware etc. There was one roll of paper in each bathroom. The beds were made with fresh linens and slept well. Towels were enough for us since we had use of the washer. Previous renters had done a little surface damage to some of the furniture and grill, but the owner is planning on taking care of any and all issues when she visits this month. Our cell phone service was a little tricky inside, but we got a good signal from the deck. I used the land line for dial up internet. Great pet-friendly place. Thanks again to the owners for a wonderful experience

5

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice place to stay!

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Nice Place to Stay!
Charlotte_Family Charlotte NC
Review Submitted: May 26, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009
My family stayed at this cabin for 3 nights on Memorial Day Weekend. We had a wonderful time and plan to come back again soon! The cabin was nicely secluded, but still very close to Blowing Rock (10 min) and Hebron Falls (10 min walk). The driveway was tricky, but very typical of a cabin in the NC mountains (you just have to drop it in low gear and gun-it). Our family has stayed in a few places and have seen more difficult entrances. The cabin was very clean, and the furniture and linens were in very nice condition. The TV's and radios worked fine and there were actually some good books to read as well. We actually got some pictures of deer on the property, which was a fun experience for the kids.

We had our 8, 6 and 4 year old with us, and they had a blast playing around the cabin. We walked down to the creek every day which they enjoyed as well. There are some steps going up to the front door, maybe 20 or so, so an early toddler might need two security gates to be safe.

A few notes for future guests: you will need to bring toilet paper and soap. Also, there is no A/C, so the loft beds might get warm in peak summer months. The dining area is small, but perfect for kids. We actually ate on the deck, while the kids ate inside, so it worked out perfect.

We also went Gem Mining, Fly Fishing and visited the Moses Cone Center while we were there. These are all close to the cabin.

Overall, I would highly recommend this cabin to families with young kids or teenagers. There is plenty to do within walking distance, and downtown Blowing Rock is not a far drive. We are sure to be back again
5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not a good place to stay!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

The Location of this property and accessibility are extremely bad. Driveway and parking are the worst. If you stay here, even with 3 bedrooms, only 1 car will barely fit, but make sure your tires are good, and the car is a heavy 4-wheel drive, or you will not make it up this drive. once up, there is no where to park or turn around. cabin itself, is nice, but NO view. We did not stay here even one night. the driveway was too much to deal with.. we went straight back home, very upset. I would certainly not recommend this place to anyone. Boone looks like a nice town, we didn't get to see it... but we will go back another time, and rent a different cabin...

Owners response: The location of this property is awesome. accessibility is good. We are on a very well maintained gravel road. 4WD not necessary but recommended in winter months due to unpredictable weather. There is parking for two cars at the top of the driveway. You can turn around (about a 4 point turn) with one car but it's much easier to back down to the turn in the drive and then go straight the rest of the way (just as you would back out of your own driveway). I do not find the driveway steep. I do not own 4WD and have no trouble going up. It is usually in good condition. However, we had some heavy rains this summer following a very difficult winter. I wasn't aware that there were some ruts (since no one else complained) until I received this guests email. I called my grader to do some scraping and add more gravel. The work was done the next day. We actually do this every year in August or September. I have added a picture of the driveway on this site and I'm happy to send additional pictures of the driveway and parking area upon request. Again, a great location with lots of repeat customers.
Since this review, I have asked some past guests to post (honest)comments. I will also copy and paste reviews posted on another rental site. So, read on...
Patti {owner}

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Driveway a Concern

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We recently rented the cabin for the Highland Games in Boone. The cabin is nice and very secluded which we liked. We enjoyed the firepit and eating outdoors. Had some concerns about not having any air conditioning but was told by the owner there were fans in every bedroom. However, there was not one in the loft area which was uncomfortable at night even with the windows open and a box fan. My biggest concern was the driveway. I have read where most people did not have a problem with it. I guess it is just a personal preference. One of the guest had to park their car and not take it back down the driveway until we left because she almost did not make it up the driveway. The road is gravel (which is not uncommon i know) with many trenches where car wheels dug out the gravel trying to get up. We had a very difficult time with tires spinning and gravel flying the whole way up. Again, this is a personal preference and if you have a four wheel drive i'm sure there will be no problem, But for those of us who don't it was bad enough for us not to want to go back again. There are too many cabins available to have to deal with a driveway like that. Sorry. There was also a college party at one of the houses close by the last night and there were about 30 cars parked on the road both ways and we had a difficult time getting through to our driveway. I would also advise the owner to put up something more visible marking the driveway. We came in three different cars and all three passed it several time before we found it. We were the last to arrive and it was at night and one of them had to come down to the bottom with the car light to flag us down. Other than that, a nice experience.

Owners response: We added a window to the loft!!!!
MUCH better. Should be quite comfortable up there now. :)
The cars parked on the road were from people hiking the falls. this is a popular hiking spot for locals. However...parking on the road here is no longer allowed. There are "no parking" signs lining the road. So, you have it all to yourselves now...!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Secluded and Laid Back

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

We stayed in the cabin for two nights during peak leaf season. The place is very quaint and nice. Nice trails at the bottom of driveway. One thing we didn't realize is how steep the driveway is. Be prepared with four wheel drive or you may be parking at the bottom and walking up to the house. The second bath upstairs is just a bathtub, no shower. One shower downstairs which worked perfect for us. This house is a great value and we will definitely go back. Pet friendly which is a huge plus. My lab loved it. Seems like you are away from everything but really only 10 minutes from downtown Blowing Rock. I would recommend this property to all my friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I live in Florida (a flatlander!) and do not have 4WD. I have absolutely no problem with this driveway. I show a picture of it on my site. Do not be intimidated...just put your vehichle in low gear and go. I do, however, still recommend 4WD in the winter months incase of heavy snow/ice on the roads as well as the driveway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TAKE ME BACK IMMEDIATELY!!!

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

We just got home 3 hours ago from this wonderful cabin and I'm ready to go back!! It would be hard for us to ever find another location that suited us more. We were celebrating our anniversary and didn't want to leave our 14 year old doggie behind. This is a great place for dogs!

What was planned as a 2 night stay stretched into a wonderful 6 night trip to remember. The owner was just a call away and so very helpful and friendly . She had a binder with suggestions on where to eat and things to do in the area. We specifically came to the mountains for the cooler temperatures at the end of what has been a hot NC summer....and we got just that! The hiking was wonderful and the cool, crisp mornings were spent on the wrap-around deck, sipping hot coffee and soaking in all the beauty. The 2 drizzley, overcast days were just as enjoyable to us as the sunny ones. We turned the TV to the Satellite Radio station and cranked up the music. Very Private...Very Secluded feeling.. yet still close to Boone and Blowing Rock.

The trail at the end of the driveway took us to the Hebron Falls area where you can connect to the Boone Fork trail. My husband is the hiker in our family and found a variety of other easy to strenuous trails as well. As for the driveway, it IS very steep, but I just shifted my mini-van into low gear, punched it and made the climb just fine(walking it was a little harder, but I did it!)

We found the descriptions to be very accurate. We hadn't planned on staying so long, so we hit the grocery in Boone just 14 minutes away. Extra paper products and zip loc bags made it easy for us to eat in every day. I did have to buy detergent since we had packed so lightly and needed to use the stacked washer/dryer and dishwasher. The kitchen was fully stocked with utencils, dishes, pots and pans, bakeware etc. There was one roll of paper in each bathroom. The beds were made with fresh linens and slept well. Towels were enough for us since we had use of the washer. Previous renters had done a little surface damage to some of the furniture and grill, but the owner is planning on taking care of any and all issues when she visits this month. Our cell phone service was a little tricky inside, but we got a good signal from the deck. I used the land line for dialup internet.

Great Pet Friendly Place!! They own a smaller cabin on the same road called Gray Escape..it looked adorable!! Thanks again to the owners for a wonderful experience

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nice Place to Stay!

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

My family stayed at this cabin for 3 nights on Memorial Day Weekend. We had a wonderful time and plan to come back again soon! The cabin was nicely secluded, but still very close to Blowing Rock (10 min) and Hebron Falls (10 min walk). The driveway was tricky, but very typical of a cabin in the NC mountains (you just have to drop it in low gear and gun-it). Our family has stayed in a few places and have seen more difficult entrances. The cabin was very clean, and the furniture and linens were in very nice condition. The TV's and radios worked fine and there were actually some good books to read as well. We actually got some pictures of deer on the property, which was a fun experience for the kids.

We had our 8, 6 and 4 year old with us, and they had a blast playing around the cabin. We walked down to the creek every day which they enjoyed as well. There are some steps going up to the front door, maybe 20 or so, so an early toddler might need two security gates to be safe.

A few notes for future guests: you will need to bring toilet paper and soap. Also, there is no A/C, so the loft beds might get warm in peak summer months. The dining area is small, but perfect for kids. We actually ate on the deck, while the kids ate inside, so it worked out perfect.

We also went Gem Mining, Fly Fishing and visited the Moses Cone Center while we were there. These are all close to the cabin.

Overall, I would highly recommend this cabin to families with young kids or teenagers. There is plenty to do within walking distance, and downtown Blowing Rock is not a far drive. We are sure to be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Still looking for Boone Fork Trail...

Review submitted: December 28, 2008   Date of arrival: December 11, 2008

We recently rented this property in December...the pros: easy trip to Blowing Rock or Boone, beautiful short hiking trail to Hebron Falls at the bottom of the driveway, nice loft. The cons: we rented this cabin specifically due to the decription of its location "on the Boone Fork Trail"--really??? Where?? Our guess is that you must cross the river to find it. We highly recommend reading the small print of the description--no soap provided and there really is only one roll of toilet paper! There are not four bedrooms--two plus a loft with a pullout couch. Some of the furniture is in disrepair. The heat was not working (wind chill in the teens!) and after contacting the owners, this was not repaired nor did we hear from the owners again--thank goodness for the fireplace (80 degrees upstairs, but remained cold downstairs where the shower is). This is apparently a recurring problem according to several comments in the guest book. For the total price including tax and cleaning approaching that of a nice hotel, we expected a bit better. We have rented several properties in the Blowing Rock area and multiple properties from Cyberrentals--this is the first disappointment. We wont be back.

Owners response: Hmm. I don't advertise 4 bedrooms. I advertise 3 bedrooms. The loft has a queen bed/bedroom on one side and a living room with pull out sleeper on the other side. So 3 Q beds plus the sleeper. I don't think there's any "small print".
The heating element apparently went bad. We had service people up to fix it but unfortunately it couldn't be done within the 3 night stay. I am sorry. But this is not a recurring problem. This is a log cabin. No insulation with logs. It WAS a very cold period with cold winds. Not common.
We supply fresh linens and towels and blankets. A minimul supply of t. paper. No soaps or shampoos, sorry. Looking into the furniture "disrepair". I was unaware of this.
If you made it to the stream, you made it to Boone Fork Trail. Yes, it is on the other side of the stream. You simply need to walk a little way up to where you can cross over. Really a shame you missed that. Beautiful hiking trail!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great dog-friendly cabin!

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

This is a fantastic cabin for people and dogs visiting the area! The hiking trail at the end of the driveway took us to an amazing waterfall that provided us with two days of hiking, climbing and wading. The cabin is conveniently secluded while also being nicely situated for great day-trips to downtown Blowing Rock and Boone. The fire pit in the backyard provided all of the charm of camping out without the hassle of tents, sleeping on the hard ground and communal restrooms. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekender

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Excellent location, perfect get away spot/location. The property was clean with a great layout for our meetings. The trails that we enjoy hiking were right across from the house. I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a weekend or even a week long vaction or get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quite an adventure

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Cabin is definitely secluded and "IN" the mountains. Driveway is a bit tricky, especially at night. Cozy and well set up. Location is excellent. Would recommend to young people since lots of steps for older folks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The driveway is actually pretty tame for the mountains. Don't try to baby your way up...just go. There are 15 steps to the main floor. Awesome location

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best kept secret

Review submitted: October 15, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Great location, Clean, and across from a great trail

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful get away

Review submitted: October 10, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We took our family ages from 10 to 88. We all had something to do and had a wonderful time. The cabin was just like being in your own home. Very comfortable. The hiking right out the front door was great. You really didn't have to go far for great hiking and views. It was just as advertised!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: February 12, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We took our family here for a weekend ski getaway. The pictures on the site don't do the cabin justice, as it is much nicer and brighter inside. It was a bit hard to find, but the owner gave great directions. We loved how secluded it was.

Very nice, clean, and fair for the price. Make sure to take the hike across the street to Hebron Falls (walk down the trail and keep walking---you'll know it when you're there!).

The owner was very friendly and easy to work with and we would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin. My husband and I lived in the area 7 years ago and we were so excited to venture back with our two boys and my mother. My boys loved the awesome gem mining company in Foscoe only 10 minutes away. I loved the location of the cabin amidst one of my favorite hiking trails! We can't wait to go back! Thanks! Tonia Bolt, Indian Land, SC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 29, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

We have stayed at various places in and around Blowing Rock, as it is one of our favorite areas in North Carolina. We were pleasantly surprised to find an absolutely beautiful waterfall right near the end of the driveway. We spent the entire day hiking up the enormous rocks, sunbathing, picnicing and just relaxing amidst the waterfall itself. We made it back up to the cabin for a lovely sunset over Grandfather Mountain, while having a cocktail as we grilled out on the porch. Graysland will definitely be a repeat stay for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2004   Date of arrival: February 14, 2004

We visit our log cabin several times a year. It is our dream vacation home. So private and quiet yet, centrally located to everything we like to do. Skiing in the winter, with many of our favorite cozy restaurants and lounges close by. It is the perfect escape from the Key West heat in the summer. Our favorite golf course (Hawks Nest) is five minutes away. During the leave change in October, we could sit on the porch and rock all day long, just taking in the beauty. We hope you enjoy our log home as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review