reviews for: listing #54911 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

◦°°εïз Private Paradise εïз°°◦
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $500 /nt
    $1,500 - $3,000 /wk
    $5,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Enjoy the serenity

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Did you hear that? So quite you can hear the waves breaking. This was a perfect stage for our wedding. Beautiful backyard, perfect for memorable wedding pictures - everyone was impressed.

If you want even more solitude and escape filled with the beach and wildlife, head down south about 10 min in the car or close to an hour bike ride and enjoy a state park. We went to the very end of the park and then took our bikes onto the beach and rode down to Cape Canaveral. We did not actually make it there because we left later in the day, but we saw bobcats, many birds, craps, a couple of beached sting rays (young ones - the body part was just bigger than my hand) that we rescued, dolphins, and some incredible conch shells. We never saw anyone the whole afternoon and I don't think any human had been down that far due to all the incredible shells that were lying on the beach.

Scott is very accommodating. He is full of tips and gets on things right away. He really wants you to have a good time.

You have bikes, fishing rods, pool toys, towels, just about everything - if it had kayaks it would be perfection ;)

His maid even put some thoughtful flowers out for my wife and a congratulation sign.

The kitchen had just about everything you need if you in to cooking, which we are.

I would definitely return...thanks, Scott.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you had a great time and congratulations on your marriage.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Paradise Indeed!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

Three generations of our family traveled cross country to "great grandpa's" birthday. Since we could only bring a limited amount of baby stuff on the plane we needed to coordinate how to get borrowed high chairs etc to the house. Scott was extremely accommodating in allowing my sister-in-law to bring and store a car full several days before we arrived. We could tell that Scott was sharing his piece of paradise with visitors. He was prompt in answering questions, including the details for accommodating 6 adults and 3 babies age 2 and under.

The pool was wonderful--the water jets made the kids dance with glee. We went to the beach just down the road, where there is a large parking area if the walk was a little much for the 2 yr old.

The only issue in the facility was a quirky dishwasher, but we were well served by Scott and his maintenance person by phone with ways to get it running smoothly.

Getting 9 around the dining table was a little tight, but most of the time several were more comfortable just being on laps. The kitchen was well equipped and the barbeque outside was great. The floor plan is very open, which did present some problems in finding ways to put crying infants behind closed doors--only the three bedrooms have doors.

We had a little trouble jockeying three cars in the driveway, but parking on the street in front solved that problem.

If we had any regrets it would be that we six adults couldn't have had some time there without kids. But then it wouldn't have been the wonderful family vacation that it was.

One caution if you are not from Florida or similar environs. The no-see-ums got us pretty bad. We probably would have researched appropriate bug repellents ahead of time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the input. I'm always trying to improve my home for future renters. I bought the pack-n-play for kids because I know It's a pain to bring so much on the plane or vehicle. My dishwasher is computerized and has a reset button that will work after flipping breaker. I have just printed a new instruction manual for all. Any problems for someone who is not handy I expect a call to maintenance or myself immediately so we can resolve the problem, and in this case we did. The dinning room is for 6 people and I'm glad you mentioned that, I forgot I had one.lol. There are six bar stools at the kitchen which I love for entertaining and another bar next to that with 3 more that are all open in the living room. The coffee table in front of the leather sectional that folds up and will allow 3-4 kids or adults to eat at while watching the 60" sony, which is a new addition. That will allow 12 people to eat in the same room watching tv, or 6 adults in the dinning room. I do have 2 tables out back and a bar that seats six for outdoor BBQ. I only allow 12 people which this should be great to have the hole family together whether your inside or out. I have 5 tiki torches that I fill w/ citronella and will light them as the sun goes down along w/ a mosquito magnet. The mosquito magnet has a propane tank that last about 25 days and might have been out or it needed to be purged. I love this unit and try to have my maintenance man check this before every renter. It covers a half acre and runs 24-7. It put's out carbon dioxide which is what draws mosquito's and no-see-ems around the unit and the vacuum sucks them in. Great invention, but I would not hang around it. It's set way back in the corner by the pond and waterfall because that's where they love to breed. This is Florida and you should never put on perfume oils,lotions, this will attract them to you.Use different shampoos and conditioners that are natural ingredients and not foo-foo smells. You can also not shower for 3 days and they will leave you alone, but please don't sleep in the beds,use the hammock out back,lol,. I got home yesterday and got the magnet working and I'm out by the pool and haven't had 1 bite. Wish you would of called I would of taken care of it. You can park 2 cars in garage if you move the bikes,most will do 1 and 4 in the driveway. The right of way on grass is fine for 2 more. I like getting blocked in so someone else has to make the beer run.Hope you and your family will visit again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Scott's home was perfect for our family of ten. The kids went from the pool to the beach which was close enough for us to enjoy a nice walk. Scott was attentive to our needs. The home had plenty of towels, sheets, pillows, etc. It is open and airy so we did not feel like we were on top of each other. Nice restaurants, grocery shopping and the quaint town of NSB was enjoyable. I recommend it highly and the price is right in comparison to other rental homes.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hello Clare,

I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about my home. I look forward to renting one of your cabins some time in the fall. Hope all is well, and thank you for the blender. It came in handy this weekend.

Take care and God Bless,

Scott

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Just want to thank Scott for letting us enjoy his home. We had a great time with the private pool and access to fishing. It was just what we needed to recharge us to get back to our daily living. Everything is just how it's explained. He checked on us to make sure we arrived safely and we also let him know when we made it back home. Hoping to spend many more summers at his "Private Paradise" when we can. Thanks Again Scott.....Jerry, Lisa, Briana and Larissa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Your welcome, I'll see you next year.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great House at New Smyrna Beach

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My family rented this house in July and had a wonderful time! We spent a lot of time in the private pool and it was just a short walk or drive to the beach. There is a parking lot across from the beach, just around the corner from this house, with plenty of parking. New Smyrna Beach is a great family beach.

We've been going there for 30 years and we are worn out with all the rules at the condos. We loved the outside bar with fridge and TV and the outdoor sound system was a big hit! There was plenty of sleeping space and the house has a really open feel to it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dianne, I'm glad you enjoyed the house as much as I do. I can't wait to get there myself. See ya next year, Scott.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great House - Love New Smyrna Beach

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My family rented this house in July and had a wonderful time! We spent a lot of time in the private pool and it was just a short walk or drive to the beach. There is a parking lot across from the beach, just around the corner from this house, with plenty of parking.

New Smyrna Beach is a great family beach. We've been going there for 30 years and we are worn out with all the rules at the condos. We loved the outside bar with fridge and TV and the outdoor sound system was a big hit! We kept a jigsaw puzzle going at the outside bar and took turns working on it. There was plenty of sleeping space and the house has a really open feel to it. Several of us are avid fishermen/women and we caught plenty of fish at the Canaveral National Park and Mosquito Lagoon, just a few miles away. Including a 6 foot tarpon. There is plenty of wildlife to see at the park. Armadillo, large turtles, friendly pelicans, raccoons and I've even seen a Florida Panther. With the garage, master bedroom, kitchen and pool all on one level this would be a great house for someone who has a problem with stairs.

Working with Scott was easy and I now consider him a friend! We're planning our next trip back to this Paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Becky Neumann

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

My daughter had her wedding at this home. The owner was wonderful and more than helpful. It was an absolutely beautiful home, well kept inside and out, great backyard and dock. I would highly recommend this home for a wedding or any type of vacation, centrally located, you could stay at the home the entire time and be happy or enjoy the home as well as the beach and restaurants!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you all for the great response you have posted to my site. I feed off your positive attitude and am glad to help you in any way. I hope everyone will come back. Scott.






























Thank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Event Location

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

I rented this house for my wedding site and reception in December 2009. We stayed there the weekend of the wedding and I wouldn't have changed a thing. The house, the setting, the price, everything was perfect. This house included all of the amenities, gorgeous back yard with pool and dock looking out to the canal. The landscaping made for beautiful wedding pictures. Scott, the owner, was extremely accommodating and friendly. The house was spotless when we arrived. The whole house is unique and upgraded, but my favorite features were the two-sided fire place, the amazing master bathroom, and the perfect kitchen. The pool bar and outdoor speaker system were definitely pluses for the event.

I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing beach getaway or anyone planning a small get-together or event. The location is perfect, not a busy area and close to all of the local attractions New Smyrna has to offer. I will definitely stay again at this vacation house. Thank you Scott for providing me with the perfect wedding venue. I couldn't have asked for anything more.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lindsey, thank you very much. I am glad you picked my home for your wedding. You and your family are welcome back anytime, hopefully soon. Scott.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation - April 2010

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

My family (wife and four kids) along with my parents and my wife's parents stayed at Private Paradise in April 2010. We were very impressed as we found the house very clean and orderly. It included all of the amenities we were looking for. We even had the opportunity to meet Scott in person and found him very courteous and he went out of his way to ensure we were having a great time. We would highly recommend staying at this home and we look forward to our next stay!

Owners response: Thanks Steve, hope to see you and your family again soon. Scott.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Truely a Private Paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

I was looking up Scott's property to show a friend pictures of the house and property when I came upon a negative post. I never usually post or write reviews for anything, but I felt like I had to respond.
I have rented Scott's beautiful home on more than one occassion, and I plan to rent again in the future.
The first time I rented from Scott was in May, 2010 for my step-daughter's college graduation. We had a graduation/pool party for her at the house and we all had a great time. Everything we needed was available to us. The house was neat and clean and did not smell like smoke at all. Everyone at the party loved the place, as a matter of fact, we ended up having extra guests(stepdaughters friends). The girls all had a great time enjoying the pool and fishing off the dock.
I also rented again in Nov 2010 for a girls get away. I have to say that was one of the most relaxing vacations ever.
We had no issues what so ever on either stay. I found Scott very friendly and easy to talk with, and felt very comfortable staying in his "private paradise". I had no issues getting back my deposit, Scott even called after I returned home to make sure we had a comfortable stay and to invite us back at anytime.
I would not hesitate in the least to refer this property to family or friends.
I will definately rent from Scott again.
I hope this review helps anybody that is thinking of renting this property. It was AWESOME!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Roxanne, I'm very happy that out of all the places to rent in central Florida you picked mine for your stepdaughters graduation from college. I understand that your other daughter will also graduate from Stetson in May of 2012. My home is yours again for that week in May. Congratulations!! You must be very proud of them. See you then. Scott.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Recommend

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

This review is long overdue! My husband and I along with our adult children stayed at Scott's place last February.

We were very impressed with the house and grounds, loved and used the pool and hot tub regularly. Even spent an afternoon fishing off the dock and having a picnic.

Great location, central to everything you need: beach, restaurants, shopping...

We gladly thank Scott for providing everyting we needed for a great vacation and we can't wait to return!
Dale and Louise

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dale and Louise are welcome to come back anytime. I'd also like to thank them for keeping my house in the same condition they found it. They won't have to worry about a security deposit, that's for sure. Thanks again, Scott.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach vacation

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

We had stayed at Scott's beach rental last June with our Granddaughter and her friend, which are both 16.
The house was very clen when we arrived.
The pool area was great.

We have to say, we don't understand the comments on his last visitors.
We were always able to get ahold of Scott when we had trouble with the TV system and he was very helpful to us.
His cleaning and maintance team were great and came by to check to see if everything was ok.
The house did not smell of smoke at all.
we are looking forward to going back this summer, The house and pool area are very nice and the house is 1 block from the beach & resturants

We have become friends with scott and have to say he keeps his home in top notch condition, and he is always very helpful and just a phone call away.
We would recommend his home to our Friends and Family.
Thanks,
Arlene & Tim

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Arlene and Tim, you guy's are top notch as well. I appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a true response to your family vacation. I hope to see you all soon, and don't forget my Miller High Life clock for the pool bar.Thanks, Scott.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

NOT Recommended!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Reviewing this property is difficult. The house itself is pretty nice but any review needs to be completely honest.

It was obvious when we walked in that the owner of the home was a smoker. It reeked of old smoke smell. When we left, all our items, clothes and luggage smelled of smoke. This should have been disclosed by the owner.

The place was somewhat dirty. We had to clean the thick dirt off the bedroom ceiling fans and the sheets that were already on the beds in some of the bedrooms looked dirty. We washed those as well. The floors on the main level needed to be swept, there were dust bunnies all over. The bathrooms were decent, but whoever cleaned them was in a big hurry. There was still some hair in the sink and shower of the upstairs bathroom.

When removing the sheets in one of the upstairs bedrooms, we noticed the mattress had what looked to be stain marks. We put towels on top of the bed before we placed the freshly washed sheets back on.

The refrigerator in the kitchen did not close properly and there was a bunch of frost that had formed on the top shelf. It was piled up.

The big screen TV in the living room had a big crack in the screen... which was not a big deal to us since we didn't watch much TV.

Prior to leaving the house at the end of our stay, we did a lot of cleaning and actually left the place cleaner than we found it.

A few hours after we left, I received an irate and completely inappropriate message from the seller accusing us of breaking the sound system hooked to the TV. The message he left on my voicemail was filled with PROFANITY!... He used the "F" word many times. The sound system and TV were turned on and left that way before we got there. We used the remote for everything. He claimed that one of us knocked it off the TV and got the buttons stuck. We did no such thing as none of us actually touched the sound system. The profanity laced message was completely unprofessional.

After a few weeks we hadn't received our deposit back and I hadn't heard anything from the owner. We were very surprised to find out that he charged us 60% of our deposit for the maids to clean up after us and he kept the rest of the deposit saying he had to have the discolored mattress upstairs cleaned.

If you read this review and still rent the place, please be aware that the seller has obvious problems filtering his language and knowing what is and isn't appropriate to say. Be prepared for a profanity laced phone call.

Owners response: First of all the name of the people for this complaint I have never talked to or met them,and do not know their relation to this matter.I checked the renters in and showed them how to use everything including the $3,000 Bose sound system,which was in perfect condition.The sheets were all laundered and their was no stains on any of my beds or mattress pads. I helped the maid personally the day before the renters got their and walked through the entire house. The main floor had been swept and mopped,bathrooms were spotless and their was no hair in tubs or sinks.I do not allow smoking in the house but,I can't regulate what people do while I'm not their.They walked from room to room with me and never said anything about hair,smoke,or dirt.That's because the maid did a great job,and she is not happy with the comments these people have made.Let's talk about what I found when I came back after they left.The Bose system had all the function buttons pushed in and I could not change from TV to Cd.The remote does not work the inputs,and when I was explaining to them at check in she said don't worry we have 3 kid's they will figure it out. Well they sure figured out how to break it.I also told them if they break anything or something is not functioning to call me right away.I understand that accidents happen and I need to know so I can have everything working for the next renters.I called him 3 times while they were traveling to go home and got no response.I finally left a message that they broke my f'en Bose system and was not happy.They left 8-10 loads of linens and towels and I was wondering why their was so many sheets.I walked upstairs and noticed that even my spare set of sheets were all used.Went in to one of the bedrooms and noticed a huge yellow stain on the mattress pad.I have never had a bed wetter before and called my maid to make sure she can come over in the morning because you have your work cut out for you.She spent 7-8 hours the next day doing laundry and making up 6 beds.They had the fire pit in back yard going and that's why their clothes smelled of smoke when they got home,ever been to a campfire and smelled your clothes the next day.I also have business cards for the maid and maintenance services,if needed.I talked with the renters 3-4 times during their stay and no issues were brought to my attention.They also asked me when they left if they could come back,HHMM!!I have plenty of references.After paying cleaners there was nothing left to return

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review