reviews for: listing #54924 - Mill Valley, California Cottage rental

Charming Vintage Cottage Featured in Creative Home Magazine
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $325 /nt
    $2,000 - $2,000 /wk
    $6,200 - $6,220 /mth

sort by:

Comfortably exquisite

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

How rare to find a home built for show - filled with countless architectural and design details, antiques, fine upholstery, and precious art and artifacts - that feels so warm, welcoming, and unpretentious. My family had done enough research to know this would be the perfect location for our mini-vacation with planned trips to Berkeley and SF. What we didn't expect was how much we would enjoy the cottage itself, and how restorative the visit would be. It was so nice to come home to during our stay, and decidedly difficult to leave. We are already plotting our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Impeccable!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

My 16 year old daughter and I are currently staying in this cottage. It has met all our expectations, and then some. Besides being impeccably decorated, it is clean, comfortable, welcoming and beyond charming. It is right around the corner from Whole Foods, and from one of my all time favorite taco joints- Joe's Taco Lounge. We were looking for a home away from home, and we found it. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Every bit as charming as the pictures make it look

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We were married in Muir Woods on this trip and stayed here, being very close by. This was indeed a memorable place. It really is an old cottage that has been done up extremely well. The cottage is just as beautiful as the pictures, spacious and very elegant, and the garden entrance makes it feel very secluded and very romantic. I've stayed at many good VRBO properties but this one is very special.
A Whole Foods is literally right around the corner, and a Safeway a little further down the street. We had a car but had no trouble parking the whole time. The neighborhood is very quiet and friendly, with a lot of small restaurants and cafes nearby. This is a beautiful area and was well worth the stay, and very easy to get to and from San Francisco itself. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

As described and represented in the photos, this is a very special rental, enchantingly decorated with comfortable antiques, and extremely livable. The owners are special, too; kindly responsive if needed but absolutely respectful of your privacy and time. The cottage feels lovingly furnished with everything they would want in a retreat themselves, including a great library, a cozy wood-burning fireplace, and a (thoughtful!) supply of tea lights to burn. The lighting throughout, including chandeliers in each of the two bathrooms, is charming and gentle on the eyes, with dimmers on some--very nice touch! I adored the green-glass-tiled shower (with a window to let out the steam!) downstairs. One day, I hope to return for a longer stay, and a soak in that great little tub upstairs. Thank you, Dale and Philip. Your cottage is perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great with extra expense

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

My family enjoyed our time there..we even insisted our visitors wear the slippers provided to protect the floors..We were charged half of our deposit for extra trash pick up as we were there for Christmas and had family including our Mom in a wheelchair there for that time. There was some extra work that was needed to repair the kitchen counter apparently and sorry for that...but disappointed that we needed to pay extra for trash pick up..I had even cleaned out the fireplace before we left. Pretty particular owners..

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

unique, artsy cottage

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We loved staying in this beautiful "cottage" in the lovely town of Mill Valley. Really enjoyed meeting the interesting owners - wish we'd had more time to chat but, although their house is right behind the rental, they gave us our space.

My favorite things about the house were: 1) the grand piano (I remembered how to play!) 2) the fancy espresso machine which I had such fun using each morning, and 3) the wood burning fireplace in the living room, 4) the beautiful old chandeliers in almost every room. We had our happy hour cocktails a different place in the house every day - up on the rooftop deck, on the back porch, or in front of a roaring fire on the one day it rained. I loved all the different book collections in every room, and we made good use of the hiking books and maps in the desk. This very quiet neighborhood makes sleeping well easy. It was fun using all the "fancy" tea cups and antique wine glasses, and I enjoyed admiring the antique oyster plates and the owners artwork & poetry on display.

Tips: Go to Mark Pitta and friends Tuesday night comedy show at the Throckmorton Theatre - hilarious, and the best bargain entertainment anywhere. Sienna Rose store, within walking distance, has great women's apparel at reasonable prices. And of course you must bike or hike Mt. Tam, and hike through the redwoods - I mean that's why you came here, right?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A piece of heaven

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

Well, we did not want to leave this piece of heaven. From the moment we arrived, we felt completely at home. Just exploring all the nooks and crannies takes several days. The gardens are lovely, and the back patio area is soothing.

The cottage is convenient for shopping, dining, and other services. We enjoyed the cottage so much that we cut short our touring of San Francisco in order to experience the peacefulness that we found in Mill Valley.

Thank you, Dale, for being so easy to work with and for all the recommendations.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful cottage, wonderfull hosts, 5**'s!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

The cottage was as good or better than described on the internet. It was extremely well-outfitted, and beautifully decorated. Dale and Phillip were wonderfull hosts - going out of there way to be helpfull in every way. Phillip helped my daughter find several places to run and loaned us maps and a hiking book. The neighborhood was very quiet and the beds were ooh so soft. Everything lent itself to a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable vacation for our family of four. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great house with lots of unique charm!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

I rented this house for me and 4 of my friends. We used the house as home base as we went mountain biking in the area. This house is centrally located and with a whole foods and great resturants nearby it only made the location better.

Dale, the owner was easy to work with and very professional. the house was very clean and well kept. we had no problems with the house and everything worked well. when we first arrived we took the first hour looking around at all the built in cabinets and hidden compartments that the owners have made use of.

Over all we had a great stay and would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful cottage, picture-perfect wedding!!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

My husband and I were wed in the gorgeous backyard garden and we can't count the number of times our guests complimented our choice of venue. The cottage (inside and out) is simply amazing and every detail reflects the years of love and care that has gone into it. At the end of our 4-day stay, we lamented not having more time to admire all the artwork, antiques, and book collections. We hope to return next year to celebrate our anniversary!

Also, we found the owners to be extremely kind, helpful, and attentive. They will help make your visit unforgettable!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Lovely Time was had by All

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

What an adorable place and the location cannot be beat! We loved walking around the corner to the downtown area and had no problem finding shopping and restaurants. Everything we wanted to see what just a short drive away - especially the Muir woods - so beautiful! We regret that we didn't get to do a Mt. Tam hike - maybe next time! Thankyou Dale and Philip for sharing your wonderful house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enchanted Cottage

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Adorable cottage in Mill Valley. We rented it for some work retreats and did not want to leave. I want to LIVE in the china closet and selecting a coffee cup each morning made tearing myself away from my comfy bed in front of the fireplace almost ok. Showing off the hidden bathroom was so fun. Don't forget to peek inside the stairs!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted Cottage

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Adorable cottage in Mill Valley. We rented it for some work retreats and did not want to leave. I want to LIVE in the china closet and selecting a coffee cup each morning made tearing myself away from my comfy bed in front of the fireplace almost ok. Showing off the hidden bathroom was so fun. Don't forget to peek inside the stairs!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted Cottage

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Adorable cottage in Mill Valley. We rented it for some work retreats and did not want to leave. I want to LIVE in the china closet and selecting a coffee cup each morning made tearing myself away from my comfy bed in front of the fireplace almost ok. Showing off the hidden bathroom was so fun. Don't forget to peek inside the stairs!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Easter Holiday

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We are a Swedish couple who spent ten lovely days here together with our two grown up kids. The cottage met our every expectation, well equipt, cosy and real charming. The hosts, Dale and Phil are a very friendly and very professional, we really like them. The surroundings are real nice and perfect for both road- and mountainbikes. Mount Tamalpais nearby is a very beautiful place for hiking.
In comfortable walking distance there are the excellent store, Whole Food and also nearby a very good mexi style Diner, Joe's Taco Lounge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Off the charts

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

This house is too adorable to describe. Being there is like .... well you never want to leave. Walking distance to whole foods, biking distance to mt tam and downtown Mill Valley... if you like to hike, bike, shop and visit farmers markets (Thursday morning!) this is a great location.

The decor is shabby-chic.... innovative like out of a magazine. The light fixtures are beautiful as is all the art and cute things on the walls. The kitchen has state of the art, top of the line appliances and is well stocked... THIS IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL RENTAL. Everything in it is high quality... like a home. Windows everywhere...great light... and of course you can see in the photo...a grand piano.

Dale and her husband Phillip are soooo nice and helpful. I loved this place and plan to return... annually... if I can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House is Amazing!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

What a wonderful experience. We love your attention to details.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bless You

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Bless you guys for your house creativity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home Enveloped My Creative and Inward Retrospect

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Thank you for providing and creating a healing home. It enveloped my creative and inward retrospect. I will send you a copy of the creation I birthed here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, charming, unique

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

The details of your home touch me in so very many ways. Triggering memories, laughter and moments of shared peace. Love it! The oyster plates remind me of my Grandmother's meals. Formality with whimsy, always. Thanks for the info on Halloween. Trick-or-treating was a hit with the kids. We so enjoyed our time here getting to know Mil Valley, see friends and frolick. It was just the spot for introducing our kids to Mill Valley. They ADORED all of the cool secrets of the house i.e. stair cupboards, hidden microwave. We are so comfortable here we don't want to leave. Wonderful, charming, unique.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pixie Hollow

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

The girls have renamed this house "Pixie Hollow" which is Tinkerbell's home. We all loved staying here. Cozy, comfortable and warm with the most wonderful collection of paintings, books and china.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Writer's Paradise

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

A writer's paradise! Deeply inspiring. Thank you for this beautiful haven!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, Warm, Cozy House

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

We had a great time here. Wonderful, warm, cozy house. We love the eccentricity of it! We've rented several houses in the area and our experience with you and your house was certainly one of the very best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review