reviews for: listing #54950 - Venice Beach, California Cottage rental

Venice Zen Cottages
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $165 /nt
    $875 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Place! Great Location

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

This is our 3 time staying at Zen Cottages. Devin is extreeemly helpful and very professional in all our dealings.
The place is very clean she just replaceds the mattresses which are very comfortable. She maintains the property with extreem pride and the gardens are extreemly maincured and outstanding beautiful.

We highly reccommend this property to everyone who is looking for a place in the Los Angles area.

The area is very close to everything you may need or want, The Beach, Shopping and Great Resturants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pleasant & Charming

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

3rd try is a charm. I’ve been to Venice several times and have always stayed at vacation rentals. I came across this beautiful place and absolutely loved it. The cottage had everything I needed and was the perfect location for visiting family. The bikes provided were great too. We’re not the most active people, but pedaling around Venice & Santa Monica was pretty easy. With that said, we’re also very capable people & felt that the directions & info provided in the cottage were great. We were very comfortable and slept like babies. We loved the gardens as well – it added certain tranquility to the busyness of the city. We travel to Venice a couple of times a year to visit our beautiful grandson and I will definitely being staying at the Zen Cottages again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice Place Great Garden

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

Devin,
Thank you for the use of your property. We stayed there for 10 days. The cottage was nice and clean. It has almost all that you could need. The Gardens were absolutely beautiful.
It was great to have a washer and dryer on the premises. The cable was not working properly when we got there but Devin rectified the problem immediately.
The location is good just a short drive to what you may need or want to do.
Cafe 50 is a great small restaurant on Lincoln Blvd. for an inexpensive meal.

The cottages were a bit further from the beach then hoped.
The bed was not comfortable it sagged in the middle.
She could get a coffee maker with automatic turn off, if you are use to that function on a coffee maker you may forget to turn it off as we did the first morning as we went out we left it on and came back to a burned coffee smell in the cottage plus it is a fire hazard.
There was no DVD player this would be is helpful for her to get one since she does not get HBO. Show Time, ect... on the cable service they currently have. We addressed these issues to Devin in person when we saw her.
These are small issues but hopefully she will address and rectify them.
If she does it will make your stay a great, unbelievable vacation.
For the cost you can't beat it!

Thanks again for use of the cottage.
Joe & Rick

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Personally, it was a transcendent experience.

Review submitted: May 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

Thank god for Google! I did a search and came across the cottages by happenstance. The moment I saw the website I knew this was the perfect place for me. From the fantastic Venice walk-street location (close to everything you need: the best Whole Foods ever, Gold's Gym, the beach, Main Street in Santa Monica, bus lines, etc.), to the charm and simple sophistication of the cottage and the incredible landscape. The fountain is amazing and wonderfully tranquil. The cottage is just the right size with all the amenities. It's clean, bright and the fireplace is lovely. They offer washers & dryers, parking, bicycles, wireless Internet--everything. When I arrived, I felt like I was home. I didn't want to leave. I instantly fell in love. Too, Devin and Kip are fantastic--so kind and always incredibly quick to respond to my email. I can only say positive things about my experience at Venice Zen Cottages. If you are looking for the perfect hideaway in the City of Angels, this is it. It was awesome!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very pleasant experience

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

It was our first stay in rented property and the experience is very encouraging! It was lovely 11-days family vacation with our 6-months old baby. The pictures of the property are very accurate and garden is just a "chicken soup for the soul". Cottage is very charming, clean, old details and simple tastefull decoration make the place very pleasant. Garden is absolute treat, especially for people like us, coming from big city living in the appartment. We loved listening to water fountain every morning, and playing with the baby on the grass in the afternoons. Having the washing machine on the property made our lives much easier.
Owner was very nice and friendly in the communication and they provided also pack'n play. Location was very convenient as well. 10 min walk to Abbot Kinney's caffe and ice cream places and walking distance to the beach. Just few minutes drive to Whole Foods, Santa Monica, basically anywhere we went it was pretty easy to drive from Lincoln Blvd.
We would definitely recommend the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely home away from home

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We spent a wonderful week in one of the Zen cottages. The cottage was charming, clean, quiet, and set in a beautiful garden. It was just as it appeared in the photos! We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood. Access is easy to Whole Foods and to Abbott Kinney Blvd, the public library, the beach, LAX, and major highways. We attended church in a neighboring town (2+ miles) on Sunday and found a Farmers Market. The owners were very responsive to any questions we had. The cottage contained all the basics we needed, and it truly felt like home away from home. We would happily stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Venice cottage

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Our Venice Zen cottage was as described and clean, cozy and well maintained. The bed is comfortable.
My wife and I enjoyed the fireplace and beautiful garden. We rode the bikes to Venice Beach and Santa Monica.
The owners were very responsive. Venice is well situated for traveling to different parts of the city.
We will stay at the cottage again the next time we are in LA and recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Accommodations

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

I've stayed in Venice many times and I was looking for a place that was not on top of the craziness of the boardwalk, but close enough to get to the beach quickly and at a reasonable rate. I found this great little cottage that was quite. clean and well maintained. The owner also provided two bikes so my wife, and I can get around town without our car. We were also close to a great little street called Abbot Kinney with amazing restaurants. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review