reviews for: listing #55016 - Washington, DC House rental

Charming Capitol Hill Home Perfect for Group/Family Getaways
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Capitol Hill
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $300 /nt
    $1,650 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Great Place to Stay in DC

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much! We were in DC for our youngest daughter's wedding, so we were in and out of the house constantly coming and going. We were a large family group, and there was room for all of us. One or another of us was in the house at almost every hour of our stay, and we found it thoroughly enjoyable.
It's location on a corner was terrific, as access was extremely easy, with commodious parking off street available, and the windows the location allowed for! We loved that the house could brim with natural light, as we gathered around the large dining room table to eat or simply sit and visit, and we could sit in the sun room where the table was a perfect size for a small project or to enjoy a board game together.
We had 2 small grandchildren with us, and we were happy to find a high chair and pack and play available for use. All the appliances were in great working order, easy to use, and I think we used all of them, even the washing machine and dryer. The beds were excellent! Pillows and towels, too. A thoroughly comfortable stay was had by all.
Even though we had rented cars, some of us used the metro stop nearby, finding it easy to utilize to go sightseeing.
We chose the house due to it's proximity to our daughter's apartment, to find that it met or exceeded all our expectations for location and comfort. We hope to be able to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A PERFECT stay for ALL!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

A perfect home with more space than expected for 2 families with teenagers & babies (12, +2 babies). All the comforts of a city home in close proximity to all sightseeing in the DC area. Walk, drive or train (Metro) - you're just minutes away from it all! This area is diverse (Black, White,Latino, Asian, etc.) therefore, perfect for people of ALL cultures and backgrounds. House is located in a decent neighborhood. Very clean. Sleeping area upstairs (4 sleeping areas - can sleep 8) was very comfortable. Plenty of closet/drawer space. Sleeping area in finished basement (full futon and extra bedroom - can sleep 4) was very comfortable for the teenagers. TV's in every room. Washer/dryer was a plus. Bathrooms are very neat and clean. Storage under basement steps provided toilet paper, paper towels, blankets which were useful for the extras needed during our 4-day stay. Two driveways available for parking on property (located on side & back of house) as well as on-street parking. BUT...be careful of the time/days of on-street parking. You WILL be ticketed if parked on the street at the wrong time & day. (The guy gave us a break since we were out of towners). Check the parking signs. Towels are provided in all rooms but recommend you bring extra towels, blankets & pillows for lengthy stays and to accommodate groups of more than 10. LOVED the kitchen, dining area. Did not lack amenities. Fun was had by all. Will "definitely" return and have already recommended this place to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Spring Break stay for family of 12+

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

This home was a great place to stay with our family of 12 adults & teenagers, plus 2 babies. Everything you need to feel like a home away from home! They have a high chair and pack & play which made it easy for a mom of 2. There were plenty of rooms and sleeping space. The 2 1/2 baths also very helpful to get everyone ready on time for our daily activities. The Metro train was a short walk away and easy to get to! Take Orange line to Smithsonian stop for museums and National Mall area. Also, very easy drive down to see monuments and tidal basin area. Check out the Eastern Market when you come for plenty of restaurant choices - short 10 min drive. Will come back and stay here again without a doubt. Plenty of things to see and do and this home is very close to it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Plenty of room for 6 or more

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

Great house with lots of room. It had more like 6 bedrooms if you count all the rooms with beds. Downstairs had a living area with couch/bed plus a bedroom and laundry area along with 4 bedrooms or sleeping areas upstairs. It was nice to be able to do laundry. There were 6 adults and we stayed a week. Plenty of room and privacy for the couples. The walk to the Metro was about 5 blocks, but an easy walk. The only downfall was we couldn't seem to find any restaraunts close by or that would deliver. We were a little nervous about the area, since we had never been there, but everyone we met was friendly. We had a great time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

High School Senior Class Trip

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

We stayed at this house with 12 seniors in high school and 3 adults. Not only was it a lovely home, but it was also extremely convenient for sight seeing in Washington DC. The home was located about a 10-15 minute walk from the Blue/Orange line on the Metro. We were able to use the Metro to visit the sights without having to transfer. The renters were quick to return my phone calls and e-mails regarding questions before our trip. I would recommend this property for school trips and families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We stayed at this home during Spring Break, using it as a base for visiting the sights in DC with 6 children. It is always a little nerve racking renting a place using only the internet. But our initial inquiries were met with timely, friendly responses, so we decided to give it a shot. Much to our relief, we found the house to be well kept, very clean and in a nice area. It has three levels, with plenty of room for all. Over the course of the 6 days we were there, our kids ended up playing ball with the neighborhood kids and had a blast. It is a nice walk (.8 miles) to and from the subway station making the commute into downtown DC very easy. Finally, we found it very easy to work with the rental agents in planning our arrival and departure.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place for a gathering

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

The property is in a quiet neighbourhood and the nearby bus goes directly into the middle of the city in about 15 minutes, very easy to travel on. There were 7 of us in the group and there was plenty of room for us all. The house was very clean, well kept and was well setup with everything we needed.
The kitchen/dining area was perfectly setup for getting together for a chat and a drink or two. Even though there was a heat wave when we went to Washington the air conditioning worked perfectly to provide us with a cool getaway from the humidity outside.
People in the neighbourhood were very friendly.
The only trouble we had was nothing to do with the house, but because we were from overseas we had trouble getting taxis to come and pick up up when we departed as we only had an international mobile as a contact and the taxi companies seemed to have an issue with that. However the cleaning lady was exceptionally helpful in getting us to the train station when the taxi trouble occurred.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great for kids

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

We booked this house for our vacation. We have 2 small children and my sister and her fiance met us in DC. There was more than enough room for everyone. Having a house for the kids to run around was fantastic! The washer and dryer were a definite bonus. The Station/Armory Metro stop was an easy walk and the location of the house makes getting to the sites very easy. The house was clean and well-maintained. We had some problems with the satelite TV reception but the property manager was very helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend this property for families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Washinton D.C. house

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

Our stay at this location was exceptional. The property manager, Arend, is top notch. He is extremely friendly and more than happy to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome.

The house and furnishings were very clean and up to date. Having a washer and dryer in the house was a real deal maker for me. There is even a nice BBQ in the back yard. We had absolutely no problems what so ever. The location is close enough to the Stadium/Armory Metro station that you can easily walk the distance in fifteen to twenty minutes. (guessing, didn't actually look at my watch to time it) People in the neighborhood are friendly and we felt safe and secure in our surroundings.

What you see in the property description pictures is what you get. A nice, clean, comfortable house that makes your vacation stay in D.C. a very positive experience.

I would highly reccommend this property and would not hesitate to stay there again if I were to return to the nation's capital.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Lots of Space

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

We were a group of graduate students attending a conference in Washington. The house suited our needs very well. There was ample space for 10 adults without feeling crowded or waiting to use the shower. The bus at the end of the street easily got us downtown in the morning. The property manager answer all questions promptly. Overall, this was a great base for our trip to Washington.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Labor Day Weekend

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

I stayed at this property this past Labor Day Weekend. My college buddies and I are spread up and down the East Coast and decided meet somewhere in the middle and hang out for Labor Day Weekend for a Guy's Getaway...I was in charge of choosing our accomodations and decided to do a vacation rental oppose to a hotel so that we would have a common area to all hang out oppose to each other's hotel rooms. Thankfully, I made the absolute BEST choice. The house is very centrally located to both the Downtown area as well as Adams Mark where many restaurants, lounges and nightclubs are. We arrived on Friday and Stayed until Monday. We were originally scheduled to leave on that Sunday but decided to stay and enjoy the city a little more. Unfortunately, it poured raining that night so we decided to stay in and enjoy the house. My buddy braved the weather and started up the grill outside under the awning...we ended up having a great time playing cards, watching ESPN and staying dry. I would definitely recommend to families and groups of friends. DC has alot of great hotels but nothing compares to having a common area where you can all hang out. We took full advantage!...it was like living in a MUCH cleaner version of our old College Apartments. We will definitely be back this year. We haven't decided on our dates yet but we will definitely be renting this property again...There is so much to do in DC...3 Days wasn't enough. We'll be back this year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

The property was just as it was described; was very clean and modern. The property owners have an agent, "Dot", who was an invaluable asset. She was very familiar with the area and all the "nooks and crannies". The owners were very responsive to our needs and questions. The only "down-fall" if you could call it that is that the wall oven is too high and presented a challenge to use. The close proximity of the subway and the open-air farmer's market were great assets. We celebrated Thanksgiving with our extended family and friends and were very comfortable. Many comments were made about the homes' many features (track lighting, granite counters, TV's and space). We would definitely recommend this property to other travelers and plan to utilize it again in the future when in the area. It is a wonderful family alternative to hotel/motel lodging, especially for any type of extended stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review