reviews for: listing #55022 - Coronado, California House rental

Elegant Designer Beach Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,000 - $7,000 /wk
    $15,000 - $24,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Please know that we had a lovely time in your lovely home; and it was what I'd expected overall from your description on the website. Great location, super-charming, and comfortable.
Thank you again. A great time was had by all!
Best wishes,
MV

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Horrible Experience

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

*House was infested with fleas - owner blamed us for bringing them in the house, said maybe they came from the beach. We have no pets and we went to the beach one time for two hours. *Bed broken after sitting down on it, on the first night - owner accused us of jumping on it and breaking it. No one in our party ever jumped on any beds in the house. *Internet never worked, even though I complained about it on day 1. *Brown water came out of tub, and the faucet leaked onto the tile, which would spread to floor if kept on, so I could not use it. *Upstairs faucet would not turn off, which made us have to turn it off and on beneath the sink. *Owner accused us of bringing sand into the Jacuzzi, even though we never entered the Jacuzzi with sand on our bodies. As soon as we came home from our one trip to the beach, we all showered, and did not get into the Jacuzzi that day. *My son spilled milk on a thick pile rug (I saw the milk and the cup). I could not get the yellow stain or smell of sour milk out of the rug, so I offered to pay for the cleaning or replacement of it. She felt it necessary to tell me that the cleaners said it looked more like urine, not milk. *The electric outlets in the guest house didn't work. I never even complained about that. When I told the owner about the problems, I wasn't angry. Nor did I expect any monetary return for the difficulties. I also offered to pay for the rug and the repair of a table that a hot pizza was set on. However, she proceeded to accuse me of causing all of the problems, supposedly basing her claims on experts that she had in the house. I never would have left a poor review had she not treated me so badly or blamed my family for problems that were very much preexisting. She claimed that we should have reported them during our stay, but I didn't want repairmen in the house or chemicals sprayed during our stay, and there was nowhere else for us to go because it was Comic Con weekend and all hotels were booked. I have honestly never been treated so poorly by anyone that I have done business with. I never expected money back, and I offered to pay for the two items that we unfortunately damaged. Yet my family has been accused of causing all of the other problems and have been treated very unreasonably. An apology was all that was necessary. Instead she only apologized for the experience, said that she had over 30 good reviews from the past, and placed the blame for nearly everything at our feet.

Owners response: It is hard for me to imagine anyone purposefully and intentionally trying to misrepresent the facts, especially when they have been well documented. All I can say to any potential renters, is please contact me directly if you truly have any concerns about this one review and I will provide you with all the written documentation and proof from independent contractors that will refute these fictitious claims. This renter conveniently left out that THOUSANDS of dollars worth of damage were done to the home during their stay. I had never seen anything like it.
In the five years that I have been successfully renting out the home to caring, and loving guests, I have never had to withhold any amount of security deposit...until this renter. In the end, I only withheld $400 out of the $2500 of their security deposit. It was only when I notified them of the withholding for damages, they decided to write a fictitious review in retaliation, if I did not return "every cent of their deposit". I have these and many more threats in writing.
Interestingly enough, I had another rental 5 days after the above renter left, and ironically they did not have one issue and did not experience anything that was claimed above. These renters were normal, happy, kind and considerate and the entire family of 8 were thrilled with the home and rental.
So again, if this negative review above effects your thoughts on renting the home please contact me directly. I will be happy to share with you all emails and information sent by this renter while she was actually staying in the home stating that, "the house is amazing" , "everything is perfect", "the house is perfect for me and my family", "the kids love the pool", "my husband has set up shop in the back house to work while he attends Comic Con, it is so convenient", "thank you so much for all your help", "you are so kind". It is hard to believe it is the same person who wrote the review above.
Thank you for reading my response!
Bettina Osborne

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coronado

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Coronado and enjoyed your lovely home.
Thank you,
MT

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the best

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Bettina,
Everything was perfect! The pool has been great, girls spent time in it every night!
All the best,
PK

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

Good Morning Bettina;
Wish I could say it's good to be back home, but I'd rather still be out there. Just wanted to let you know we all had a great time and being able to stay at your house was very special for us. Our two grandchildren had a blast at the beaches and parks everyday. I took lots of walks and mostly hung around the house keeping things organized and fixing food, but did get in quite a bit of relaxing. We had a very nice Christmas Eve- fixed tenderloin on the grill, ate together in your beautiful dining room then opened presents. Again, thanks so much for everything-all the extras and great amenities. We had a wonderful Christmas in Coronado.
Sincerely,
KP & Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Card

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your home to us. We had the most lovely time in the kitchen, the front yard and out back. Your house is lovely. We hope this orchid lasts a long time.
Gratefully,
The G Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Trip

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We had such a great time -- thank you for sharing your home with us. The kids were so sad to leave that they are already asking to go back to San Diego! We will definitely be in touch when we plan our next trip down there.
GHF

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Hello Bettina,
Thank you for a wonderful trip at an amazing house. This place is awesome.
I am sure we will be contacting you again for future trips.
Take care,
KL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review