reviews for: listing #55075 - Lake George, New York House rental

Somewhere In Time B&B Victorian Mansion / Show House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $1,000 /nt
    $1,750 - $7,000 /wk

sort by:

Grateful traveler

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

We rented this property to bring our family together for the Thanksgiving holiday. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to be. The photos while stunning cannot portray how amazing this house truly is. It had everything we could possibly need or want and John (the owner) could not have been more pleasant and accommodating to deal with. The house was impeccably clean and decorated in a true Victorian manner. Each of the bedrooms had a distinctive decorating style. I kept walking through the house saying, "I can't believe that I am actually staying in a house like this!" The huge gas fireplace in the main sitting room was a cozy gathering space for our family to sit and talk or to play games. The pool table was a huge hit with all of us. The housekeeper was pleasant and very welcoming to us when we arrived. I would recommend this property to anyone. We had fun shopping in the nearby Lake George outlets and also a cute restaurant/gift shop called the Silo. Although we didn't rent this property for a wedding, the grounds are absolutely beautiful (even in late November) and cannot imagine how stunning it would be in the spring and summer months. We hope that we can come back sometime in the summer to enjoy the outdoor gardens, sitting areas and the pool. I also wanted to mention that we had a toddler with us and she had a ball toddling through the house from room to room visiting with everyone. Highly recommend! Outstanding property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEST WEDDING EVER!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

I fell in love with Somewhere In Time the first time I saw it. So much so, I never even looked at any other wedding venue locations. My wedding was everything I ever wanted, but mostly because of the intimate, beautiful, yet comfortable location. My guests fell in love too. I will rent Somewhere in Time again for our anniversary, for Christmas, ski trips. Loved it. The house has everything you need and then some.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST HOUSE PERIOD

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

We have now spent two new year eve holiday breaks in this house and they have both been incredible!!! This time, our group agreed that we may as well book again for a third re-visit.

We are a large group and this house provides all the necessary environments in order for everyone to feel comfortable, not too crowded, and entertained. There is a lot to do in the house itself, in the area of Lake George and, since we are all skiers and boarders, Gore Mountain is only a 35 minute drive away.

The best part of all- the house is super well kept, super clean, and has absolutely everything you could possibly need. The added cherry on top is how easy the owner is to work with.

Can't wait to return for stay #3!!!
Thanks John!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We rent a place every year for our extended family to gather for Thanksgiving. This was our first time at Somewhere in Time, but it won't be our last. The place is beautiful...pictures don't do it justice. Just a few of the things we loved: 1) the cozy kitchen...a warm and comfortable gathering place for games or a cup of coffee; 2) the huge living room area with separate seating areas that allowed our large group of 14 adults to engage in various activities at the same time without disturbing others; 3) beautiful bedrooms with comfortable mattresses, ample pillows, and high end bedding; 4) a seemingly endless supply of hot water for showers, heat to keep us warm in the cold November night and two refrigerators to store all of our food and wine; 5) all the fun things we were able to find to do in the Lake George area...even in November!

Owners response: Thank you and you were Greats Guests as well, I hope to have great people like you stay again and again. I look forward to deeing you again next year. Almost booked solid so you should think about reserving your time soon. Thanks again
John Gramegna and Staff

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Best Lake George Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I am so happy we found this place. It was our best Lake George experience since we started vacationing there in 2001. The house was gorgeous and accommodated our family (6 adults, 6 kids) without ever feeling crowded. We loved the porch, the grounds, the pool table, the amenities, but most of all the access to the lake and the dock. We were able to enjoy the beautiful lake like never before. For the first time, we could spend an entire day and evening on the lake because we could dock our rental boat right at the owner's private dock. It was a perfect get-away for our family. We can't wait to spend another vacation at "Somewhere in Time".

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful everything

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Beautiful home meticulously maintained and clean. Owners responsive to any request or need we had and the location was absolutely spectacular! I would recommend this location without reservation to anyone who asked!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

I had a wonderful time at Somewhere In Time. The accommodations where excellent, with everything you could possible want. The setting is breath taking. Needless to say amenities where abundant.
Can't wait to return next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing experience

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Several of my friends and I chose to stay at Somewhere in Time in April. This was our second visit and we plan to go back again next year. The house is so amazing, the grounds are beautiful and it is right across the street from beautiful Lake George. If you are looking for a place that truly takes you back in time, where you can relax in the parlor by the fire, enjoy a game of billiards or just kick back on one of the many porches to enjoy the beautiful surroundings this is the place for you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Weekend!

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

I love this house!!
Such a wonderful place, with plenty of space to stretch and explore-
and a luxurious wooded backyard.
Thanks for having me.
My best,
Kat Auster

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

April get away

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

My second time here and it was just as wonderful as the first.

The place is beautiful, clean and has everything you could possible want.

The owner is availalbe for any requests.

The water is a short walk and Lake George a short ride- what fun!

I recommend this lovely property without reservation

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gets better and better

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This stay better than last, keeps adding amenities. Really got use out of the additional space in the cottage. Great place for a large groups--plenty of linens, bathrooms. Short walk to lake. Would recommend without hesitation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House!

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with a group of women for a study group. The house is beautiful and immaculate! There is so much charm and plenty of large meeting areas for everyone to gather. The house is spacious and the grounds are impeccably kept up. I was so impressed with the charm and beauty of this lovely house. I am looking forward to coming back in the future. What a treasure!!! It truly is like going back in time..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than Home - just a little bit of Heaven!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

OH MY GOODNESS - What a wonderful home you've created for others. This is my 2nd time staying at Somewhere in Time - and I cannot wait to go back!

The house by itself is so beautiful, charming, spacious and still very like home. The addition next door allowed so many more of us to participate in our annual weekend. Everyone had a wonderful place to sleep, which is the least important aspect of the property itself.

The easy walk to the Lake was a bonus given the great views we have from the house.

The work you've done to increase the possibilities of our enjoyment - the outdoor deck and party area, the gardens and the pool make me eager for next year already.

On top of all of that, you and your team are gracious hosts that easily take care of our needs and concerns without hesitation.

Thank you so much for making your home our home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feels like home!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This home is a perfect choice for a getaway. It is nicer than any home I have ever rented. It comes with all amenities needed for a weekend away and then some! It is extremely clean and updated. The kitchen and baths were spectacular. My bed was comfortable. It comes with all of the love that my home would aspire to be. You will not regret your choice to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lake George House

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

What a beautiful, filled with charm extra large house for our group to enjoy for the weekend. It had everything we needed to be comfortable! Looking forward to visiting again next year!
Christine Santy
West Virgina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best little getaway

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

I love this mansion by the lake! It is so warm and cozy, a perfect getaway from the city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home, Lots of room and amenities!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We loved our weekend at Somewhere in Time--The home and the new addition were wonderfully decorated, clean, inviting and cozy. We plan on coming back every year!! Thank you for our amazing visit! This would be very well suited for large family gatherings/reunions/weddings in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Somewhere In Time Mansion Lake George NY Great

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

This was our second year at this Victorian Mansion. It was spectacular! It was spotless. The staff and owner are Saints! The landscaping is beautiful. We had use of the Carriage House too. We do all our own cooking and both kitchens are remarkable! Our surroundings help set the stage for our spiritual retreat. We also had a good time down by Lake George. We will be back next year and every year! Thank You So Much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, enchanting and all we could ask for!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We had a family gathering at Somewhere in Time and there was something for everyone of all ages. The pool, playground, swinging in the hammocks, fishing at the dock, walking through the gardens, the grand dining and music rooms and casual gatherings on the porch made each day a special experience. The children begged to stay "just one more day"!
The house itself is an experience alone and there was everything we needed and wanted at our fingertips.
Definitely a place to come back to Somewhere in the near future Time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Somewhere In Time is the Place to go!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

For a large family gathering there is no better location than the Adirondack Mountains, Lake George and Somewhere in Time. The house was amazing. There were 12 of us and we each had our own room (I did not want a situation where we had to crawl over each other in the morning) plus there was plenty to do in the house and around the area. The photos of the house are spot on; the location perfect; the accommodations inside were amazing (we did not need to bring anything except our luggage and food); the atmosphere of the house was amazing particularly at Christmas time; the owner went out of his way to be sure we had the best time possible. This vacation/family get together was a year in the making. We decided in January 2011 that we wanted to do a family Christmas vacation. We looked at a lot of properties but none would have matched what we had at this beautiful Victorian home. I would emphatically recommend this house to everyone (I have already sent out info to family and friends in Maryland). It was everything we expected and we got everything. From the flat screen TV and Blu Ray player to the full size billard table; to the instruments in the music room, to the cozy fireplaces, to the comfortable bedrooms; it had everything. So if a family gathering is in your future, go to Somewhere in Time, Lake George NY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Ski Weekend.

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

The Victorian and cottage was used by 7 couples in a quick ski weekend getaway. The group could not have been happier with the houses and everything it had to offer. We have been going up the Adirondack region for a few years now and this was the best location we have stay at to date. The beautiful Victorian and quaint cottage gave us all the room we needed. They main house has plenty of open space where everyone could gather together to share stories and laughs. Waking up and looking out at Lake George was a delight and gorgeous. Located about 30 minutes form Gore Mountain, it was a quick and easy ride over to the slopes. John was more then accommodating when setting up the reservation and a pleasure to deal with. The only down side to writing a review and reading the submissions from others is the fact that we all may have let the cat out of the bag making it harder for us to stay there again it the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Somewhere in Time in Lake George

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

Planned our Christmas in Lake George with family and stayed at Somewhere in Time. The home was beautiful, comfortable, and more than I expected. Location was convenient for day trips to Saratoga, Lake Placid, Vermont, and Schnectady.
John, (the owner), could not have been more accomodating to make our holiday incredible. Love taking walks around the grounds, and trails, and seeing beautiful Lake George from our deck. This home has everything you need and then some. Will definately be back, hopefully with lots of snow!
I give Somewhere in Time an A+

Owners response: Just want to say that, I take pride in want i do. I think i know what people want and expect, when rent a Home like this. It is a Gem from the past and preserved with the love and passion that it deserves. I was happy to have you all as my guests and hope to see you again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely gorgeous!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This house is absolutely gorgeous and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in a classic and beautiful house. Everything was wonderful. Interactions with the owner were easy and they made the whole stay seamless. All of the usual amenities are there, along with a charm you just don't get in other places. The home is impecably decorated as well. Close to Gore for ski lovers! I will definately be coming back here again. Can't say enough about it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Option for Anyone!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We rented out both houses for New Years for 23 people. When John told me we didn't need to bring anything, he really meant it! The house is fully stocked with absolutely anything needed, including state of the art kitchen appliances, laundry facilities, and plenty of entertainment (including an awesome pool table!). We do this trip every year and this was by far one of the best ones because of how comfortable and beautiful the house was. Situated right on the Lake, it was simply divine! We all agreed that this is the place to stay and that we would rent it again next year. Thanks again John!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely wonderful experience!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

I live in Chicago but have always loved the Adirondack regions of New York so when my now husband and I started planning our wedding ceremony we knew this beautiful mountainous area would be the perfect setting. The hard part was determining the location without having the luxury of flying out and visiting places in person- we pretty much had to do everything online which involved trusting our intuition and the information available on the internet.

As soon as I found this Victorian mansion in the Lake George region I didn't want to consider anything else. At times I worried it was too good to be true especially since we did not see the property in person before renting it but we were NOT disappointed! The pictures you see online do not even do it justice. What I loved when we first arrived and explored the house were all of the little details in every room and the extra care they take to ensure you have everything you can possibly need.

We just hosted a small winter ceremony with only our immediate families in attendance so we were able to have them all stay at the mansion and the carriage house with us and everyone is still talking about how great it was! The property surrounding the house made for some really beautiful wedding photos and the photos of our ceremony inside look like something out of a magazine!

We actually took so many photos because every section of the house just makes for such beautiful back drops. As the bride, I was sequestered upstairs for several hours so that my groom didn't see me before the ceremony which could've been boring but the master suite is so great to hang out in that we had fun getting our hair and makeup done and taking pictures in front of the fireplace (yes, there is a fireplace in that room too :))

The entire stay exceeded my expectations and I don't think it could've went any better. The owner of the house is a great person to work with and he really cares about making sure your experience is everything you want it to be.

I was so sad to leave and I would love to rent this place again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

This was one of the best Thanksgiving weekend getaway that we could possibly imagine. We were about 6 couples and were looking for a really spacious accommodation in Lake George area with separate bedrooms under the same roof. We had a few options but unanimously chose this beautiful Victorian Mansion. And we were not let down at all. It exceeded all our expectations. It is a beautiful house with all the amenities that you need. Its not just a vacation home but an experience in itself - a victorian style of living with modern kitchen and entertainment facilities. the surroundings are pretty amazing with lake george on one side and wooded creek on the other. We all are already planning on a summer vacation in this beautiful house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Excellent location, great house inside and out, very spacious, exceptional design. Real easy to deal with. We're definitely renting it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a place!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

"So much better than I thought"! is what we all said when we checked into Somewhere in Time! SO CLEAN, SO BIG & SO COMFY! New pool was ready the day after we arrived! Perfect for the heatwave! Will not bring my sheets next time; 800-thread count at the mansion! Perfect for multiple families, couples only getaway, etc. There was nothing missing in or on this beautiful property! It really is better than you see on the computer! Don't wait! Book it for your next Lake George vacation! Thank you Somewhere in Time for a wonderful first visit to Lake George! We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you could want and more.....

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

My son Brian and his fiance Danielle rented this amazing home with its' spectular grounds for their wedding. It was a lovely setting and accommodated everything we needed and wanted to make this event both elegant and cozy. They had an outdoor wedding on the grounds in front of the pond for friends and family. The bride and her family stayed in the house several days before the wedding and had some special time as a family enjoying the house and all its'offerings before the "big day". Brian has a friend from Lake George who came to pick them up on the dock that was available to guests of "Somewhere in Time". They were to enjoy the beauty that is Lake George. The interior of the home is like a post card reproduction of a time gone by and restored to perfection. The time taken to creat this atmosphere was evident and appreciated by all who stayed at the house or attended the wedding. The family took advantage of all that the Lake George and Lake Luzerne areas has to offer. This is a very unique and special home that has created some very special and long lasting memories for all of us and I would recommend it to all. The history of the house is revealed to all its' guests in a lovely booklet created by the owner. It includes its' most important role with the Lake George Opera Festival's beginnings. The dwelling is a tribute to its' owner and his goal of creating a home away from home and respecting the history of the area. I'm a local resident and couldn't be more happy that everyone had such a positive image of our area and its' history.I'd like to rent this again when I have the chance to relax and enjoy it for the charming place that it is. I'm anxious to give the monopoly board and pool table a work out, not to mention iced tea on one of the porches.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for sharing your views about my Home. I am very proud to own this Amazing home and it's surrounding. It is just what i was looking for in my Retirement home, " Serenity " that one worH says it all!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing House

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

This house is amazing!!!!! We rented it for a week and we had a great time. We were so sad to have to leave. Each room has its own charm from the wallpaper to the knick knacks. Anything you would need is at the house. We just showed up with clothes and enjoyed. we even did some laundry at the house to go home with clean clothes instead of a suitcase full of dirty clothes. Just another great feature of the house. We had a family party in the back yard and there was plenty of parking and room for everyone. the play area for the kids was perfect since we had some little ones with us. we would recommend the house to anyone. we plan on renting again in the future. john is a really great guy and you can tell how much he loves the house from all the work he has put into it. it will not disappoint you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

I loved this house!!!!!!! I can't recommend highly enough. It is clean, beautifully decorated, close to town.

I hope to return again next year with my family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Retreat Paradise

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

I spent the weekend in this Victorian Mansion and loved it. The house is beautifully decorated, and the kitchen appliances are modern and easy to use. The bedrooms are spacious, and beautiful bathrooms.

My family and I plan to go again next year. I hope to be able to go every year from now on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Home - Very Clean and completely updated!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Beautiful Home that has large spacious rooms. All of the bathrooms and kitchen has been completely remodeled. This home is bright and clean. Beautifully decorated. It's like living in a mansion!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The review was great to hear, this is a Mansion in every sense of the word, It has everything that you could want right there in the home and more. There is a dock and swim platform across the street and a playscape in the back yard and there is so much more to come. It is truly a great Victorian and you can follow it on facebook / somewhere in time and see the progress of this awesome property as it becomes one of Lake George's Greatest Resort Homes. It now features a Carriage House on the property that can sleep 10, making this Single Family Home one of the largest sleeping accommodations in the entire Adirondack area!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous - Very Clean and completely updated

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Large and spacious home, all amenities that you would need for a stay are available. Beautifully decorated. Very clean, all bathrooms and kitchen have been updated. It's like living in a mansion!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Retreat

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

we recently stayed at Somewhere in Time and found it to be absolutely perfect. The house is beautiful and very spacious. we had 14 people and there was more than enough room for entertaining as well as sleeping. we especially loved the pool table. The outside was recently re-done and looked wonderful. All of the bedrooms had a different and unique feel to them which we all loved. Everything (and I mean everything ) was there that we could have ever needed. It was a wonderful little retreat for us and definatly look forward to returning in the future. I would love to see what the grounds outside look like in the spring and summer! All and all a wonderful place to retreat to and John, the owner, was great to work with and has a lot of new ideas for the place!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Victorian Charm Fully Loaded

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

For a week beginning August 14, 2010, my family had the unique opportunity of staying at Somewhere in Time. I was very pleased with the accommodations and found the surroundings very clean (top priority when renting) and charming. We weren't quite expecting what we found, but we had a wonderful time exploring the house filled with the ambiance of a bygone era. The house is magnificient and roomy (huge), 3 BRs have on-suite baths and a large main bath services the rest. Just a word of caution for anyone who has difficulty manouvering, as most baths have claw-foot tubs that can prove a challenge to anyone with lesser mobility. Two baths have walk-in showers, but one is very tight (not for the full bodied individual).The kitchen (and butler's pantry) is large and fully equipped and supplied. We were very lucky that the house had recently been purchased and the new owner wasted no time in making improvements, including painting, gardens, and roof. He is continuing to work on the house and I will be quite interested to see what other improvements he comes up with. He was quite receptive to suggestions and I think he will follow through in his efforts to make the house even more "user friendly". Although it is not on the lake, the public beach in Bolton is about 5 miles away and very accessible. I would recommend this house to anyone who likes a little escape from the here and now.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review