reviews for: listing #55082 - Big Bear Lake, California House rental

Walk to Ski slopes from this cozy mountain cabin with views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Moonridge
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $500 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,250 /wk

sort by:

Will be returning to this gem of a cabin!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 5 couples for our New Years getaway and we will definitely be returning to this cozy mountain cabin! First of all, the location is absolutely amazing! You can literally walk to Bear Mtn resort and have an awesome view of the slopes right from the outside wrap around deck! The cabin was so warm and inviting - as soon as we stepped in the doors we felt right at home. The decor gave you that true cabin woodsy feel and there is plenty of space for everyone! We really enjoyed the luxury of using the Jacuzzi and the cabin had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Best of all, the owner is such a pleasure to work with and provides all the info you need for your vacation in Big Bear. I highly recommend staying at this property and can't wait for our next trip to Big Bear so we can enjoy the all the accommodations this cabin has to offer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this place

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

What a wonderful location for our family Christmas. Eight adults, two small children and a little dog. Everything was absolutely perfect. Lots of room for everyone and so very cozy. Loved the hot tub and view of the mountain. Would recommend this to anyone. Hope to return someday.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place!

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Rented in Dec 2012 for two families (4 adults / 3 kids). It's a clean and cozy cabin and a lot of sleeping space (yes, easily can sleep 10) ... kids especially liked the loft. Living room is not big, but overall there is enough space for two families to move around, play board games, etc. Cabin is located close to Big Bear Mountain and importantly for us, on the outskirts of the city so we could easily find a good place for sledding in a short walking distance. Toni, the owner, was very responsive and easy to deal with. I should mention that I got full deposit back (although that was not the case with one of my prior rentals in Big Bear). I would definitely recommend and consider for future stays.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We had fun!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our vacation in big bear .

The cabin was clean.
The jacuzzi was awesome.
Loved the balcony and the heater .
Nice neighborhood.
And very nice and kind owners. ( she was very helpful and nice )
Fair prices !!
looking at the pictures i thought the cabin is very small specially the living room , but i was wrong. nice size bedrooms , large balcony , nice size kitchen and the living room wasn't that small we were 10 ppl and was good for us.but i will recommend renters to bring their own shampoo,body wash and hair dryer.

We were only disappointed by the rental hours. usually wherever we rented house or cabins before in this all years either they allow us to check in a little earlier before sun goes down or check out a little late. But unfortunately the owner had other families coming in,so we arrived at 5-6pm on Sunday and got out at 12 o clock Tuesday. we only had Monday to go out and enjoy our vacation.

But will recommend this cabin to everyone . We will definitely come back to this cabin again (slow seasons).

Thank you tony !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall in love

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Every year I spend my birthday weekend in Big Bear, my previous cabin was taken and I stumbled upon this lovely gem. With my luck it was available and more that I could have ever hoped for. Toni was easy to work with, a delight to speak to and also gave great tips on what else to discover. I am amazed no enough people take holiday in the Fall. Fall is my favorite season, perfect weather, the smell of camp fires, beautiful colored leaves cascading the ground. The home is surrounded by beautiful trees. There's an abundance of wonder here inside and out.

There's parking for 3 cars, even though we only had 2 with us. As you enter the cabin, you are instantly warmed and feel right at home. Every adornment was chosen so thoughtfully, every room had character and pieces of love in it. Accommodating for any person that may consider staying here, kids and adults alike. Any questions I may have had, was all in their handy guidebook filled with tips, food, instructions, codes, find a delish restaurant you haven't tried before.. you name it. Don't call just flip it open, how convenient! Many times up in big bear you lose service on your cellphone, don't fret they have a landline and wireless internet too! Oh it doesn't stop there, the hot tub is very clean and hot hot hot. Cozy up fireside. Ample sheets, blankets, towels you name it, pack lightly. The kitchen is fully stocked, take what you want, replace what you finish. A very give and take, feel at home lifestyle which is definitely the air in Big Bear.

The back patio views onto Big Bear slopes, which I can imagine looks amazing in the winter. But for us, it was Autumn and you could see clouds roll in over the mountain tops and trickles of bright sun. Step out into the patio and inhale.. ahhhh, do I have to go home? I was reluctant to leave the next day, no joke.

Fantastic shower pressure. Tv in the master, living and the upstairs loft/cuddle area (great for kids, they'll feel like they have their little own hideaway). Or go up there and tell stories. The movie collection is amazing, reminded me of my youth. You can walk out around the area, go on an adventure stroll, hike, whatever you like. Quick drive down to the lake and super convenient to groceries.

All in all my experience left me with smiles and I hope whoever considers this cabin in the future, feels the same. As, I most definitely will be back every year, and probably again this winter!

Cheers!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall in love

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Every year I spend my birthday weekend in Big Bear, my previous cabin was taken and I stumbled upon this lovely gem. With my luck it was available and more that I could have ever hoped for. Toni was easy to work with, a delight to speak to and also gave great tips on what else to discover. I am amazed no enough people take holiday in the Fall. Fall is my favorite season, perfect weather, the smell of camp fires, beautiful colored leaves cascading the ground. The home is surrounded by beautiful trees. There's an abundance of wonder here inside and out.

There's parking for 3 cars, even though we only had 2 with us. As you enter the cabin, you are instantly warmed and feel right at home. Every adornment was chosen so thoughtfully, every room had character and pieces of love in it. Accommodating for any person that may consider staying here, kids and adults alike. Any questions I may have had, was all in their handy guidebook filled with tips, food, instructions, codes.. you name it. Don't call just flip it open, how convenient! Many times up in big bear you lose service on your cellphone, don't fret they have a landline and wireless internet too! Oh it doesn't stop there, the hot tub is very clean and hot hot hot. Cozy up fireside. Ample sheets, blankets, towels you name it, pack lightly. The kitchen is fully stocked, take what you want, replace what you finish. A very give and take, feel at home lifestyle which is definitely the air in Big Bear.

The back patio views onto Big Bear slopes, which I can imagine looks amazing in the winter. But for us, it was Autumn and you could see clouds roll in over the mountain tops and trickles of bright sun. Step out into the patio and inhale.. ahhhh, do I have to go home? I was reluctant to leave the next day, no joke.

Again, if you need anything the guide book has it all, call a cab, find a delicious restaurant you haven't tried before. Tv in the master, living and the upstairs loft/cuddle area (great for kids, they'll feel like they have their little own hideaway). Or go up there and tell stories. The movie collection is amazing, reminded me of my youth. You can walk out around the area, go on an adventure stroll, hike, whatever you like. Quick drive down to the lake and super convenient to groceries.

All in all my experience left me with smiles and I hope whoever considers this cabin in the future, feels the same. As, I most definitely will be back every year, and probably again this winter!

Cheers!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

We rented this cabin for a family vacation in July. It is a quick drive down the hill to shopping and lake access.

The cabin was cozy and true to pictures on website. The deck was spacious with any incredible view.

We really enjoyed the Animal Park and the animals sounds at night.

The Alpine Slide is great fun for youngsters.

The owner was extremely helpful and responsive. She even helped with renting a neighbor's cabin to my sister.

We had a great time and would recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Big Bear Vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

This is the first time I had ever rented a cabin, and it definitely exceeded our expectations. The cabin was very clean, the owners were accommodating and proactive about trying to help make our stay pleasant, and the location was within a pretty easy walk to the slopes. We thought that this was an excellent choice for families with young children (we have one 2 year old and one 5 year old). Our two year old was a little bit sick, so having both the full crib and a rocker were very useful for us. There were a couple of very minor maintenance items (a light bulb out, a shower head in need of repair.), but nothing that impacted our stay. The heat worked well, the jacuzzi was nice and warm, and the parking area had been shoveled prior to our arrival. I have already recommended this location to another friend.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cozy spot for families

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

Two families (4 adults and 4 kids) spent a great weekend at the Thompson Timbers cabin. We arrived in a snow storm and it continued to snow all throughout the next day. Given that we were "couped up" together for a day, the accommodations were quite cozy and comfortable with all the electronic amenities one could want. Our kids nicknamed the sleeping loft "Kidmania" because they thought it was so cool to have their own space up there. The location is great too--my husband walked to the slopes at Bear Mountain on Sunday to ski (the rest of us just played in all that great snow around the cabin. Toni is very nice to deal with!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Hmmm...

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

The process of getting the cabin was probably the easiest part it was the actual getting there and staying that I had a problem with. We were a group of young adults in early to late 20s. When we got there everything seemed to be fine, but there were a few dents. After the first night the jacuzzi did not work and the owner said he would attend to it the following day...well nothing happened. After leaving the house cleaned, vacuumed and trash-free I decided to contact him about the deposit and here I am 5 months later with no deposit returned. We will not be staying here again!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: This group of renters caused so much damage within a 4 day period that we seriously considered not renting our cabin. In the eight years we have owned and rented our cabin we have never had a group of renters treat our property with such disrespect and disregard. We have so many special family memories at our cabin and we were heartboken to see how this group treated it.
There were burn marks in the area rug, berber carpet and kitchen counter. The jacuzzi motor and filter needed to be replaced after the water level was so low that motor burned out. They shoveled muddy snow into the jacuzzi when their first attempt to add water with the hose failed. The charges for the damage that incurred was well in excess of their deposit. We would not rent to this group again and wish there was a way we could warn other property owners of the potential risk of renting to them.
We decided to continue to rent our cabin for the remaining winter season as a "trial" rental period. We have had so many wonderful renters that included groups or families of different ages, including college kids that came to enjoy the snowboarding. (Please see reviews beginning Jan 2010) This more recent experience has renewed our faith in Big Bear winter renters! :)

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Great location

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We had a wonderful family vacation in this cabin! The location is within a 5 to 10 minute walking distance to Bear Mountain which was perfect, especially with a 3 and 6 year old. There is also a view of the slopes from the living room and balcony! The cabin had all the amenities one would need. Thanks for opening your cabin to us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location & very comfortable accommodations.

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

We have visited Big Bear and adjacent Bear Mountain numerous times. The accommodations where we have stayed in the past were terrible. We were hoping that this little cabin was different from the rest and we were delightfully surprised. The cabin is very well located, with views of Bear Mountain from the Jacuzzi. There happened to be great bob sledding for the kiddos within walking distance as well.
The cabin we clean, had a comfortable floor plan and was very easily accessed with ample parking for three cars. The jacuzzi was already hot when we arrived and (unlike the others we have experienced) was nice and clean! We had a great time sitting in the jacuzzi, watching the snow cats grooming the mountain, while it snowed on us.
If you are planning a quick trip up and need a quaint cabin that is easy to get to, rent this one. A great spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Best Snowboarding Trip Ever!

Review submitted: March 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

The description of the cabin is extremely accurate. The location is breath taking from the deck and the jacoozi is a nice little spot to relax after the long day of snow boarding. The cabin does fit 8-10 very comfortable and it did have all ammenities listed in the description as well. Everything worked great and had no complaints. The cabin is extremely well kept and feels like home every time you walk into the cabin. The activities to do around the cabin would be skiing/snowboarding, going to town, going into the jacuzzi, or just playing in the snow below the deck. The owner, Toni, was very caring and concerned that our stay was enjoyable and safe. She told us to call her for anything we needed and did indeed answer when we called. She will go that extra mile for you just to make your stay that much better. I would very much so recommend this property to a friend or to anyone that wants to stay in a beauitful, affordable, and great vacation cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

Our family had a fantastic time in this cabin! It was cozy and welcoming. We loved watching the ski/snowboarders ride down the slopes from the deck. We had wonderful weather and a great holiday. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are thrilled you all enjoyed your stay and hope to have you return! We love sharing our special mountain getaway with such wonderful people!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review