reviews for: listing #55089 - Jacksonville Beach, Florida Condo rental

Jax Beach Oceanfront
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beachcomber
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $155 /nt
    $685 - $685 /wk

sort by:

Ready to Stay again

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in this very beachy condo we loved the view and how close we were to the beach. we would lay in bed and listen to the waves crash it was breathtaking!!! The pool was refreshing and clean! Thank you Steve for making us feel at home and I appreciated that you cared how we liked the condo. We definitely will be back!!! We miss it already!!! Thanks for being trustworthy!!!! It's nice to know there are honest people out there like yourself not trying to rip people off!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Thank you Steve for a perfect 6 day stay while attending Law School graduation of my niece! The location was super perfect with respect to walking the Jacksonville Beach happenings and such a short drive to the Jacksonville city proper. The apartment was clean, orderly and beach towels (and toys) were available for me to use! AC... a heavenly addition for the time I stayed, was extremely hot!!! I appreciate the work (extra work) you and your cleaning lady have done to provide easy access for collect the key and for a safe environment with the gated pool community. Decorations are simple, not too much, but make their own statement adding to the homes ambiance. Your kindness in allowing me to borrow a book I was fascinated with has much been appreciated. (I will return soon! :))For my home away from home, I could not have asked for a more comfortable stay!

Thanks again!!!
Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Renters Beware

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

I will say that the location of this rental is the main reason why we chose it. My positive feedback ends there however. The internet was not working because the bill had not been paid. We were told it was our responsibility to contact AT&T and get the problem corrected if we wanted to use the internet. One of the two bikes offered is in almost unusable condition as the chain is so rusted it skips repeatedly so be careful riding it! The towels are threadbare and stained, and one of the sliding doors does not work.

Below is a letter we wrote to the guy we rented from that briefly describes the filthiness of this place. Had his response been the least bit remorseful I would not feel compelled to post negative feedback. However his lack of concern makes me believe that he has no intention of improving conditions so beware.


"Steve,

We decided that in fairness to you it was important that we convey our dissappointment with our vacation rental. I know that this rental isn't yours in ownership but you had mentioned it belonged to a friend and that you manage it for him. That said, we enjoyed our stay in Jax Beach however we were very unhappy with our accommodation's at your friends rental. The location was perfect however the lack of cleanliness was the worst that I have seen in 23 years of renting vacation places for our family. We are not high maintenance people and don't expect new or perfect conditions however we do have an expectation of basic cleanliness. In this case, a large portion of our first day was spent first at the store buying cleaning supplies, garbage bags, toilet paper, paper towels, and kitchen sponges. We then had to go back to our rental and scrub the kitchen sink, toilet, bathtub (the bath mat was so moldy that it had to be relegated to the outdoors), and dishes (there was food particles crusted on the plates and bowls and lip marks on at least five of the glasses). Underneath the bed there was a massive accumulation of dust, debris, a shot glass, and various items of clothing. Stuck between the sofa and the wall was a pair of underwear. On the door to the furnace the slats appeared to not have been dusted in some time with an approximate 1/4 of dust (photos available on request) In addition, there was a large collection of boogers (yes, boogers) on the closet door between the bedroom and bathroom. Several of the towels and at least one washcloth were badly stained.

Owners response: As you can tell by all the other reviews, the oceanfront condo is very nice, is enjoyed by many visitors and draws great compliments. The previous and following tenants absolutely enjoyed their stays. I am sorry that "Kellie" did not enjoy her stay and felt a need to write this unfair and bogus review and am not sure why she makes complaints after she leaves. She stayed with her boyfriend for 16 days, was allowed early check in, checked out late on the last day and MADE NO MENTION of the place not being clean during her entire stay. The cleaning lady lives in Jax Beach and would have been sent back over right away, had she made even a minor complaint. I myself would not stay in a hotel for two weeks if it were not clean and then complain to the hotel after check-out that I had to clean the room myself (that really makes no sense at all). She was offered free use of beach bikes, saving her over $15 / day and again,, IF SHE HAD complained, would have brought her another bicycle to use if she is somewhat opposed to rust on a "beach" bike in Florida. When she did mention problem with the internet (with still no complaint about cleaning), I resolved the problem right away and even gave her boyfriend the AT&T account and 800 # in case he needed to troubleshoot the problem since he was there at the condo and needed the hi-speed internet that is provided with the rental. In closing, if the condo was so bad, why did the tenant stay for 16 days without making any mention of the place not being clean, request any type of maid service, or ask for any additional linens? My feedback would be, "very unfair" and "Landlord Beware"

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We LOVED it and will be back next year

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Awesome, Excellent, Beautiful, Great Price! This is the 2nd year we have rented from Steve. The first year was a very quaint 1 bedroom with oceanfront view. We loved it. This year, we decided we wanted something a little bigger for company (as we have a lot of friends in Jacksonville, FL). We loved the condo and all the amenities. The view was spectacular. The condo was equipped with everything we needed and then some. Steve has always made sure our needs were met (we didn't have wi-fi the first year and he made a special trip to the beaches to bring a wi-fi modum). The condo, we found out, had recently had remodeled bathrooms and kitchen. We loved the look of the condo from the front door, all the way to the balcony. Very clean. We go to Jacksonville Beach every year and Steve is the person we will rent from every year. Thank you Steve for having us and we'll see you again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Christmas Holiday Stay

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Great ocean view from bedroom, living room, and even kitchen. Quiet and cozy. JAX Beach people are so friendly, making experience really nice. Small well-maintained park next door for volleyball pick-up games. Steve's a very nice, accomodating gentleman that can make good recommendations for enjoyable stay. While other places may be loaded with ammenities beyond this unit, we'll be returning here for our next visit to JAX Beach.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review