reviews for: listing #55207 - Keuka Lake, New York House rental

2014 Season at No Such Place w/ 3-Branch Lake Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Keuka Village
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $375 /nt
    $2,850 - $3,250 /wk
    $8,000 - $11,000 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

My husband, our 3 boys and our dog were fortunate enough to stay here for our first ever extended family vacation this summer. Although apprehensive at booking a place sight unseen except for online pictures, the owner's prompt responses to all my questions put my mind at ease. We quickly fell in love with this quaint cottage and all it had to offer. The dock and the balcony quickly became our 2 favorite places to be! And I must say our boys loved their bedrooms and their beds. We all had the best nights sleep while we were there. The views from "No Such Place" are priceless and will be forever ingrained in my memory. Our boys ages, 7, 9 & 16 had an equally wonderful time and came away with great memories of our time in the finger lakes! The neighbors were also a joy and very gracious. Thank you for the opportunity to create incredible family memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...Can we stay just another day or two longer...?

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

My husband and I live in the Cleveland area and we both have two jobs and therefore virtually no life it seems away from home. But, we have been talking for about two years about going to Keuka Lake again, where we had first met at the famous Switzerland Inn. We finally took the plunge and signed up for a 2-Night stay at, "No Such Place," which is located less than a half mile from where we first met at the Switzerland Inn.

We had SUCH A GOOD TIME at NO SUCH PLACE!!! There are almost no words to describe it. We cried with joy as we saw the same view of the incredible Bluff, had breakfast at Artisan's Bakery in quaint and wonderful Hammondsport, the lunch and an incredible tour at Bully Hill. (Best Brunch EVER!). Dinner of course the first night at the Switzerland Inn but the next night we had an incredible dinner at the Bistro on the Hammondsport Square!!! We highly recommend all these places.

It was November and the trees were past peak, but still so wonderful. The sky was blue and the air cool but we rented Kayak's at Reagan's for $25 per day!!! We thought that was an awesome value. (Call them or check out their web site at reaganskayak). We did a couple of wine tours on Keuka Lake but also did a FRISKY Wine Tour on nearby Seneca Lake. Both Awesome. Oh, did I mention that we kept calling the owner to ask for "Just one more day"? We did this 3 days in a row...lol and then ran out of excuses as to why we couldn't go back to work! Hope our employers are not reading this...hahahaha...

Thank you Keuka Lake, thank you No Such Place, thank you wonderful owner who's name I probably shouldn't mention here! We took away more than just wonderful memories, and we'll be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Labor Day Ring of Fire Get-a-Way..!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We rolled in with our trusty dog in our Red Chevy pickup towing our bass boat and enjoyed 3 days of great weather in the 80’s. We did the shopping thing in Hammondsport and spent a day also at the Waterloo outlets! We also enjoyed the Corning Museum of Glass, The Curtiss Museum and played Yatzee every day after a long walk.
The neighbors were super, all inviting us to chat with them on their front porches. So lay back and friendly. The famous Switz is ¼ north, (Switzerland Inn Restaurant), and what a great restaurant including dancing on Friday and Saturday nights! The wineries were fantastic – we bought 3 cases of wine to take home…! We took all our meals outside on one of the many decks and enjoyed the end of summer, “Ring of Fire” which is a big tradition on Keuka Lake over the Labor Day weekend! Every owner all around the 88 miles of beach on Keuka Lake buy flares and set them off at 9:00 PM thus showing an enormous ring (Y shaped in this case) of fire to those in airplanes high above the lake.) This tradition really takes your breath away. It’s the signal for Harvest time all around the lake and to our amazement, the start of the busiest time on Keuka Lake, since many destination buses come in all of September and October from all over the country to enjoy the fine dining, wine selections and parties at all the wineries around the lake. We had a wonderful time…! Can’t wait to come back again next year…

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Much Needed Family (with dog) Get-a-Way...!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

9-14-12 Family vacation get-away from PA, with our dog!
Great weather for all three days, Temp in the low 80’s, cloudless and sunny the whole time. The evenings started to get down there but the water was still plenty warm enough for swimming.
We hiked the Watkins Glen gorge and did two full days of wine tasting on both Keuka and Seneca Lake. Enjoyed the sun adding to my summer tan and loved Bully Hill winery. The Village Tavern and The Union Block Bistro were our favorite restaurants and we were surprised at their incredible quality in little old Hammondsport, NY (But we did find out that Hammondsport was voted the coolest little town in American for 2012…!)
We loafed around in the morning on the wonderful old rockers on the upper deck overlooking the lake where we took our breakfast every day. Coffee on the dock both for sunrise and sunset was wonderful as well. We noted lots of wildlife in the water and we were mesmerized as promised by the incredible view. And those stars at night…so vivid and spectacular from the dock! What memories we took with us!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Boys from West Point and University Rochester

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We had the time of our life, as they say. We brought a bawdy but respectful and responsible party to, “No Such Place” and it was awesome. It was a two day bachelor party of drinking beer, having bon fires on the beach, closing down the nearby Switzerland Inn, chatting with the friendly neighbors and hanging around the awesome Grill cooking delicious steaming BBQ’s. (We also took turns throwing each other into the chilly November lake water - all in good fun!)
We loved the view, the dock, the grill and the quaint rustic charm. A great place to chill out! The owner was great to let us use the place post season for such an event. He knew us because we had stayed there with our families in peak season, but hats off to him. It was an incredibly inspiring event for all of us...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An inspiring place to write...

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I’ve been a farmer, truck driver, Harley store owner, fast food restaurant owner, small town politician, Dive Shop owner and Internet blogger, but now I want to write the great American novel. I’ve lived in 7 states all over the country from Hawaii to Maine to Florida, and from very humble beginnings in the farm lands of Iowa, I finally managed to cobble together a 4-year Bachelor Degree in Marketing at the ripe old age of 61. By a strange quirk of fate I found myself in Hammondsport, NY one day in July 2001 where I had my first chance to gaze on beautiful Keuka Lake. It was a gaze that would stand the test of time since I made a promise to myself that I would return to Keuka Lake someday to live or at least vacation there. In the eleven years since that first gaze I have traveled the world and laid my eyes on some wonderful places. But, I never forgot Keuka Lake. I researched vacation rentals in the summer of 2012 where I came across, “No Such Place.” That name seemed apropos for me, so I went with it, I was not disappointed. I think all real estate people will tell you that it’s about location,and so it is with No Such Place. It does lack in a few ways but it is located so perfectly for view, boat and car logistics that short comings are quickly forgotten. No Such Place really does exist and we are thankful we found it! It is a place where in one sense time has forgotten, but in another a place where dreams are made. Hoagy Carmichael is said to have written his famous song, Stardust, just a ¼ mile north at the elegant Keuka Hotel,(now gone.) From my perspective, No Such Place has it all; great fishing, a fantastic view, numerous cozy decks to sit on to admire the endless mesmerizing blue waters of perhaps one of the cleanest and most beautiful bodies of water in the world. (I don’t usually gush like this but I am so impressed. I enjoyed the hiking and waterfalls all around the lake, the restaurants in Hammondsport, the Grand Prix Race Track at nearby Watkins Glen, the wonderful and entertaining wineries surrounding the lake, the photo opportunities everywhere, the sailing, the sail plane gliding at nearby Harris Hill, the Glass Museum in Corning, the antiquing trail, the Mennonite/Amish farmer markets in the hills all around…and much, much more!
As for No Such Place: I found it clean, comfortable and fully equipped for great entertaining for families up to about 8 people. I highly recommend it and I plan to become a regular each year from now on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Value, Memories and a Treasure for the Heart...

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

I have a family of 8 and we live in Chicago, IL. My husband graduated from the University of Rochester and he has fond memories of the Finger Lake Region just south of Rochester, and most notably Keuka Lake, where the first registered winery got started around 1836, according to our research. The quaint little town of Hammondsport, located on the south end of Keuka Lake, in our humble opinion, is the jewel of not only Keuka Lake, but perhaps all of the 11 Finger Lakes. It’s a friendly little town with wonderful shops and great restaurants, and the people there are doing their best to preserve some of the wonder and charm that was once pervasive throughout the area during the Golden Age of 1880-1930 when steam ships ploughed the lake’s crystal clean water hauling grapes north to the mouth of the Erie Canal where they started their transport by barge to larger metropolises such as NYC, Boston and Philadelphia. In addition to a great town square, there is a museum nearby dedicated to Glen Curtis who flew the first publically witnessed airplane flight and where naval aviation got its start with the first water takeoff and landing.

We have rented on Keuka Lake now for 11 years, and always someplace different, at least that was true until last year. We discovered No Such Place last summer and for the first time ever we returned to rent it again for two weeks this year. And we plan to do the same again next year. We love the view, the dock, the setting, the road and water access, the fire pit, the woods, the deep private lot, the ample parking, the rustic mix of old cottage mixed with some new, the multiple sun decks, the neighbors and most of all, the caring, friendly, responsive and humorous owner. No Such Place is not a Westin Hotel, so if that is what you are looking for, you should look elsewhere; but it has incredible charm that grows on you each and every new day you continue to stay there. No Such Place has contradictions, yet order at the same time. It will make you smile, and perhaps even laugh, but you will become endeared to it as you figure it all out. Like most places on Keuka Lake built during the end of the Golden Age, it is slowly evolving toward the present. Yet we have encouraged the owner to not change anything, and to keep it as it is. We think you will agree with our evaluation and enjoy No Such Place as much as we do, so we highly recommend it. You won’t regret it, it’s definitely worth it…!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No Such Place is SOOOO COOOOOL…!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We tried to book a week at No Such Place last March but we learned the hard way that No Such Place starts to book the coveted summer weeks a year or so in advance, and so by March we never had a chance. We had never booked a Lake House in the fall because our kids are always back in school in early September. Nevertheless, we decided to squeeze in 4 nights in mid to late September - (and for us this was no minor feat.) Our efforts, however, were handsomely rewarded with wonderful warm weather in the 70’s and 80’s and a lake water temperature that was still warm enough to swim and ski in.
The wineries are great at harvest time and the beginning of the fall foliage was spectacular to view from the incredible central location of the cottage on the lake, directly across from the Keuka Bluff.
We noted that there are world class restaurants in Hammondport, only a few miles away to the south, and so we highly recommend that others go there to find a variety of fantastic food, all located conveniently along the Hammondsport Square where one can have a great time every evening.
The cottage was clean, neat and fresh smelling upon our arrival, and we thank the owner for coming by to ensure we were happy and comfortable. He even came by a second time the next day with his boat and took our kids skiing. They will be forever thankful.
The rustic charm of the cottage was at once enchanting and engaging; a mix of the past with the present, but all functional and clean. We had one issue with the grill so we called the owner and he came by with a new grill and so this quickly solved the problem. We found the owner very responsive and interested in helping us. He is a truly nice guy! The neighbors are great also, and the dock and fire pit fantastic for any size family. We are now reserved for a full week in the summer of 2013 and therefore we highly recommend No Such Place to anyone and everyone. We hope you will enjoy No Such Place as much as we did. It is one of the most interesting and charming places we’ve ever stayed at.
Sincerely, John, Cindy, the whole family and Gus the family dog.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A family and athlete’s paradise!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My wife and I are triathlon athletes and we looked for a long time to find a suitable cottage to vacation at with our family while at the same time a place that would allow us to continue our rigorous daily training of running, cycling and swimming, which for us is a mandatory part of life.
No Such Place afforded us the perfect solution since it offered us a beautiful clean lake to swim in at any distance we chose, a 45-mile around-the-lake bike circuit, and a variety of hills and flats to choose from to run a marathon on safely. We also found No Such Place to be a great place to bring our dog, a 200-pound Great Dane, to keep him in shape by playing fetch with him while he swam off the beach and dock. There was also a nice wooded area behind the cottage in the upper lot to walk our dog in.
Our children are young (5 and 8), and so we brought their nanny along to watch them. Since No Such Place is on a private cul-de-sac road, we didn’t have to worry about either our dog or our children while on long rides or runs since there is no traffic. That was a big plus!!!
The sunsets were incredible as were the sunrises and moonrises. All we can say about those is WOW!!! We took full advantage of these natural occurrences by setting up a tent on the end of the large dock on two of our nights, and with all of our family we studied the stars using our iPhone apps called, Star Walk and Night Sky, (mixing a little modern technology in with a wonderful location). And then there is that incredible campfire pit where we spent hours singing songs and toasting marshmallows. No Such Place is a truly wonderful place for a family. It offers so many options!
We had a blast for a full week and we are very thankful. Don’t change a thing, we will be back…!
Jason, Paula, Chris, Becky and Linda

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not Worth The Money

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We spent a week here with 6 adults this past August (2012). We felt for the price, the pictures and descriptions were deceiving.
We were very disappointed with the kitchen. It was tiny and the linoleum countertops were not even clean. Not a place you would want to prepare meals.
The "modern" grill did not work well and you could not even read the settings because they were written in worn off magic marker.
The front porch did have a wonderful view but you had to be careful not to step into one of the holes in the floor.
Luckily we did have great weather and spent most of our time on the dock. The dock is very nice and if you have a boat, the boat lift was nice.
Most disappointing was how our security deposit was handled. After not hearing anything for weeks, we contacted the owner. He called back and said there was damage to a screen door. Knowing that this was not true, I asked for pictures. He responded by sending me no pictures but all of my deposit but $50. I will not do business with this owner again.
No more stays at "No Such Place"!

Owners response: I do my best to please all my renters as best as humanly possible, but it seems that every couple of years a renter comes along that doesn’t read all the information sent to them, or doesn’t see the charm that others before them have enjoyed and marveled at enthusiastically. Not much one can really do about these rogue wave renters except grin and bear it as best one can. I do take all complaints very seriously, however, and address each concern and fix it quickly.
I have a very professional cleaning staff and they have an extremely detailed pre stay check list as well as an extremely detailed post stay report card used for internal purposes. There are double checks in place to ensure that the entire property is clean both inside and out and that it is at its very best for each new renter. My long list of very positive reviews confirms these facts. My cleaning staff rates each renter rigorously in terms of the post stay conditions they observe. Did the renters respect the property or abuse it? Did it take an unusually long time to bring the property back to the pre stay conditions? Did the renters remove their garbage as contracted, or leave it strewn about? Did the renters replace the fire pit wood they used as contracted? Was the dock guest lift and dock furniture abused? Did the renters leave the premises on time or cause the cleaning staff problems in getting into the property to clean it for the next arriving renters? All in all more than 25 report card items are measured and an overall grade is established. This report card is used to determine if certain renters will be allowed to rent again. In the case of this renter, the report card came in the lowest ever and so, (for the first time ever),the answer is a resounding – Never Again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Very Satisfied...

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This is my first attempt at doing a review so I hope you will bear with me. I am a Pharmacist by trade and my husband is a Veterinarian. We have 6 kids, 2 dogs, 3 cats and 5 horses. We reluctantly decided to leave the animals home this Keuka trip, despite the fact that No Such Place turned out to be an excellent place to bring a couple of water dogs that like to fetch from the beach and play in the gently deepening water from shore to end of dock - a magnificent dock I might add, over 100 feet long and 15 feet, the place where we spent most of our time as we basked in the sun!

Anyway, we are a family of 8 with kids ranging from 9 to 19. Our kids took over the 2nd floor which suited them well with its period styled (Circa 1930) wainscoted walls and ceiling and interconnecting rooms with heavy sound deadening curtains. Two of the bedrooms had magnificent views of the lake and bluff with TV’s w/remote control and a DVD. We parents, on the other hand, decided to stay on the futon double bed on the first floor sun room. We even blew up the owner-provided queen-sized air mattress putting it on the futon bed. Creative we thought.

The two bathrooms worked out great; one for the kids, one for adults. The cottage is a bit on the small side, but, we are at the lake and the place is a typical summer home on beautiful Keuka Lake where we have been renting for the past 15 years. The beach, the fire-pit, the dock, the views, the parking, the woods behind the garage, the outside grill, two refrigerators, the many tables and chairs, the purity of the water, the guest boat lift are all fantastic pluses for No Such Place. Most of these things we didn’t have at our previous rentals.

We spent most of our time out-of-doors, hiking and water skiing, but two days it rained forcing us in where we played cards, chess and backgammon. The dishwasher and combo wash machine/dryer came in very handy with our kids constantly needing fresh clean clothes. The kitchen and breakfast nook were stocked by all sorts of owner provided condiments and spices as well as a full complement of kitchen equipment for cooking just about anything. The kitchen is small, however, and in need of updating, which we understand the owner plans to do over the next winter. It was charming, however, even if it did take us a while to figure out where everything was.

The cottage was clean and fresh smelling upon our arrival and the owner was very caring. We highly recommend No Such Place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very Satisfied...

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

This is my first attempt at doing a review so I hope you will bear with me. I am a Pharmacist by trade and my husband is a Veterinarian. We have 6 kids, 3 cats, 2 dogs and 5 horses. We reluctantly decided to leave the animals home this Keuka trip, despite the fact that No Such Place turned out to be an excellent place to bring a couple of water dogs that like to fetch from the beach and play in the gently deepening water from shore to end of dock - a magnificent dock I might add, over 100 feet long and 15 feet wide, the place where we spent most of our time as we basked in the sun!

Anyway, we are a family of 8 with kids ranging from 9 to 19. Our kids took over the 2nd floor which suited them well with its period styled (Circa 1930) wainscoted walls and ceiling and interconnecting rooms with heavy sound deadening curtains. Two of the bedrooms had magnificent views of the lake and bluff with TV’s w/remote control and a DVD. We parents, on the other hand, decided to stay on the futon double bed on the first floor sun room. We even blew up the owner-provided queen-sized air mattress putting it on the futon bed. Creative we thought.

The two bathrooms worked out great; one for the kids, one for adults. The cottage is a bit on the small side, but, we are at the lake and the place is a typical summer home on beautiful Keuka Lake where we have been renting for the past 15 years. The beach, the fire-pit, the dock, the views, the parking, the woods behind the garage, the outside grill, two refrigerators, the many tables and chairs, the purity of the water, the guest boat lift are all fantastic pluses for No Such Place. Most of these things we didn’t have at our previous rentals.

We spent most of our time out-of-doors, hiking and water skiing, but two days it rained forcing us in where we played cards, chess and backgammon. The dishwasher and combo wash machine/dryer came in very handy with our kids constantly needing fresh clean clothes. The kitchen and breakfast nook were stocked by all sorts of owner provided condiments and spices as well as a full complement of kitchen equipment for cooking just about anything. The kitchen is small, however, and in need of updating, which we understand the owner plans to do over the next winter. It was charming, however, even if it did take us a while to figure out where everything was.

The cottage was clean and fresh smelling upon our arrival and the owner was very caring. We highly recommend No Such Place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fan Review: Always a fantastic visit...!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Most people, me included, express their opinions only when they don’t’ like something, but our experiences at No Such Place on Keuka Lake motivate me to write to those interested in a truly quality vacation. A get away where one can relax, recharge and return with a greater perspective and appreciation for life and those they have in their life.

I have offered to take my three children to Hawaii or the Bahamas, but every year they unanimously request, No Such Place, or as we say, “the lake”. Our Keuka Lake visits are among the greatest experiences of our lives. We began these treks to “the lake” in 1999 and we eagerly return each year. With each trip we discover more about the cottage, the lake and ourselves. It’s the only place where we feel that we leave with more than we came with.

“The Lake” is clean and warm and calm, and non-busy. Boat rentals are reasonable so we ski, tube and joy ride with the feeling that we are the only people on the lake. Ice cream scoops at the quaint little shop in Hammondsport are too large so the kids marvel every time the clerk hands them their cone. We hike, cycle, jog, fish, ride go carts, swim, lay in the sun, tour the wineries, boat off to dinner, BBQ, play cards and board games, watch classic movies, hike the gorge, roast marshmallows over the open fire pit, but best of all, we sit and talk, and we enjoy one-another in a way that just doesn’t happen the same way anywhere else.

No Such Place tends to take you back in time with its rustic quaintness and its enviable location on the eastern shore in a calm cove where there are spectacular sunrises and sunsets. It’s positioned directly across from a beautiful bluff that often displays a morning mist that dissipates with the rising sun. Our kids wake up to the smell of bacon cooking and the anticipation of fishing and other water sports. They never sleep in at the lake as they do at home, and they’re never bored. They are eager to soak up life at No Such Place, so they rise early each morning, amazingly!

No Such Place is difficult to describe because you come away with feelings you didn’t anticipate as well as an inexplicable calm appreciation for having been there. You leave with a better focus of what needs to be accomplished in your life and with a confidence that whatever needs to happen for you, will happen. Best of all, there is a feeling that everything is going to be ok…!

I’m sure you will all enjoy No Such Place as much as we have!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pure Heaven!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

After a very tough few months personally and professionally for me, and academically for my daughters, we decided to vacate "real life" for a few days and escape together for a little rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation. We had heard about "No Such Place" from a friend, and could not have chosen a more perfect venue for its privacy, beauty, and peacefulness. We loved that each of us had a little bungalow bedroom but still could talk into the night and share giggles in the most unlikely moments, and even though the kitchen was a bit tight for the four of us, climbing around one another there to prepare our individual pieces of each meal (that was the deal : ) ) ended up being a riot. Thank goodness for the 2nd refrigerator in which to keep our wine, and the wonderful outdoor grilling area!

We absolutely fell in love with the dock and the view, and often our nicely set dining table (usually out in the sunroom) got disassembled as we carried our plates and glasses out to the dock to enjoy our meals together, whenever weather and temperatures permitted -- sometimes we couldn't tear ourselves away from the lake and the sun until after the gorgeous sunsets, so on those nights we dined indoors.... Even Sunday, which was a bit foggy for us, was spectacularly beautiful on Keuka Lake, and we only had one day of rain during our entire visit! Thursday was the coolest of the days so we spent some time exploring the area and visiting the shops and eateries of Hammondsport. We also discovered the Chat A Whyle cafe down in Bath and have decided we need to figure out their cinnamon roll recipe!

We can't say enough about the PEACE of No Such Place - what a perfect name! My one daughter and I share a common interest in wildlife and we enjoyed every bit of it, from watching HUGE fish roll around near and under the dock, to many species of waterfowl, and even the otter who swam by our dock on a couple of mornings when the fishermen weren't out there casting around (usually before we got up). DO watch out for the deer when you're driving in the area - they're plentiful!!

We will never forget our wonderful, relaxing week, the warm and clear water, the sun on the hills and farms across the lake, the beautiful boats, and the constant sound of the little waves lapping outside our bedroom windows at night. Spectacular!

We hope to return NEXT year - and maybe if we're feeling generous we'll bring our guys! : )

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Bitter Disappointment

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

After enjoying a lovely summer cottage experience on Keuka Lake in 2010, my husband and I decided to try our luck again and head back again this year. I started my rental search early (in December) to avoid the last minute rush and secure what appeared to be at the time a lakefront cottage that would comfortably accommodate our family (initially, there were supposed to be 8 of us but in the end we were only 6). For the high season rate we paid, we were expecting tasteful, clean and quality lodging; that is why we were so disheartened with the actual accommodation. We arrived at 3:15 on the Saturday as the cleaning lady and her dog were scurrying out. I'm not quite sure what she was doing there because the place was a shambles. The countertops and floors in the kitchen were sticky; pots and pans in the cupboards were haphazardly organized and in disarray; dishes had crumbs on them so we washed them all before using them; the tiny kitchen was so cluttered with old food stocks/condiments from previous guests that we were unable to unload all of our own supplies. The sitting room and sun room were filthy - dust bunnies in corners and under couches. Regarding the 4 bedrooms, wow what a surprise - from the narrow and steep staircase to the actual size and state of the bedrooms. So small, oppressive and stifling - no privacy/no hallway (with one bedroom leading to the next, separated by curtains) and one "bedroom" (with the single bed) situated on the landing. The space was so tight and compressed, making it difficult for air to circulate. It was a hot week and because of poor ventilation, we felt as if we were in a clay oven. Not even the fans provided relief. My husband and I slept in the sunroom as it was the only place that offered an inkling of a breeze. Regarding the outdoor furnishings and dock, there was thick dust, dirt and cobwebs everywhere! Some of deck furnishings were falling apart. The experience was so untenable that we checked out two days early. All in all, a terribly disappointing experience. To note, the owner refunded us the cleaning fee. Also, on the Tuesday while we were there, he made arrangements to have an old air conditioning unit delivered to us but we did not install it in the upstairs bedroom window in fear that it posed a fire hazard (as we were not sure that the upstairs met building code). Suggestion: more pictures will help future guests decide if this is the right place for them, particularly when travelling with older guests.

Owners response: It is unfortunate that one of my guests has been disappointed in her visit, particularly in light of more typical positive reviews from my guests at No Such Place. Sadly, their visit coincided with one of the hottest weeks of record at Keuka Lake, and it seems likely that those conditions, over which I had no control, may have contributed or driven the content and temperament of the only such remarks I have received about a guest's experience.

For the awareness of my future guests, I DID do everything in my power to try to make this guest's visit more comfortable. I dispatched my cleaning service to go all over the house again when I was first informed of their dissatisfaction about its condition, and for reasons that are not clear, these guests refused to allow the cleaners access. I also quickly arranged for an air conditioning unit to be delivered and installed, which was also refused, again for reasons that were not disclosed to me. I truly make every effort to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of my guests, and I feel strongly that I did everything possible to do the same for this guest and her family -- it just is not possible, however, as we all know, to please all the people all the time.

I thank all of my guests for their candid inputs, and I can assure you that I will apply it to continuous improvements for all future guests at No Such Place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

Everything you need in a cottage at the lake

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

My wife and I sat holding hands one evening last December watching the snow fall as icicles formed along the roof. We talked of escaping to an exotic place, yet we both knew this was crazy since my work-load in this economy prevented our going far away for more than 3-days. Our dream of owning a retirement home in the Finger Lakes was looking dim. Suddenly my wife suggested we reserve a cottage at nearby Keuka Lake for a few days in the spring and try to get our minds off work. So, we checked out some rental websites and found a place called, “No Such Place.” Now that seemed very fitting I thought!

“No Such Place” is actually QUITE a place and it’s on beautiful Keuka Lake, and it has everything we could want in a lake house: A view that will mesmerize anyone into full relaxation; Crystal clean water that tempts you to scoop it up and drink; Fish of all sorts; Hiking trails and hidden waterfalls just a short walk up many of the roadside streams; Wineries with quality we thought was only possible in California or France; Superb restaurants on the water and along the quaint village square in Hammondsport; Mennonite shopping and antique places all over the place, but, my favorite - world class, (forgive my enthusiasm), Ice Cream parlors such as Cone Heads in Hammondsport.

So, there’s plenty to do, but after a day of exploring all over the lake, my wife and I were exhausted and found that just sitting on the long beautiful dock at No Such Place listening to good music amid the gentle slap of waves against our boat, was all we really needed to do. The sunset came just before 9:00 pm in June, (near the Summer Solstice time), and we were amazed at the incredible sunset beauty from No Such Place as we gazed across to Lakeside Restaurant, nearly 3 miles away. The East side, or the Sun side, is definitely the way to go! We continued to take in the fantastic beauty of the Bluff and we actually fell asleep one night on the dock, waking up under an incredible star-filled sky.

Our 5 kids came to stay with us as well, and we watched as they built a bon fire in the large beach fire pit, then roasted their extra large marshmallows and toasted S'mores while they sang songs and played guitars to the clapping of the friendly neighbors. Ah, such a place is No Such Place. It has everything you need in a summer cottage and more. We loved it and plan to return there again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We finally found it...!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

I was looking for a place in an area I had never visited before, a place that was not a hotel or even a B&B. Some place that wasn’t hectic or spoiled by too many people or over commercialized with businesses preying on visitors with big city prices or major resort overhead. I guess I was looking for a place that didn’t really exist and I was about to give up the search when a friend told me about the Finger Lake Region of New York State. I checked into it and after a careful search of properties at several of the lakes, my family and I found what we were looking for at, “No Such Place,” on beautiful Keuka Lake.

The name of the cottage is crazy we told ourselves; could this be a scam? Do we send money and find out later that there really is no such place? What on earth was the owner thinking when that name was chosen? It wasn’t until we had nearly completed our week long stay at “No Such Place” that my family and I fully understood what the name meant. “No Such Place” was a place of comfort, a sanctuary from the busy world, a place a bit off the timeline of standard everyday life, and a place with excitement in a completely different way from normal work life. Yes, “No Such Place” was indeed our out-of-the-way place that had everything we had been looking for, but hadn’t been able to find. It was an invigorating natural kind of place with stunning views, a great dock and beach, a private access drive, a small wooded area for pets, and a fully functional lake home, dated in some regards, but it had exactly what we needed. The beds were not king sized but they were new, thick and comfortable. The paint was fresh and clean and the place sparkled when we arrived, the sign of a caring owner.

Our family consisted of 6 adults and 5 children, a bit over the limit per the owner, but with some negotiation and a slight increase in price, (which was well worth it); we managed to work it out.
We made use of the overflow Futon and rollout sofa on the first floor Sun Room, as well as the fold down double bed/couch in the living room. The two new full bathrooms were awesome as were the large dining room tables, two picnic tables and two breakfast nook tables.
A lake house has a need for a different flow since you are always coming in and out or taking meals or snacks down to the dock. “No Such Place” has a great flow and the two refrigerators make cold storage a snap.
We found what we were looking for and we plan to return again and again to, “No Such Place.”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Oh what a place...is No Such Place...!

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

There is something so special and charming about Keuka Lake that I don’t want to experiment anymore with lesser lakes in terms of natural beauty, number and quality of restaurants, marina’s, small town charm, quality wineries or places to bike and hike.
This is the 3rd year in a row that my family of 7 and I have stayed at, “No Such Place” and each stay has been better than the one before! We have decided to stay here yet again this year in September/October which is the wine harvest, fall foliage and Racing-at-the-Glen time.
Location, location, location is everything in real estate, as they say, and so it is with the location of, “No Such Place” on the sunny east side, 8 miles north of the Norman Rockwell type of charming hamlet of Hammondsport. A location with quick access to the many wineries of Keuka and Seneca Lakes as well as the Grand Prix/NASCAR race track 10 miles away.
“No Such Place” was built in the 20’s, and fortunately, despite updates, you can still see parts of the cottage from that earlier period such as the wainscoting on the 2nd floor bedroom area which also offers wonderful smelling cedar closets in each bedroom.
The highly responsive owner continues to make improvements each winter and we can’t wait to see what new features will appear each spring, but we like it as it is and hope the old charm will never be lost.
We travel 11 hours to get to “No Such Place” and we expect it to be spotlessly clean and fully ready when we arrive. We have never been disappointed! The kitchen is fully stocked with everything one needs and there are two refrigerators, a dishwasher, a gas stove and tons of cooking spices.
We have learned that by closing the French doors one can sleep on the first floor Futon in privacy, listening to the gentle lapping of the water on the beach and awake to a spectacular three-sided picture window view of the lake.
There are woods in the upper lot for dog walking and a private no traffic drive w/Cul-de-sac. There is a large stone family fire pit on the beach and a wide wood swing on the lower deck. There are decks and chairs everywhere for ones convenience. There are also two outside picnic tables, one on the side deck near the grill, and another on the outer deck overlooking the lake. Most of all there is a spectacular dock, which must be the most gorgeous and best built dock on the lake! This place was built for comfort and I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed here! I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

There is such a place as no such place!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend just to get together with some family and go wine tasting. Our group consisted of 3 adult couples which ranged in age from 27-63. I was slightly hesitant to book since there were no reviews of this property anywhere on the internet - but everything was on the up and up. The owner was very responsive to emails in the weeks leading up to the trip and meet us just as planned.

There was plenty of parking for our 3 cars and the proximity to the wineries is great here. We enjoyed going out each day and tasting/buying lots of wine.

We mostly cooked in and found the kitchen a bit dated, but well stocked with pots/pans/spices/etc which was nice. It also had two refrigerators which for our short stay wasn't necessary, but I could see that being handy for an entire week with a good amount of people.

We had hoped to use the firepit and grill but the weather was not very nice for our stay so the cable and internet came in handy for us, a nice bonus that a lot of these cottages don't offer. We did enjoy the nice deck that looked out over the lake and enjoyed wine and cheese there every afternoon (why go pay to sit in a lakefront restaurant when we could have our own?!). There was also plenty of furniture and seating all over the house (in and out).

The place wasn't immaculate when we arrived (shower had hairs that weren't ours, etc) but not so unclean we felt we couldn't stay. The house is a bit dated itself, with some shabbier furniture, but again no big deal for our little weekend.

There were two bathrooms which was very nice for getting ready. Probably one of the only downfalls was the privacy in the bedrooms upstairs (there is no hall so you have to pass through them, and they don't have doors - a real negative since my dad is quite the snorer) and the ordeal it was to get to them (a very narrow, steep staircase). The bathrooms were both downstairs so you would have to ascend in the middle of the night if you needed to use them.

We aren't boaters, but if you are this place does have a brand new and beautiful dock (actually, the nicest and newest part of the entire property) and I think also a boat lift if you wanted to bring your own boat and keep it there.

Overall, it was a fine time for our little weekend. I think if I was paying full on-season price for a full week I might have expected a bit more that I wouldn't find in this cottage but it fit the bill nicely for our stay.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review