reviews for: listing #55266 - Bodega Bay, California House rental

Luxury Golf Course Home With Spectacular Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Bodega Harbour
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $695 - $695 /nt
    $3,900 - $4,170 /wk

sort by:

A Role Model for All VRBO Participants

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

All owners of VRBO rental properties, take notice! We have rented many of your properties all over the country and Melony, the owner of this home should be your role model of what should become your property. We spent 4 nights with our two daughters and husbands to celebrate a fortieth birthday and it couldn't have been nicer! This home has so much attention to the details that make a vacation truly a vacation! The kitchen is equipped to the max, complete with LeCreuset cookware, every spice you can imagine, a full pantry and top of the line appliances (large and small) It sits right on the golf course with spectacular views of the ocean from every angle. The beds are comfy and clean, the laundry is well supplied and working well, and the technology is state of the art and in great repair. Her specific directions on how to work it all were very much appreciated and not found in many places. Bodega Bay is a welcome retreat after a day of running around the wine country which is easily accessible from there and a gorgeous drive. Pick up some groceries on the way home, kick back and enjoy the cool ocean breezes and this beautiful home that is meticulously maintained and cared for. Nothing to do but enjoy and toast the owner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 17

 

Superb property!

Review submitted: December 7, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Our family celebrated a belated Thanksgiving at the Royal Pacific. We stayed close to home for most of our visit and found the property to be just as luxurious and beautiful as it appears to be in the pictures. The house is beautifully-appointed (the owners have made a number of special touches throughout the home) and the floors and counters sparkled. The kitchen really is a dream and had everything we needed to prepare our Thanksgiving Day feast. The owners were very thoughtful and accomodating. The weather was great and the views were terrific. In short, we had the perfect family trip and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 17

 

Phenomenal home and location!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

All the photos truly show this lovely home. Our group of 7 enjoyed the movie room, the hot tub and walking to the beautiful beach. We even saw deer on the beach which was quite cool. Bodega Bay is a fun place, close to wine tasting, zip lining and don't miss Bodega Head or having a dinner at Rivers Edge up the scenic road. If we get back to the area, this is definitely the place I would stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing view, amazing home, amazing customer service

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

Melony's home is gorgeous! Every person who entered the home was ooing and ahhing about the view that was presented to them. It was so easy to book with her; she is super responsive via email and phone. She called to see if we had any questions after we checked in and made sure to answer all of them. The TV was the most difficult appliance to use, but Melony was able to guide us through. Checking in was easy; the check-in property is a couple minute drive from the home and wasn't too difficult to find once I knew the adjacent stores.

The kitchen was stocked with every cooking/eating utensils, plates, pots/pans, etc. The only thing I was unable to find was an egg slicer, but that was no biggie. She also has tons of seasoning, and leftover things in the pantry (first aid kit is also in the pantry). I also saw many games in the living room. Even with 2 extra pullout beds, there were plenty of space for everyone to sleep. The master bedroom has a huge walk-in closet, two sinks, two shower heads and a tub! The comforters were really comfortable to sleep on. One of the rooms even has extra pillows and blankets in the cubby in case anyone needed them. NOTE: The garage can only fit one car since the pool table is also in there.

We took a day out and spent it hiking Pinnacle Gulch, wandering around Doran Beach. If you're too lazy to hike starting from the head of the trail, Melony has another route for you!

I will definitely book her home again and recommend this home to everyone I know!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family of four generations

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

the property was so well stocked with extras (except no shampoo, lotion) but everything else, especially for the kitchen. Clean, presents well. best maintained rental I have ever experienced. The only thing we were disappointed in there were too many steps in the living areas for the very elderly. owner was terrific. we would definitely go back--perfect property for a group.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Views In Spacious Surroundings

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

Had a fun family gathering in this home. Owner is conscientious and responsible. She called when we arrived to make sure everything was okay. Everything very clean and well maintained with helpful information about the house. Kitchen was state of the art and well equipped. Upstairs bedrooms and bathrooms are very nice and spacious. Downstairs bedrooms are a bit small but comfortable and cozy with sliding glass doors to downstairs patio area. Dehumidifier in the laundry room was a bit noisy. The dehumidifier upstairs was quiet. The upstairs great room is spacious and light-filled with spectacular views, plenty of room for eating, gathering, playing games, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: It pains me to receive our first 4 star review in 8 years. We strive really hard for excellence. I am sorry if you did not feel that your stay was worth 5 stars. I wish we would have known if there was something that we could have done to increase your enjoyment of your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An outstanding location for a family outing!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

A great weekend for our family in a fabulous home. We've rented many homes for family outings over the years and this is certainly one of the most spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Outstanding views and close proximity to the Golf course, beach and tide pools. Adults and youngsters all enjoyed their stay. Definitely on the top of our list when we plan another Bodega Bay outing. Owners are especially helpful and easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

My family enjoyed Easter at this fabulous house. Weather was perfect and the views were spectacular. Home is well equipped. The kitchen is a cooks dream. Every amenity possible.
This was a memorable Easter for us and hope we can return again soon

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another terrific stay a the Royal Pacific!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

We just returned home from our second stay at the Royal Pacific (we were last there in August 2013 with our elderly mothers--aged 87 and 92--they had a blast exploring the vastness of the house!) and we were not disappointed. Over the past 30+ years we have rented property once or twice a year in this Bodega Bay neighborhood, and have stayed in some pretty nice houses, but Pacific Royal is becoming our new favorite. As others have mentioned, the ammenties (cookware, furnishings, home theatre room) are superb and the views wonderful. The home is very clean and beautifully maintained--the photos of the home do not lie! It is lovely. The owner, Melony, is fantastic to work with. For both stays she telephoned upon our arrival to check to see if everything was okay. Our only regret is that our past week there went by way too fast. We look forward to returning again later this year and plan to book for 2 weeks next time! It is a fantastic, relaxing home.

Recommendations: go to all of the beaches (don't miss Pinnacle Gulch), get clam chowder at Spud Point, make reservations for dinner at Terrapin Creek ($ you won't regret), bring a kite to fly at Doran Beach (or buy one at the Kite Shop). Go see the Bell Tower behind the Community Center in Bodega Bay and St. Teresa's Church in the town of Bodega. Drive south on Hwy 1 and spend the afternoon in Point Reyes Station and walk the 300 steps down (and back up!) to the lighthouse (closed on Tuesday).

Or, just enjoy this marvelous house! You will have no regrets!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Completely Satisfied

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Everything lived up to our expectations. We really enjoyed our time here. The view from the house is truly incredible. Our teenage and adult boys never left the "man cave" downstairs. We would stay there again if in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mom's 60th Birthday Party

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We were in Awe when we entered the home. Everywhere you look there was a personal touch to detail. This home was designed and decorated very meticulously. Even though it was so nice, we still felt welcomed and like we were at "Home". The House was stocked with everything we needed. The photos from the website were spot on. My 7 year old son wants to spend his birthday there too! Now, that is saying something about this home if a seven year old wants to return for his big day. Melony many thanks for the unforgettable vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This year our entire family decided to find a home away from home for the holidays. There were 10 of us (9 adults and 1 child) and this home was incredibly spacious and GORGEOUS!! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay! The golf course/ ocean view was spectacular to see every morning and the sunset was so inviting, we never wanted to leave the home. The house was stocked with everything imaginable. My sister who loves to cook, was in love with the kitchen which not only had everything imaginable, it was the finest gourmet cookware! Her favorite room in the house was the kitchen.
The family room and dining room kitchen were favorites to sit and stare out into the ocean to watch the sunrise and sunset. We had golfers in our party so were able to get two convenient tee times. The views were absolutely spectacular! After a long hard day of golfing, some of us found ourselves in the jacuzzi staring up at the stars! In the evening, the family gathered downstairs to watch an abundance of DVDs in the amazing surround sound home theater! There were plenty of theater reclining seats and sofa bed to relax and enjoy! All of the amenities were of the finest quality! They provided thick, thirsty towels and the bedding was so soft!! In some ways, more luxurious than a hotel!!We agreed we would like to make this a yearly event if possible. Really, a fabulous place to escape but not be far from home! There was a walking trail steps from the home where you could take that led to the beach. Other activities we were interested in but just didn't plan for were kayaking, horseback riding on the beach, and fishing (but we'll plan them for next time)! Melony was so very helpful and accommodating. Wonderful to work with! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top Notch

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Royal Pacific is indeed as the name describes, Royal! Everything you could possibly need from culinary utensils, luxurious accommodations to breath taking views. Eight of my best girl friends from all around the globe met up to celebrate a 60th birthday visiting Sonoma wineries and the Fairmont Willow Stream Spa. A weekend to remember in a fabulous location enjoying lasting friendships.
Thanks Melony for opening up your beautiful home for all to enjoy!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

don't understand the question

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

our group of 8 had a wonderful time here, and totally enjoyed our week here. The entertainment room was a bonus we had not anticipated; we took advantage of it 3 evenings. Even though the 2 lower level bedrooms were small (one lacked any storage space), the beds were comfortable. The directions to pick up the keys only gave a street address, which was difficult to find at the location. The name of the rental management company would have been helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

When we arrived for our week of golf and relaxation we were pleasantly surprised. This home was clean and COMPLETELY stocked with everything we would have needed. The home lacked nothing. We had an excellent time and would definitely rent this Luxury Home again. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic home

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

A fantastic home in great condition. Owner was a pleasure to work with. An amazingly outfitted kitchen -- unlike most rental homes, there were abundant high-quality items to work with in the kitchen. Would highly recommend staying here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GLT Retreat

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Our stay at this luxurious home was much more than we anticipated. The home is in pristine condition and has an excellent design which provided eleven women comfort and enjoyment. The property is well-equipped with everything anyone would need. The location and view is awesome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view with an amazing 360-degree view

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

My friends and I rent a house north of SF at least once a year and this house was, by far, the BEST house we have every stayed at.

Not only was the house fully equipped with every type of pot, pan and kitchen utensil that exists, but the furniture was beautiful, the views were amazing and the house set-up was PERFECT for a large group of 12 people. The kitchen is huge and great when there are too many cooks in the kitchen, and is also right by the formal dining table, living room and small dining set.

The hot tub was perfect for an evening right before having s'mores by the fire pit, and the movie room was the cherry on top to watch the Giants beat the Tigers in the WORLD SERIES! =)

Overall, amazing experience before renting the house (the owner is very responsive) & a very memorably family friend reunion and the best rental house ever. If every rental house was like this one, the world would be a better place.

The master bedroom's bathroom (specifically the shower) is huge. They should have pics of it!

THANK YOU!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Recent visitor

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

Seven women, celebrating our 70th birthday year and over 60 years of friendship, enjoyed four nights at this stunning home. The house is gorgeous, the amenities spectacular - a perfect place to enjoy the quiet and beauty of the area. An excellent location from which to explore Armstrong Redwoods, Occidental, Point Reyes, the Bodega headlands and nearby restaurants, this home was a perfect place to relax amidst a very tasteful and immaculate setting. The owner was a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

1969 Sorority Reunion--10 good friends

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

It was a fabulous with spectatular views, It was descrbed perfect. The photos showed exactly how the
property was. It was well equiped and well maintained. And definitely clean. The owner returned my
initial phone call months prior and answered all my questions. I knew from the initial call it was the right
property.

The area was great with restarants, groceries and acctivities galore.

It really turned out to be a really good price.

WEATHER WAS THE WINNER.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic house

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Thank you for letting us stay at "Bodega Bay Royal pacific". Its a fantastic home with attention to small details.. We absolutely loved it..

We hardly went outside.. Everyone was just enjoying the house and the amenities.. It was truly very relaxing weekend for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

50th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Had the most wonderful time on my birthday getaway with friends. Our accomodations at Melony's place was fantastic. It was better than the pictures or written description of the property. It was clean, neat, and provided everything that we needed. Melony provided assistance on the audio equiptment when we called, which was very helpful. She also called when we got to the place to make sure everything was okay! I would definately recommend this place to my friends and family and am thinking about another trip there within the year. We went to Santa Rosa wineries, a local restuarant and the schoolhouse and church where "The Birds" was filmed. Weather was fabulous and we had an early morning walk in the neighborhood. Views were breathtaking and my guest thought the trip was a celebration for them. We did not use the hot tub, firepit or pool table because we were busy enjoying the rest of the tranquil home. Thank you Melony for suppling such a beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Beautiful home, tons of space and amenities. Perfect for our family getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Beautiful view and Wonderful ammenities

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

This home has any ammenity any family could need to make this a retreat from the world! Plenty of linens, bedding, Kitchen fully stocked with anything anyone could need for cooking and serving fabulous meals for family and friends. Plenty of room for people to spread out and have space.
Beautiful views of ocean and golf course with many places nearby to access ocean, beach comb and take walks. Large Refrigerator, double ovens, large stove, washer and dryer, home away from home has never been so great!

Home is not close to grocery store (two very small stores in Bodega Bay but mostly for things you forgot and expensive) Make sure to shop before reaching this home....there is plenty of space to hold whatever you bring. Home has a VERY large pantry that is very accomodating. We packed it with all the fixings of Thanksgiving and more and still had room for much more. Hardwood floors in dining areas and kitchen with two dining tables that each seat eight. There are many games, and theatre room downstairs is awesome.
Home is very clean and was every bit what it was represented in the pictures, just beautiful. We would definately recommend this property to anyone interested in an upscale home well worth the price. Picking up keys very accessible and owner very welcoming making sure home was in good order when we arrived and asked if we needed anything.

We have rented many homes in the past and this is by far one of the best!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fabulous Property

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This house is absolutely amazing. I couldn't find a negative thing about it if I tried. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything and anything you might need to cook a perfect mel, with plenty of room for all the helping hands getting it done. There is a huge pantry to store all your dry groceries and the refridgerator is large as well. If you run out of room there is another refridgerator in the garage.

Everything in the house is in excellent condition, you can tell the owners take care of their home. In fact after we got the keys, Melony called to make sure we were in okay and to let us know if we needed antyhing to be sure to call. The views are spectacular and you have a great view of the sunset from teh kitchen or the living room. I absolutely loved all the windows and how open the house is.

The theatre room is roomy enough for everyone and they have a great selection of movies to choose from. The beds are very comfortable, which is a huge plus for me because I usually don't sleep well away from home, I slept great here.

I can't wait to come here again. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Getaway Location

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Home is lovely, amenities are amazing, view is inspiring. Perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Chicago

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

In early August my family stayed at Royal Pacific for our family reunion. I have been trying since then to write a review, but feel words are inadequate. The experience was superior. I felt at home here. Not only is it at least, as beautiful as the on line photos,it was also extremely comfortable and entertaining. The large, open floor plan made it possible to connect the groups visually, giving a sense being together instead of being isolated in separate spaces. The openness also made it possible for those preparing meals to be included in conversation.
It is obvious to me that the owner is invested in making sure that those who stay here have the best possible experience. When we arrived she called to check that everything was fine and to give us her phone number, in case we needed anything. There were multiple binders provided to access information from appliance manuals to local attractions. We had everything we could need.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Place for our Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We had a big birthday celebration and family reunion in this beautiful house, and the one next door, which we were able to rent with Melony's assistance. We were all impressed with the spotless house, opulent furnishings, fantastic kitchen,handy laundry room and elegant linens, as well as the spacious house and many custom architectural features. This combined with the gorgeous location, easy beach access, golf course and beautiful view made it a celebration to remember. Nobody wanted to go back to the real world!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful place to begin the New Year

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Our group of friends has been getting away over the New Year for 14 years. This was the first time we were in Bodega Bay . This property is definitely tops!! It really is as great as the pictures online. Being winter at the northern CA coast there were rainy days but the media room made it much better. The process for rental was very smooth. We would do it again! The kitchen is very well equiped top of the line. The best restaurant we dined at was Terrapin Creek!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Biking Bodega and Sonoma County

Review submitted: October 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

This was a wonderful well maintained home with a gourmet kitchen. Our cycling group was very impressed with the cycling routes in the area and the challenging terrain. This was a great base for daily riding and other activities in the area. This home was a truly relaxing environment to return to each day with the magnificent ocean views and entertainment center. Our group went kayaking, beach-combing and enjoyed the local restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

The property is amazing - modern, clean, fully stocked, beautiful scenery, spacious. Melony, the owner of the house, helped setup a private chef who cooked some of the best food we've ever eaten. A phenomenal getaway home. I will definitely be coming back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

My entire family spent 3 wonderful days at this amazing home. It is gorgeously decorated inside and has naturally beautiful views of the ocean and golf course outside. Great living room, unbelievable kitchen with every pot, pan and appliance you would ever want and a huge island where everyone can congregate. The theater room was awesome for the teenagers... and the adults! Lovely, large bedrooms. Great hot tub, great firepit, great local beach... great vacation house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Great Homw

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Eight of us came from around the country for a three day get-together. I found the home at this website and hoped it was as good as it looked. It was all I hoped for. Spacious and perfectly maintained in a beautiful location, it was so comfortable we felt we were in our own homes. All of us thank the owner for helping to create a memorable occasion.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Eight friends - four couples - spent a memorable weekend at this home. The first day, we spent half the day ohhh'ing and ahhh'ing at the living room, kitchen and bedrooms. Once we settled in, we did not want to leave. It was a memorable time, in a home it is obviously well cared for by the owners. We spent some time walking to the beach area, but most of the weekend was spent inside - worth fully appreciating the place. I have nothing but praise for the home, the way the owner responded to our questions and facilitated the paperwork and even called us after we arrived to see all was well.
Nunu

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay in a Beautiful Luxury Home

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in this beautiful home. The gourmet kitchen was a dream to cook in and the large windows over looking the golf course provided gorgeous views and some very entertaining moments watching golfers on the hole right outside! The bedrooms more than comfortably accommodated everyone and the home media theater room is beyond compare. There were also great dining options (Terrapin Creek Cafe was a wonderful choice for dinner one night) and lots of activities to choose from all within a lovely 1 hour drive from the house. We hope to be back very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bunko Trip

Review submitted: September 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 12, 2008

We were ten girls with ten different tastes, and we all loved this home! Beautiful veiws and a great location. If you like the pics on the web then you will really love this house as it is soooo much better in person. Very clean, comfortableand and very well apointed. Kitchen is great if you like to cook. We are looking forward to going back. The owner is great to deal with and goes the extra mile to make your stay in her home a truly wounderful experience.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed by all !!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

A group of 8 of us spent a week at this home in August, 2008. The home was everything that we expected and more. It is an absolutely beautiful home, with all amenities that we could hope for, and plenty of space for all. Everything was perfectly clean upon our arrival, which is really important for us.
Two afternoons were spent golfing or renting a cart to spectate with the friends who were golfing. The course is awesome.
We rented a limo for a day and toured some Sonoma wineries. The weather was beautiful, and we had a blast. Most of the group also took a deep sea fishing tour, and caught many delicious rock cod. We bbq'd the fish at the house and had fish tacos for dinner.
Make good use of the theatre room on foggy days, and be sure to watch "The Birds". That was one of our favorite movie activites because of all of the references to Bodega Bay. We also went into town to see the infamous schoolhouse from the movie in person.
You will have a great time in this magnificent home in a beautiful area!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this bodega Bay home. The house is spectacular, allowing every comfort imaginable. The kitchen is well equipped, the living space was wonderful, and the sleeping accommodations were very comfortable.

The outdoor grill was great. The weather turned out to be to cold and windy to enjoy gathering around the grill, but the cooking was easy.

We enjoyed the hot tub with quick sprints back to the house.

We enjoyed our walks on the beach and adventures that were short rides from the house.

The only criticism I could offer was that the furnishings were not ideal for the young children in our group. We needed to guard the little ones on the "high chairs" around the breakfast table and cover the dining room chairs with towels to protect the lovely upholstery. These factors would be a plus for adults and older children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation is Easy in this Lovely Home

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: March 22, 2008

Our group of 12 had a fantastic time in this house. The upstairs living space is great for a large group -- two separate seatings for 8 in addition to bar stools in the kitchen made plenty of room for food, puzzles, games, chatting. The furnishings are very comfortable and lovely. Kids loved the home theatre and walks to the tidepools and beach. We roasted s'mores on the outdoor firepit and enjoyed out stay immensely. Owners are very helpful and the management office is friendly as well. We will definitely be back for a great rain or shine vacation/get-together.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We were overall impressed with the details you put into the house, the view was amazing and it's literally a ten minutes walk to the beach. The kids especially enjoyed the entertainment room with the variety of movies and your gourmet kitchen is unbelievable. We look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fabulous home

Review submitted: March 27, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

The home is beautiful, with lots of extra amenities to make your visit unique, such as the large, gourmet kitchen, media room, sound system, firepit, and outdoor spa. The beds were very comfortable, which can be a rare find when you are away from home. We were celebrating a birthday, and the atmosphere made for a joyful celebration. We will definitely recommend this house to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fabulous!!!

Review submitted: November 15, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

This house had everything you could possible want, we did not want to leave. The kids really enjoyed the movie room, and we enjoyed the great kitchen and relaxing master bedroom. The kitchen comes with every utensil you need and it is wonderful to cook in. I was very greatful that house came with plenty of games and movies since I forgot to pack them. The weather that weekend was perfect high 70's and no fog. Wow what more can I say except that we will defintley be back!!!! Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 14

 

Beautiful and Clean

Review submitted: September 1, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We were three familes with a total of 5 kids and we were more than comfortable with lots of space. We didn't even need to use the pull out bed in the living room. The home is so clean that the kids just camped out on the theatre room floor sometimes. This home was built with the highest quality products. The design and decorating elements were more beautiful than the finest hotel. These owners spared no expense. Everything you could need was there for cooking, baking, relaxing and just living. Hard wood floors, gorgeous glass tiles, windows, windows and more windows to take full advantage of the views. The theater room was the best idea I've ever seen in a rental. This huge room has theatre viewing chairs with a large open area in front and a wall mounted viewing screen and lots of movies to choose from. It was fun watching the movie 'The Birds' since it was filmed in the area (which later we visited). This room proved to be the room the kids hung out in every day and night - it was invaluable. The two master suites were highly appointed and first class. The negatives about this rental are few. The garage/game room had a terrible smell which we later were told came from low propane. It was so bad that the kids couldn't play in there. There was also a boat stored in it which took up half the space and the ping pong table promised in the listing was gone. Because this is such a remote area and a bit of a hike to the beach, we were counting on another room for the kids to hang out in, but couldn't use this one. If you're looking for a place to go and just stay, this is the house for you. It is beautiful enough that you just want to stay home. If you need more things to do, it's a bit too remote and everything is at least a 30 minute winding road drive away. There really aren't nice restaurants or nice stores in town, so be prepared to get all your groceries in Petaluma before heading to the house. We were very glad we loaded up on food at Costco in Novato before going to the house. The small stores they do have are limited. The home does come with lots of games and puzzles. We put all the puzzles together during our stay and the kids played the games. That was a pleasant surprise inclusion - just like home. When we arrived, the grill that we were anxious to use was broken. Unfortunately we didn't get much of a chance to use it because it took 4 days to get it fixed. Would any of these things stop us from going there again? No way. If we wanted another trip to just hang out and relax, this would be the house we'd rent. Thanksgiving or any holiday in the house with it's warm living room fireplace would be beautiful!

Helpful votes: 6 / 17

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

10 of my closest girlfriends and I stayed at the house for a week - coming from all over the country. We arrived and were amazed by the place. It certainly lived up to - and exceeded - the expectations set by the pictures on the site. The bedrooms and bathrooms are phenomenal, the movie room was so helpful on the foggy days, and the hot tub was a blast. Though there is nothing nearby, we loved the relative proximity to Napa Valley and San Francisco. The kitchen and great room are awesome and perfect for a large group to get together and cook and hang out. The view is beautiful and the house had everything we could have thought of - a closet with some food basics, books, videos, games, blankets, flashlights, etc. Thank you for a memorable experience! We'd love to come back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

It was a pleasure to be a guest at P.J's Birthday week-end getaway. Your home is absolutely FABULOUS and we did not want to leave. The design and decor is just beautiful, and we all found it to be so comfortable... great friends, lovely home and a view overlooking the ocean what more could you want.
Mandy Bowers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Thank you so very much Melony for providing me with years of wonderful memories from my birthday celebration! Your beautiful home surpassed my wildest expectations! The views were made for beautiful evenings sitting by the fireplace in the Master bedroom...the golf course surprised me with 'waves' and 'hellos' from the happy golfers driving by in their carts. I didn't want to leave! (smile) We look forward to many more fantastic celebrations in your gorgeous home at Bodega Bay!

PJ Shelton
Blackhawk, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 3, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We celebrated my parents 50th Wedding Aniversary at this beautiful home. My parents loved the view and Master Bedroom. My kids loved the hot tub, beach and tide pools. My husband and I loved the gourmet kitchen for making family meals. My brothers loved the relaxing feeling of the home. Looking forward to returning for another celebration of life.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Awesome house!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This house was amazing.....we will definitely be back. Ocean is within walking distance. First time to Bedega and this house couldn't of been better.
Kitchen, bedrooms, home theatre rooms were better than we expected. Nothing to complain about.
Thanks for a fabulous time!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We have stayed here twice now. I love this house. It is comfortable in every way. The kitchen is amazing, and the bathrooms are beautiful. I loved the movie theatre, because I never go to the movies. It easily slept my huge family and kiddos. The children especially loved the movie room and ping pong table. The beach trail is right down the road. Next time we come we will bring marshmellows for the outdoor fire pit. Thanks, can't wait to come again! Michelle Vogt

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 10, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

An absolutely terrific home that accomodated three families with ease. It was more than we expected and one of the best rentals we have used in the Bodega area.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2006   Date of arrival: May 7, 2006

It was a a delight to stay in such a lovely home! No one wants to leave. It is so fun to cook in your kitchen-so relaxing to sit in your jacuzzi, so awe-inspiring to sit and enjoy your views-so snuggly to sleep in the beds-so entertaining to recline in your theatre. Thank you for letting us stay in the "Oohh & Aahh house!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2006   Date of arrival: April 23, 2006

This has to be the nicest home we've had the pleasure of staying in and we've been renting around the golf course for 17 years! The kitchen is absoolutely fantastic. Anything we needed you had... and fine cookware, utensils, everything. The decor was fab, we see you're a big fan of Restoration Hardware's Silver Sage, as we are. Beautifully decorated throughout! The theatre room was a smashing hit with everyone. The spa-rejuvenating after our trek down to the beach and back. The "million" dollar views from the breakfast nook overlooking the 7th pin was just superb! We relaxed and enjoyed the coffee you provided! Just wonderful. We're back in six weeks with the Brewster's again. What a ROYAL TREAT! Thanks for making it available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review