reviews for: listing #55295 - Bass Harbor, Maine House rental

Tranquil 1BR Oceanfront Apartment on Mount Desert Island
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bass Harbor
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

A great place to stay for peace,quiet beautiful harbor views and a secluded rocky beach. So relaxing! A short drive to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor, but a quiet restful place to return to at the end of the day. Beautiful sunsets and great lobster dining nearby.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

What a GREAT find!

Review submitted: July 30, 2014   Date of arrival: July 21, 2014

Fantastic views! Sunset over the water, the islands in the distance, pine trees framing the picture perfectly. Peace and quiet, except for the gentle sound of bell buoys, lobster boats, birds, and the water lapping at the shore. The hosts are incredible,they def. go above and beyond. You can tell instantly that they went out of their way to make guests extra comfortable, the apt is impeccably clean, stocked by them with things you don't usually find in a Vacation rental, and tastefully decorated. There is a huge picture window, places to lounge around on , hammock, chairs at the shore, and couldn't be any closer to the lighthouse. The hosts were intuitive of our needs, friendly, but not intrusive, they honor your privacy. I am definitely coming here when we return to Acadia, only hope that too many people don't read my review and I can't get availability here! But I just had to write a good review, because these hosts absolutely deserve it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place on the quiet side of the island

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Better than expect place, very clean. This rental has fantastic views, with unlimited peace and quiet. We loved the views, the sounds of the harbor and the close proximity to all that MDI has to offer. Our hosts were absolutely the best. We were offered bikes, but we brought our own, the deck was not attached to the apartment, but that was no big deal. We cant wait to return. Took our bag chairs down to the shore every evening to watch the sun set, it was wonderful. Thanks Dianne and Andy, we enjoyed the stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Location and Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This was the perfect location to get away from the crowds and enjoy a quiet week in beautiful Bass Harbor. Diane and Andrew were inviting and welcoming with great information and help. We were able to enjoy the quiet and beautiful sunsets and hear the ocean waves roll in at night. I would definitely recommend this retreat to anyone looking to stay away from the crowds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Choice

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

This secluded apartment is exactly as advertised and depicted: scenic views, (including sunsets), quiet, clean and comfortable; a beautifully maintained, multi-acre property with access to the oceanfront. This rental is a perfect choice for a couple looking to experience all that Mount Desert Island has to offer and still have a "home" to return to at the end of the day. The owners were extremely helpful prior to our arrival and could not have been more accommodating during our visit. 10 minute drive to Southwest Harbor for bike rentals, kayak rentals, the Cranberry Isle ferry and a variety of shops and restaurants. Good hiking trails within the immediate area with more adventuresome trails only a short drive to the Beach Mountain and Echo Lake areas. We made multiple trips to Bar Harbor and other parts of the island and never found the Bass Harbor location to be a problem. We spent an active week on the island, but left with more to see and do. We hope to return to MDI and the apartment at Harbor Reach Farm at some time in the future. In the meantime, we are spreading the word with our friends.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely Experience---total rest and relaxation!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Harbor Reach Farm and would heartily recommend it. We found total rest and relaxation. The house is right on the water, close enough to Bass Harbor to walk to restaurants (we are walkers, though), next to the lighthouse, near a wonderful boat trip/wildlife trip to Frenchboro, and feels private and secluded. Great place for two people---cozy and comfortable with nice details and decor. We saw deer on the property every single day, and enjoyed the swarms of butterflies on the back lawn. Dianne is a wonderful hostess---very friendly and knowledgeable about just about anything in the area, and was totally responsive and helpful. We also enjoyed her garden (as did the deer). We didn't try out the bicycles, but everything else in the listing was accurate. The property was clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed walking on the beach, walking to the lighthouse, sitting by the water. It's very quiet, but close to many activities and restaurants, including three of our favorite restaurants on Mt Desert Island. We loved being on the "quiet side", getting a chance to see parts of Acadia that are not the main drag. Bar Harbor is close, so we spent a day there as well, but were happy to escape the hubbub. We recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet and secluded spot on Mt. Desert, and hope to return next time we go to Mt. Desert Island!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Harbor Reach Farm. Being right on the harbor was wonderful and we enjoyed sitting on the deck, walking the beach, and sitting by the water. Every night we fell asleep to the sounds of the waves on the beach. The sunsets were beautiful! The location really is on the "quiet side" of the island, yet close to many restaurants, shopping and activities. Andrew and Dianne are so helpful in suggestions for activities to pertain to our interests. They are both so friendly and nice!! The apartment is very cozy, clean and decorated very tastefully; There was plenty of room for the two of us. We will definitely contact Andrew and Dianne if we are lucky enough to make our way to Maine again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Summer 11 @ Bass Harbor

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

My husband and I had a great week in Maine. The apt was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for both relaxing days and all the activities that the area offers. Diane was a very welcoming host and offered lots of information on 'things to do' and 'places to go'. I have two caveats. First, the two bikes advertised as provided were not available. They had not been maintained. Second, the deck shown in photos is not attached to the apartment. Rather it is attached to the main house and can only be accessed from the garden. If you want a private deck space, this might not suit you. Overall a really nice place to stay and certainly a fantastic location.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Just the right place!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We felt so lucky to find #85130 when we were searching for a Mt. Desert Island vacation. This property was everything that it promised to be... and more. We enjoyed something new every day... i.e. a doe and her fawn, a soaring eagle, lobstermen catching our dinner, lazily watching the sailboats while soaking up some rays, gorgeous sunsets, a brisk walk to the lighthouse and a symphony played out by the bouy bells. And then we got really wild and crazy and went to Bar Harbor where we shopped and took the free bus and enjoyed many stops in ANP. One day of that was enough. After all we only had one week on the "quiet side". This quaint place for 2 can be as much or as little as you want it to be and your hosts, Dianne and Andrew, will help in any way to make your stay perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful unforgettable views from an immaculate tastefully decorated apartment

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

This apartment is simply located on a beautiful, quiet, peaceful property! We enjoyed breathtaking views and listening to the calming sounds of the water, bell buoy, and lobster boats while sitting by the beach. The apartment couldn't have been cleaner and was tastefully decorated. It is obvious that this is a well taken care of home and apartment. Dianne was very helpful and friendly in making suggestions and giving advice. It was convenient having a garage and use of a washer and dryer. I would highly recommend Harbor Reach Apartment and we will definitely return. This was one of the most memorable vacations we've had. Maine is such a beautiful place and Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have the most beautiful and unforgettable scenery!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Surprisingly Convenient

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

In addition to its beautiful setting, the apartment is convenient in many ways. The Bass Harbor Lighthouse and the (free) Mt. Desert Island bus service are both within walking distance. A number of restaurants, convenience stores, and walking trails are a short drive away. There is a library in Southwest Harbor which has computers with internet access available. We especially enjoyed the Seal Cove Auto Museum and Island Excursion, both of which were a relatively short distance from the apartment. The apartment was comfortable and the ocean views were breathtaking. Diane was very helpful and gave us some great recommendations for places to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

It doesn't get better than this!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

An absolutely wonderful vacation spot! The apt is better than described, the grounds are secluded, peaceful, beautiful. If you never left the grounds you would have a fantastic time, but Acadia Park is all around you. Dianne and Andrew are very gracious hosts who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Bass Harbor and Southwest Harbor are close by, both quiet fishing villages with great eating spots and opportunities for boating, kayaking, and more. Even got to see lobster races on July 3 at the Seafood Festival! Best vacation ever! Hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely relaxing holiday in bass harbor

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Simple the best location, right on the water. Beautiful views of bass harbor and islands. Your hosts could not of been any nicer or helpful. Plently of wonderful places to dine, some lovely walks close by. Diffinetly the quite side of the island which we perferred. Not a lot of shopping if thats what your into, but a half hour drive to bar harbor where all the tourists shops are. Our favorite activity; a byplane around the island and outer islands, well worth the cost.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Breathtaking Location

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Dianne and Andrew have created a beautiful apartment for a romantic getaway. The sunsets are breathtaking. There also is an array of wildlife, including birds, deer - even a tiny little fawn - that fly over or meander across the property. And every day you can watch local lobstermen piloting their boats in front of the house, stopping and checking their traps. We missed a seal that ventured close to shore our last day. It is the perfect spot to retreat to after a day in Acadia National Park or Bar Harbor. Andrew and Dianne are very good hosts and strive to ensure everyone has a good time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

W had the most enjoyable stay at Harbor Reach Farm. A very comfortable, well-appointed and immaculate apartment, a breath-taking view, a great location and very nice and helpful hosts. Bass Harbor is secluded enough for relaxation, yet central enough to allow easy access to all of the area's sights and locations. The McMullens are extremely gracious and knowledgeable hosts, and we found we had many things in common. Definitely a 10!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 5, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

First, let us say that if you like to be active during your vacation the Mount Desert Island is an excellent place to stay (hiking, biking, kayaking, tennis and eating lobster (not so active)). Second, both Andrew and Dianne are perfect hosts, helpfull, never in your way but very very nice (and some french speaking!). Their property is beautiful and the appartment they rent is perfect: very clean, confortable and with stunning sunsets. And for those who could worry about it, no problem with the deposit. Thanks again to both of Dianne and Andrew.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

This is as nice as it gets - probably the best vacation place we've stayed in anywhere. The apartment is gorgeous, the yard and beach are both huge, the McMullans are friendly and helpful. It's probably nicer than the pictures show. It's isolated - no neighbors, no surrounding development, just a private beach surrounded by forest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: July 13, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

The property was exactly as advertised and was clean, well-maintained, and fully equipped. The owners were very frienly and helpful and made excellent suggestions about what to see and do, and recommended several fine dining establishments. The area has numerous and varied activities that should appeal to all ages: hiking, whale-watching, shopping, half-day cruises, and a free bus system will take you just about anywhere you want to go. I would highly recommend this area, and specifically this property, to all travelers.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2007   Date of arrival: June 5, 2007

I also wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed staying at the apartment. It was really comfortable and suited us wonderfully. We did enjoy being on the "quiet" side of the island this time. On the last morning there were two young deer "cavorting" in your back garden.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 27, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We enjoyed our vacation so much. The apartment was spotless and we had everything we needed plus. It was so quiet and restfull. We would recommend any couple wanting to
"get away" to check this out. Thanks again for a lovely time. Phil and LeAnne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 28, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We had a wonderful vacation exploring Acadia National Park. The McMullan's home and rental apartment is extremely convenient to all of Mount Desert Island. In addition, we loved the views and sunsets (as promised). One of the best perks of this rental was having our very own tour consultant. We told Andrew our interests, and he suggested where to go and what to do in conjunction with those interests. It was a huge help and enabled us to spend our time enjoying ourselves rather than trying to take a crash course in what to do and what not to do with our time. Thanks for making an unforgetable vacation even better!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We would recommed this location highly for couples looking for a serene, quiet, private place to rest and vacation. Andy was a helpful and gracious host. We enjoyed the great sunset coast views, the comfortable apartment, the hammock on the water's edge, and the local lobsters!
Professor John and Mrs Jocelyn Anderson, Banbridge, Northern Ireland.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

THe apartment was immaculate and very private, well-situated and close to the water. Andrew was a most charming host who gave us great recommendations on what to see and do. Acadia was wonderful and this has been one of our favourite vacations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

We were greeted on our arrival by Andrew, Dianne and Jimmy and found them to be friendly and informative. Their tips on restaurants and activities was very helpful and geared to our interests. The apartment was immaculate and comfortable. We enjoyed the quiet while relaxing in the hammock and watching the boats on the water as well as deer, rabbits, dophins and an eagle. Hope to come back again soon. Thanks to the McMullans for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2004   Date of arrival: November 13, 2004

Thanks for a wonderful Maine vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2004   Date of arrival: November 13, 2004

Bea and I had a wonderful time. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 5, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Thank you for your hospitality and for a wonderful vacation we had here on Mount Desert Island. We found the apartment to be convenient, thoughtfully and tastefully arranged, and perfectly located right near the ocean close to all the places of Acadia Park and surroundings that we had planned to visit. The restful atmosphere, beautiful views, quietness refreshed us for the days ahead.
Sincerely,
Vladimir & Galina,
New Jersey
Sep 2004

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2004   Date of arrival: August 10, 2004

Thank you for the wonderful home away from home - we had a fantastic vacation

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2004   Date of arrival: July 29, 2004

Mom and I had a wonderful week at your home. You have done a fabulous job making a "home away from home" and being warm and welcoming. I can't think of a nicer place to stay
on the island. I will surely recommend you to family and friends. Please pencil Kevin (husband) and I in for October
2005 for fall foliage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2004   Date of arrival: July 29, 2004

Thanks for everything. Had a great vacation. Your place fit nicely for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 6, 2002   Date of arrival: September 6, 2002

Thanks so much for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review