reviews for: listing #55296 - Santa Monica, California House rental

Heavenly Home in Sophisticated "North-of-Montana" District
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $495 /nt
    $1,995 - $3,300 /wk
    $7,000 - $11,500 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful house in great neighborhood!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We rented this house for a family gathering place to attend my daughter's graduation from UCLA. It was perfect...beautiful and huge master suite (which we let our son and his wife have, since we don't need a tv in the bedroom), another great bedroom, a study that can be used as a bedroom, spacious living areas, and the best retro/classic bathroom I've ever seen. Also wonderful and private outdoor areas in both the front and back of the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As advertised!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

Thanks to the presence of an 11 month old, we spent a lot of time in this lovely home and all the reviews are spot on. The gardens are delightful, the bedrooms and common rooms comfortable and it was easy to cook. The ONLY drawback is that we arrived in 95 degree heat that was making national news and there is no a/c in the house. Didn't realize this and called the owner who assured us that running the many fans and opening the windows would "dramatically" improve our comfort. Eventually, this was true and all but our first day was quite comfortable. We wish we could import this house to the East Coast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and Relaxing

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Property was great for 5 guys in town for UCLA football game. Wanted to stay relatively close to the beach (19 short blocks away). Short 5 minute drive to Santa Monica shopping and restaurants. Five minute walk to Montana shopping district. Nice neighboirhood and quiet (except for weekday construction on house next door). Used all four beds and couch in tv room (which was very comfortable). Spent most of our time on front patio. . .secluded and very relaxing. Landscaping was beautiful. Wouldn't hesitate to rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The good life

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We rented this incredible property North of Montana and it exceeded our expectations. The neighborhood is gorgeous, one multi-million dollar home next to another with perfectly kept gardens and tranquil sunshine and quiet. Two blocks walking distance to the local grocer and five minutes walk to the best boutiques and restaurants in tawny Santa Monica. The house itself had incredibly comfortable beds and luxury bedding to rival the Ritz Carlton. It has been well appointed and decorated. The wi-fi worked perfectly as did the flat screen TVs and DVR/on demand ent systems. The bathrooms and kitchen have the 1950's tile charm and could use some maintenance of a cabinet latch or two (I added a new can opener to the bevy of kitchen utensils on hand) but the hot water and water pressure was terrific and 2012. The house has the most expensive state of the art washer and dryer I've ever seen. Buddhas in the backyard and flowers and plants so meticulously maintained that I fired my own gardener out of envy at the conclusion of our mini-break. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Just Excellent even for a local.

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Book this wonderful house for the 2011 Christams break and could not have been happier. We live in Sydney, Australia but visit LA often as my wife is a local Brentwood girl, thus we have family in the area. Everything about the house at was perfect. The location is ideal for the people who like to stroll to wonderfull cafe's, shops and parks in the area. We had some releatives visit who live locally and they where just so taken back by how the house had been presented. This house really provides a perfect setting to visit LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great week with my son's family

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

The house and yard were very comfortable and attractive. Located close enough to the beach for easy access and great ocean air.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

The Santa Monica house is a fantastic place to stay. When you walk inside you feel as if you are home. Every room is stylishly decorated. The electronics in every room work flawlessly. The front patio is as comfortable as the rear patio. Landscaping is beautiful. We BBQ'ed one evening and enjoyed the Penthouse and Dukes in Malibu.
Whole Foods is on Wilshire just a few blocks away. Third Street mall is a fun afternoon. UCLA is just a few minutes away if the 405 interchange lets you get through.
We highly recommend the Santa Monica house!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Superb House

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Nice, spacious, well-equipped place to stay with small or larger family for a day or a week. We would like to rent again if every in Santa Monica again. Close to everything. RENT IT!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent in every way

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

this could not have been better. Spotless, very comfortable, well equipped, gorgeous garden, location near to shops, restaurants and beach, but in peaceful, serene neighbourhood. The charming owner was immediately helpful with our queries.Truely, a home from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful Home and Yard

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We find this home very restful and relaxing.It is well furnished and comfortable.It is great to sit out and enjoy coffee in the morning.The location is very convenient for airport,shopping and restaurant.We are repeat visitors to this home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A lovely vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

Five of us enjoyed a family vacation at this attractive, well-located home in Santa Monica. We were able to walk to restaurants, coffee shops, a bakery, and the beach. The house lived up to our (high) expectations, and we appreciated the owner's immediate attention to replace a burned-out halogen bulb.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning Home Best location in LA Just Perfect !!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

Our family travelled from Sydney long flights and and 10 nights stay at 19th street in Santa Monica. WOW !!! what a place, the house was absolutely stunning the furnishing was modern and very comfortable, plenty of space and garden area for kids to play, also secure so children dont escape. The beds were the most comfortable we all have ever sleep in at a vacation home. We were well rested after staying at this beautiful home. The location is perfect, quiet yet so close to everything as well. The area is lovely and we felt right at home. The home was very clean and very practical, the home also had everything we needed for our stay. There are local shops close by and Santa Monica Pier was a great place to watch the sun go down. We travelled in and around LA the location worked well we missed alot of heavy traffic by staying at Santa Monica. We would highly recommend this beautiful home to anyone who is looking for excellent comfort & location, which the modern and practical. Have a wonderful stay if you choose to use this stunning home. Best wishes From Sydney Australia

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautiful home in Santa Monica with retro charm and modern amenities

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

I stayed her with two colleagues for a business trip in Santa Monica. The house was easy to find in the North of Montana neighborhood, easy driving distance to the beach and the freeway. The neighborhood is quiet and charming, on Saturday morning there were actually kids playing on the sidewalk, very cute. There is a very nice little patio surrounded by trees and bushes in the front yard. We sat out and had breakfast every morning, except for one day when it rained, we were there in January.

Inside the house there are well decorated large rooms with classic hacienda type original features and elegant furnishings. There were three of us and we each had our own room. There is a master, a second bedroom and a den with a pull-out sofa. To get to the second bathroom you must go through the den. The main bathroom attaches to the master. The kitchen has a retro stove top and oven. It also comes with a very nice dishwasher and top of the line washer and dryer. The bathrooms had their original tile work, but new sinks and mirrors mixed in. We were very pleased with our amenities, there were plenty of towels (even beach towels), linens and blankets. Thank you so much Elayne and Glenn!

It was a pleasurable trip even though we there on business!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place, great location, great owner

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

Walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Meticulously kept with a beautiful back yard - perfect for having a few folks over for a BBQ. The owner is great and very helpful. I'd rent this place again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

This is the first review I have ever written. Stayed with my family in late September 2010 in Heavenly Home. It was perfect.

Attractive house with quality furnishings and lovely original features. Clean and well-presented on arrival. Great BBQ and enclosed patio area in the front and back. Quiet and safe street with easy access to the coffee shops and restaurants on Montana.

Definite recommendation on the property and the management was attentive regarding the booking and check in procedures.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We absolutely loved the location, look and feel of this home both inside and out!The house has great ambience for a couple or couple with kids. Bonus backyard with lush landscaping, nicely sized outdoor paver patio w/chaise lounges- perfect for dinner at night or leisurely breakfast. House is decorated nicely-excellent beds and bedding along with a fully equipped kitchen for cooking if needed. House is meticulously maintained and in a fantastic "off Montana" neighborhood, perfect for walking, running, blading, etc! We will stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful North of Montana House

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

The house is a real gem. Came here with the family for our summer vacation and loved the convenient location - to shopping and the Santa Monica and Venice beaches. We lived in LA about 10 years ago and this was a neighborhood we used to dream about living in.

The house was extremely comfortable with many thoughtful design touches and we would definitely like to stay again the next time we're in town.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous House!!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

The picture of this house does not do it justice. An immaculate house, beautifully furnished, yet with old world charm. Beds and linens are top notch, apple computer, flat screen TV, Bosch washer/dryer, barbecue are all available. Hidden seating area (with umbrella) in front of house and backyard has new landscaping. A few minutes walk to Montana Ave with shops, bakeries, and restaurants. Approx a 15 min walk to ocean and 3rd St promenade. Upscale neighborhood - all single family homes and one can walk for miles to see the beautiful homes/neighborhoods of Santa Monica.

I will defintely stay again the next time in Santa Monica and I absolutely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House, Amazing Location

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

I rented this house for a weekend away in Southern California. I was impressed the moment I pulled into the drive. The house was impeccably maintained and amazingly comfortable. The central location served us well, with morning walks to Peet's for coffee, and short drives to Malibu, I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Santa Monica House

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

A beautiful house with everything you need to feel at home right from the minute you step foot inside. You are tucked away in a quiet, welcoming neighborhood, but close to lots of shopping and dining spots on Montana, the hustle and bustle of Main St and Wilshire Blvd are a few blocks away, and the beach is about 1/2 mile away. I would definitely return to this home on future trips.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

My family of three had a wonderful time
staying in this house for two weeks. The
house is beautiful -- stylish AND
comfortable, spacious rooms, charming
front patio. And, as others have
commented, the beds are extraordinarily
comfortable. We enjoyed walking to
Montana for breakfast and yoga; eating
meals in the dining room prepared with
fruits and vegetables we purchased at
the Wednesday/Saturday morning organic
farmers' market on Arizona Ave. in Santa
Monica; lounging in front of the large
HD TV to watch a movie at night. A
fabulous perch for an LA vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

My family of 5 stayed in the house for 3 nights in November. The house was just as advertised; very nice accommodations. The furnishings in the house make the place quite comfortable, including very comfortable beds. Also, the front patio is a very quaint and relaxing sitting area. The home was certainly big enough for my family, 3 kids and 2 adults. The location is outstanding as it is walking distance to the exclusive Montana Ave shops and restaurants.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

We had a most enjoyable 2 week stay at this house. It is conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood just a short walk from restaurants and shops - ideal for a morning stroll to have breakfast in nearby cafes.
The house is comfortable and clean and the beds are wonderfully comfortable.
We will certainly rent again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 30, 2009

Absolutely loved this home. It was ideal for us. We were three women returning to Santa Monica to attend a 40th high school reunion and were looking for a place akin to what we remembered from our years growing up in Santa Monica. This home was perfect-great location,very quiet neighborhood,and was fully equipped. The beds were very comfortable,including the sofa bed. Loved the charm of the home as it was well furnished,immaculately clean and had many original features intact. We would love to rent this home again for our 45th. We highly recommend this rental home and truly appreciate the care and effort the owner has put in to maintain this property

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

I stayed in this house for a week and greatly enjoyed it. It is comfortable and restful; very well appointed. I look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

We had a very good time at the location. The appartment is comfortable, large and nicely arranged. The BBQ is very convenient and the outside space in front of the house is pleasant.
The master bedroom bed is large and the bed is exceptional, something we really appreciate. There were also a lot of towels and furniture for the house.
The only improvment would be to include more tools in the kitchen, it is sometimes a bit limited but can be overcome (plate, knifes, wine glass...)

Owners response: We re-inventoried the kitchenware and replenished all lost or broken items to make sure that we have complete service for eight.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 28, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

Great house and location!
Everything was as advertised.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

We stayed at this house for one month.
It was quite comfortable for a family of
6. It is freshly painted and well
appointed with nice art to martini
glasses. The front garden was very
relaxing especially in the evening. It
is a great location with good
restaurants and shops within 2 blocks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review