reviews for: listing #55310 - Honeoye Lake, New York House rental

Honeoye Lake House - Perfect for the Whole Family!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $347 /nt
    $1,060 - $2,430 /wk

sort by:

Bev and Jay

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Our stay in the Honeoye Lake House was fantastic. The weather in upstate NY was the perfect accent to the wonderful use of this property. The website accurately depicted the essence of the house and location. We hosted a family reunion and made good use of all of the resources afforded to us at the house: huge gas grill, yard for kids and family, off-street parking, accommodations for family dining. David was very responsive if needed to address concerns or questions. I highly, highly recommend your consideration regarding this property. There is plenty to do in the area: wineries, restaurants, shopping boating, fishing, etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Made great use of the yard including the great campfire. The game room was also put to good use. David was very accommodating and I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Just got back from the fishing trip with 3 other guys and I have to say that this home is fantastic! A lot larger than I anticipated and like they say in the other comments this house has everything. Dave was more than accommodating and the communication was great. Thanks Dave for letting us stay in your wonderful home and we will definitely be back soon. Sincerely Scott

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We stayed at this property over the New Year holiday with another family for a total of 4 adults and 3 kids.Everything was great and the cottage was exactly as described plus more.We couldn't have asked for a better equipped rental.We loved the dining room for family meals and family games.It was so cozy with the woodstove burning and looking out over the snow covered yard towards the lake.
One afternoon it was so nice outside that while the kids played in the snow we actually lit a fire in the firepit by the lake.
Many games of pool were played in the games room.The TV,stereo,and WiFi were much appreciated.
David has thought of everything to make your stay very enjoyable and he couldn't have been more helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Helen. Thank you for the review. I rent properties from the web sites VRBO and Vacation Rentals when I travel with my family throughout the year. I strive to maintain this property well and stock it with amenities that will make your stay more enjoyable. I know what we like when we rent from others! I am glad you had a wonderful New Years! Best, David

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Time

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

While I grew up in Mendon, my family chose to rent this delightful home on Honeoye Lake for our latest trip back East. I was a bit worried that the house might be better suited for a summer vacation, but I was completely wrong. This house is so cozy and comfortable, it has everything to accomodate/entertain visitors from age 4-84. We could sit and chat in the family room while my kids played with their cousins in the game room. The house is well appointed with everything you might need. We even had bonfires out by the lake with the firewood provided. The four bedrooms are all very nice, and the kids loved the bunk beds. We did call the owner upon arrival looking for something, and he answered the phone promptly and told us exactly what we needed. He couldn't have been nicer! The views are stunning. We could not have asked for a better place to spend a few days back in upstate NY. I'm sure we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kuzins Weekend

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at how well maintained the place was. The furniture was good quality and the place was tastefully decorated. We had 11 cousins who shared the place for our annual get together. There was plenty of room for all. The weather was not the best at times, but we had a pool table and tv/dvd to keep us busy. The lake was beautiful and some used the paddle boat and kayaks. The rental process is very easy and David makes you feel very welcome. He doesn't mind the occasional call while you are there. We liked the place so much that we have already made our reservation for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

mini vacation

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We just returned from our mini vacation. Everything was just wonderful. House is very clean and has all supplies and equipment (especially kitchen). I can tell,that owner put a lot of thinking and details to make stay more enjoyable. It is a perfect place for going with kids: kayak, pedal bout and game room kept them occupied all the time. Even my baby had fun!!! We will be back again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

Our family enjoyed a long weekend in mid October. David promised all the comforts of home...and this home went well beyond his promise. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend with our 7 adult children. Location to nearby wineries was perfect. A A few hours into our drive home, following our departure from Honeoye Lake, my daughter-in-law realized she had left behind her engagement and wedding rings. We made a call to David and within a couple of days he was holding the rings and we were making arrangements for shipping them home. Absolutely wonderful!! We have found a new family getaway to visit again, and have already recommended this property to both family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Check In Procedures / Questions

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The check in procedures. Our family has been renting our lake house for over three years now. We have had many kind responses and repeat visitors over that time. Thank you!! We typically send house access instructions to you one week before you occupy the home. We have never missed sending out access instructions, key code information and check out procedures to any renter. The e-mail address that we use to send this information is the one you provided when you sent the request to us via the website. If you have changed your e-mail address in the interim or you use another personal, spousal, family or work email e-mail address more frequently, I have no record of other addresses. If you change your e-mail address after you book the property you will not receive the check-in instructions without notifying or calling me. Please bring me up-to-date with any e-mail changes so I can send the information to the correct address. In addition, the professional cleaning service may be present when you check in and they will be happy to review the lock box procedures and check in procedures with you. In addition, my neighbor at the lake on the left (facing the water) maintains our home. He is a full time resident and has the codes for check in and can fix minor problems if they arise. In addition, I will provide you with my sister’s contact information so you can have back up if you need to reach an owner of the property. Also, the WIFI internet access code is on a bulletin board in the Kitchen next to the refrigerator. As I mentioned in the narrative on the website, I travel for work often and I may not be accessible via cell phone at all times. However, I do my best to return calls on a timely basis. You will have multiple contacts to call should you need assistance. PLEASE CALL me a week or two before you arrive so I can address your questions and concerns. Thank you again to all of the 2011 renters! We have a beautiful lake home and I hope you consider renting from our family. Remember, repeat visitors will get a discount!! Best, David

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

We spent four days at the lake house and thoroughly enjoyed our retreat. It had plenty of room for relaxing as well as eating. It also had two great views of the lake from the back and side windows of the house. We are looking forward to coming back again next Fall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

excellent

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We had a wonderful time at your property. The temperatures were great with low humidity. Living in the south made this so much more delightful. Our family couldn't get over the amazing sunsets we saw as we were eating at the picnic table at the end of your long dock. The campfires were great next to the calm lake. Fishing was fantastic. The kids had such a fun time catching rock bass, sunfish, perch and I think a bass. They loved the water with it being so shallow along with mom. It gave us peace of mind. The girls loved the bunk beds.The paddleboat was so much fun as well. My husband and I also went into Naples for a wine tour and had great fun sampling all the different fingerlake wines. When it rained, we just went into the game room. That was great. Thank you for that room! Your home is decorated like a pretty log cabin. Your dining room was so beautiful for our family. The neighbors are a delight as well. We had our privacy so that was nice. The gardens are well maintained and so pretty. Thank you for the fresh flowers that we had when we arrived as well as the brochures you had for the area. Your home was clean and towels folded so pretty. Bedrooms all had a country theme. I can't believe how well equipped your kitchen was.It helped out a lot.Thank you to the Henion family and to David who helped us out so much. Your web information was truly honest and we appreciated that. Thank you for taking the time to answer our calls when we needed that extra information to your property. From our family to yours, we will see you again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House ... Some Frustrations

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

We recently spent 4 days at the Honeoye Lake House. Overall, our stay was very good. The house held five adults and 2 children comfortably. It is very well stocked, having nearly everything one would want or need for a short stay. The kitchen was well outfitted and had many unique utensils which we appreciated. TV reception was excellent as was the DVD player (especially for the two young children). The beds were comfortable and the deck was spacious and well used. It's probably time for a new gas grill, as the third burner was inoperable and the heat diffuser was spotty on the other two burners.
The main frustration is that David was nearly impossible to contact and didn't respond to two emails and one voice mail message during the week before we were scheduled to occupy the house. There would have been more voice mail messages but for the four days of our stay, his voice mail was full and we couldn't leave a message. We had two concerns. First, he never gave us the code for the key-box to enter the house. Thank goodness that the cleaning lady was there when I arrived or I'm not sure what I would have done. Additionally, there was not paperwork or information for the security code for the WiFi internet connection. Consequently, since we couldn't contact him, we spent four days without any internet connection which was, to say the least, frustrating.
Overall, the house was great ... the communication with and trying to connect with the owner was very disappointing.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeoye Lake House September 2011

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Thank you for the review. The property's water systems is lake supplied. Our system is well maintained and is filtered. The town of Honeoye does not provide a municipal water system for lake residents. Drinking water is supplied via water cooler and several five gallon refills are on hand for your use. Swimming off of the dock can generally be done from May until Mid-August. Some lake plant growth occurs close to shore in Mid August through the end of September. We do our best to maintain and cut the plant growth to maintain the water clarity. 2011 was a very hot summer and the seaweed grew very fast and caused some temporary algae to form close to lake shore depending on which way the lake was flowing via the wind. Any algae quickly disappears as the temperatures cool. Renters can easily swim in the middle of the lake off of a boat and do all types of water sports all season long. We also, supply two kayaks and paddle boats for your use. Power boat rentals are available at the marina. Also, there is a public beach at the north end of the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

Honeoye Lake House offered a great place for family reunion. Everything was as described, The home was clean and the supply of paper products, soaps, spices, towels, pillows, a spare tank of propane with a large grill, etc was well beyond what would be expected of a short term rental. The lack of drinking water at the faucet took a while to get used to but the available drinking water supplied worked fine as well as the bottled water we brought.
The availability of the dock and kayaks made accessibility to the water easy and we were able to bring our boat and tie up easily and friends who live on the lake were able to come down and visit also.The home can sleep 12 however, 2 are in bunk beds and 4 are in pull out sofas so keep that in mind. There is a large yard on the lake side which provides plenty of play area and an abundance of outdoor seating on the deck and at lake front, including picnic tables and fire-pit and even a supply of firewood. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay easy and enjoyable. The only drawback is the water quality for swimming. Late in the season, the lake is prone to algae blooms which occurred while we were there in Early Sept.making swimming impossible. We had access to boats so we were able to go the middle of the lake but otherwise you are out of luck or would need to go to the public beach assuming that is open.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the review. The property's water systems is lake supplied. Our system is well maintained and is filtered. The town of Honeoye does not provide a municipal water system for lake residents. Drinking water is supplied via water cooler and several five gallon refills are on hand for your use. Swimming off of the dock can generally be done from May until Mid-August. Some lake plant growth occurs close to shore in Mid August through the end of September. We do our best to maintain and cut the plant growth to maintain the water clarity. 2011 was a very hot summer and the seaweed grew very fast and caused some temporary algae to form close to lake shore depending on which way the lake was flowing via the wind. Any algae quickly disappears as the temperatures cool. Renters can easily swim in the middle of the lake off of a boat and do all types of water sports all season long. We also, supply two kayaks and paddle boats for your use. Power boat rentals are available at the marina. Also, there is a public beach at the north end of the lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Our family of 9 had a great time at your cottage house. We swam, kayaked, and fished in Honeyoye Lake; (our 8 year old granddaughter has become quite a proficient kayaker!); We enjoyed water gun fights and tag on the expansive lawn; we had campfires and made s’mores while watching the baby ducklings come right up on shore to join us; We played innumerable games (mostly the ones we brought along although the house does have some games available.) We visited Corning Glass center and toured the museums and made glass projects and watched the wonderful demonstrations. We hiked in Watkins Glen, Wesley Hills Woods (our favorite) and Cummins Nature Center. We tasted and purchased local wines. We made lots and lots of memories. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Pluses for the cottage include: a cupboard full of beach towels (wish we had known and we all wouldn’t have hauled ours from MI); lots of fans in every room (again – wish we had known to save us from hauling ours.) Nice waterfront, long dock and campfire on the beach. The paddle boat and kayak were lots of fun, too. There are lots of dishes, silverware, pots and pans, even a cake pan to make my daughter’s birthday cake. There was plenty of bottled water and easy to change. Appreciated the firewood, washer/dryer and lifejackets. The house was generally well stocked with most everything we needed.
Some frustrations: The huge table in the dining room was impossible to get around when we all had to eat in there due to poor weather. We loved that the table was large enough to seat us all but then with the big heavy chairs we couldn’t move! We could not find a railing for the top of the bunk bed so we didn’t feel safe putting a kid up there to sleep which made the bunk room floor quite crowded. In the kitchen we could have used a long handled metal spoon for stirring stuff in those wonderful large pots. Having to keep clean water in the bathrooms to brush teeth and rinse hands before working with contact lenses was a frustration but we got used to it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review