reviews for: listing #55409 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Million Dollar View Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sierra
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $255 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We had the best vacation staying on Whidbey Island and this house made it absolutely special. The cool breezes at night and the warm days, the eagles flying by and the wildlife in the yard was just so fun. But the best part is of course the fantastic view! We saw cruise ships, cargo ships, naval carriers, and so many beautiful sunsets. We sure used our cameras a lot on this special island. We toured the parks and saw jets, embattlements, lighthouses, deception pass, and things I can't remember to tell as it was so wonderful. We also found the best eateries on Whidbey at the various towns. What a glorious vacation. We say it was our best vacation ever!! The owners were very helpful if we had any questions as well. Terrific people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you were able to see why we love this place.
Suzie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All the comforts of home (with a Million Dollar View...)

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

I normally don't write reviews but this vacation rental is over the top!!! Enviting atmosphere which makes you feel at ease to make yourself at home. Plenty of space to kick back and relax. Two families could easily be comfortable in this home. All the comforts of home at a reasonable price. Excellent communication with very kind and accommodating owners. Turn key rental. Quiet, peaceful neighborhood with easy access to the island north or south. Planning another stay next summer for extended family retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace, serenity and a jaw-dropping setting!

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2014

From the minute we pulled into the driveway, we knew this was going to be special. We walked in, dropped the luggage and spent the next half hour saying "Wow! over and over again." Million dollar view certainly summed it up. This home is great, perched on a cliff, and is stocked with everything the average home would need, from dinnerware to Q-tips and everything in-between. We spent a lot of time watching the sunrises, sunsets, ships and boats, and the eagle flying back and forth from a nest. Deer and bunnies are always wandering around freely and put a smile on my face, as I watched them first thing in the morning gazing out with coffee in hand. This home is centrally located to access all of Whidbey Island, but the quaint town of Coupeville always had a draw for us. We loved walking the streets, generally ending up at Toby's for a bucket of steamed mussels. And the Tyee motel has an awesome Sunday brunch!! And one of our last visits was to the Lavender Wind lavender farm only a few blocks away from the house. I found some aromatic gifts to bring home to friends. At the risk of turning this into a novel, I will close by thanking Bob and Susan for sharing their beautiful home and giving us 2 weeks of stress-free vacation. I found it hard to worry about all the problems we deal with every day at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. It is so hard for us to relay how wonderful our view is. That is why we call it Million dollar View. We also are happy to have all the normal things a home needs.
Glad you enjoyed your time.
Suzie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most beautiful view award!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

The moment you walk into this lovely home, all you see is the most gorgeous view! The view of the sound and the Olympics is so spectacular, it's hard to look away. The home is well stocked with towels and other amenities. It's nice to have internet and the flat screen upstairs has a great variety of satellite radio music. My family of 4 was here over New Year with another family of 4 and everyone had a great time. There is a nice short walk to the beach. The closest beach access was closed to to unstable waterfront banks but just a very short distance walk from the first beach access was a second water access beach. Libby beach/ park.
The owner was amazing and extremely accommodating and communicative. The kids played football and frisbee in the big front yard, and loved having a second family room to watch movies, play and relax. We all enjoyed watching the big ships go by and bald eagles in the trees close to the home.
I'd recommend this beautiful home to anyone and we hope to stay again sometime during the summer! Thank you very much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We love this place and that is why we like to share it with others. We try and have the place like we would want one when we come to stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Whidbey Vacation Spot

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Enjoyed a warm, sunny September week at this lovely oceanside home. Exceptional accomodations-accurately portrayed on site. Very clean and comfortable. Loved the deck, firepit & awesome sunsets. Fabulous nightview of the beacons & stars! We took daily trips to many of Whidbey & Fidaldgo Island's parks & towns, and also traveled to Bellingham & Mt Baker.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it.
Suzie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Church Retreat

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

I went with a group of Jr. High kids from my church and from the time we first saw the house we were amazed. I'd seen the pictures, but they don't do either the view or the house justice. I heard multiple comments such as "we are staying HERE?" "this place looks amazing!" "Look at the ocean." The house is well furnished with 2 kitchens and we slept 10 quite comfortably, up to 12 would fit. Just a short walk away there is a park where we played volleyball, a cheap community pool that we enjoy and a bit further a beach were we had a wonderful time finding crabs, starfish and all manner of beach critters. Watch out for the bald eagles, they like to fly by a couple times during the evening!

Rent this place is you can, it is amazing!

Last point, the owners were very responsive and accommodating, questions were answered immediately and overall I felt very well taken care of.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary Weekend!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

I cannot add much to what others have said regarding this beautiful home with its incredible location and views. So, I will write my 5-Star review from the perspective of "how to have a perfect 29th anniversary." First, rent this lovely home for at least two nights; we did two. Next, drive to the property via Interstate 5 - Highway 20. This will get you to your first stop, which is any number of local fruit/vegetable stands, where you can pick up some local produce, perhaps some fresh local seafood, and maybe even a huge ice cream cone! Next, make your way to downtown Anacortes and Gere-A-Deli, a restaurant/bakery in the central business area. Here you can pick up muffins, cinnamon rolls, cupcakes, or (if you're lucky like us) some oatmeal spice cake with boiled coconut pecan frosting. Next, make your way across the Deception Pass bridge toward Oak Harbor. An optional stop would be to stop here for a hike in or around the state park, with a smoked salmon lunch. Now to Oak Harbor, where you should definitely stop at the BBQ Joint on Midway Boulevard. Here you can get an enormous and delicious take-out barbecue meal to eat upon check-in at the house. You may also want to hit the local grocery for any milk, half and half, yogurt, or other kitchen items. Ten minutes further down the road is the Million Dollar View house! Take in your perishables and store them in the fridge, grab your barbecue meal, open a bottle of wine and start indulging. You can always load in the suitcases after sunset, because you will not want to move from the upstairs living room after you get there. Trust me. The next day and a half can be spent hiking local trails, especially in the Fort Ebey State Park, viewing great local art in the Coupeville galleries, eating gourmet food at Christopher's or fish and chips from Seabolt's in Oak Harbor, or our favorite: staying in the upstairs living room with the binoculars and just watching the ships, crabbing boats, cruise liners, and the waves. It will be one of the best weekends of your lives. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow sounded like a great time we are so happy you enjoyed our place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible Views!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

The yard, views, easy beach access, grill, and quick drive time from Seattle make this one of the best Vacation rental homes I've stayed in in Washington State. I've stayed in 15 over the last 36 months, and the attentiveness of the owner was almost as amazing as the views! If you're going to Whidbey, stay here!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful home, impressive view!

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

I stayed with my family (with a baby) in this gorgeous home! we couldn't have asked for more. The place was clean, very well equipped, incredibly quiet and it has an amazing view!!!
It is at walking distance from a small beach and the community center's swimming pool. It is also at a short driving distance from State Parks, and Oak Harbor downtown (with grocery stores and pharmacies). We highly recommend this place. The owners were very nice, and responsive when we call them to ask a couple questions. You will be amazed by the view and will enjoy every minute of it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review we try hard to make our place like we would want if we were coming to stay and we stay when ever we can.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Million Dollar View

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at the "million dollar view" in Coupeville.
It was the perfect size house for us and was stocked beyond our expectations. The weather was delightful. We had a wonderful time on the 4th where we spent most of the day in Oak Harbor and their festivities. We took a day trip to the Olympic Game Farm and that was a favorite with the kids. We also did hiking and kayaking at Deception Pass. One of our grandson's said his favorite thing was Fort Casey?! They ran around and explored it for quite awhile.
I wish we had another week to just relax and enjoy the view.

Thank you so much for being able to accomodate all our needs and wishes. Your price was a definite bargain.
I hope we left it in an acceptable condition.
We hope to return sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Million Dollar View !

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

4 of us travelled from B. C., an easy drive to this lovely area of Whidbey Island - outstanding Sunsets, well equipped home - we used the upper level (main floor), the lower level walk-out to large grassed area would be good for teenagers to 'hang out' with their own pull-outs, kitchen, TV and bathroom. Whidbey has lovely little stores in Coupeville and Freeland and very friendly people. We love the Architecture of the older homes in the area. Restaurants in the area were very good - the Thai Restaurant by the Safeway was welll served. Beds were comfortable and views outstanding. Leash you dog, it's a long way down. Most enjoyable & quiet time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so glad you loved our place. Thank you for your review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lover's Retreat

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and it was a perfect get-a-way. We enjoyed drinking our coffee as the sun rose, enjoying dinner and wine on the bluff as the sun was setting, making crackling fires in the cozy living room. and listening to the sound of the ocean as we slept. The view from this house is truely stunning and arguably the best in the neighborhood! As soon as you step in the front door the view is breathtaking - even the kitchen provides a visual feast!
The house is set up to feel cozy for two people, yet easily accomodate a large family or group of people without feeling cramped. The kitchen was large enough for my husband and I to easily cook together. And the living room fireplace was perfect!
The house is a short drive to Coupeville which is beyond charming. The residents are incredibly kind and genuine. The town has its own museum, farmers market, and excellent dining and mussel chowder. There was even a kite festival while we were there.
We hope to be back soon with the entire family! This is a gem on Whidbey Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 12, 2010

My Husband and I Enjoyed this Beautiful Place on our honeymoon Getaway, we arrived at night time so The house was the main focus that night, We unlocked the door to A clean Beautiful Home, A well dressed kitchen, fun rooms each decorated different than the last and with the most Comfortable of beds, A cute little Spiral staircase that leads to the downstairs that has more rooms and a great kitchen! In the Morning we woke up and Were breath taken by the views all around us. Every window you look out of there was a Perfect view of the Ocean, and last but not least there is a Sweet little picnic table outside that overlooks the Beautiful big ocean, What a great way to have a meal or Enjoy a glass of wine.This Is a Great place to go as a couple or with family and friends. We Very much look forward to coming back to this Place Very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The view was amazing. We had a dinner out on the picnic table overlooking the bluff as the sun was setting, I can't imagine a more beautiful scene. The house was very comfortable. It had everything we needed.

The house is a very short drive from the town of Coupeville is a very short drive away and had some fantastic dining options. We also brought food (Penn Cove mussels) and cooked them in the kitchen. The kitchen was comfortable to cook in.

Overall a great stay. We'd love to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review.
Suzie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mixed feelings

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Overall, a beautiful view and quiet neighborhood. We appreciated the nearby parks, ferry terminal, shopping and pool. The house itself was a bit crowded for our group of 9. The VERY small kitchen made cooking in a bit of a challenge but we did make some use of the basement kitchen. (We eat in a lot.) People with accessibility issues should be aware of that this home cannot be accessed without climbing stairs. The spiral staircase proved difficult for grandma and grandpa. On the other hand, the views of ships, eagles, mountains and sunsets were a joy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

This rental was perfect for our extended family gathering. Lots of room for kids to roam outside and to watch tv downstairs. Liked that it wasn't in town but in a peaceful little neighborhood. House was well stocked with everything you need, just bring people and food. Beautiful views!!! Rate is very reasonable--property is not new and a little worn but well cared for. Fort Ebey State park is within walking distance. Didn't get to hike over there but will on next trip! We went whale watching and sea kayaking out of Anacortes. Spent time at Deception Pass St Park. Loved the roadside chowder and fruit stands on the island. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mesmerizing View

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

The owner's caption of "Million Dollar View" is absolutely correct. We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2009 and were so fascinated by the sailboats, ships, and barges with tugboats going by that we purchased a house up the street. We're in the process of moving to our new home now.

The neighborhood is great for taking walks, and there are 2 state parks very close by. The house has guidebooks and maps making it easy to plan activities. It's a 10 minute drive to the charm of Coupeville or 10 minutes in another direction to Oak Harbor. We discovered a teriffic no-frills restaurant in Oak Harbor, Seabolts, which is actually a seafood store and smokehouse that serves meals.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review