reviews for: listing #55436 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Luxury Carlsbad home with sweeping whitewater ocean views
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,500 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Exceptional Seaside Getaway

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

My family and I were WOWED by this beautiful seaside getaway! We stayed here the week before our daughter's wedding, and it was the perfect respite for family members from ages 17 to 91 ! The layout of the flat is SO accommodating, with a place for everyone -- spacious bedrooms, plenty of baths, cozy gas fireplaces, and truly amazing views of both the lagoon and the ocean from multiple floors.

Maryanne is a truly gracious hostess, and we enjoyed getting to know some of her other tenants from Australia. Of course, we were very busy getting ready for the wedding, but I look forward to coming back, under calmer circumstances, to experience fully this gorgeous townhome!


Anne Olson

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

happy

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The house is exceptional in space and quality of furnishings, appliances, and well stocked with every need from kitchen to bath towels. The location is ideal, particularly for children, who can walk the sandy path to the cross walk and beach mere minutes from the front door. The long stretch of board walk into town offers other entertainment possibilities. Owner Maryanne is gracious and helpful. Our family reunion was a huge success in major part because we had such a lovely place to gather together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful house!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

This is the third year that we have rented this house. The owner goes out of her way to insure your very need is met and then some!
The location is perfect and the view is wonderful; you are easily spoiled
by the comfortable beds, beach toys, generous amount of
towels, cooking supplies and the spacious light filled rooms. We are always sad to end our
stay and look forward to returning the next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House in Carlsbad

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Great 3 level house for my whole family for a week. Plenty of room for 8 people with no congestion. Weather in Carlsbad was perfect. Off the beach but close enough to walk. Good resteraunts in Carlsbad. Owner was great to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winner !!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

Our family arrived at the Carlsbad house for our Christmas holidays, and we were just blown away by its beauty, beach accessibility, view, furnishings, etc. Without exception, the whole family loved it ! The owner, who lived next door, accommodated us in every way possible. We would definitely recommend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply a wonderful experience!

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This house is all that you could hope for in a vacation rental; spacious rooms, generous supply of everything from sheets and towels to cooking utensils to beach equipment. There is really nothing that has not been thought of to insure that your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. The owner is thoughtful as well as thorough in making sure that the house is clean and welcoming for each new family. This will be our third summer renting this property...I guess that says it all!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Choice!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our family of 9 ranging in age from 2 to 65 couldn't have asked for a better 'custom fit'. The home was clean, secure and everyone had their own private space. The owner/neighbor next door was very gracious and welcoming. Loved all the restaurant choices in the village, close proximity to Legoland , Seaworld and of course the beach across the street! We wouldn't hesitate to return next year and highly recommend this home for a large family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation home

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this property. The property description was accurate in every way. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and saw the home and all the amenities. The photos didn't do it justice, it was much better in person. The whole family was 'wowed' by it and immediately wanted to make this an annual vacation rental.

The home was very clean and in general, ready when we arrived. The previous renters left a little late so the owner was finishing up when we arrived - not a problem.

The owner was welcoming, onsite (next door) and very helpful with everything. She was friendly and made us feel at ease when we arrived; she offered to answer any questions, gave us suggestions on what to do/where to go etc.

We loved the location of this property, we walked to the beach (beside the lagoon and down a path to cross the street), or we drove and parked in the beach parking lot; walked to Starbucks and the village. Our friends said of all the beach rentals that are not directly on the beach, we had the best location because we could walk to the beach, the views were amazing and there's no traffic/road noise. We agreed!

We enjoyed the village too; lots of good restaurants appropriate for everyone in the family - Pizza Port and Norte Mexican restaurant are good examples. There were others but I can't recall the names - they were all really good. The shopping was great too.

Overall, it was a great experience for our family (there were 11 of us, from 11 months - 53 years old), everyone was very pleased and wants to go back next summer. I'd highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Top Ten Rental!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We have had the opportunity to travel the world, and we can unequivocally state that Maryanne's home was in the top ten homes in which we have stayed!! There was plenty of room for the eight of us giving us quality time both together and alone. The home was elegantly decorated, yet at the same time, exuded warmth and homeyness. The living room coach was one of our favorite places at the end of the day, we would sink into the cushions while cheering one another on playing WII (the area was perfect, giving us the room we needed to dance, bowl and golf!). My favorite place was the upstairs patio. I sat and read many a book while looking at over the ocean. MaryAnn was very helpful and anticipated our needs, an example being a babysitter for our little ones. The house had all of the basic staples which is definitely a plus when it comes to rentals.
The location was perfect, close to the beach, Legoland, the outlets and of course, Disneyland.
I would highly recommend this rental. Its flexibility lends itself to families, girls' weekend, couples. Thank you Mary Ann!!!
PS The best bedroom is upstairs, the view is wonderful to wake up to and sound of waves lulls you to sleep. One hint though, it has a sky roof, so bring some eye covers for better sleeping. The view and the sound of the ocean from the windows far out weighs the light!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top Notch Luxury Home With Tons Of Space & Absolutley Stunning Location!

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

This House was absolutely beautiful, it was very nice to go on vacation and stay in a house far away from your home which is thousands of miles away yet feel completely comfortable and like you were indeed at home in this beautiful retreat. This place is steps away to the beach and the views from the house are jaw dropping gorgeous, then you have the rooftop patio which was our favorite and we loved spending time up there and overlooking the ocean and surfers surfing.

The owners of this home were very courteous and of the utmost professionalism. My expectations were high and they were surpassed times 10 and I would def do it again in the future.

Only one warning I am going to share with you, and that is to be prepared after visiting this beautiful property to want to move here and live in pure paradise year round ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Home for San Diego Vacation!

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

This was the perfect home for our San Diego vacation! We had two families, each with 2 young children, staying in the home and we never felt crowded or lacked for something to do. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated - I can only hope other homes we rent are half as nice! It is comfortable and incredibly spacious. And the bed sheets were amazing! I've been to 5-star hotels that didn't have sheets as nice as these. It had all the amenities one could hope for to keep kids and adults alike busy, entertained and out of each other's way. The kitchen is also fantastic! My husband loves to cook and was so excited to have a 'real' kitchen with 'real' amenities to cook with. Kitchens in other homes we have rented we so sparsely stocked that it was more of a chore to cook. This kitchen was like being at home. You can't beat the location. You can hear the waves and feel the sea air from the living room. It was a 5 minute drive to Legoland, 10 minute walk to the lovely downtown area and a 5-10 minute walk across the lagoon to the beach (10 minutes with 4 very slow walking small kids). We look forward to going back in the near future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We didn't want to go home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We loved this house! We had 6 adults and 2 young children and never felt cramped or crouded. It was clean, well-maintained, spacious and comfy. We had meals at the house several nights and had everything we needed. We walked along the lagoon and walked to the beach with the kids, no problem. Maryanne is very nice and extremely helpful. We visited the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, Wild Animal Park and Legoland and felt it was a great location for all of these activities. The whole family was all smiles the whole week and none of us wanted to go home. We'd love to come back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a house!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time at the house that Maryanne Smith lovingly maintains. It is so well constructed, appointed and equiped that we lacked for nothing! The beds are comfortable and the great room is welcoming and open so that everyone can gather without feeling confined in any way. She supplies towels for the beach and boogie boards as well. There is really nothing that she has not thought of and on top of all that she is there to guide you to the farmer's market, the best meat market and anything else you may want to know about. We have stayed in many VRBO homes through the years and this one ranks as one of the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Dear Maryanne,

Just a quick thank you for making our family gathering in Carlsbad so enjoyable and memorable. Your home is large, beautifully furnished, spotless, and easily accommodated our group of 6 adults and 4 youngsters. The views from the rooftop patio and other two decks, and the comfort of your secluded back yard, added to the overall pleasure of our stay. We felt secure with your being next door, and appreciated your hospitality and helpfulness in making us comfortable in our surroundings and being constantly available to answer questions. We hope you and your family remain well and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Property!!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We stayed at this beautiful home the first week in June. There were 6 adults, our 12 year old daughter, and our 2 young grandchildren (ages 3 & 9 months). The home was just as described, and very well appointed, with comfortable beds and linens. The layout of the home was very good for our family, and we enjoyed the spacious feel to the family room/kitchen area. The view was fabulous, and we walked to the beach on several occasions...very conveniently located to both the beach, and Carlsbad Village.

This home is very nice, and well maintained in a great location. The owner was very accomodating and pleasant to work with. Location was excellent. You can't go wrong here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ARIZONA FAMILY SPENDS A WEEK IN SAN DIEGO AREA

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

The house appears almost brand new, and has very large interior spaces, so our grandchildren had plenty of room to play. They loved the 3rd story patio and its view. The kitchen is excellent and roomy, with all appliances upgraded. The master bedroom is very large, especially in the very well-appointed bath area. The closet is huge. The views were a delight to all. The beach access for all our gear was best done by car, but access, even on weekends, was never a problem. Lots of restaurants in the delightful downtown, and very close to Legoland and Outlet stores. The owner lives next door and was most helpful (beyond the call of duty) and very accessible and solicitous of our welfare and constantly asking about our experience. More than enough flat screens and DVD players. The upstairs bedrooms were a great deal of fun for the kids. Mid-June was an excellent time to go, especially for the beaches and the San Diego attractions, where lines were very short and the experience therefore more pleasant. The weather: morning clouds gave way to sun and the water temperature was very tolerable. Lots of attentive lifeguards. Overall all our family liked the house, location, and attentiveness by the owner. We all agreed we would return. The owner even rushed to UPS to mail me a health appliance cord I had forgotten. And happy to do it. It arrived the next day. The house is at the end of the street, and close to groceries, gas, and the town. Navigation is very simple, altho we got great use of a GPS for trips around San Diego. Very high quality construction on the house itself, and well-above average finishes. Can recommend without reservation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay for family

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

Great house, great view all and all great place to stay for family vacation in San Diego area. I give this place five stars.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review