reviews for: listing #55461 - Sugar Mountain, North Carolina Condo rental

SugarTop Resort Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sugartop Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $185 /nt
    $650 - $1,110 /wk
    $1,250 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Experience

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

I had a great time reuniting with college friends and spending a weekend on the slopes. Access to the mountain was relatively easy and the unit was extremely comfortable, providing everything we could have wanted for a weekend away.

Owners response: So glad you could enjoy our condo while reuniting with friends. It is a very close jaunt to the slopes which makes for an easy day of skiing without having to get into the car. We try to make all of our renters feel as if they were in their own home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Not Worth the Hastle from the Owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

The condo itself is decent, but make sure you follow all detailed instructions on check-out.

Our entire "damage" deposit was withheld because we did not run the dishwasher, even though all the dishes were in there. This minor detail was blown so far out of proportion from the owner that I will NEVER be staying in this condo again. Absolutely no damage was done to the unit other than this.

The fireplace is not real nor does it emit any heat.

The twin beds and pull out sofa are VERY uncomfortable.

The water does not stay hot for more than 10 minutes, so if you have over 2 people staying, be prepared to take intermittent showers all day long.

There is no washer and dryer in the unit as described in the condo details, but a communal one at the other end of the building, making for a quick drying of winter clothes a hassle and not worth it.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Unfortunately this disgruntled renter left out one big reason on why we kept their deposit-they were smoking in our unit! We made it very clear in all of our paperwork and on our website that we do not allow smoking. If any evidence of smoking is found then the entire deposit will be withheld. Our housekeeping staff took pictures of the ashes left in our unit. After the renters disputed the charges, we mailed in all of our paperwork to the credit card company and the pictures of the ashes and they lost the dispute due to the evidence of smoking. Secondly, we have rented this unit out since 2003 and have NEVER had one complaint about the beds, the pullout couch or the hot water! This is strictly renters that were upset due to their poor choice of ignoring the no smoking policy. And for the comfort of all our renters and ourselves, as we utilize this condo as our second home, we stand by our no smoking policy. In 11 years this is our first deposit that we have ever had to withhold.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Weekend

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Great view! Condo unit is very nice!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Beautifully Remodeled

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We have stayed at other units at Sugar Top, but this was gorgeous. It has been beautifully remodeled and very cozy. It has terrific views of the ski slopes and the mountains. I cannot wait to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

The Bowman's

Review submitted: February 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

Thank you Lisa for renting us your condo. My husband and I celebrated our 13year anniversary there. We had a wonderful time there.

When we got into the condo it was so nice and cozy with a beautiful view of the mountain and the big red ski slope at Sugar mountain. The kitchen was very well equipped with any thing you might need to cook a great meal. The bed was very comfy as well.

We went skiing and it was a very short drive over to the slopes. When we returned back after a long day of skiing it was so wonderful to get in the hot tub to warm up and relax. The pool, hot tubs and the saunas were so nice, clean, and very well kept.

We really enjoyed our whole experience at Sugartop and look forward to the next time.
Thank you Lisa for being so great to work with!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Very nice

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Everything just excellent

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

The unit and the location is wonderful! The unit view faces the Sugar Mountain resort and is gorgeous. We were here for New Years and the fireworks were right in front of our windows! The unit itself is very tastefully decorated and very well equipped with EVERYTHING you could need for a stay. Also, we used the pool and the sauna, very nice amenities after a day in the cold. The owners were great to deal with and we would definitely stay here again. Thanks!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

August '13 renters

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We were there almost a month. The unit certainly met all our needs.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, beautiful views

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We spent a week at this condo in June. The weather was a beautiful 70 degrees throughout. The condo is very clean and has a nicely renovated kitchen. It had everything we needed. Early June is a great time to visit the mountains. Its not very crowded and we felt the locals and local businesses were a lot more relaxed, which added to our vacation :)

Sugartop is a good location - its minutes from banner elk, grandfather mountain, linville and about 30 minutes to Boone. We will most likely be back again at about the same time next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay at our condo. It is in a wonderful location for families-so much to do in the surrounding areas as well as in Banner elk. We hope you come back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SugarTop Condo

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

Great stay on our last minute run to Sugar for some skiing as spring was pushed back by cool weather and snow fall. Condo and the view from it were spectacular. The indoor pool and hot tub was wonderful. Working with the owners was excellent. Great place to stay if your in the area . Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We receive a lot of compliments on the hot tub, pool and work out facilities. Glad you got to experience them and enjoyed our condo. It is a great place to visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

spring getaway

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

The condo was very clean, nicely decorated, and had beautiful views! At this time of year, there were very few people there, so it was very quiet, and most of the time, we had the pool to ourselves! The owners were very easy to communicate with. We had a wonderful spring break getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The pool is a favorite of many of our visitors - a nice retreat after a long day of skiing or touring. We enjoy working with all of our renters.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable unit, close to ski slopes and town

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We stayed at this condo over Presidents' Day weekend 2013, to give our young children an introduction to skiing. It was perfect! The unit is very comfortably furnished, we loved the fireplace and there was plenty of space for everyone to relax and enjoy the views.

The shuttle made the journey to and from the slopes quick and easy, and ski school was very professionally organized.

We would like to return at any time of year. Thanks very much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you had a nice stay. The shuttle does make it convenient to get to the front gate and walk to the ski slopes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2/2/13 weekend

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Great place, easy to get to slopes. Great weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend1

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We got really lucky having winter weather the day before we went to sugar. GREAT views! Easy access to the slopes. REALLY comfortable condo with an easy drive to local eateries and oh what a pool/sauna/steamroom to rest the muscles. Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you got to enjoy our wonderful amenities. It is always nice to take a dip in the pool or the hot tub after a day of adventure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SugarTop

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at SugarTop. We were lucky to have some great snow, so we spent most of our time out on the slopes, but it was a great place to come back to with easy access to Sugar Mountain. The kids loved the indoor pool and hot tub. The condo is well maintained and has a nice view of the ski slopes. Great family memories, thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and our condo. We keep our unit very clean and are constantly upgrading it so that it will feel like "home".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Thanks Lisa. We really enjoyed our stay. We were so lucky to have snow on Friday and good conditions for my son and nephew to snowboard both Saturday and Sunday. You condo is very comfortable!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nice place

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

The condo was great, so comfortable for our family. The only thing keeping it from excellent was that you can't park at the property. With 4 kids it was a pain to have to take a shuttle to come and go, otherwise a great place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautiful condo!

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We had a lovely weekend in this elegantly-styled condo. The view is great and the unit is well taken care of. We would definitely return and wish we could've stayed longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Felt like home

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We've been going to the mountains during the fall the last 10 years and this condo is the best place we have rented. From the moment we walked into the condo it felt like home. My search is over, this condo is our new place to stay for years to come. Very clean and updated. Thanks for offering this beautiful place for us to stay. See you soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you and many others have enjoyed our condo. We add something new each year to keep it updated and really strive to keep it extremely clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

guest

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

A dream comes true for the whole family. Took alot of pictures and wish we stayed longer .The scenery is breathtaking. The unit is a souped up little nest for the whole famity to enjoy.
We can't wait to go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

Beautiful views from this unit. Very nice and very clean.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2007   Date of arrival: August 30, 2007

Dear Ed & Lisa, you have a great condo with a wonderful view. It was a great rental experience for a month.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Dear Ed & Lisa, you have a great condo with a wonderful view. It was a great rental experience for a month.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 14, 2007

Ed & Lisa-
We had a great time at your condo & the location was perfect. Being able to walk 100 yards to the slopes & ski down was priceless. Not to mention the view from your place. Thanks a lot!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Ed & Lisa-
We had a great time at your condo & the location was perfect. Being able to walk 100 yards to the slopes & ski down was priceless. Not to mention the view from your place. Thanks a lot!

Owners response: Chris,
Thanks for the positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your vacation and we look forward to your next visit to SugarTop.

Ed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 5, 2007   Date of arrival: March 5, 2007

Eddie and Lisa,

We loved the visit. This amazingly large condo has a very scenic view overlooking the Sugar Mtn ski slopes. With all of the comforts of home we never missed a thing. Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your place and we will be returning. Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Eddie and Lisa,

We loved the visit. This amazingly large condo has a very scenic view overlooking the Sugar Mtn ski slopes. With all of the comforts of home we never missed a thing. Thank you for the opportunity to stay at your place and we will be returning. Brian

Owners response: Brian,
Thanks for your positive comments. We take great pride in keeping our unit in tip top shape. Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again.... Ed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 28, 2006   Date of arrival: November 28, 2006

Dear Ed and Lisa,

First I would like to apologize for taking so long to add our response to your guest book. We stayed in your Condo back at the beginning of March and had a wonderful time. The condo was very nice and comfortable, the two of you have done a wonderful job. What a fantastic view. We will without a doubt give you a call on our next trip to Sugar.

Thanks again,
Kevin Lehmbeck

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 28, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Dear Ed and Lisa,

First I would like to apologize for taking so long to add our response to your guest book. We stayed in your Condo back at the beginning of March and had a wonderful time. The condo was very nice and comfortable, the two of you have done a wonderful job. What a fantastic view. We will without a doubt give you a call on our next trip to Sugar.

Thanks again,
Kevin Lehmbeck

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2006   Date of arrival: August 30, 2006

Dear Ed and Lisa,

Your renovations are beautiful! We were especially impressed with the fireplace work.

This time we took an extra day and went over the mountain to Johnsborough, TN to visit the Story Telling Museum, a nice day trip from Sugar Top.

Regards,

Susan and John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Dear Ed and Lisa,

Your renovations are beautiful! We were especially impressed with the fireplace work.

This time we took an extra day and went over the mountain to Johnsborough, TN to visit the Story Telling Museum, a nice day trip from Sugar Top.

Regards,

Susan and John

Owners response: Dear Susan and John,
We appreciate your return business. I am glad you like the renovations and the new stone look on the fireplace. We look forward to accommodate you on your next vacation to Sugartop.

Sincerely,

Ed Hickox

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2006   Date of arrival: February 10, 2006

The cabin was very nice and conveinetly located to the ski slopes. The bed in the master bedroom slept wonderfully. The only complaint I could have about my experience is after coming home from some night skiing we couldn't get in the hot tub due to the fact night skiing stopped at 10 PM and the hot tub closed at 11 PM so by the time we got back from the slopes it was closed. One great thing about the condo is they provide two way radios so if you have several people skiing you can always reach them if you get seperated. Overall though the cabin is wonderful and a great value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 10, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

The cabin was very nice and conveinetly located to the ski slopes. The bed in the master bedroom slept wonderfully. The only complaint I could have about my experience is after coming home from some night skiing we couldn't get in the hot tub due to the fact night skiing stopped at 10 PM and the hot tub closed at 11 PM so by the time we got back from the slopes it was closed. One great thing about the condo is they provide two way radios so if you have several people skiing you can always reach them if you get seperated. Overall though the cabin is wonderful and a great value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 30, 2006   Date of arrival: January 30, 2006

We stayed at unit 2303 during New Year’s break. Ed was very easy to work with, as we booked at the last minute. The condo was clean and nice and had everything we needed to have a great weekend. P.S. The view was fantastic.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We stayed at unit 2303 during New Year’s break. Ed was very easy to work with, as we booked at the last minute. The condo was clean and nice and had everything we needed to have a great weekend. P.S. The view was fantastic.

Owners response: Steve… Thanks for the positive reply. I am glad you and your family had a nice experience. Please tell your friends about our accommodations. Remember, because of your comment, you are now eligible for future last minute discounts. Thanks again for your business. Ed

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 5, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful weekend spent in unit 2303! It is very nice and clean and freshly updated. I would reccomend it to a couple or a family with two children. The second bedroom is small, but fine for two children. We will definitely come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful weekend spent in unit 2303! It is very nice and clean and freshly updated. I would reccomend it to a couple or a family with two children. The second bedroom is small, but fine for two children. We will definitely come again!

Owners response: Marty,
Glad you and your family had a wonderful weekend. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks again.

Ed Hickox

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2005   Date of arrival: June 29, 2005

We spent a wonderful week at Ed and Lisa's Sugar Top condo. The area is just beautiful. The condo is like a new home... well decorated, clean, and comfortable. We highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 29, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

We spent a wonderful week at Ed and Lisa's Sugar Top condo. The area is just beautiful. The condo is like a new home... well decorated, clean, and comfortable. We highly recommend it.

Owners response: I am glad you and Susan enjoyed our unit. We look forward to see you in the future. Thank You !! Ed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2005   Date of arrival: March 10, 2005

Great unit, well updated througout. Lots of living space so you will not feel cramped. Split bedroom plan is nice for adults giving master suite some privacy.

Only negative is ski/board storage & parking. However, shuttles are readily available. Never waited more than 10 min.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 10, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Great unit, well updated througout. Lots of living space so you will not feel cramped. Split bedroom plan is nice for adults giving master suite some privacy.

Only negative is ski/board storage & parking. However, shuttles are readily available. Never waited more than 10 min.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2005   Date of arrival: February 18, 2005

GREAT PLACE!
The owners have done a VERY NICE job with their unit (2303). Very clean and well kept. Unbelievable views from every window in the unit.

The pool and hot tub was great (we never had to leave the building).

We walked to the "Big Red" slope and skied down. At the end of the day we rode the lift back to the top of "Big Red" and walked home.

Owners were very organized and fast to return deposit. I highly recommend renting this unit...we surly will in the future!

Thanks for a GREAT vacation!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 18, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

GREAT PLACE!
The owners have done a VERY NICE job with their unit (2303). Very clean and well kept. Unbelievable views from every window in the unit.

The pool and hot tub was great (we never had to leave the building).

We walked to the "Big Red" slope and skied down. At the end of the day we rode the lift back to the top of "Big Red" and walked home.

Owners were very organized and fast to return deposit. I highly recommend renting this unit...we surly will in the future!

Thanks for a GREAT vacation!!

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Josh. I am glad you had a positive vacation experience. We look forward to your next visit to Sugartop.

Ed

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2005   Date of arrival: February 17, 2005

Excellent accomodations. Everything as expected or better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

Excellent accomodations. Everything as expected or better.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 13, 2005   Date of arrival: February 13, 2005

If you have stayed in our unit (2303), please enter your comments so other guests can benifit from them. Thanks for your business. Hope to see you in the near future at SugarTop!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review