reviews for: listing #55509 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

5BR/4BA Log Cabin - SEPTEMBER $150/nt + Tax & Clng
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

Thanksgiving weekend

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

Our group of 5 couples come to Pigeon Forge every year on the weekend after Thanksgiving. This is the first time staying at this cabin. We liked the cabin, it was well maintained and nicely furnished. The hot tub was secluded and nice for privacy. The only complaint that we had was that the showers drained very slowly. By the end of your shower you were standing in dirty water. That was kinda gross. Would stay there again if the drainage problem is fixed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

great time

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

we had a great time everyone really enjoyed this cabin it was clean and roomy and it isnt far when you have to go get groceries and close to the strip in Pigeon Forge so not alot of road time to get out and enjoy everything and yet you still feel like your away from all the busy area when you are ready to relax we look forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

YOU WILL FIND R & R HERE

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

My family and I recently spent a long weekend in this cabin. The cabin is lovely and we had a great time. There was everything we needed to prepare meals, relax and just enjoy some down time. Thanks to David & Tracy for sharing their home away from home with us!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabin Not quite up to par

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

I visited and stayed in this cabin with a group of friends. We gather in the Pigeon Forge are every year sometimes twice a year for a long weekend. This was our 6th trip in 5 years. This cabin was clean on initial entry. However, the furniture was very uncomfortable in the living room. It also was covered in some sort of hair. Looked like animal hair. All the beds were slept in and we all agreed they were very uncomfortable. One bedspread had some suspicious stains on it. Yuck. The stove did not work well and it took almost an hour to cook biscuits. The cookware was not adequate and we had to purchase coffee mugs.
The hot tub was very nice and clean and so enjoyable. There was plenty of hot water but too few towels. An extra blanket was needed but had hair on it.
This cabin is well located and with better maintenance could be worth the trip. I do not think my friends and I will be returning there, however.

Owners response: Thanks for the review. We wish you would have contacted us about the stove, couch, and blanket. We would have had those issues taken care of. The bed is not something we can control because everyone likes a different type of bed. Some people like soft bed while others like the beds more firmer. Our cabin is a vacation home and we have it stocked with basic cooking utensils from pots to pans to cookie sheets. We even have a crockpot. There are plenty of plates, cups and coffee mugs. We are not sure why you had to buy coffee mugs unless the one we provide are not large enough. If we were contacted about kitchen items that were needed, we would have done our best to provide those items for you. This is the first that we hear about the stove not heating up. We will have that inspected. Again, thanks for the review. We only wish we had the opportunity to correct the issues while you were staying instead of reading it in a review.

Sincerely,
Tracy and David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay for a family of 12

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

A BIG Thank You to David and Tracy on a wonderful place to stay.The cabin was beautiful and very spacious for a large group, we had 8 adults ages 32-68 and 4 children ranging from 11-17. You never felt like you were on top of one another, cabin was large enough to spread out, our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was very accomidating and plenty of cookware, large enough pots/pans for a group of this size. We had one issue with toilet backing up and I called David and he had maintenance out in hours. This was nothing of their fault, maintenance found bar of soap in the toilet, not sure if it had been dropped in by previous renters as it was slow draining upon our arrival but I waited to call as Sunday was Easter and didnt want anyone to have to come out that day. Convenience to everything was a major plus, Kroger was just down the road, Wal-mart is 3 miles, Dollywood is minutes away,restaurants,souvenir shops, about 6 miles from Gatlinburg. I find this all very helpful especially if you are planning a stay in Tennessee and have not been to the area. The Grist Mill, Bennet's Bar BQ, and Wood Grill are all within minutes of the cabin and great places to eat. Stay away from Captain Jim's Seafood, disgusting(read the reviews)! As others have said my only complaint would be the parking situation as when you have large group and multiple cars you have to park up the hill but was no big deal once you are unloaded. Considering this was in an area right amongst other cabins and homes it was very quiet, was not loud at all. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay here again if returning to Tenn. Thank You guys so much for helping make our family vacation a great experience!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT little getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

My family and I visited Pigeon Forge to stay for the Clogging Convention which was in Gatlinburg. We chose to stay away from all the hustle and bustle! We did a last minute reservation and got a VERY GOOD deal on our cabin and was amazed when we arrived to find it so splendid!! The cabin is at an excellent location for going to and from Pigeon Forge and wasn't a bad commute to Gatlinburg either. We have stayed in many VRBO places and have had good experiences but this was the nicest of the places we have reserved before. The parking situation would be the only downfall but even that was manageable since it was RIGHT in front of the cabin just very close to it. We enjoyed having meals at the cabin in the open floor plan to where we could all be together even if not all at the table. The hot tub was awesome for me (Mom) after everyone went to bed!! LOOOOOVED THE HOT TUB ON THE DECK!!!! Thanks for letting us stay!! Will definately return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really not sure

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Where do I begin? We ended up having 4 couples stay, the space was very adequate for a large group! Outside of the complaints I'm going to list we enjoyed our stay!! The cabin needs some TLC, whomever is doing the cleaning should be fired! There were spider webs, thick dust all over the walls, rat droppings in the bath tub and on the floor!!! The refrigerator leaked on the inside the ice maker didn't work, the garbage disposal leaked and smelled awful some of the stuff would come back up into the other side of the sink! The inside of the hot tub was covered with mole (which maintenance can and fixed the next day), the grill was out of gas both of these was a BIG problem for me bc I specifically asked that these things be in working order!! I contacted the owner who indeed sent someone to fix the hot tub and 1 other issue we had but would not respond back to me to try and make it right about the cleanliness of the cabin I sent emails, text messages along with pictures.
The furniture was wore the love seat smelled like urine! The pool table was broken along with the sticks
I recommend the owners get new cleaning people

Owners response: I would like to say that I am sorry for the lack of response. I had the flu and was bed ridden for 4 days. I tried my best to respond in a timely manner. When I received the text about the hot tub around 7pm, I called my maintenance person and he was getting over the flu and would be out in the morning to look at it. I asked him to look at the gas grill as well. He told me that someone had taken the bromine float for the hot tub and threw it over the deck into the woods. Since my cabin has not been used in about 4 weeks, this caused the algea problem. My maintenance person drained and filled the hot tub. He checked the gas in the grill and stated that it worked fine. We did not know about the garbage disposal, refrigerator or love seat. These issues will be taken care of. My maintenance person also replaced two pool sticks and stated the pool table was fine. Also received a call from guest stating that the TV did not work and was getting no signal. I called my maintenance person and he told me the guest changed the TV input to watch DVD and did not know how to change it back. There was a mix of dates between my property manager and myself. The cabin was not occupied for 4 weeks and I asked her to check on the cabin before the guest check-in and she wrote down the wrong date. These issues will be addressed immediately.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family time

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

The cabin was very nice for our weekend. While there we found everything to be very clean. The beds were comfortable. I guess if there was any complaint it would be the parking. We had four vehicles and had to park one up on the road. I would recommend this cabin to any other family looking for space, cleanliness, and proximity to nearby attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AL, GA & TN crew

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay! Only problem, it wasn't long enough. The cabin was great and really met our expectations! It was close to everything, but yet you still get the "cabin in the mountains" feel. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location - Great Cabin

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Had a great vacation with two other couples at this wonderful cabin in October 2012. This afforadable cabin allowed us to share a larger cabin than we may have otherwise. We absolutely loved the location as we spent less time in the car than past years. We also loved the open living area that gave us more space to socialize than some other floor plans. The cabin was very clean and up to date. We also liked that the bedrooms all had large beds and were spacious. Another feature that we enjoyed was the large wrap around porch that gave us a fair amount of privacy. This is our third annual trip to Pigeon Forge and we have stayed at three different cabins looking for the one to return to and this one is it. We look forward to returning to this cabin next year. It had everything that we were looking for.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent value

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Exactly as described and convenient to everything. Will be staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Roomy Cabin for large group

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Very large, roomy cabin .. We had 3 couples, and 2 single ladies stay with us during our stay. Although roomy, not very private. By this I mean, if you had a downstairs bedroom, you heard everything that went on in the upstairs bedrooms (walking around, talking, tv's, etc) If you stayed in the far bedroom downstairs, you heard the draining of the water from the toilets, tubs and showers from upstairs (GROSS). Floors were nasty (feet turned black after walking on floors) Im guessing this was from the fireplace, but still, we had the cabin in August and the fireplace hadnt been ran for a few months. Our other guess was from the floors not being properly cleaned by the housekeeper. Not enough towels for 12 people. I would def suggest you bring your own towels. I would also suggest that at least 2 towels per person be left in the cabin. I would also suggest that blankets and pillow shams be washed after each rental ... According to the rental policy and cleanup policy, the housekeeper does not wash/dry these after every rental (GROSS)!! Washer/dryer in this cabin is VERY SMALL!! Can only handle 2 maybe 3 items at a time drying ... Over all, we were okay with the cabin. Another nice thing about the cabin, is it's location. Very close to prkwy and attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

The cabin was very nice and spacious cabin. If you are looking for seclusion then this is not the cabin, as there are cabins on the side, behind and in front of you. We did not require it, preferred the location as opposed to seclusion. It is located just minutes from the strip. The beds were uncomfortable in all the bedrooms. The cabin could have been cleaner. There was food between the dining table slats, stains on the curtains beside the dining room table, stains on the pillow shams, soiled stained carpet downstairs and the washcloths provided upstairs for the dishes were also the same that were provided in one of the downstairs bathrooms. The living room sofa and loveseat were worn.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Awesome Cabin!!!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Just got back from staying the weekend in your wonderful cabin and couldn't wait to write a review. We took our daughters and their families and had a great time. The cabin was so clean and so roomy loved the whole set up. The grandkids loved the pool table and we had a hard time gettting them to leave to go see the Monster Jam in Knoxville. Can't say enough about you Dave and Tracy it was a pleasure renting this cabin and I can't wait for the next trip. If you are looking for a reasonable rate and an awesome place to stay this is the place. The cabin is located soo close to the parkway yet you still feel like you are away from the hustle and bustle also the location comes in handy if you need to make a quick trip to the store at 1:00 am for medicine for a little one. Thanks again can't say enough about the cabin and once again it was great doing business w/ this family.

God Bless,
Kathy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Cabin!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We just returned from having spent an extended weekend in this cabin. This was our first time to rent a cabin, as opposed to staying in a hotel. We WILL rent this cabin again! It is very spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Although there are cabins next to and across from Fisherman's Roost, it is extremely quiet - you would never know that anyone else is even around! We loved the fact that it was located so close to the Parkway! Thanks Tracy and David - we look forward to staying in your cabin next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

What a Weekend

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Our group of friends diecided we all wanted to take an annual trip to the mountains and just relax. The cabin was absolutely beautiful and was located in a perfect location. You are tucked away in a very nice area off of the highway. The cabin is very clean and well maintained. We all were so impressed that we decided we wanted to for an entire week after doing one weekend. Instantly when we walked in the door we felt relaxation. I would recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Smokies Stay

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Our family loves to visit the Smokie Mtns. Starting with our honeymoon, 19 years and 7 kids later we keep coming back to the park. This home is ideal for the family that wants to get out and do things. So many homes here are beautiful but require 15 or 20 min of driving up winding mountain roads. This home has a beautiful wooded setting and yet is 5min to the nearest grocery store. We were able to get on with our activities and spend less time driving. There is so much room in this home. Our large family had room to spare. The home was beautiful and comfortable, every bit as nice as the pictures. This was our second stay at this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unforgettable

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

This cabin was GREAT! This was our first trip as a group and we had already began planning the next one on our first night there. It was extremly clean and smelled great! Every thing about it was great! We love the fact that there are two master bedrooms. Our group consisted of 8 adults and 4 children and 1 dog and we expected it would be a little crowded, but it was so roomy. We were all able to enjoy the company of each other without any of the frustration of feeling congested like we would have if we had gotten a hotel suite. It is evident that the owners of this cabin take pride in what they do, and we REALLY look forward to staying here again. We are planning to take a trip to Myrtle Beach and based on our stay at the cabin, we hope that we are able to reserve the condo that is owned by the same nice people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"Fisherman's Roost" cabin in Pigeon Forge

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

The description and pictures were just like the cabin when we arrived. The cabin was very clean, just the right distance from town, excellent customer service, hot tub was great and we had plenty of room for everyone. Would definitely rent this cabin again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good place

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

We liked the cabin and it had plenty of bedrooms for our family to meet there. The description is good, but renters need to realize the cabin is NOT by itself. There are other cabins and chalets next to and across from this cabin. Also, parking is limited. The owners were great responding to our questions and made the rental process easy. The cleaning crew did an okay job, but I can't say outstanding. The maintenance person responded in a timely manner to a problem we contacted him about, which we appreciated. Our one major complaint was that the gas grill did not work (wouldn't light and was very dirty) and we had made plans to grill one meal. Overall would recommend this property and might go back again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great cabin for family reunion

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We were very pleased with your cabin. The bedroom on the main level was perfect for Mother, who could not climb stairs. Very spacious and clean. We had 14 in our party and with the three levels had plenty of room. We absolutely loved the kitchen, very well stocked with pots and pans. We decided to stay in for breakfast both mornings. Also, it was very convenient to Pigeon Forge and outlet shopping and easy to find (folks came from Johnson City, Spring City, Helenwood, Atlanta, GA, Huntsville, AL and Knoxville) with no trouble going by the directions. We would definitely get this cabin again. We've gotten together in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg the past 4 years and this is the best cabin we've stayed in.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 37 / 38

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 23, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

What a beatiful cabin. Plenty of room for our family reunion of 11. Close to all shops/entertainment etc. Only minutes from Gatlinburg. We had a wonderful time and would recommend your cabin in the future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 8, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

We loved this cabin! It's so clean that you will think you are the first ones to ever stay there. One whole wall is windows and every time we returned after dark, as we came around the corner, this cabin actually glowed from the beautiful lighting and gorgeous wood - we looked around and thought we definitely had the best cabin on the mountain. Parking is easy and there's an access road on which we drove straight out with no awkward manuevering. Absolutely everything we wanted to do was convenient - one mile to the Parkway - yet we felt that we were totally away from all the traffic, noise, etc. of Pigeon Forge. If you can get this cabin, I highly recommend it. We will never forget the wonderful time we had there. No matter what we did each day, we couldn't wait to get back to this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

We have an extended family of 14! This beautiful chalet was immaculate. Lots of room and very convenient to everything! We really enjoyed it and would stay here again. If you are considering it...it's well worth the money! Very reasonable. It's much more beautiful than the pictures online can capture.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review