reviews for: listing #55572 - Dominican Republic, Caribbean Cottage rental

Chalet Tropical Village, 3 Unique Chalets for Last Paradise
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Las Galeras
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $105 - $290 /nt
    $650 - $1,850 /wk
    $1,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

A Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 8, 2014

My family and I (with three children ages 10, 12, and 14) just returned from a seven night stay at the the Tropical Chalet. I highly recommend the Tropical Chalet and Las Galeras if you want to experience a wonderful, safe, fun, carefree vacation. Sarah is wonderful and she and her staff take care of all your needs and will arrange a wide variety of excursions for you at the best prices with wonderful Marcus, our guide. The Cabanas’ grounds are beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. La Playita, the beach within a short walking distance, is near perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantic, Peaceful and Safe

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

The Tropical Chalet facility is very Charming. Weather your traveling with that special person in your life or with the family you won't be disappointed. The Chalet's are unique structures that combine rustic charm with functionality. Shara and her staff are warm and professional. The Chalet was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast is provided every morning based on your schedule and was fresh and delicious. If you are a beach person this is the place for you. Beach La Playita is a short distance away and is absolutely beautiful. Very private, not crowded and clean. The water is crystal blue, very warm with a long white sand beach front. Excellent for small children because the shallow water extends far into the bay. Waves are small to moderate, so it makes wadding or swimming an enjoyable experience. This is the beach to spend your time at. Although there are other beaches in the area, La Playita has it all. Chairs with umbrellas, a beach side restaurant with delicious food and drinks all reasonably priced. The only thing lacking in the area are quality restaurants for evening dinning. The selection is limited and the food is average at best. This is not an area for fancy cloths or expectations of fine dinning and nightlife. I have traveled all over the DR and La Playita beach is one of the nicest beaches you will find.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location for an adventurous family vacation.

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My family stayed at Chalet Tropical for the New Year holiday. We had children ages 4, 5, 6, and 9 and 5 adults. We rented the largest and newest chalet which comfortably fit our whole family. We were the second guests to stay there and were anxious to see how the Chalet turned out. It is so unique and artistic yet it has everything you need. Sarah and her staff are great hosts. She helped us book an excursion to Playa Rincon on horseback. This was through Rudy's Rancho which was an excellent excursion. Each of the small kids had their own horses with a guide in the back. We also rented ATVs which allowed us to visit some of the other beaches and see areas not reachable by vehicle.

We enjoyed breakfast every morning and Sarah made sure our beds were made and we had clean towels. On New Year's Eve, we dined at the restaurant on La Playita and had had the restaurant all to ourselves along with the other Chalet Tropical guests.

We truly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this property to families who want to visit a unique little town that has so much to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Paradise Found”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet for 6 nights, it was the minimum but we do wish Sarah had said 10 nights. We had so much fun, the lodging was very original, and loved the idea of having breakfast outside. Loved the hammocks etc. The green around us and the vegetation was unique. Had just the right amount of privacy, Sarah was very nice and showed us around and also gave us Bulli who was our taxi driver/guide/friend to show us around. We went in low season July, perfect for us! the walk to the beach was short and we loved the playita.. The best beach for us, beautiful, warm, good restaurant service. We had the coconut fish at the Playita restaurant, never tried the other one because we wanted to use the bathrooms. We left to "enjoy" the experience of a different place and the all inclusive. As soon as we stepped on the inclusive we wanted to go back. It was even painful! Puerto Plata's best beach Sousa has nothing to do with the beaches you will have at the Galeras. Loved the small town, we ate at El Pescador, el pirata.. Good food.. The road to access the Galeras is fixed , still is 2 hours and a half but it is fine. We loved the Limon waterfalls and the Rincon Beach. Felt save although Sarah adviced us not to carry jewels. Ok, just dress up with custom jewelry, jewels do not go with the beach anyway. You will see poverty in Dominican but it is an experience you have to share with your children. Take some used toys or used children's clothes for your child to give others. It is a learning experience. To withdraw money use the atm at the hotel not the bank close to the Chalet because they only allow to get like $50.00 at the time. In the other bank is like $200.00. We knew Scotich bank in Samana has a liason with bofa so we got money out as much as we could from them without realizing we could get $200 twice. No need for a car, we wanted to walk.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Hidden Little Gem”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from the Chalet Tropical! We adored this special place. It is hidden back down a dirt road and when you drive up to it it doesn't look like much but once you enter the gates you feel right at home. Each chalet is super cute and has everything you need for your stay. Sarah, the owner, is a perfect host. She set up some great excursions for us to do each day and made sure we were well taken care of. Anything we needed she was able to provide. The breakfast she provided was delicious. My mouth just waters thinking of the fruit pancakes. The night before we left, Sarah arranged for us to eat dinner at the most stunning restaurant that overlooks the ocean. Watching that sunset and enjoying the food and drinks will be a night we will never forget. The staff was very friendly and always made sure we had fresh towels (beach & bath). Just remember to bring cash because no one in Las Galeras takes credit cards. We can't wait to visit Sarah and the Chalet Tropical again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“The cool and perfect place to stay:-)”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

I had a great stay with perfect accommodations for relax and have the perfect holidays near perfect beaches and far from the busy resorts.
Also Sarah, the owner, she is extremely helpfull, for information of the area and happy to organize trips with very well recommended company to have the best value for your money.
She help me to get easily to a day trip to playa Fronton with a very good organization boat local company. Same comments for going to watch whales in samana.
I felt in safe hands, and got always great advise. DR is a place where many local people try to get you on boats, trips, destinations, promising cheap options, which you most likely regret afterwards.
I would go back for my holidays again without doubts.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Comfortable home away from home”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

My husband and I loved Chalet Tropical! From the moment we arrived, we felt very safe and comfortable. Sarah, the owner, was extremely nice and helpful. Our chalet (#2) was very well appointed with everything we needed for the week. Drinking water, full size fridge, kitchen appliances, and towels (beach and bath), were provided. Breakfast was delicious too! Our house was in a great location b/c it was a 10 minute walk to Playa Playita or the village. Sarah helped us arrange rides to and from the Santo Domingo airport, whale watching in Samana, and made us reservations at El Cabito. She is there to help with anything. The wifi is a nice addition too. We would certainly stay here again, and even bring our young son because the grounds are family friendly. Staying at Chalet Tropical made our trip to the DR an amazing experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Excellent lodging for adventure travel”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

If you are adventurous enough to reach the town of Las Galeras on the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic, be sure and stay at the Chalet Tropical. It is a wonderful combination of eccentric yet comfortable and clean cottages unlike any you will have experienced. The gardens are lovely, the beds big and comfortable, the showers hot and the kitchenette quite unique. Sarah is the epitome of a gracious host and the breakfasts are delicious. La Playita beach is just beautiful and a short walk away. Las Galeras, also a short walk, is an interesting little town with good food and groceries.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Your Home-Away-From-Home”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

I will preface this review by disclosing that my husband and I are innkeepers ourselves, so you can guess we know what to look for in a B&B and may be more particular than most guests...

Our stay at Chalet Tropical was everything we expected, and more. We had never been to the Dominican Republic and wanted lodging that would make us feel at home and give us a true flavor of the DR. We chose it because of all the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. Professionally, we know the value of excellent reviews!

A B&B is only as good as its innkeeper. Chalet Tropical's innkeeper, Sarah, is truly the heart and soul behind the inn. She is a kind and helpful lady, ensuring that our stay in the DR (7 days) was as good as it could be. Her hospitality began months before we arrived, with emails explaining everything from logistics to fun activities. A big bonus for us was she speaks English... a must since we don't speak Spanish!

We stayed in Chalet #2 and found it clean, comfortable, and very interesting (the circular stone shower is one-of-a-kind). Our chalet was nicely cleaned every 2 days.

We ordered breakfast a few days we were there, and since we had a small kitchen, were able to make a few meals ourselves. Sarah's breakfasts were so much fun and delicious... Being from the midwest (U.S.), a true tropical breakfast was a treat!

We wish Sarah the best, and encourage all visitors to consider booking at Chalet Tropical!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“A slice of heaven!”

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

The Dominican Republic was one of my most memorable and most cherished trips. What made the experience so exceptionally grand? It was my stay at the Chalet Tropical and all the staff members there. Sarah was so kind - from our first words spoken over e-mail to the time that I met her. She is one of the most kind-hearted, loving, generous, and caring women that I have ever met. On our first day in the DR, we were not sure what to do first - so Sarah just took us under her wing and helped us guide out our first day and week. She even had little "Philadelphia Phillies" towels in our Chalet - knowing we were from Philly! It was awesome!! Sarah always made my friends and I feel at home and made sure that we were having the time of our lives!! The weather there is fabulous!!! The Chalets are about 10mins from town and 10 mins from the beach (walking). The beaches are incredible! You never want to close your eyes because the sight is so amazing! The Chalets were like nothing that I have ever seen before. They are handcrafted master pieces!! Truly Amazing! My girlfriends and i had such a lovely time relaxing in the Chalets, enjoying the beach, going horse back riding, and hanging out together - and with Sarah!! Sarah always made sure that we were well taken care of and always made sure we were safe - and that we had the best possible time ever! When I think back to this trip - it was one of the BEST trips of my life! The beaches were amazing! The food was superb! The company was awesome! The Chalets were incredible! And Sarah was absolutely charming! Sarah made our stay one of the most memorable EVER! She is such a beautiful soul and a lovely hostess! Her entire family was fun and friendly! And even the dog & cat (Vicki and Garfield) were entertaining, enjoyable and lovable. I have traveled to many different countries - but the DR was one of the BEST! The Chalet Tropical is a place like no other - you just hafta go and experience it for yourself!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Jupiter and Venus together in the night sky”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Marsha and I chose Chalet Tropical Village entirely because of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor, and especially because of what people said about Sarah's energy and guidance. And everything exceeded expectations! We spent a week in the largest chalet and never stopped admiring the unique, artistic stone and wood construction of the building. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts of fruit and pancakes on our porch, were directed to great swimming at several different beaches (one a fifteen minute walk and two a motorboat ride away), ate very well at Dominican and Italian places in town and grilled fish places on the beach , hiked all over the neighborhood, and never felt far from Sarah's bright, guiding energy. When we had questions Sarah was always available to fill us in, give us options, arrange for transportation, etc etc. She really enjoys it when her guests have a good time. You can't do better than that. She even arranged for Jupiter and Venus to shine brightly close to one another in the night sky! I'm not sure how she managed that...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Perfect Piece of Paradise”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Our family had the fortune to stay one week at Chalet Tropical for the 2nd time in four years. Chalet #3 was just right!! It is colorful, roomy, comfortable and marvelously tropical. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. The spacious, comfortable and furnished covered porch is a cute and inviting place to spend some down time. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Her personality is very happy and generous. She was available daily for questions and advice. As well, she was very prompt in responding to requests. The Chalet village is in an excellent and quiet location. A walk into town is 5 minutes. A pretty stroll to the beautiful, turquoise-crystal clear ocean and beach is up to 10 minutes. From there those with adventurous spirits can hike along the coast to reach more dazzling secluded, wild, gorgeous beaches (w/o another person around). In the other direction, additional stunning beaches beckon; that can be reached by hiking or even by boat. These beaches are magnificent, natural, undeveloped and highly secluded. While there, our family savored the water and beauty all by ourselves.

The local Dominican Republic people were also overly friendly and we felt very safe.

If you prefer to vacation by steering clear of tourists, and enriching your lives with the local culture, Chalet Tropical is for you!

Our family will definitely stay at the Chalet again and I will and have recommended it to friends.

"Traveling is far more than the seeing of sights...it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living"

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Chalet Tropical in Galeras to everyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Genuine hospitality in a genuine atmosphere”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

From March to April 2012, our family of four (kids ages 6 and 9) spent six weeks in the DR, nearly two of which were a magical stay at Chalet Tropical. Sarah and her family are truly wonderful hosts, and we felt we had made lifelong friends by the time we left. Sarah goes above and beyond to welcome you and provide everything you need to make your stay comfortable, relaxing, fun and memorable. The Chalets themselves are absolutely charming and reflect Sarah and Danilo's artistic attention to detail and fine taste in decor and quality. The breakfasts are AMAZING and reasonably priced, and Sarah coordinated several dinners so we could experience authentic local cuisine. Fishermen drop by in the morning several times a week so you can purchase fresh fish and grill them in the barbecues outside your Chalet. Sarah also will coordinate day trips (don't miss Playa Rincon for beauty and Playa Fronton for snorkeling (and beauty)) and provide great advice on local restaurants (El Cabito is an experience that should not be missed), shops and beaches (La Playita, just a short walk from the Chalets, is stunning and great for swimming, snorkeling and diving).

We also loved exploring the countryside around Las Galeras--in particular the road to Playa Rincon. There is a really great fruit/vegetable stand and a plantation close to the village of Los Tocones where you can buy local produce, including chocolate, coffee and cinnamon, and souvenirs that are less expensive than in Las Galeras. The people are super friendly and you're immersed in real Domincan country life.

We hope to return to Las Galeras someday. When we do, we will be staying at Chalet Tropical. Thank you, Sarah, Danilo and your family for a truly wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Best visit in the DR”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

From March to April 2012, our family of four (kids ages 6 and 9) spent six weeks in the DR, nearly two of which were a magical stay at Chalet Tropical. Sarah and her family are truly wonderful hosts, and we felt we had made lifelong friends by the time we left. Sarah goes above and beyond to welcome you and provide everything you need to make your stay comfortable, relaxing, fun and memorable. The Chalets themselves are absolutely charming and reflect Sarah and Danilo's artistic attention to detail and fine taste in decor and quality. The breakfasts are AMAZING and reasonably priced, and Sarah coordinated several dinners so we could experience authentic local cuisine. Fishermen drop by in the morning several times a week so you can purchase fresh fish and grill them in the barbecues outside your Chalet. Sarah also will coordinate day trips (don't miss Playa Rincon for beauty and Playa Fronton for snorkeling (and beauty)) and provide great advice on local restaurants (El Cabito is an experience that should not be missed), shops and beaches (La Playita, just a short walk from the Chalets, is stunning and great for swimming, snorkeling and diving).

We also loved exploring the countryside around Las Galeras--in particular the road to Playa Rincon. There is a really great fruit/vegetable stand and a plantation close to the village of Los Tocones where you can buy local produce, including chocolate, coffee and cinnamon, and souvenirs that are less expensive than in Las Galeras. The people are super friendly and you're immersed in real Domincan country life.

We hope to return to Las Galeras someday. When we do, we will be staying at Chalet Tropical. Thank you, Sarah, Danilo and your family for a truly wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Amazing”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

If only there were a way to give more stars for Service and Value. My wife and I have traveled all over the world. We have vacationed in many places in the Carribean including Belize, Jamaica, Cancun. This was by far the most tranquil vacation we have ever taken. I have spent a lot more on a lot less!
Sarah's hospitality is unparalleled and on numerous occasions we had an entire beach all to ourselves. The only downside is there is no pool and the chalets are not on the beach, however it is a VERY short walk to get here.
The food is spectacular, Sarah is more than happy to have fresh shrimp or fish delivered to your door. Or she will arrange for a local pizza from down the street to come to you. She is the perfect hostess.
The Chalets themselves are very beautiful and secure. The gated area is very well groomed and safe for kids to roam around free.
We never had a shortage of things to do, dinner on the beach, a cliff side, or just at restaurant in town. We went snorkeling, walking to secluded beaches, even took a quad to Playa Colorado. However, if you are looking for a busy sightseeing trip, this is not for you. If you are looking to really get away from it all in a quaint little town where people will invite you out to play soccer with the locals. This is the place for you.
I HIGHLY recommend this trip for seasoned travelers, people who really need to relax, or just for some good escapism.
Recommendations:
Snorkeling
Massage on the beach (Sarah has some good contacts),
Cliffside sunset dinner your last day (breathtaking, just plan on the whole evening for it)
Visit every beach you can (Walk to the one between playita and playa colorado for true seclusion)
Relax...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic Retreat, Incredible service, Lovely peopl

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

If you are looking for a very quiet, private, one of a kind romantic retreat in Las Galeras - this is it! Not the normal Chalet Village which in itself is lovely but I was fortuante to stay in Casita Tropical - the loft above Sarah's in-laws. From the moment I arrived, Sarah & her husband welcomed me in like family. They immediately made me coffee in their kitchen and then took me upstairs to see the darling loft. So many quaint details - you feel like you have been transported to an Italian cottage in the countryside. Very roomy, with full kitchen, they even had coffee and biscuits provided! Very island, bright, cheery decorations. Huge bathroom with a bidet! Yes an actual bidet in the tropicals - what a truly lovely touch (at least for me)! Hot water and free WiFi were also available - yeah! Apartment is very breezy & actually was cold at night with the fan on. Sarah is so helpful. She did my laundry, took me to town when I needed to go, provides great information on anything you need. For the American tourist - I warn you. If you want posh - go to an all-inclusive. If you want a unique adventure in the islands with great service, choose Chalet Tropical. You will never want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Unforgettable experience of your vacation!”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Great place for rest! Chic interior design with original architectural solutions. Every part of the villa is hand-crafted using mostly local materials! Manages these chalets Mrs. Sarah - very friendly and helpful! Secluded place, away from all the noisy tourist centers. If you ever decide to relax by savages and do not mind a long way, then come here. None of the hotel is not in comparison with what awaits you. You will never regret that you have chosen holiday at this place. We have experienced true pleasure in this chalet!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Lovely place, lovely hosts, lovely holiday!”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

Since the first enquiry via email I got the impression that Chalet Tropical was run by enthusiastic, professional people. I don't trust online reviews too much but I trust my instinct: the speed in replying; the friendly tone of the messages and the amount of information given made me decide to book it. In the end the whole experience of a week stay exceded my expectations.
I have just spent a week with my partner at Casa Taina (part of Chalet Tropical) as the traditional "cabanas" were fully booked. Casa Taina has maybe less character than the "cabanas" but has the advantage to feel like a proper house, big, with large kitchen and very comfortable, also the price was inviting.
The purpose of my holiday was to relax and be within easy reach to a proper tropical beach and, yes, I succeded! 5 minutes walk took me from Chalet Tropical to Playta, a gorgeous beach where I spent plenty of time. I was even very pleased to find out, after a few excursions, that Playta was the best beach in the area, amazing clear waters, palms and 2 little places were to have a drink a some food with my feet on the sand.
Also the little town of Las Galeras, with its little shops and bars and restaurants, is 5 minutes walk from Chalet Tropical
A very special mention goes to Sarah, who owns the place with her partner, her passion, professionalism and willingness to help were just incredible. Everything, from booking a restaurant out of town, to organise an excursion or boking a taxy, was done straight away and with a smile, nothing seemed to be a problem. She even provided a mobile phone so that she could be contacted easily and offered lovely fresh fruit and eggs at the beginning of the stay.
Also a mention to Fulvio, Sarah's father in low, who kindly provided basil from his garden to make our pasta sauce tastier. I felt at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“One month wonderful stay”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We just got back from a one-month stay at Chalet Tropical and had a terrific time.
1. We went in July, and the weather was lovely. No need to think of this as "rainy season". Sure, it rained a few times, but mostly at night. During the day it was hot and breezy and the water was warm. There are hardly any tourists at that time, so restaurants were happy to have us and the beaches were nearly empty.
2. Our favorite place for typical fish meal is at Isabella's on the beach at La Playita. Favorite pizza is El Pescador. Favorite pasta is Pirata. Favorite drinks and ice cream (homemade) is Le Tainos. El Cabito (reservations) which has the most spectacular views at sunset!
3. Bring your own snorkel gear for sure, and go to Playa Fronton to explore. Take an easy kayak ride to Playa Colorado. Take a super fun quad to Playa Rincon.
4. The most beautiful, serene beach is Playa Rincon. The best beach to hang out all day (and not have anyone try to sell you jewelry), is La Playita.
5. Drink Coke, it's better there than in the States.
6. Expect prices to be somewhat comparable to home. As a tourist, you will pay as one. But it's all very fair.
7. Internet is just OK for email. So pre-download movies and books to your laptop or itouch before you leave home.
8. All you need is flip flops and shorts/sundress. It doesn't get much fancier than that.
9. In the chalet area, we felt very safe and secure. There are locks on your doors, a locked front gate, and a guard, plus 2 alert Great Danes.
10. Bring a waterproof case for your camera and a waterproof case to put your wallet in. We are SO glad we did that.
11. It would be best if you speak some Spanish or French because English is a (very) foreign language here.
11. Most importantly: Sarah is the BEST host you will ever have. We are so grateful to her kindness and humor and suggestions. She's the top. Talk to her before you plan any trips or make any purchases. She will make sure that you go to the best people and she will get you the best prices.
In summary, our long stay at Chalet Tropical (for our honeymoon!) felt incredibly special, unique, fun, relaxing, and cultural. It's hard to come by a trip that has it all like that. You definitely feel very far from home, in a culture so different from what we're used to, and we loved that. There is a lot to explore and taste and see, but it is also so laid-back and calm and low-key. It's a real relief from American sensibility.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“We didn't just like this place.... We loved it!”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Words can't really describe how we felt about Chalet Tropical, it is just amazing but the biggest plus is Sarah the owner, her personal attention to every little detail during our stay made us feel like we were being looked after by a friend!

We loved it so much the first time, we returned for another week at the end of our holiday we stayed 9 days in total.

Just a few quick examples of what I mean:-

When we arrived Sarah showed us round, taking us on a short walk to show us the local beach.

Sarah gives all her guests a mobile phone to use during your stay her number is programmed in, we had hired a car & visited some of the more remote beaches not speaking Spanish, it was great to take the mobile, we know that if we had any problems we had someone local to help us!

I damaged the underneath of the car Sarah found someone to fix it quickly & cheaply!

We wanted a Bachata lesson (don't ask) Sarah sorted it out!

We enjoyed two amazing meal experiences which Sarah helped to arrange. The first an Italian at Mario's fantastic house, he picked us up! The food was all home made and to an exceptional standard! The second at El Cabito the sunset is incredible.

The Chalets & the Apartment are beautiful & the welcome you will get will be outstanding! Don't think twice, book it now before you are too late...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Slow down and enjoy”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

This was our first time to the Dominican Republic, and we wanted to experience not only the beauty of the land, but the people as well. Luckily, we got to do both in spades! As everyone else has mentioned, the owner Sarah is fantastic/sweet/accommodating and just a pleasure. The grounds on which the Chalets and other buildings sit are beautifully landscaped, and the Chalets themselves are rustic as described, but very clean, cute and homey.

In our opinion, the closest local beach, La Playita, is the BEST! The water is calm and beautiful, and we made a number of new friends there. Do yourself a favor and get a massage from Orlando (he owns the massage tables found at the beach). The price is great but more importantly, you will get a great massage from a kind, knowledgeable person that really wants to help you in whatever way he can. The restaurant located on the beach is also delicious. The conch creole was super and the beers are cheap!

Yes, there are some low-key vendors that are selling their wares - Kelly sells cigars and shells, and Carmello sells excellent Mama Juana! Francis and Pi are in charge of the chairs/umbrellas. They are warm, lovely people you should get to know, whether you buy anything or not. We made some real friends there, and I miss them already!

There are also some yummy restaurants right in Las Galeras. Sarah will point out her favorites to you and we were quite happy with our meals. In addition, Sarah will arrange any kind of excursion you like. We did a trip to the waterfall, El Limon, and it was awesome!!! Marcos was a great guide - we loved the horseback ride and waterfall, and the meal provided was really, really, really good!

We really got a chance to slow down and enjoy our time. Thank you Sarah, and please give a loving pat to Garfield and Vicky!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Back to the roots in a perfect hideaway”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Las Galeras: imagine the end of the world and go a little bit further. Almost no tourism, few people that speak english

When we arrived there in the night, we stopped at the supermarket and were somewhat afraid in the first place, because it is really another world and in the end it is a 2nd world country. No 5 Star Ressort where everybody takes care of you.

I write this because u have to know what will expect you.

Is it worth going there? Definitely!!!

When we got to Sarahs place, all our concerns were gone. Sarah is the perfect host. It seems that she knows everyone around and everybody knows her. She shows you around, organizes everything for you, when u would like her to. She even provides you with a local mobile phone in case you need her.

After the first night we started to explore the area and the first impression of Las Galeras was gone. The People are very friendly and careing, interested in you. They know that they need the tourists and are taking good care for you without being pushy.

It is not the overall luxury vacation, but a perfect place to come down, relax and getting an idea of what is really important in life.

The Chalets are all built by Sarah and her husband, are simple but lovely and convenient.

Around Las Galaleras are very nice beaches with very few people even in high season.
Just rely on Sarah and you will have a great holiday. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Paradise oasis on an island”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Just wonderful. We can only confirm what is already said. Sarah and Danielo do everything what they can to make you feel as comfortable as even possible. Even the confusion with the booking turned out to be better than expected. We had to move to another Chalet because it was sort of overbooked. First we were angry about it. Finally it was even better, because we got the chance to see a second Chalet and even the Casa Tania. In the end we can not tell which one was the best. Each house is constructed with so many nice and lovable details. If there is anything you miss, you just have to ask Sarah and she will provide you.
The surrounding of Las Galeras is just like paradise. It takes a while to get used to the difference of Life but it's worth to listen and watch. We had our best vacation since years. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Wonderful surprise in Las Galeras, DR"

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

On our January 2012 trip to Dominican Republic (our first trip), we booked at the Chalet Tropical Village based on their website. It was in the small fishing town of Las Galeras in the Samana Peninsula part of the country. We couldn't have picked a better spot. Avoiding the big, noisy crowds of a inclusive resort, we had a beautiful little thatched chalet with kitchen, big front porch, comfy beds and delightful hostess, Sarah. She advised us through the transportation to the village, arranged a whale-watching trip and gave us a personal tour of the little village before we settled in, giving us tips on where to shop and eat in the village. The beach was a short 10-minute walk to a beautifull semi-secluded beach (with two good eating places) and an easy "stay-all-day" at the beach experience. The little town is a brief 5-minute walk for great restaurants, some shopping and a market where we could supply ourselves to eat for a week (though her morning breakfasts are really excellent and unique to Domincan Republic. We heartily recommend a week there at least. Prices are so reasonable and, being retired, we actually could have stayed much longer. Sarah is wonderful and will make sure your experience is so lovely. Thank you, Sarah and to your husband too. Jerry & Kathy of Washington State.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Service at its finest”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at Chalet Tropical for 8 days in January 2012. We can only echo what has already been said here - everything was fantastic! Sarah will go out of her way to make you feel welcome and attend to your needs and desires. It is a perfect place for the independent traveler who wants to get away from it all and experience the Dominican Republic. We had two of our most memorable dining experiences ever while we were there - first at Mana and then at El Cabito. Don't miss out on those opportunities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Trip of a lifetime”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

My partner and I spent 2 wonderful weeks at Chalet Tropical, Las Galeras in March 2011. It was the trip of a lifetime!! The chalet was cozy and romantic with such a twist from the norm it really made our stay interesting. Our host Sarah was amazing and key in making our vacation a memorable one. Her knowledge of the area and help with site seeing and excursions was such a comfort and reduced our stresses even more. There is much to do in the area: hike to discover deserted beaches close by (Playita, Playa Colorado, Playa Amour), horseback through the jungle with guide Clemente to a picnic at Playa Madame or Playa Colorado where you can play in the waves or lie on the secluded beach, take a boat to Playa Rincon and experience the vastness of the area, rent a quad and drive the countryside to El Valle, take a guagua (local public transit) to Samana City to really experience Samana’s local flavour and take in their bustling market. We recommend booking excursions through Kim Beddall’s Whale Samana tour company; we took both the whale watching and Los Haitises Park tours and were very satisfied. Jim took a picture of a whale breaching right beside our boat worthy of National Geographic publishing www.hawklakestudio.com. Having our own little kitchen we were able to make some wonderful candle-lite dinners on the veranda. We found a nice produce vendor just as you come into Las Galeras with lots of fresh goods to choose from, and there’s a kind local woman selling delicious fresh pan de coco on the road back from Playita beach. The restaurants in town are nice and it's definitely worth a short walk to the edge of town to a small restaurant where you can enjoy a true Dominican meal. There are 2 great beaches to choose from within approx 7 minute walk from Chalet Tropical, one is Playita which was our favourite as it is more secluded and off the beaten path, the other is Playa Las Galeras which is just at the end of the main street. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Paradise Found”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

My husband and myself spent 12 days in Feb at the Chalet # 3 for much needed respite care for us. Sarah was amazing from the first phone call and emails sent and received. She made Pickup arrangements at Santo Domingo airport through Marcus who later took us on additional requests. The Chalet was beautiful with all the amenities that you needed. The decoration decor was special and reflected the tropics with a blue and green theme.Sarah offered breakfasts in the morning, gave us all the information we needed for sights to see etc. The village was nice with shops and restaurants and groceries etc.She did so many more extras for us during our stay. Please read these reviews and you can tell that this is a place for rest and relaxation but still have everything else you may need.Her entire family, employees were so nice. Please take the time and stay here you will be blessed. No problem with security also since she has her own employee posted on the grounds at night and we didn't even know it nor felt the need. Yes it is a poor country but the citizens were all nice to us at all times. You will be happy to stay in anyone of her chalets.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Chalet Tropical”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Chalet Tropical is an amazing experience. My wife and I spent one week on our honeymoon at Chalet Tropical and came back with a lifetime of memories. Sarah is incredible and will arrange to make your trip as special and unique as you want it to be. I wish we could have spent a month at the Chalet because there are endless sights to see and places to experience. Be sure to try out all of the restaurants Sarah recommends; the restaurant on the cliff is incredibly beautiful! Chalet Tropical is a romantic adventure my wife and I will never forget. Also, take a day to ride around the island on the ATV's there is so much to see and experience!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“wonderful in everyway”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

If you decide Las Galeras is right for you Chalet Tropical is the perfect place to stay. Sarah and her family are ideal hosts and will provide you with as much- or as little- as you want. In one direction you are less than a 10 minute walk to a beautiful beach and in a different direction you are an equally short walk to town. We stayed in the stucco home 'casa taina' on the grounds and it worked perfectly for our group (2 couples, 1 kid) since there were two bathrooms / three spacious bedrooms. The kitchen is fine and it's easy to shop for local vegetables in Las Galeras if you choose to. (I would recommend it if only to support the local economy.) Do patronize the restaurants as you will not be disappointed if you do your homework.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“A Great five days in Las Galeras”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We just experienced a great five days at Chalet Tropical. The rustic setting allows you to enjoy the natural beauty of the coast and the area. Sarah, the owner, is great! She is so enthusiastic, fun to talk to and will help organize excursions. She was able to get fish from local fisherman for us to prepare at the chalet... it was delicious! The closest beach is simply beautiful with calm, clear waters; it's a very relaxing environment. One of my favorite parts of my days at chalet tropical was enjoying the mornings on our chalet's patio sipping on Dominican coffee enjoying the warm breezes and the peaceful courtyard at Chalet Tropical.

One piece of advice I would give: Against Sarah's advice we rented a car. In the end it was expensive and unnecessary. Thus, I would not rent a car. With the money you save by taking public transport, you can rent a boat to take you to another beach. And again, Sarah will be happy to help you organize any excursions. Thank you for everything Sarah!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Peaceful Paradise in Samana Peninsula”

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

When we finally arrived to the Chalet Tropical, through the winding roads of Samana, we were relieved to find a quiet gated mini-village with gorgeous flora and hammocks all around. Everyone in the town knew Sarah, and she was happily there to greet us upon arrival. The Chalet 2 was incredibly charming and rustic. The delicious Dominican breakfast was most enjoyable on the front porch. Most importantly, the town felt safe and secure at all times.

It was a 5 minute walk into the small town of Las Galeras. The 10 minute back road trail to the Playita was fun and felt like a secret. During our visit the beaches and town were flooded with French holidayers, making the locals ready to over-charge for every meal and/or service. However, nothing is to be underestimated in this beautiful island village on the edge of the Dominican Republic. The Chalet and our whole vacation was worth every cent and every second.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We spent two (last minute) nights at Chalet 2 on the property. The property is very well maintained with wonderful tropical flowers and trees surrounding. Very quite location with easy access to all local attractions. Everything was immaculate, and you couldn't ask for a better host than Sarah and her husband. They wanted to make sure you were well informed of the surrounding amenities. There are wonderful restaurants in Las Galeras for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Many places to shop for local hand crafts and paintings. Sport rentals are available for atvs should you wish to adventure off the beaten track. Rincon beach is a very interesting drive...but make sure you have an suv or rent an atv for the day! through the tiny villages and wonderfully beautiful countryside....fresh fruits for sale along the way for your munching pleasure. Have breakfast at the al Pirate Restaurant! Have an taste tentilizing dinner at La Ventura Restaurant! The chef there is amazing, and the food is scrumptious. Great place to check out Las Galeras and surrounding North East area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Well, where do I begin? After having our trip cancelled due to snow in England in December, and after a 24hr delay on our second attempt to fly in January, we finally touched down at Samana Airport on 27th Jan 2011. Was it worth all the disappointment, all the stress, all the days spent camped out on the floor at Gatwick Airport? The answer is yes - 100%!
The people we met will stay in our hearts forever, particulary Sarah - the hostess with the mostest! We were welcomed warmly and instantly felt like part of the family. We didn't arrive at Chalet Tropical Village until the evening, but were still treated to a tour of the area by our lovely host, and filled in on the best places to eat, drink etc. Sarah was also able to advise us on what trips and activites were worth doing, and the advice was faultless. Anything we wanted to do was arranged and paid for by Sarah and we settled the bill at the end of the trip. This made for a hassle-free holiday and meant we knew we were always getting the best price.
We stayed in the biggest of the three Chalets - Chalet 3 - which was actually perfect for the two of us and would probably comfortabley sleep 5. We even had his and hers showers and bathrooms! The bed was actually the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time and I slept like a log every night, lulled to sleep by the sound of the crickets outside. The decor in the chalet was exactly to my taste - quirky and rustic. You wouldn't find another place like it anywhere.
5 minutes walk from the chalet, through beautiful palm trees and vegetation, you'll find La Playta, a gorgeous beach like something out of a brochure. It was lovely to lie on a beach with no beach-sellers and barely any other peaople at all - a real tropical paradise! Unfortunately we only got to spend one day there. We did manage to fit in lunch at Isabel's, a shack right on the beach, which serves the most amazing fresh fish and fried plantains.
5 minutes walk in the opposite direction takes you to the main street through Las Galeras. We instantly fell in love with the place on our first evening. Despite being tired and jetlagged we just couldn't drag ourselves away from the hustle and bustle of the town and the Caribbean beats eminating from bars, restaurants and the local discotheque. What I really love is that the town is not a typical 'resort'. Although there are bars and restaurants to suit every taste, there are no big hotels to spoil the landscape and you really do feel like you

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stay at Chalet Tropical and enjoy secluded beaches

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chalet #3 the last week of June 2010 and loved it! Sarah is a perfect host and the property is very well maintained. The cottage itself is wonderful with island decor throughout. The things I enjoyed most about the chalet were the hammock, outdoor dining table, beautiful yard, comfortable bed and the convenience of having a kitchen. No need to rent a car, just use local transportation when you want to venture beyond the village. We enjoyed our morning walks to the beach and our evening strolls to restaurants or the grocery store. There is something for everyone here - it can be relaxing, romantic, adventurous or all three if that's what you want. The many secluded beaches here are beautiful to say the beaches are not crowded is an understatement. We spent a lot of time at the nearest beach (La Playita), but Sarah arranged boat rides to Playa Fronton and Playa Rincon for 2 other days. Fronton is known as the snorkeling beach - water is crystal clear, reef is steps from the beach and we had it to ourselves for 5 1/2 hours except for one local fisherman that we saw twice. Rincon was a beautiful crescent shaped beach that we enjoyed also. Two day tours we recommend is Las Haitises National Park and El Limon waterfall tour. You will not be disappointed if you vacation at Chalet Tropical in the Dominican Republic town of Las Galeras.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

"Chalet Tropical was the most amazing, peaceful and idyllic place we could imagine for our vacation. My husband surprised me with a four night stay there (in Las Galeras, Samana) as part of our vacation in the Dominican Republic. All I knew was we were going somewhere in the Samana area, and we'd be near a beach. I was swept away by the setting and the set-up when we arrived at Chalet Tropical.

Our cottage was beautiful: a lovely A-frame cottage with thatched roof, impeccably built with a craftman's skill and an artist's hands. Be sure to check out the intricate artistic details in every part of the cottage.

The cottage has full electricity with several ceiling fans, which helped moderate the tropical heat day and night and made sleeping comfortable; screens to keep out the bugs but let in the cross ventilating tropical breezes; beautiful yard/garden with tropical trees and flowers --and humming birds!; gas stove top for cooking inside or on the porch; outside coal grill for grilling fresh fish; small fridge and sufficient hot water; wonderful shower and bath facilities; cable TV, chess board, hammock, and lounging area. In short, our cottage offered all the comforts of home yet the feeling of living simply, close to nature yet secure and with essential comforts.

We took a bus from Santo Domingo to Samana, then Sara, the proprietress of Chalet Tropical had a driver to meet us and take us there (about an hour's drive). Sara met us and showed us around our cottage and then walked us down to the beach nearby and highlighted the facilities there. We enjoyed taking a few longer walks in the area, and while there was much on offer in the area, like horse riding, boat trips to other nearby beaches, etc., we chose to stay near the Chalet tropical and the nearest beaches, at we felt we had found paradise. Sara was extremely helpful and wonderful!

Those looking for a romantic, natural and peaceful getaway will love this location. It's a perfect place to leave the world behind and clear one's head of the world's demands. We found peace and beauty in Chalet Tropical.

The only caution is that the steps up to the bedroom loft are a bit steep and narrow and may not be easy for more elderly travelers. But with patience and use of the hand-rail, it is worth the effort to sleep up in the loft with the delicious cross breezes of Chalet Tropical.

We look forward to visiting again before too long!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

Chalet Tropical was the most amazing, peaceful and idyllic place we could imagine for our vacation. My husband surprised me with a four night stay there (in Las Galeras, Samana) as part of our vacation in the Dominican Republic. All I knew was we were going somewhere in the Samana area, and we'd be near a beach. I was swept away by the setting and the set-up when we arrived at Chalet Tropical.

Our cottage was beautiful: a lovely A-frame cottage with thatched roof, impeccably built with a craftman's skill and an artist's hands. Be sure to check out the intricate artistic details in every part of the cottage.

The cottage has full electricity with several ceiling fans, which helped moderate the tropical heat day and night and made sleeping comfortable; screens to keep out the bugs but let in the cross ventilating tropical breezes; beautiful yard/garden with tropical trees and flowers --and humming birds!; gas stove top for cooking inside or on the porch; outside coal grill for grilling fresh fish; small fridge and sufficient hot water; wonderful shower and bath facilities; cable TV, chess board, hammock, and lounging area. In short, our cottage offered all the comforts of home yet the feeling of living simply, close to nature yet secure and with essential comforts.

We took a bus from Santo Domingo to Samana, then Sara, the proprietress of Chalet Tropical had a driver to meet us and take us there (about an hour's drive). Sara met us and showed us around our cottage and then walked us down to the beach nearby and highlighted the facilities there. We enjoyed taking a few longer walks in the area, and while there was much on offer in the area, like horse riding, boat trips to other nearby beaches, etc., we chose to stay near the Chalet tropical and the nearest beaches, at we felt we had found paradise.

Those looking for a romantic, natural and peaceful getaway will love this location. It's a perfect place to leave the world behind and clear one's head of the world's demands. We found peace and beauty in Chalet Tropical.

The only caution is that the steps up to the bedroom loft are a bit steep and narrow and may not be easy for more elderly travelers. But with patience and use of the hand-rail, it is worth the effort to sleep up in the loft with the delicious cross breezes of Chalet Tropical.

We look forward to visiting again before too long!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Brilliant, idyllic place to stay

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2009

Brilliant, idyllic place to stay - the cabin is equipped with everything you could need for a chilled, self catering stay, and was clearly built as a labour of love by the owners; you´ll be discovering fresh artistic details and homely touches for days after you arrive. Sarah and Danilo are the perfect hosts - far enough away to let you have your privacy, close enough to be on hand for any emergency or unexpected need, and friendly and generous with their time whenever you need them. We were treated pretty much like family from the moment we arrived - a birthday cake baked for us, invited along to Xmas and New Year festivities - and we´re going to miss everybody now it´s over. My only regret is it´s likely to be a year before we can get back out here again. MOST highly recommended

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a beautiful handcrafted cottage !

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Sarah and her husband, Danilo, have created a beautiful handcrafted cottage which fits into its environment perfectly. It is one of the most original and unique places my husband and I have ever stayed.

Sarah is a charming and helpful hostess. By all means take her advice on what to do in the area, and pay special attention to her restaurant recommendations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter holidays in Chalet Tropical

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

Spent a fantastic two weeks over Easter in Chalet Tropical, a beautiful, unique and very comfortable base to explore the Samana Peninsular. We loved the village of Las Galeras and the quiet La Playita beach accessed by a short, pretty walk along a path where you can spot many different species of birds. Enjoyed delicious meals on the beach cooked by Isabel. We couldn't get over how friendly the Dominican people were - always smiling and waving at us.
Sarah is an extremely helpful and informative host - nothing is too much trouble for her and she always finds the time to help out with absolutely anything you need. Thank you very much Sarah for everything. We would all love to return one day. It really was a special holiday.
We hope that Kong is getting better!
Patsy, Matthew, Kate and Charlotte

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...first guests in the third Chalet!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

We spent 10 days in the Chalet Tropical in June 2009 and were the first guests in the third Chalet.
Sarah, her husband and her parents in law have put so much enthusiasm and passion in designing, building, furnishing and decorating these small houses that this place really feels like home. And what a home! Within five-minutes walking distance you can reach the heavenly beautiful beach of La Playita and several other beaches all different from each other. Don't hesitate to ask Sarah about the best restaurants and beaches around, she is the best host you will ever get, friendly, funny and very helpful.

If you come to Las Galeras don't miss the roasted fishes on the beach and the delicious Pina Colada prepared straight in the Pineapple.
One thing is sure you won't regret your trip to this distant but unforgettable region.

Thanks again for everything Sarah

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great beaches, horseback riding and boat trips!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My wife and visited for 1 week in January, 2010. What a wonderful relaxing area and the accomodations provided at Chalet Tropical were just perfect. One can sense the hard work and love and passion put into each Chalet. Besides being in a beautiful area thats oozing with natural wonders you are treated to the kind services of the most gracious host in Sarah Paradiso. We were greeted with a walk to the most wonderful beach, La Playita, and introduced to the fine, fine cook Isabella at the beachside restaurant. If the freshest fish possible cooked and prepared while you wait is your idea of a great meal, this is it. Sarah then drove us around town and pointed out the best shops and restaurants to frequent. She even stayed with our car one day when we had rental car trouble so we could not have our day ruined.
If a quiet, end of the road [literally] destination with beauty and great beaches, horseback riding and boat trips to great snorkeling locales this is the place for you.
Thanks Sarah, you are the best!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An unforgettable experience!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

An unforgettable experience with beautiful beaches and off the beaten track adventures in the jungles and surrounding areas, which were easily accessible on horses and quad bikes that sarah provided

The accommodation was comfortable yet rustic and earthy which complimented the local surroundings. A truly romantic experience. Our hosts were equally hospitable.

The freshest fruit and vegetables we've ever had in our lives were easily available from the local shops and restaurants as well as by the locals on route to the many beaches and other sights.

The best highlight of our trip, amongst many, would have to be the trail that lead to a stunning waterfall that was accessible by quad bike and then horse. (What an adventure as we did this on our own, not with via a tour group!)

I would recommend the above experiences to anybody.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful place to spend holidays!

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Gorgeous! What a wonderful place to spend holidays. In the beginning me and my family intended to stay only for 7 days at the Chalet Tropical, but as we fell in love with it, we decided to prolong another week (staying at 3 of the available 4 houses) before we moved on to Las Terrenas. 14 days in paradis - thanks to the beautiful, hidden beach, Playita (in 7 min walking distance) and the original dominican restaurant, called "La Isabell's", which we have been introduced by Sarah Paradiso - the charming owner Sarah - with her extraordinary positive attitude - has been supporting us in every imaginable way: She not only organized a horse trip within an hour, but also let a fisherman immediatly deliver fresh fish for our dinner as well as accompanied and translated for us at the doctor's when we were in need of medical care with our son Lucas.
And yes... monkey King Kong and his "father" Fulvio are also to be mentioned - they both were wonderful playmates for Lucas. Summarizing our stay is exeptionally recommandable! Enjoy your stay at Chalet Tropical...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a great honeymoon/relaxing holiday

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2009

We came here for our honeymoon and loved it.

Being too independent to be in a blocky crowded hotel with rules and meal times we wanted our own space to relax after all the wedding preparation! There's loads of room inside the chalet, beautifully and carefully built with local materials, a nice breeze comes through the full width doors.

Sarah was very welcoming and showed us everything we needed, going beyond what she had to do to help us including taking us several miles to a restaurant on the cliff just so we didn't get lost.

We hired quad bikes for a couple of days which meant we could explore the local area including Playa Rincon where one day was a national holiday at the weekend and was unsurprisingly crowded but then a couple of days later during the week we had miles of pristine sand and clear sea to ourselves.

On lazy days we walked to Playta, now this is a walk and not just a few steps, it probably takes 10 minutes and you need protection for your feet from the ground but nothing more than flip-flops. Bearing in mind there's plenty of shade and a local fish restaurant with delicious fresh food you can stay for hours. One of the most beautiful views was the sunset.

It is another 10-15 minutes walk into the village/town. You can choose in Las Galeras between local and foreign cuisines for a range of prices. You must try the rum, the local brews are lovely but deadly!

In summary: a great honeymoon/relaxing holiday. If you know the distances for walking and you're not wanting a chain/large hotel it's perfect. We had a wonderful stay and would love to go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My wife and visited for 1 week in January, 2010. What a wonderful relaxing area and the accomodations provided at Chalet Tropical were just perfect. One can sense the hard work and love and passion put into each Chalet. Besides being in a beautiful area thats oozing with natural wonders you are treated to the kind services of the most gracious host in Sarah Paradiso. We were greeted with a walk to the most wonderful beach, La Playita, and introduced to the fine, fine cook Isabella at the beachside restaurant. If the freshest fish possible cooked and prepared while you wait is your idea of a great meal, this is it. Sarah then drove us around town and pointed out the best shops and restaurants to frequent. She even stayed with our car one day when we had rental car trouble so we could not have our day ruined.
If a quiet, end of the road [literally] destination with beauty and great beaches, horseback riding and boat trips to great snorkeling locales this is the place for you.
Thanks Sarah, you are the best!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Chalet Tropical was a lovely home base for my wife and me while in Las Galeras for eight nights. Sarah, as you will read in every review here, is a tremendous hostess. From the moment we arrived, Sarah did everything she possibly could to make us feel welcome and at home. She booked boat trips for us, arranged deliveries of local seafood, lent us snorkeling gear, gave us tips on the local sights. The huts themselves are very cool two-story A-frame structures packed with details and charm. It is rustic—salty tap water and a water heater that takes a half hour to ramp up—but in a quaint and very comfortable way. The kitchen was surprisingly well outfitted, and we did a lot of cooking in. The hut was cleaned three times in the eight days we were there, and we were twice given fresh beach towels.
Unfortunately on our second day, our bag (including camera, shoes, books, sunscreen, glasses, etc.) was stolen while were at the stunning and undeveloped Playa Rincon. So, a word of advice upfront: Don't take more than you need when you leave your hut, and be cautious.
Ironically we had chosen Las Galeras in part precisely because we'd read about these gorgeous beaches where you could be alone or nearly alone. But after the theft of our bag we were sufficiently jittery not to want to be alone. I feel bad mentioning all of this in our review of Chalet Tropical, because it has nothing to do with Chalet Tropical. Though it did have a lot to do with how we felt about our stay in Las Galeras overall.
But even after that unpleasant experience, Sarah helped us turn it around, and even lent us a camera, flip flops, and a cel phone for the remainder of our stay.
To paint a picture of the larger setting, the three huts of Chalet Tropical are in a sort of compound with the home of Sarah and her husband, and the home of her father in law. The place is protected by two great Danes and, at night, a couple of guards. So, for as rattled as we were about having our bag stolen, we always felt secure at the hut.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

My family (wife and 3 young boys)live in the Dominican Republic and stayed at the Chalet in December. We loved it. The chalets are neat-very unique-comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The grounds are nice too. My boys spent lots of time playing futbol (soccer) with Sarah's (the hostess) father--who, besides being great with kids, can still play by the way. Sarah was probably the best hostess we've ever had anywhere. She went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. She even went so far as to drive me all around town to find diesel for our van when I made the foolish mistake of not filling the tank before the one station in town closed for the weekend...The walk to the beach is a few minutes longer than advertised but it's a pretty little hike and the beach at the end is gorgeous. Las Galeras and the beaches nearby are incredible! If you are looking for a unique--as in, NOT a cookie cutter all-inclusive experience-- in a beautiful corner of the world, you will not be disappointed. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

Chalet Tropical is an extremely charming and lovely place to stay for a week or more and enjoy beautiful nature and beaches of Samana peninsula. Me and my wife stayed here last summer for one week. It was first time in Dominican Republic for us and we enjoyed everything here!

Chalet is equipped with satellite TV and wireless internet access what is not common convenience in Dominican Republic. Plenty of place: we had a living room, kitchen and bedroom on the upper floor. It was always good to come back to the chalet after adventurous day and enjoy the atmosphere and privacy from near neighbors. They have a beautiful yard with fence and security while in our opinion there’s no need for it in Las Galeras at all.

Our hostess Sarah was more than friendly and extremely helpful regarding any questions we may have. She showed us a village and beach, recommended the best restaurants and even negotiated the lowest price for boat trip. She acquainted us a different kinds of tropical plants – coffee, bananas, different kinds of flowers and trees. She was so helpful at any time we called her.

We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

Of course, in all seriousness, I do not know how Sarah and her family could have made our stay any better!
My wife and I spent 5 weeks at Chalet Tropical and everyday of our stay was wonderful.
Wonderful Place! Wonderful People! Wonderful Beach! Wonderful Sun!
Nadya and I were married last November. This was our Honeymoon! The Dominican Republic was adventurous and restful at the same time. Also Chalet Tropical is very safe at night and there very friendly locals to speak to during our walks in the day! (of course, somebody is always trying to sell something, but when we shake our head no! that would be the end)
Sarah and her family was ready to help us anytime we needed something extra. Grocery shopping, arranging guided tours, even ingredients for baking a cake!
The beach is a nice 7 minute walk and the new bank (ATM) is an easy 7 minute in the other direction. (Maximum in one transaction is 4000 pesos. So extra cash is better than a transaction every other day)
BUT - This is not Club-Med! No moving side walks! No Cartier Diamond
Shops! No one to cater to a silly person's whims. Each person is responsible for their own fun. And we had the time of our life.
We would eat breakfast, then lay in the sun, then eat lunch and then go to the beach (and lay in the sun) and swim in the world's greatest swimming pool! Oh, did I say lay in the sun! Anyway, we loved it!
Nadya loves to cook so we could eat what we wanted when we wanted. (I have been to all-inclusive resorts and my conclusion is that, I get tired of eating 5 pounds of potatoes everyday.) (fried, mashed, stewed, skins or no skins)
The internet service was good most of the time at Chalet Tropical and the cell phone service in the area was reliable. (We had Claro and (the green logo, I don't remember now. And when we return I want to try Orange.)
We made a lot of calls to America for me and to Europe and to Kazakhstan for Nadya and the cost was very reasonable! (we already had European phones and bought the sim cards at the SDQ airport. Then you can buy more time at the local grocery store, if needed. But about 100 dollars bought hours of international calling.
Anyway, Sarah and company did GOOD by us! We look forward to returning ASAP!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

An unforgettable experience with beautiful beaches and off the beaten track adventures in the jungles and surrounding areas, which were easily accessible on horses and quad bikes that sarah provided

The accommodation was comfortable yet rustic and earthy which complimented the local surroundings. A truly romantic experience. Our hosts were equally hospitable.

The freshest fruit and vegetables we've ever had in our lives were easily available from the local shops and restaurants as well as by the locals on route to the many beaches and other sights.

The best highlight of our trip, amongst many, would have to be the trail that lead to a stunning waterfall that was accessible by quad bike and then horse. (What an adventure as we did this on our own, not with via a tour group!)

I would recommend the above experiences to anybody.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

We came here for our honeymoon and loved it.

Being too independent to be in a blocky crowded hotel with rules and meal times we wanted our own space to relax after all the wedding preparation! There's loads of room inside the chalet, beautifully and carefully built with local materials, a nice breeze comes through the full width doors.

Sarah was very welcoming and showed us everything we needed, going beyond what she had to do to help us including taking us several miles to a restaurant on the cliff just so we didn't get lost.

We hired quad bikes for a couple of days which meant we could explore the local area including Playa Rincon where one day was a national holiday at the weekend and was unsurprisingly crowded but then a couple of days later during the week we had miles of pristine sand and clear sea to ourselves.

On lazy days we walked to Playta, now this is a walk and not just a few steps, it probably takes 10 minutes and you need protection for your feet from the ground but nothing more than flip-flops. Bearing in mind there's plenty of shade and a local fish restaurant with delicious fresh food you can stay for hours. One of the most beautiful views was the sunset.

It is another 10-15 minutes walk into the village/town. You can choose in Las Galeras between local and foreign cuisines for a range of prices. You must try the rum, the local brews are lovely but deadly!

In summary: a great honeymoon/relaxing holiday. If you know the distances for walking and you're not wanting a chain/large hotel it's perfect. We had a wonderful stay and would love to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2009

Gorgeous! What a wonderful place to spend holidays. In the beginning me and my family intended to stay only for 7 days at the Chalet Tropical, but as we fell in love with it, we decided to prolong another week (staying at 3 of the available 4 houses) before we moved on to Las Terrenas. 14 days in paradis - thanks to the beautiful, hidden beach, Playita (in 7 min walking distance) and the original dominican restaurant, called "La Isabell's", which we have been introduced by Sarah Paradiso - the charming owner of Ch.Tr.. Sarah - with her extraordinary positive attitude - has been supporting us in every imaginable way: She not only organized a horse trip within an hour, but also let a fisherman immediatly deliver fresh fish for our dinner as well as accompanied and translated for us at the doctor's when we were in need of medical care with our son Lucas.
And yes... monkey King Kong and his "father" Fulvio are also to be mentioned - they both were wonderful playmates for Lucas. Summarizing our stay --> exeptionally recommandable! Enjoy your stay at Chalet Tropical...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place in Dom. Rep.

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

We just returned from spending a weekend (September 2009) at the Chalet Tropical with our 3 young boys and dog. It was perfect. We stayed in Chalet #3 which was a great size for us. Actually it could have fit a couple of more people if necessary. The nearby beaches which can be reached by walking are beautiful, uncrowded and very clean--especially if you are willing to hike a little farther. The grounds around the chalets are secure and well kept and made for some great soccer/football matches for our boys. Sarah, the owner, is amazingly helpful. She went out of her way to make our stay a pleasure. The chalet itself was comfortable, clean and charmingly unique. We definitely want to go back and will recommend it to all of our friends. We live in the DR and have been to many places around the island. The beaches near Las Galeras are the most beautiful, pristine and interesting we have seen anywhere--not just in the DR. If you prefer your vacations a bit off the beaten track and don't need a lot of touristy amenities, you will LOVE the Las Galeras area and, no matter who you are, you will love the experience at Chalet Tropical. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chalet Tropical, your home away from home...

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

After months of planning, my three children (ages 7,9,12) and I arrived yesterday in a dreamworld called Chalet Tropical. It´s more incredible than I even imagined. Sarah and her husband have meticulously worked a magical touch on every inch of the chalet. They have artistically cut, carved, painted, every last nook and cranny to perfection. It´s a beautiful gem. My children love playing on the handcarved chess game. Right now they are outside playing tag in the lovely enclosed yard.
Her personality exudes the same love and care that she´s put in her home. From the moment I began email correspondence five months ago, I knew I would be in good hands. I´m traveling alone with three children, and she took me under her wing. She has offered some fabulous ideas for every day we are here. Today we woke to horses in our yard for a beach ride. We´ll be going on ATVs and a couple of private boat tours over the next few days. It´s truly like a dream vacation. I don´t ever want to leave! I wish I could stay here and work for her. Her generosity, warmth and kindness makes this trip truly extraordinary. We came from Club Med in Punta Cana, and I think this experience is above and beyond any we could have at a resort. To sum up, if you´re thinking of going anywhere else while in Las Galeras...you don´t need to look farther Chalet Tropical is your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"our" dream home!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

The Chalet was the most artistic and unique place that I have ever stayed. Every where that you looked there was some interesting and beautiful homemade artwork, the walls, the chairs, the bathroom, the floors even. It was all wonderful to look at and very comfortable, and we felt very much at home. In fact we wished we could make it our home. A great place if you like to cook because the kitchen was like a dream with pure rock counters. The Chalet is situated away from the cute little town of Las Galeras, at the end of a red dirt road, so the only noise you hear is that of the birds. It is surrounded by the rich tropical beauty of the Dominican Republic. One of the things that made the stay even more wonderful was the duenna, Sarah, who gave us everything we wanted and more. She is one of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet, she baked me a wonderful vegan cake for my birthday, she is an excellent cook and baker, so it is a great place for vegans and vegetarians. I will never forget my stay at the Chalet and the kind owners, and I really hope that I will be so lucky as to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than in hotel!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

If you enjoy a certain level of comfort and independance and you don't want to stay in a hotel Chalet Tropical is the perfect place. It's the kind of location that's perfect for unwinding and relaxing.
The Beaches are fantastic some of them do take a bit of effort to reach on foot but then you get the whole place to yourself.
The chalet itself is a work of art, it's individuality increases the enjoyment of being away.
Sarah and Danillo are the perfect hosts, friendly and charming people that are genuinely lovely, they manage to look after everything for you,are full of local information but give you your privacy as well....a fine balance handled beautifully.
As the chalet is self catering we were more than happy to cook for ourselves: mostly with fish delivered by a local fisherman straight from the ocean.
The shops and restuarants of Las Galeras are an easy 5 minute stroll away. There's also transport by boat to the furthur away beaches like Playa Rincon.
If you want to stay in touch with home there is a mobile phone provided:credit can be bought in the local shops. The icing on the cake is that Sarah and Danillo have a wireless internet connection,so if you bring a laptop as we did you can send and receive emails from the chalet.
We can't think of a nicer place to relax and de stress.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

Chalet Tropical is a beautifully crafted place to stay but what really stands out is Sarah, who is a wonderful and kind hostess. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would recommend meeting the cat - the dog - the giant frogs - the monkey - playing a sweaty game of football with the locals...then there's the music and atmosphere of the village. If you want a world away from the touristic parts of the DR, then you must come here - it's everything that packaged tourism isn't - it's real, authentic and down to earth...and yes, it's got some sublime beaches. Our thanks to Sarah for making it what it is...Tim and Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 30, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

A peine rentrés de Las Galeras et du magnifique Chalet Tropical, nous pouvons dès à présent affirmer que ces vacances furent paradisiaques!D'abord l'environnement, c'est un petit village de pêcheurs adorable, des plages comme on peut en rêver, un calme et une tranquilité incroyable..Le Chalet est une véritable oeuvre d'art, très confortable, vraiment paisible et plein de charme.Et enfin, Sarah, la merveilleuse propriétaire qui sait vous accueillir, vous conseiller, et qui fera tout pour rendre vos vacances inoubliables!!So thanks very very much Sarah!!For ever in our hearts.Sébastien, Johanne et Elliot

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2008   Date of arrival: July 3, 2008

After months of planning, my three children (ages 7,9,12) and I arrived in a dreamworld called Chalet Tropical. It was more incredible than I even imagined. Sarah and her husband have meticulously worked a magical touch on every inch of the chalet. They have artistically cut, carved, painted, every last nook and cranny to perfection. It´s a beautiful gem. My children loved playing on the handcarved chess game or playing tag in the lovely enclosed yard.Her personality exudes the same love and care that she´s put in her home. From the moment I began email correspondence, I knew I would be in good hands. I was traveling alone with three children, and she took me under her wing. She offered some fabulous ideas for every day of our stay: we woke with horses in our yard for a beach ride, we went on ATVs and a couple of private boat tours. It´s truly like a dream vacation. I didn't want to leave! I wished stay there and work for her. Her generosity, warmth and kindness makes this trip truly extraordinary. We came from Club Med in Punta Cana, and I think this experience is above and beyond any we could have at a resort. To sum up, if you´re thinking of going anywhere else while in Las Galeras...you don´t need to look farther Chalet Tropical is your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 10, 2007

from 5th to 17th of June 2007
There is no place more lovely than this part of the Samana peninsula and no hostess more hospitable than Sarah. I recommend not renting motorized transport and walking instead. You really get to experience the area and besides, what's the hurry? You're on frickin vacation fer cryin out loud! Get some much needed exercise and preserve the environment at the same time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 11, 2007

Chalet Tropical is an enchanting little Chalet. Something of the sort that one would only realize in one’s dreams or a child’s mind or deep in the thick of a fairy forest. To describe the more than gracious hosts Sarah and Danillo or the grounds would hardly do either justice ..but I will try…Lush green land and delicate flowers and shrub surround the tiny Castle of Art- worked wood, scrolled, carved, stained, every inch meticulously placed-a display of magnificent artistry and talent. A fence of stone crowed with jewel toned shards of glass on one side and sharpened pillars of wood on the other- encloses the acre or so of manicured landscape. Beyond the fence a lush thick of native foliage and the occasional handsome cow to greet hello in the late afternoon. A hazy pastel rainbow welcomes and receives you as you ascend its rouge stairway. The front door opens like the curtains of a stage and gives way to the Chalet’s main living room and kitchen.A gas stove on stone island is strategically placed in the center of the kitchen. The dining table sits in the center of the great room and spaciously accommodates 4. It is all hand carved, with all the different types of native woods available in the country. It could easily be wheeled out to the porch. The built–in sitting area to the right is very comfortable. A Chess set is inlayed into the seating area’s corner table. Just beyond the kitchen, past the swinging doors, you will find a small dressing area, vanity and stone shower. Water is warm after 15-20 minutes at the touch of a switch and pressure is good. Just beyond that is a disco lit-private toilet area complete with bidet (a welcome for those of us Americans who have lived overseas and known it’s amenity). The screened slatted windows when accommodated in the open positions allow for a fabulous cross breeze. No air conditioning needed. The stairway to the loft should be navigated with care, as the slats are a bit narrow-- (not for the clumsy, and not ideal for small children, elderly, or disabled). The spacious loft, with cathedral-like ceiling and 2 beds which can be placed separately for friends, or together for lovers.A few tid bits about Las Galeras/Samana. 1. It’s best to fly into Santiago, rent a 4x4 and arrive 3-3.5 hours later. Locals drive very aggressively.2. The beach is a 10-15 minute walk away from the Chalet (we chose to drive there)3. Isabella is a wonderful woman who will cook you a delicious meal for lunc

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

01-08 Mars 2006
"Nous sommes aller en amoureux dans ce magnifique chalet tres paisible et vraiment en pleine nature non loin de la mer en meme temps, et malgre que le premier jour on pourrait croire que l'acces est difficile et bien non Sarah vous montrera tout, les passages pour aller vers l'une des plus belles plages de la republique Dominicaine, et d'autres chose encore. le matin vous vous reveillerez avec les chansonnettes des criquets et le Meuh des vaches ( ainsi vous profiterez pleinement de votre journee), mais c'est vraiment sympas. location: c'est une maison qui est tres agreable a vivre, si vous aimez tout ce qui est boise, tres ergonomique meme presque marrante car c'est une vrai boite a idee, rempli d'astuce de decoration et de rangement. ..Le petit plus: Sarah est exceptionnelle, toujours la pour vous encadrer vous donner les bons conseils, elle vous montrera la ville et les alentours pour bien vous montrer ce qu'on peut vous offrir."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

5th Jenuary - 2nd February 2007
If you enjoy a certain level of comfort and independance and you don't want to stay in a hotel Chalet Tropical is the perfect place. It's the kind of location that's perfect for unwinding and relaxing. The Beaches are fantastic some of them do take a bit of effort to reach on foot but then you get the whole place to yourself. The chalet itself is a work of art, it's individuality increases the enjoyment of being away. Sarah and Danillo are the perfect hosts, friendly and charming people that are genuinely lovely, they manage to look after everything for you,are full of local information but give you your privacy as well....a fine balance handled beautifully.As the chalet is self catering we were more than happy to cook for ourselves:mostly with fish delivered by a local fisherman straight from the ocean.The shops and restuarants of Las Galeras are an easy 5 minute stroll away.There's also transport by boat to the furthur away beaches like Playa Rincon.If you want to stay in touch with home there is a mobile phone provided:credit can be bought in the local shops. The icing on the cake is that Sarah and Danillo have a wireless internet connection,so if you bring a laptop as we did you can send and receive emails from the chalet.We can't think of a nicer place to relax and de stress.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

1st-5th March 2007
We really enjoyed our stay. The house and owner were amazing. The house was a rustic/artistic masterpiece and labor of love built by the owners. The all wood interiors include all custom made, irregular and whimsical, but highly functional design. Sarah worked very hard to accommodate our needs. The town and country were great too. Unfortunately, we had misunderstood that the property was on, very close to or in view of the beach. In reality, the closest beach was reachable only by a 10 minute walk including passing a security gate and ducking under a barbed-wire fence, and the sea was not visible from the property. Additionally, the property is a single unit about a 12 minute walk from the town or any activities. Not terrible, perhaps desirable for some, but not as convenient as we had expected. Also, as is a single unit. There are no other guests to mingle with, and if Sara or her husband are not available to assist you, you are on your own. If you are OK with the independence and isolation of a 10-12 minute walk from the beach and town (or plan to rent a car or quad, or Sara had offered us a motor bike to use as well) then everything else is great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

19-24 August 2006
The Chalet was the most artistic and unique place that I have ever stayed. Every where that you looked there was some interesting and beautiful homemade artwork, the walls, the chairs, the bathroom, the floors even. It was all wonderful to look at and very comfortable, and we felt very much at home. In fact we wished we could make it our home. A great place if you like to cook because the kitchen was like a dream with pure rock counters. The Chalet is situated away from the cute little town of Las Galeras, at the end of a red dirt road, so the only noise you hear is that of the birds. It is surrounded by the rich tropical beauty of the Dominican Republic. One of the things that made the stay even more wonderful was the duenna, Sarah, who gave us everything we wanted and more. She is one of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet, she baked me a wonderful vegan cake for my birthday, she is an excellent cook and baker, so it is a great place for vegans and vegetarians. I will never forget my stay at the Chalet and the kind owners, and I really hope that I will be so lucky as to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

8-21 March 2006Tres beau chalet en bois, propre, original, joliment décoré... le depaysement est total! Entouré d'un jardin bien entretenu, le chalet tropical est le lieu idéal pour les amoureux du calme et de la nature. Bien que Las galeras soit un petit village, on y trouve tout le nécéssaire et les plages à proximité sont magnifiques. Protégé jusqu'à présent du "tourisme de masse", Las Galeras se situe forcément un peu loin des grandes villes (et donc des aéroports), mais c'est aussi son charme! Pour s'y rendre, des bus et des taxis sont disponibles. De plus, Sarah, la propriétaire (dont la maison se situe à coté du chalet) connait très bien la région et se fera une joie de vous aider à trouver le moyen de transport le mieux adapté à votre situation. elle se plie en 4 pour rendre votre séjour inoubliable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

22th Dec - 4th Jen 2007Brilliant, idyllic place to stay - the cabin is equipped with everything you could need for a chilled, self catering stay, and was clearly built as a labour of love by the owners; you´ll be discovering fresh artistic details and homely touches for days after you arrive. Sarah and Danilo are the perfect hosts - far enough away to let you have your privacy, close enough to be on hand for any emergency or unexpected need, and friendly and generous with their time whenever you need them. We were treated pretty much like family from the moment we arrived - a birthday cake baked for us, invited along to Xmas and New Year festivities - and we´re going to miss everybody now it´s over. My only regret is it´s likely to be a year before we can get back out here again. MOST highly recommended

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 23, 2007

8-15 septiembre 2006El chalet es realmente bonito y acogedor, lleno de detalles para ir descubriendo día a día. La ubicación es inmejorable para visitar las mas bellas y paradisíacas playas del país, alguna de las cuales está realmente cerca, tan solo 5 minutos caminando desde el chalet. Junto al chalet, en la casa colindante vive Sarah, que es la dueña. Es una persona encantadora y siempre dispuesta a solucionar tus problemas o simplemente hacer tu estancia mas cómoda. El lugar es excelente para los amantes de la naturaleza, y la disfrutarán en primera persona desde el primer hasta el ultimo minuto. Mi mujer y yo estuvimos una semana y no tuvimos tiempo suficiente para disfrutar de todo el entorno. Agradecemos sinceramente la cordialidad y las atenciones de Sarah.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review