reviews for: listing #5559 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Villa rental

Sunset Point Oceanfront Villa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Point
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $595 - $950 /nt
    $4,150 - $6,650 /wk

sort by:

BEST FAMILY VACATION EVER!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

Where to begin.....simply awesome! Our family spent a week at Sunset Point Villa in Provo and in all ways our expectations were far exceeded!

The villa is fully equipped--from the kitchen to the dock! Many of the other reviews found here are accurate with regards to amenities and comfort. We prepared most meals right at the Villa as the kitchen is fully equipped, including a good size Weber gas grill! Pool, deck, dock and outdoor seating were sufficient for 8 adults - we absolutely loved the outdoor speakers and thoroughly enjoyed island music genre all week long!

The air and water temps even in January were perfect! Taylor Bay beach is both beautiful and serene. The sand is as soft as confectionary sugar! We were content floating to Taylor Bay beach each day, snorkeling by the rocks and hanging out by the pool. Again, the Villa is well equipped-- all the floats, tubes, pool toys and snorkeling gear you'd need or want! Seeing the half-dozen stingrays taking their routine morning path right by the dock was really cool, typically between 7-9AM!

We rented jet skis for a 2-hour window and had them delivered right to the dock - not only a blast but super convenient! We did check out a few restaurants worth mentioning - Las Brisas, right up from the Villa and Mr Grouper's Restaurant, which was a little bit of a drive and off the beaten path, however a great little find.

Couple warnings - don't charter a fishing boat until you arrive and determine if the fish are running! Apparently when it's been windy or stormy the fish hide! Unfortunately, rather than the boat captain suggesting our guys reschedule, he took their $1300...and consequently, they didn't have a single bite! Towards the end of the week (as the fishing improved), the native boaters were coming right to our dock with freshly caught lobsters - just be prepared to negotiate. We wound up agreeing to $50/4 lobsters!

Only a couple observations I made with regards to potential Villa improvements - a kayak would be a great addition (though perhaps a safety issue). And, child safe deck railings all around - seems it may be super easy for a small child (age 1-5) to fall through the deck rails.

I totally miss the stray deck kitty and would've loved to stow him in my suitcase. Such a sweet kitty and clearly starving for food and affection & totally harmless!

This was by far the best family vacation ever! Looking forward to coming back to T&C and staying at the Sunset Point Villa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A beautiful villa, an ideal spot

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Eight of us came to this beautiful villa for our first trip to Turks & Caicos. The food and drinks were a bit expensive on the island, but the house and its amenities made up for this. We enjoyed everything about this wonderful villa, especially the fantastic views from all rooms, and the exquisite pool area and dock. It was nice to have the music available around the pool and a selection of movies for the late night crowd. The sunsets lived up to our expectations, and that beautiful aqua-blue, warm water exceeded our expectations. We were pleased with the visit we received explaining the various home features, suggestions for restaurants, island spots suggested to visit, and more. We also thought the cleaning crew did a fantastic job during the mid-week cleaning. The Scuba Diving on French Cay was wonderful. The food everywhere we dined was very good to superb. We hope to visit your lovely home again some day!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

if you are going to stay in Turks and the hassel of the touristy area is not for you: this is your spot. the sunset is amazing and it has plenty of room. great place that words can not describe.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

This house was the perfect paradise with everything you would ever need and more. The location does not get better then this. We sat on the dock everyday enjoying the views and the fish that you can see crystal clear in the water. You can walk thru the water to get to Taylor Bay just around the corner. Taylor bay is Turks and Caicos best kept secret. The kitchen was fully stocked with every amenity you needed. It is a great house for four people or 10 people, it would be comfortable no matter what because of it size. The pool was like a jacuzzi temperature. There are quality floats for the ocean or pool. The lighting at night is perfect, we had a 3ft fish that visited every night not sure what is was but we named him George. We did not have a bad meal anywhere on the island. Go to the the conch shack on Thursday night for some local music. Brasi's right down the street is great food. Tiki hut in turtle cove marina has good food. We went on a fishing charter paradise tours was awesome!!! We caught Wahoo, Mahi Mahi's and Tuna. When we got back to the dock, they cleaned the fish and we had tiki hut prepare us all the different fish different ways, awesome. They charged us $15 a person to cook all that fish. Island Vibes with Shawn is a great snorkeling trip. Make sure to ask for Shawn. We rented a car thru Grace Bay Rentals was reasonable prices with no hassle. The casino is a rinky dink place but something to do at night. The hardest part of the trip was seeing all the stray dogs. We must of spent $200 of dog food and treats while we were there, we thru it out the windows like newspapers. There is a group cal Tcspca there that does a wonderful job placing the dogs in us and Canada, Consider a donation to them to help the population also get spayed and neutered. They call the dogs Potcakes, read the story about it in the local magazines. There is a stray cat that is at the house, the notes from previous guests say to please feed the cat, that's up to you I guess. We have already booked our trip back next year, can't wait!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we hoped for and more

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We already miss it. Great staff, amazing house, and and unforgettable island. We found everytging we needed and if we couldn't figure something out help was prompt and friendly. Whether you want to get out and explore or just lounge on the deck and relax you'll enjoy your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More than we could have imagined...

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We just returned from an amazing week at this villa. We had three families with three children, and we had the time of our lives! There was plenty room and the views and the pool deck are just unbelievable. The sunset views on the balconies are not to be missed! The service from the moment we booked, to the follow up after we returned home was top notch! We were greeted at the airport and shown around the villa to make sure we felt comfortable.
The villa is right around the corner from Taylor Bay Beach, which is one of the best beaches I have seen, and the water right in front of the villa is fantastic!
We had to write just to let everyone know that this is a great villa at a great price!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pure Bliss and Relaxation

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Point Villa for my 40th birthday and had such a wonderful experience. One of our favorite things were the lobster fishermen that drove by every afternoon around 3 where we simply flagged them down and bought fresh lobster, red snapper and grouper and had them clean and fillet them and literally seasoned and put directly on the BBQ for a wonderful dinner. We did this three nights because it was so good. We also paid a 20% surcharge on the groceries and had them delivered before we arrived, highly recommend this as well.
The owners are very helpful and keep the house in great shape. We had three couples plus one extra adult and were very comfortable in the house. It is very private and great beach/snorkle access. We absolutely loved the house!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous villa in the perfect location

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous stay at Sunset Point Villa. The location of the villa could not be more perfect! It's a short walk (in the water or on the path) to Taylor Bay beach, which is perfect for kids because the water is shallow. If you rent kayaks or paddleboards (we rented both from Big Blue Unlimited, which delivered them to the house), you can paddle up to Sapodilla Bay, which is also a magnificent beach. We also paddled to a shipwreck just beyond Sapodilla bay, where we snorkeled and explored. The tennis courts, hard surface, are along the same path from the house to Taylor Bay beach and are in nice condition. The deck of the house is spectacular, with flowers and palm trees, and the sunset views are priceless.
The house is extremely well-equipped. There's a stereo with indoor and outdoor speakers, a collection of over 100 CD's, a big screen TV with cable and a DVD collection of about 80 movies, a Weber propane grill, two refrigerators (great for keeping water and beer cold at all times) a washer/dryer and every kitchen amenity you could ask for (coffee bean grinder and Cuisinart coffee maker, dishwasher, etc). We also enjoyed volleyball in the pool - pool floats and beach chairs are also provided. A second floor hammock is the perfect place for a nap! The house is very well maintained. A cleaning lady appeared mid-week, as did the pool maintenance crew to keep the pool crystal clear.

It's about a 15 minute drive to the IGA supermarket, which is huge and has everything we have at home, though the prices are predictably higher. They even have a decent selection of wine and liquor at the IGA. The smaller Quality Market is closer but not as well stocked - good for staples, water, milk and the like.
We spent one morning sailing with SailProvo. The catamaran took us to Iguana Island, which has a short trail/boardwalk from which you can spot the Iguanas. We then snorkeled for an hour and sailed to a quiet beach for a BBQ and a swim. We found better snorkeling at Smith's Reef (described elsewhere on Trip Advisor).
We also rented Jet Skis one afternoon at Sapodilla Bay. Look for a guy named Mark who has a pickup truck and a cute dog named Winston. He rents the Jet Skis for $150/hr. He also sells Conch shells, if you're looking for a souvenier.
This is a great house in an ideal location. Providenciales itself is rather ugly; the economy has been struggling for several years. But with a private property this beautiful, you never need to leave!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best villa we've rented yet!

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to Turk & Caicos with three other couples who have done different caribbean islands every winter. This villa far exceeded our expectations and it was a unanimous #1 vote for best villa we've rented! There was no need to ever leave the house. Breakfast on the veranda, watching the dolphins-lunchtime snorkeling off the dock-amazing sunsets every evening (waiting for the infamous green flash)--nighttime star shows. The house had everything we needed and we never felt crowded, even with eight people. Bring serious bug spray as the mosquitos are relentless at night. We definitely had a wonderful vacation and the villa was about as perfect a location as you can get. You will not be disappointed with anything in this villa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Denver Colorado Crew

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Amazing!!! The pictures cannot even express the beauty of Sunset Point Villa!!! The house is spectacular in size, cleanliness, location, ammenities, everything about Sunset point is perfect and absolutely wonderful!!! We had the best week of our lives!! The staff from renting the property to meeting us at the house went so easy,they were very informative, helpful, so accomadating!! We cannot say enough to give this Villa the praise it deserves. Although we do hesitate, as you may notice, this next year is filling up, and we are hoping to return. Love, Love Sunset Point Villa, The Denver Colorado Crew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week in Paradise

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

Traveled to Provo with family to celebrate a special birthday. The villa was wonderful and we had the best time. Plenty of space and it had everything we needed. It's very private and away from the main resort area so you definitely need a car if you plan on doing any activities or food shopping. The water is amazing and looks exactly like the photos. You can't find a better place to watch the sunsets either. Definitely would stay there again if I ever make it back to T&C.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic experience

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The house was perfect! Just as advertised, unbelievable views from every room, very nice deck and pool area, all the water toys you'll need, and the prettiest beach in the world is right around the corner! The host was there to greet us at the airport and showed us around the house, and we even had a nice fruit basket and cold beer in the fridge to greet us! Would definitely go back...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the best vacations ever!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Lovely property. Well-maintained. Great location. Great local support. Beautiful water, easy access to beaches, ocean, snorkeling. All the recreational ameninties one could ask for provided. Highes recommendation. We will return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home - in the Islands

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Sunset Point Villa is an exceptional property. From the ease of booking, arrival etc. this was an amazing vacation. This was our second time at this property and I can not wait to return. Having a bedroom wing, each with a private bath and entrance connected to the main house, made this so friendly for our group of family and friends. The pool deck offered fantastic views … Do yourself a favor and GO !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded my expectations!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

The photos on Sunset Point Villa's website are not enhanced - they are an exact representation of what you'll find! I have spent time in fancy and not-so-fancy places in several countries - this was the best. Private, with more than the basic comforts of home… Plenty of comfy furniture for all of us and then some. Plenty of cooking utensils. Comfy beds and plenty of quality towels. Plenty of shade when we wanted it and a lovely breeze. The private ocean access was a delightful extra!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Experience - Location, amenities, etc.

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We stayed at Sunset Point Villa the week of January 2. Unbelievable experience. We loved the location (about 15 minute drive from Grace Bay, which we didn't want to be on top of). We could walk to the beaches of Taylor Bay in about 3 minutes. The sunsets were amazing, pool was great, house was huge! The only complaint I have is that most houses near us had ocean kayaks, and this one did not. That would be a nice addition, but beyond that there is nothing at all to complain about, and a ton to be excited about. If we come back to TCI we'll stay here again, no question.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Getaway!!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

It was everything and more than we could have asked for... The home is well equipped for family needs with a pool and an array of water toys, music, games and Dvd's.

After several days of exploring the island my wife and I agreed it was always good to end the day at Sunset Point! Each morning we enjoyed a walk on Taylor Beach, about 5 mins. from our front gate. The landscaping, view and support staff were amazing. When we return, we'll stay here again and bring the rest of the family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week In Paradise!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Just a line to say what a wonderful time our family had staying at Sunset Point Villa (now we understand why it's called Sunset Point).

The place is very well furnished and spotless, the staff was extremely pleasant and informative. There was nothing we wanted for.

We stayed in for dinners until the last night by celebrating our last evening by going to Las Brisas which was outstanding.

Sunset Point is the one true place to relax and enjoy life. We all agreed that it was the best vacation we've ever had, and we all hope that sometime we may be able to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Experience - Location, amenities, etc.

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We stayed at Sunset Point Villa the week of January 2, 2011. Unbelievable experience. We loved the location (about 15 minute drive from Grace Bay, which we didn't want to be on top of). We could walk to the beaches of Taylor Bay in about 3 minutes. The sunsets were amazing, pool was great, house was huge! The only complaint I have is that most houses near us had ocean kayaks, and this one did not. That would be a nice addition, but beyond that there is nothing at all to complain about, and a ton to be excited about. If we come back to TCI we'll stay here again, no question.
·

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review