reviews for: listing #55621 - Bushkill, Pennsylvania House rental

Luxury and Private with Hot Tub, MovieTheatre and Sauna
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pocono Mt Lk Est
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $275 /nt
    $449 - $950 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful and relaxing.

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

It was beautiful and very relaxing. The home was clean and well-maintained. I look forward to renting again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful property, great for a getaway!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Vadim was very helpful in setting up our weekend at his property. The house was very clean, cozy and fun! There was a hot tub on the back deck with a huge grill and furniture. In the morning there were deer in the backyard, by the pond - it was so peaceful! Overall had a great weekend, and would love to do it again

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A wonderful home... AWD is a must if it snows...

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property owner was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing location and well-kept property.

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We stayed in February 2013. This is the second property we rented from Vadim. We liked this one even more. Same quality - very clean, great towels and sheets. The owner has included everything we would ever need during our stay. We grilled steaks on the outside gas grill (in the snow!), used the hot tub and the sauna. We saved a lot of money by returning to the unit for lunch every day instead of eating on the mountain.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Quiet and Peaceful .

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

The home is absolutely incredible. Every aspect of the vacation exceeded all our expectation. The owner, Vadim, made sure you felt right at home. The location was amazing. The entire experience was the perfect retreat for our group. We will most definitely be returning to Bushkill and staying in this house!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

I just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had this weekend. Your rental is gorgeous and we really enjoyed the wooded setting and comfortable interior. Thank you for helping to make our anniversary extra special. We will never forget it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

We had such a wonderful time!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The home was a perfect delight. You will be hearing from us again in the future and I will be referring your home to others.

Thank you so much!
Ayhan and Friends

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We had such a wonderful time!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

The home was a perfect delight. You will be hearing from us again in the future and I will be referring your home to others.

Thank you so much!
Ayhan and Friends

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We enjoyed our week.

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

The house was nicely decorated and very comfortable. We are already looking to see when we can revisit Bushkill Falls.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house, but felt deived

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

The house was nicely decorated w/ statues, candles, books, cabinets (warning for parents of small children). My husband & I stayed there for 7 days, paid extra for the hot tub and were planning to use the pools (which had a surprise fee). The indoor pool doesn’t open when it rains, it rained 4 days. Upon arrival, we found 2 towels for 2 people for 7 days including pools, showers, hot tubs. I called the owner, I was informed that I didn’t rent a hotel, but a house. He thought 1 towel per person per week was enough. After telling him I was going to buy some bath, dish, and hand towels, he said he would reimburse me some of the cost.
A few things I found deceiving about the listing: it said there was a washer/dryer…not there. The beautiful pond…it’s in the neighbor’s yard and it’s not a pond anymore, it’s drained with piping. No radio or telephone, although maybe the owner meant my cell phone would work. The photos showed beautiful lighting in the kitchen, dining room and living room. When I called the owner to ask how to turn the DR lights on, he said those lights were just for decoration and not real lights. It was dark, especially when it rained. The sauna sounded exciting and fun. It wasn’t part of the house, you needed to walk out the front door, down the deck steps & up sauna steps/stones to a little out-house like building. We didn’t use it. If it were part of the house we would have, but since it was a hassle to get to, it wasn’t worth it.
Another disturbing event was that the owner had packages delivered to the house on 3 different days. We brought the packages inside due to rain. We went to the movies, during the movie, the owner left a msg on my phone that he would like to get pkgs & could I leave them on the deck so someone could pick them up. When the movie was over, I called to tell him we would be going home & he informed me that someone already went in the house & got them. That alarmed me. We signed a contract & I didn’t think the owner was allowed to enter the house without our consent, but he did.
We were concerned about our security deposit due to the “per scratch clause in the contract”. When we arrived we took photos & emailed all the scratches we found in the house. Luckily, our security deposit was returned, but the entire stay we worried that he would claim we had made the numerous scratches in the furniture. They were normal wear & tear scratches, but 10 scratches would have been our entire security deposit.

Helpful votes: 14 / 17

 

Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

The home is absolutely incredible. Every aspect of the vacation exceeded all our expectation. The owner, Vadim, made sure you felt right at home. The location was amazing. The entire experience was the perfect retreat for our group. We will most definitely be returning to Bushkill and staying in this house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Thanks

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

I just wanted to get in touch with you and say thanks for the rental. We had great time. The house was amazing. We saw deer right off the deck. The hot tub was perfect and all I can say about the sauna is, I want one! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Winter rental

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

We were completely satisfied with the home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Had a Wonderful time with Family

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

I just spent a week at this location. It was with a few other siblings and my mother. We had a wonderful time. Firstly, this renter was quick and easy to communicate with through this website. For last minute plans this was very helpful. He gave very clear directions to the location and his expectations for cleaning. I did not find anything he requested out of the ordinary. It all seemed very reasonable. This house is a perfect fit for the amount of guests allowed and is beautifully decorated.

There was very little reason to leave the house. We spent a lot of time just sitting in the living talking, hiking in the woods outback, and cooking in a very nice kitchen. Not to mention we had a wonderful time using the hot tub which was very clean, and the owner left all necessary chemicals to keep it that way. I couldn't ask for more from this location itself. My family would agree with that fact

Finally, I felt like this location was very close to many things to keep our interests. We went to the Native American Museum. It was a little small and silly, the tour is on a cassette you carry around in like 4 rooms. I thought it was a lot of fun though. Very informative, and the gift shop had a lot of great items. We tried to go tubing but it was out of season. This is no fault to the owner, but more importantly it was not far from the house and it was easy to get to. On the other hand, Bushkill Falls had just opened for the season. We did the red trail that passes many beautiful water falls. It was crazy close to the house. Also some great ammenities were local gas stations, food stores, and liquor stores. I think that this is a great rental. The price is right, it's great looking, and keeps a person fully entertained. I would recommend it to anyone and have to people in my own family. I would also rebook with this owner. I just received my deposit in the mail as promised. A+ Thankyou for the great stay, and I hope and renters enjoy it as much as I did

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful home, renter BEWARE.

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

5 adults, 3day/2night, Feb 2012:

On the web: looks great, mostly positive reviews. On arrival: taken aback by the "rustic" exterior, lack of lower handrails on stairs, and a proper paths up the rocky driveway.

The flat stones which may have been passable for a path when dry, were loose and dangerous to step on in the muddy, wet weather. I personally slipped down the last flight of railing-less wood stairs, landing in the mud, as I was trying to clear them of sleet (we were informed we'd have to shovel if it snowed). In stark contrast, the interior of the home was as pictured, Asian decor and nice. A weekend without cable TV was perfect for us as a group of professionals, we were looking to unplug and spent most of the time out exploring anyway.

I told the owner I didn't think we'd use the sauna, so he didn't leave the key. When one of our party arrived, he wanted to sauna and after contacting the owner, someone came by and dropped the key. Great. Due to the slippery mud, rain, and light snow, we never got around to it, so sadly it was pleasure wasted.

Bring your own pillows as those provided are barely passable for tissues stuffed in pillow cases. If you are a party of adults, note that the room with twin beds has horrible mattresses and are completely uncomfortable for grown ups. The king & queen in the other rooms were fine.

The owner told us that the home was to be left clean including floors swept, bathroom clean, and dishes washed and put away. Good by me. We left the place exactly as we found it (save for the towels and beds (as per owner) and extra TP we purchased since there was only one roll in the house) and were told, 2 weeks later, the owner was withholding most of our security deposit because the toilet was left with some sort of rusty scratches and the microwave was dirty. We used to toilet for normal business, but I doubt any of our bowels have the power to destroy or rust the toilet in a single weekend! He claims it is half the deposit to replace the thing, at our cost! This is aside from the extra fee he is charging to clean the microwave WHICH WE NEVER EVEN USED! Save for cold cereal in the morning, we ate out the entire weekend!

Renter beware. Looks great inside, but still waiting, 3 weeks later for even a partial security deposit. Quite far (40 minutes) from major ski attractions at Mt Snow or Camelback, The Crossings, and Silent Hill outdoor gun range. FYI Bushkill Falls attractions and hiking is closed in winter.

Helpful votes: 26 / 28

 

Would definitely rent again!

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

My friends and I had such a terrific time during our weekend in this Bushkill rental! The second we walked into the house and turned on the lights, we all agreed that the pictures from the website did the house no justice... it is beautiful! We absolutely loved the hot tub, and enjoyed watching movies using the big screen projector! We were definitely wishing we could stay a couple more days... we didn't have time to try out the sauna, which looked very inviting! We would definitely recommend the house to others and look forward to renting the house again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Re: Great Getaway!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This is a great place to get away and relax, yet still be close to good dining, shopping, and outdoor activities. The Asian decor is very well done and bedrooms, bath, and kitchen are clean and comfortable. Having a projector and theatre sound system is an added plus for movie watchers too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent house in the beautiful hills

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

The house was wonderful to stay in. Very clean and well decorated, and not far from good food and beautiful scenery. If you come during the spring/summer months, make sure to stop at the incredible Bushkill Falls, which are only a short drive away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A quiet get away in the woods

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Nice cozy place. The bedrooms and interior were all clean and modern. We really enjoyed the sauna and the hot tub. This place is away from it all with only 3 houses on the same street. The only thing that this house is missing is cable but it does have wireless internet so if u bring your laptop there are cables for the Digital laser projector, there is also a docking station for your ipod. The owner Vadim was quick to respond to any questions I had through both e-mails and phone calls.Overall I have to say we had a wonderful time, for a party of 5-6 people it was the perfect size.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Afternoon!!

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

I wanted to thank you for letting us stay in your summer house. It was unforgettable vacation.
We enjoyed it very much. You house decor is gorgeous. We both love Japan :) I love food and tea mostly :), Alex loves everything about it. He visited it not once and even speaks some Japanese.

Thank you again.
I will highly recommend your summer house to any of my friends if they wish to rent a place in Poconos.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much.

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

Your House is beautiful! We will definitily recommend to our friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great get away

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

we just spend 5 nights at this home, too bad we did not book it for longer. the house is very modern, the owner put a lot of attention to the design. If u love art, there is alot of attention to detail in design with japaness\e inspiration. Also, there is also a very impression book and dvd collection. We really injoyed the home. there is also a lot to do, the bushkill falls is a great adventure/ actactivetly and also the pool in the community is great, clean , big and not crawed. We will be coming back.
thanx vadin, we injoyed- izabella

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Times!

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. Everything about our time there was perfect. From the ski passes to the exotic European style outdoor sauna, booking this lovely cottage was a great decision. The house had everything we needed, plus, the owner was very accommodating, and was very helpful and available to answer any questions and address any concerns I had while staying at the house. My friends and I will definitely re-visit this gem of a home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Good Times!

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. Everything about our time there was perfect. From the ski passes to the exotic European style outdoor sauna, booking this lovely cottage was a great decision. The house had everything we needed, plus, the owner was very accommodating, and was very helpful and available to answer any questions and address any concerns I had while staying at the house. My friends and I will definitely re-visit this gem of a home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the house. Very easy to get to, yet you felt as though you were worlds away. Very beautiful and very private. We will be back very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Pocono Mountain Vacation

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Beautiful and relaxing place to get away!! I would recommend this place to anyone I know. Perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We enjoyed the stay. Highly recommend.

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

We had great time in this vacation house. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice weekend

Review submitted: February 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

We spent a great time in this very nice, warm, cosy and well-equipped house. It was very well maintained and clean, the kitchen is small but has all the necessities for cooking. The house is very stylishly and comfortably furnished. For us it was perfect that there was high-speed internet cause we brought our laptops. The location is great, about 30 min ride from the surrounding ski areas, and because it's in a secluded area we even saw deer passing by in the snow on numerous occasions! Over all we had a lovely time and would be happy to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2010

I didn’t want to leave this gorgeous home! It is so well designed but yet so inviting and comfortable. I had a great time with my family and friends when we stayed there. The house is in a cul-de-sac which made it a much needed private, peaceful retreat from my every day stresses.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski Vacation

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

We went on a ski trip to the Poconos and stayed in this cabin for the weekend of January 11-13.
The free lift tickets were not available until 11 am. Well, we cannot complain about something that was free and saved us $100. Also, if you are an intermediate or an expert skier, request the tickets for Camelback. Shawnee is much closer, but that is a place for beginners. The sauna was a very nice finishing touch after a day of skiing. I highly recommend the place.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A++

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

This vacation house was far more than we expected. The photos on the web site do not do it justice! Outstanding. A+.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2009

We spent a week at the cabin, it was very central to many attractions in Bushkill. We did a lot of hiking and the cabin was a very cozy place to come back to in the evening. It's a beautiful, peaceful, private setting. Would love to visit again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

GO! GO! GO! This place is awesome!! We stayed here in September 2009 and that was our first trip to Poconos. We were centrally located to many, many wonderful and scenic places and had this fabulous place to call home for a few days. The cabin is absolutely gorgeous! Give this place a try, you WILL NOT be disappointed!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Owner does not return security deposit

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

My stay at the house was great. It was a beautiful home and I enjoyed it and would have returned only to find out that the owner does not want to the return the security deposit for false reasons. The owner has accused me of scratches and damages that I did not cause. He did not even include the 2 free lift tickets that are promised on his page. Therefore I would not rent this house again. I would not recommend staying at this house if you want your security deposit back.

Owners response: It is unbelievable that the traveler denies any damage. She and her party left multiple scratches on my furniture which had to be replaced; they also damaged my stainless steel glass stove top, therefore, their security deposit was forfeited. The traveler has since posted a negative review in which she claims that I generally do not return security deposits. This is not true. If there is no damage to the property, security deposits are returned in full. The furniture in my home is expensive, and the damage that was incurred far exceeded the client’s security deposit. Traveler's review does not reflect the truth and is in stark contrast to the majority of my other clients’ experiences at my home. The traveler was notified ahead of time (before she made her decision whether to rent our home and before I charged the credit card) that the lift tickets would not be available for that particular weekend.
During our conversation on the phone, the traveler initially admitted not only damaging our home, but also damaging another rental property (the owner of which did refund the security deposit because he did not want a negative review.)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect weekend retreat

Review submitted: January 13, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

My husband and I rented this elegant cottage and were very satisfied with the pleasant accomdations. It's conveniently located on a secluded cul-de-sac, which makes for a private, peaceful experience. The house is very well maintained and features an outdoor sauna which was even better than a hot tub!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2009

Nicely decorated. Very close to Bushkill falls. I loved the Sauna.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

One of a Kind Retreat

Review submitted: August 29, 2009   Date of arrival: August 5, 2009

My friends and I loved staying at this beautiful home. It's in a very quiet location and features a variety of unique amenities -my favorite is the European style outdoor sauna! The house met all of my needs and is close to everything which made things convenient. One of my best moments of this summer involved dining al fresco with my friends on the back deck.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

I have stayed at many vacation rentals during the years, but nothing compares to the beauty of this charming cottage. It's very well decorated yet comfortable. Despite all of the variety of things to do around the area, you could spend a whole day just enjoying the beauty of this lovely home.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review