reviews for: listing #55640 - Sonoma, California House rental

Wine Country Vista w/360 Views - KID FRIENDLY!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $695 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,950 /wk

sort by:

A Wonderful Time

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

My wife, daughter and I recently hosted some of her cousins and siblings visiting from Japan. They wanted to visit Sonoma for the weekend, and we thought the best option would be to look into renting a house for that time. We were nine in all (5 adults, 4 kids), and happened upon this very interesting, and seemingly appropriate listing, located very much in an area we would like to be (we had very specific destinations in the wine country). I was particularly intrigued by the fact that the home was a geodesic dome. Needless to say, we were all very pleased with our choice. The house itself was indeed very interesting in design, and its layout promoted social interactivity. More importantly, it was very comfortable. I think our relatives from Japan, especially the kids, were very impressed with the space and design (such a house would generally be unheard of in Japan). The kids enjoyed the play area, and the common intrusion of local deer very much. Overall, I think it is an experience they wont forget. I should emphasize that the weather did not cooperate at all during our stay, which made the fact that we had an enjoyable and comfortable space to call our own for our brief stay even more satisfactory, which I am sure was far superior to any hotel choice we might have made.

Everyone left very pleased at the experience, and that is more than we could ask given the bad weather. We thank our hosts very much for the opportunity to stay in their wonderful house, and certainly would not hesitate to stay there in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, you are so gracious. We very much enjoyed having you. Of course, since the property is designed for the kids to enjoy the out doors, we do hope to see you return under better weather conditions. Thank you for your review, Doug & Lynetta

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Kid friendly, Dog friendly spacious retreat

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay at the house. The proximity to the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn where our daughter's wedding took place was perfect. The view is spectacular and the house had the best amenity baskets we have ever seen in a VRBO house. Our 16 month old nephew had a ball with the toys you have there and enjoyed the playground, too. The high chair, stair gate and port-a-crib were appreciated by his parents. The indoor/outdoor California living was great with the outdoor tables and gas barbecue. Our dog came along and found the property to be very dog friendly! My 94 year old mother was with us and had a challenge with the stairs to the main floor so we would caution groups who have a person with a disability which is the only concern in this otherwise amazing property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

DOME HOUSE WITH A WONDERFUL VIEW, LOTS OF ROOM IN AND OUT WONDERFUL PATIO AND GRASS AREA

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME FOR A FAMILY REUNION. THIS PROPERTY IS EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED. OPEN, PEACEFUL, QUIET AND FAMILY FRIENDLY. CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED INSIDE AND OUT. PHOTOS VERY ACCURATE, OWNER VERY HELPFUL AND DOUG A DELIGHT. WOULD RENT THIS PROPERTY AGAIN FOR A LARGE GROUP. WE WENT TO THE SAFARI ADVENTURE OFF CALISTOGA RD AND REALLY ENJOYED THAT FAMILY ACTIVITY IN ADDITION TO WINE TASTING, BROWSING SONOMA SQ. A COUPLE OF US WENT HIKING AND HAD SOME FAMILY TIME TOGETHER. JUST VERY RESTFUL WEEK.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful time was had by all!!

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Our extended family of 6 adults and 5 young children rented his house as "home base" for a week while visiting relatives in Sonoma County and traveling to many of the local points of interest.The accommodations were excellent; very spacious,wonderful views,comfortable and child friendly.Even the pre teen children remarked on the softness of the bed linens! The owner was very helpful without being intrusive.If the opportunity presents itself again we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you had fun!! For anyone interested we love the sheet too. They are a little pricy but so worth it. They are so soft and never wrinkle. We get them at www.Spasheets.com. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I can see for miles and miles!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

We were five people, including my 2-year old grandson, who had a great weekend getaway at Wine Country Vista! When Lynetta says the house welcomes children, she truly means it! The wooden play structure, the trampoline, the games, the toys, the Brio train set, the baby gate on the staircase--it was perfect! Our adults enjoyed themselves too! That is the most well-stocked kitchen I have ever seen. The geodesic dome house was unique, the eclectic art collection was beautiful, and the huge TV and giant bathtubs were great! I would love to return in the warm weather, so we could enjoy the many outdoor sitting areas. The property is so large and private, and the view is gorgeous, day and night. We enjoyed meeting Doug and watching the deer. We hope to return soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much we look forward to having you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Made for children and adults!

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

My Grandchildren went in the "kids" room and rarely came out! It is well stocked with books, TV, toys and all things children. They even had a porta-a-crib which saved my daughter and her husband from bringing one with them.
As for adults, (there were 8 of us, plus 2 children) the home is filled with interesting art, the bed linens are way better than in any hotel I have ever stayed and the beds are SO comfortable!! The kitchen is well stocked, and includes a high end cappuccino maker. I was struggling with how it worked, emailed the owner and the next thing I know, he is knocking on the door and personally adjusting it and giving me a short lesson!! Now that is service!
The property is very private, and has a beautiful view of Sonoma as it is located on a hilltop. Deer wandered the property, along with quail and squirrels.
Our experience was excellent and I would recommend this house to anyone .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. I am glad you all had fun. We hope to see you back with us again soon:)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Value in Sonoma!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We were hosting a family reunion and needed four vacation homes in Sonoma Valley. This property absolutely had the best view, the most helpful owners and was an absolutely comfortable, fun, and amazing place for some of our family to stay. The other homes that our families stayed in had uptight owners with all kinds of rules and extra fees. These owners were incredibly helpful - we held our "games day" with a group of 45 and had a fabulous time.

The house has everything you need - an artistic flair and lots of creativity.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad everything went well for your event. We hope to have you back again in the future. ~Lynetta

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend house!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

My friends and I were looking for a nice house to relax in. We are all adults - 3 couples and 4 single people. I found this place on the internet and it seemed perfect for the 10 of us. When we arrived at the house on Friday evening, we were blown away at how comfortable the house was. Plus it had everything, sheets, towels, toiletries, and extra stuff in the kitchen and fridge. This is the first time I've ever rented a house, and my friends and I were very happy! It was comfortable and although I didn't meet Lynetta personally, she was wonderful to interact with. Always friendly and accommodating. The view from the house was beautiful, and we saw lots of deer all around too. I would definitely recommend this place for large groups. And if I ever organize another Napa/Sonoma get-together, I will definitely come here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house for the weekend!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

My friends and I were looking for a nice house to relax in. We are all adults - 3 couples and 4 single people. I found this place on the internet and it seemed perfect for the 10 of us.
When we arrived at the house on Friday evening, we were blown away at how comfortable the house was. Plus it had everything, sheets, towels, toiletries, and extra stuff in the kitchen and fridge.
This is the first time I've ever rented a house, and my friends and I were very happy!
It was comfortable and although I didn't meet Lynetta personally, she was wonderful to interact with. Always friendly and accommodating.
The view from the house was beautiful, and we saw lots of deer all around too.
I would definitely recommend this place for large groups. And if I ever organize another Napa/Sonoma get-together, I will definitely come here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: You guys are so nice. Thank you so much. We hope to have you back again soon. ~Lynetta

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful dome home in Sonoma!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

We were a group of 10 visiting the Wine Country and couldn't have asked for a better location for our stay. The house was private and well-stocked with linens, extra blankets, pillows, towels and even the fridge and kitchen cupboards were overflowing with supplies. The views from the huge windows were beautiful and there were always several deer ambling around. We enjoyed the art-work all over the house. You could tell that this home is much-loved and well-lived in !. We hope to come back sometime!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to have you back again soon! ~Lynetta

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Girls Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We stayed here in April 2011 for our annual Girls Weekend getaway and had a great time. There were 10 of us, and the house provided more than enough space. The 2nd floor, where the living room is, is spacious and has beautiful views. The downstairs studio is huge and it was private enough so the girls who wanted to sleep in had some separation from the early risers. There are several wonderful outdoor spaces to sit, drink wine and chat. It also has an amazing jungle gym for kids and lots of toys. I want to come back with my son. Lynetta was very responsive and easy to work with - and, she does a lot of extra things...there were several "gift baskets" of amenites that you don't usually get in rentals, like toothbrushes, floss, shampoo, advil, etc. A couple of things didn't work, like a coffee pot,but overall we had a fabulous time and would definitely rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Location

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This home is in a beautiful location. Huge windows overlook hillsides and walking around the huge property/land with deer is amazing. You will truly feel like you are out of the city. The house has everything and is perfect for family gatherings or large families. My nephew loved the play structure. We brought our dog and she loved exploring. House is very comfortable and the kitchen has everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Fit

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Initially we were a bit skeptical of this place. We really liked that they advertised being kid friendly but weren't sure if it really was based on the crazy statues everywhere. I'm pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised to find just how well it suited us. Not only did it deliver lots of toys, but all the electronic toys had batteries that actually worked. The play structure was great and so was the trampoline. Another added bonus they didn't mention was all the deer that ran over the property. Our city kids were fascinated! Other things that made me smile was the coffee and creamer stock, curling irons and flat irons (you won't get that in a hotel!), having a washer and dryer at my disposal, the amazing view and free wireless connection. There were a lot of other nice touches like menus, Sonoma brochures, and bathroom stuff like shaving cream, sewing kit, etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Weekend

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

The whole experience from the initial contact with the owners to the last step of getting our deposit was handled professionally and personalized by the owners by attending to specific requests made by us. They were all so accommodating and helped point us to resources in the community.

As to the property, it was clean and well maintained, The listing was accurate in its descriptions and with very interesting decor. We held a big party during our stay and our visitors were amazed at the collection of art work (eclectic) and the view of course was breath taking.

We rented it to celebrate an important milestone in the family and it was" our home away from home". I would recommend it to friends..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing weekend in Sonoma

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

My friends and I were in Sonoma for a wedding this past weekend and we stayed in this awesome house. The house sits on top of a hill and the views are spectacular. We even saw a couple of deer walking around the yard! There were 12 of us in total and the house was large enough to accomodate all of us comfortably. The house comes equipped with plenty of fresh towels, linens, and toiletries. The decoration of the house is definitely eclectic but that's what makes it even more special. We had a lot of fun with all the entertainment that came with the house: the karaoke machine, the trampoline, and the swings in the playground... there were also a Wii system and foozeball table! It was the perfect house for me and my friends to enjoy for a nice weekend in Sonoma. Lynetta was very nice and accomodating throughout the whole reservation process. I hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wine Country Vista

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner was readily available. Communication was excellent all along the way from choosing the location through return of the security deposit.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best trip ever!

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We had the time of our lives! The house is amazing. We used every patio, deck, play space you have. Eight ladies celebrating a 50th birthday party for two nights. The beds and baths were beautifully stocked, extra touches everywhere you look. The kitchen was perfect for preparing our gourmet meals. Too many special treats to mention. We plan on going back in October. The owners are great to work with, very helpful and accessible. The views are spectacular. A one of a kind adventure! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed having you. We appreciate the nice note you left for us. It is great to hear that we can expect you back soon. All the best, Doug & Lynetta

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great experience

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

I stayed at your place for two nights with my cousin's family and my sister's family. Our kids from 13 to 2 really enjoyed their stay there even under the bad weather. Your house was very spacious and there were some board games, adults and kids played together inside the house. Though I live in Japan, I do hope to have another opportunity to spend time there in the near future.

Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you had fun. We hope to have you back when it is nice and sunny!!

Thanks, Lynetta

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

lovely spot

Review submitted: December 25, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

This property is really great - gorgeous views, as advertised, and plenty of indoor and outdoor space for my parents and my young kids to enjoy. The location, just a few minutes north of "downtown" Sonoma was great for wine tasting excursions, and the large kitchen was great for family meals. The tame deer wandering the property were a treat for my kids. A very relaxing, beautiful spot. Hope we get to go again, soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 20, 2009   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

WONDERFUL PLACE GREAT VIEWSWe had such a wonderful time at your house. The gardens and play area were perfect for my children, as was the giant TV and dvd collection. The bathroom amenities were very thoughtful of you and much appreciated. We will definitely return on our next trip to Sonoma.Thanks Again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

Lynetta, we loved staying in your home. The description on the internet did not do it justice. The home has wonderful eclectic warmth. The bedrooms were comfortable and accommodating. The living spaces were large, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook a full meal for 10 people, and your plates were my personal favorite. The view is outstanding from every room. Your personal touch was everywhere the fruit in the dining room, place mats on the table, games, DVD’s and much much more. All this for a price that beat every other rental I looked at. I tell you IT WAS WORTH IT. I will never forget the personal touch you gave to my family and me and we are forever grateful. It was also very close to downtown Sonoma which we enjoyed very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

We had a great weekend here with grandparents, an
uncle and a three year old. The house is as
described, clean and very comfortable. The kitchen
and living room are both well equipped. There is a
fantastic playground, a large grassy area and a wide
variety of toys suitable for kids (and adults). Our
son was particularly fond of the trike and tee ball.
The house is on a knoll with panoramic views,
which made for some nice sunsets by the grill. Deer
are abundant on the property and our son really
liked sitting on the deck to watch them in the
evenings. The house is private and is only a few
minutes from downtown Sonoma. The owners are
responsive a easy to work with. I was skeptical
about staying in a geodesic dome, but I have to say
that the eclectic decoration in this house works and
that the house lives well. We really enjoyed our
stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

I wanted to tell you that we LOVED the house and had
an amazing vacation. It was totally perfect. The kids
went nuts over the toys, playground, and bunkbeds,
and the adults really enjoyed the awesome view,
among many other things. It really is a special
property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

Our group of 8 adults and 4 children had a wonderful time at the Wine Country Vista. It was the perfect spot for our long weekend. During the days we went to the wineries and during the evenings we relaxed in your home. The kids LOVED the place: the playground, the trampoline, the toys and the deer. The adults loved the convenient location, the size, affordability and the comfort. The little things you provided also made a big difference: abundance of towels, soap in the bathrooms, having a travel-crib, and lots of mugs for coffee. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

We had a great two night stay. Lynetta was very flexible and gracious. There were a lot of extras, huge towels and toiletries. They were accommodating about check in and check out time, and allowed us to have a reception for my daughter's wedding. People loved the eclective art, the beautiful plantings and my niece jumped on the trampoline. It was a bit warm in the house, that is the only thing I might say. A great experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We loved staying at this property! There was enough room for everyone to sleep and have space of her own. The restrooms were HUGE and made it easy for 9 girls to get ready, which is a difficult task in and of itself. Very family-friendly, too; only wish I had had my daughter with me to enjoy the nature watching, trampoline, and play area. Convenient to everything and very secure. The hosts were teriffic and were helpful with every need we had and very quick to respond. Will definitely be back; thanks for a great experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Staying in this rental was a truly unique experience. From the eclectic decor to the high ceilings to the deer that we could watch forever, our group had a great time. The location was very convenient to winetasting in Napa and in Sonoma, which was exactly what we needed. And it was great that it was so close to the great shopping and dining on the square!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 2, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

What a lovely place this was! It was comfortable, well appointed and convenient. We loved how the house was decorated, artsy and eclectic. It was great for children and oh the deer! What a hit they were! We held a small family gathering there and it was a lovely background for the event. We look forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for our family gathering

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

Lynetta, we loved staying in your home. The description on the internet did not do it justice. The home has wonderful eclectic warmth. The bedrooms were comfortable and accommodating. The living spaces were large, the kitchen had everything we needed to cook a full meal for 10 people, and your plates were my personal favorite. The view is outstanding from every room. Your personal touch was everywhere the fruit in the dining room, place mats on the table, games, DVD’s and much much more. All this for a price that beat every other rental I looked at. I tell you IT WAS WORTH IT. I will never forget the personal touch you gave to my family and me and we are forever grateful. It was also very close to downtown Sonoma which we enjoyed very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed everything. We look forward to having you again someday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fantastic Time

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

We had a great weekend here with grandparents, an uncle and a three year old. The house is as described, clean and very comfortable. The kitchen and living room are both well equipped. There is a fantastic playground, a large grassy area and a wide variety of toys suitable for kids (and adults). Our son was particularly fond of the trike and tee ball. The house is on a knoll with panoramic views, which made for some nice sunsets by the grill. Deer are abundant on the property and our son really liked sitting on the deck to watch them in the evenings. The house is private and is only a few minutes from downtown Sonoma. The owners are responsive a easy to work with. I was skeptical about staying in a geodesic dome, but I have to say that the eclectic decoration in this house works and that the house lives well. We really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We really enjoyed meeting all you. Your little guy is such a cutie pie. If you lived a little closer he could have a playdate with my little guy. We look forward to sharing our home with you again very soon!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review